The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Re: The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby Dave » July 10th, 2020, 5:47 am

You ordering fancy things and don't expect you have to pay to play.
Champagne taste and mauby budget comes to mind.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » July 10th, 2020, 6:18 am

Dave wrote:You ordering fancy things and don't expect you have to pay to play.
Correct. I've been using csf couriers a few years now and up to recently I got my package pick up notice for a couple gym accessories . Cost me about US $ 60 for items and my invoice from csf was about $250 TT. The total weight was about 3lbs so, I ain't complaining ......

Postby Chimera » July 10th, 2020, 6:26 am

lol everyone accustom to paying no tax or small tax as a benefit of the courier companies paying their bribes and clearing items for less than what is legally due.

so now things get strict and proper legal taxes being applied...is a scene

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2020, 7:15 am

Rowlee say pay your taxes .

Meanwhile 1% get all the US they want.

What a stupid country we live in.

Vote PNM

Postby aaron17 » July 10th, 2020, 7:48 am

zoom rader wrote:Rowlee say pay your taxes .

Vote PNM

A good idea to list out stuff

eg
vote pnm for ....less jobs...more closure of businesses..more taxes etc

The Official Skybox Thread: Take 2

Postby MaxPower » July 10th, 2020, 7:55 am

zoom rader wrote:Rowlee say pay your taxes .

Vote PNM

1% need the US bro.

How else can they offer T&T services that exceed that of locals?

You would want to restrict/deny them of well deserved USD?

altec

Postby altec » July 10th, 2020, 8:00 am

Premchand1976 wrote:
Dave wrote:You ordering fancy things and don't expect you have to pay to play.
Correct. I've been using csf couriers a few years now and up to recently I got my package pick up notice for a couple gym accessories . Cost me about US $ 60 for items and my invoice from csf was about $250 TT. The total weight was about 3lbs so, I ain't complaining ......

there are instances where customs did what they wanted. I brought in a pair of tweeters with the invoice in the box, I pre alerted in time, yet those mofos estimated the value to be 150.00 even though everything saying $67.00

bgh

Postby bgh » July 10th, 2020, 8:20 am

Using Jetbox for more than a decade, no major issue.
Due to covid, packages takes about 5 days longer to get delivered than previously.

Shipped a couple packages 35 and 39 pounds and the cost 2300 total to clear.

I know someone who shipped 39 pounds, and it cost them over 4k.
When they queried it, they got the difference refund due to being over charged. Check was send next day.

Postby zoom rader » July 10th, 2020, 9:07 am

I gave loads of queries to skybox companies in the past about overcharges.

They always say customs are to blame when in fact it's the stupid office skybox employees tabulating the incorrect amount.

They will never give you cash back but a credit for your next shipment.

Becareful what skybox tells you

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 12th, 2020, 2:18 pm

http://www.looptt.com/content/imbert-cu ... alue-items

Finance Minister Colm Imbert lashed out at media reports of allegedly unfair charges being levied on e-couriers and customers by the Customs Division, saying that items with no value or without a ‘genuine’ invoice are given a value.
Imbert tweeted that additionally, he met with couriers in March to address any issues.

‘A review is conducted by the courier or customs to determine the value of imported goods when the value cannot be verified or the declared value is not supported with a genuine invoice.’
He said some goods are being imported with a zero value.
Imbert announced the introduction of a seven percent Online Purchase Tax in 2016 during a Budget presentation, in addition to increased taxes on alcohol and cigarettes.
Meanwhile, local e-courier Tropical Express issued a statement following online posts from people who were unhappy with their shipping and other fees.
The company said in a social media post that their fees have not changed and that customs can attribute a value if they are ‘do not agree’ with the declared value:
‘If the officer does not agree with the value with or without corresponding invoice or description/ classification presented they can and will uplift the value or change classification.
‘This is being done at their discretion.’
‘Hence why we introduced the PRE-ALERT feature for all incoming shipments on our website https://shiptropical.com/pre-alert-package. Your pre-alert will not be valid without a proper tracking number and uploaded invoice. This will allow us to better provide proof of the values to bring forth to the officers.’
‘Please keep in mind, Tropical Express would have to adhere to the officers' estimated value again, at their discretion.’
The company said there were no increases in their shipping fees.
One person showed what appeared to be a receipt in which the overall fees were almost the same as the value of the item, while another complained also complained of high customs charges.
The company said the customer can file a claim with customs, but said it would not be liable for any overcharges.
‘If you do not agree with the customs charges, you have every right to lodge a claim with customs and we will assist you in doing so. Since you are the direct owner of the package we regrettably won't be able to contest any overcharges that may occur at Customs and Excise on your behalf.’
Customers wishing to query customs taxes and fees on their online items can contact Customs House (Port-of-Spain) at 625-3311.

Postby paid_influencer » July 12th, 2020, 2:54 pm

tbh, them getting away easy compared to the situation in March with bonding packages.

just pay your skybox bill and think of the red house.

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2020, 3:43 pm

Trinis too dotish yes...

Begging down the foreign seller to not put a invoice and then putting a ridiculously low value.....oh goshhhh allyuh mussst get bull.

Used Car parts - $50?

Jordans - $10?

How allyuh dumb AF Trinis say it? - “that making any sense?”

Postby pete » July 13th, 2020, 10:21 am

Full examination of goods has become necessary as they've realised that guns and ammunition are being snuck in through skyboxes as well. About time they start doing it.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 13th, 2020, 11:14 am

Get ready folks we all knew this was going to happen, people sending in fake invoices all the time with ridiculously low prices of obviously expensive items.

Trinis are too greedy just like the Chinese, allyuh paying $800 US for a TV but sending invoices for $50? allyuh serious? or allyuh just dotish for spite?

Now EVERYBODY going to get bull real hard in they bottom all ah we hadda lube up.

Greedy ass morons caused this now we can't order anything again Online. If you buy a laptop for $200 US now, expect to be charged for a value of $1000 US. Is level anal rape from now on by customs, this going to also bankrupt the Skybox companies which I suspect is also part of the plan by the government as too many people shopping online and saving money, putting local businesses out of work and with Covid it made things even worse the government had to do something to force people to buy local

July 9 at 5:44 PM ·

COURIER COMPANIES, CUSTOMERS BEING CRUSHED BY CUSTOM TAXES

Dozens of courier companies say they are facing obsoletion and thousands of their workers, job losses, because of high import taxes and other new “laws” being imposed by the Customs and Excise Division of the Ministry of Finance.

“They’re crippling the courier industry,” a group of companies told the Express, asking for anonymity because of fear of victimisation.

They said they are now seeking legal advice on the matter, insisting changes in the way they do business must pass through Parliament.

They said import taxes being charged on products are so high that a customer who previously paid $600 for a lap top, for instance, now has to pay $1,100.

Noting that “claims are being made they are damaging the business sector”, a spokesman for the group said, new “laws” are brought every Monday morning.

“We are just called in and made to sign the document. We even got a contract recently that stated we can be put out of business at any time.”

The “new laws” include no more than 5,000 packages will be cleared for the day and no item weighing more than 44 pounds can be cleared by a courier company on behalf of the customer. Customers will now have to come in and clear their items for themselves.

“One courier company alone may bring in 5,000 packages.

“This means other companies will have to wait for days to get their cargo cleared, paying high rental and storage fees.

“They’re also doing more examination of packages and what would have taken a few hours would take days sometimes.

“Sometimes, there is no available storage space and the goods are left out in the open.

“Many companies have goods that are rain damaged right now and we have to cover the cost.”

The companies said increased import taxes and storage fees have increased their expenses by about 35 percent.

“For the month, I now sometimes spend between $10,000 and $20,000 extra.”

The spokesman said if a customer orders goods from abroad weighing more than 44 pounds they will have to clear it themselves at Customs.

“This, as well as the delays, eliminate courier companies. The purpose of courier companies is to deliver goods to customers quickly.”

One company owner said a customer came to his office crying recently because she could not get items for special needs children.

“There are others who cannot get medication they ordered from abroad on time.”

The spokesman said they partner with Caribbean Airlines (CAL) and making them obsolete can impact the national airline.

“Right now, CAL’s cargo is the main airline carrying courier cargo. Limiting the amount of cargo we can bring in will mean decreased revenue for CAL.”

They said there are around 40 courier companies operating in T&T and they hire thousands of office workers, delivery drivers and airport handlers.

“Online shopping has shot up over the last six years and increased during the Covid-19 lockdown.

“It’s a big and growing industry. We don’t know who’s trying to put us out of business.

“Are we going to see one big new courier company emerging?”

The companies said when the Government introduced a seven percent online shipping tax in the 2019 budget they went ahead and paid it.

“But these new measures are putting us out of business.

EXPRESS REPORT
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 13th, 2020, 11:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » July 13th, 2020, 11:20 am

Take bull

Ent all yuh want PNM

Stupid Mothers Fvckers , what dumb arse country we live in

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 13th, 2020, 11:23 am

Imbert has responded

https://www.looptt.com/content/imbert-c ... alue-items

^ Just imagine people importing Nike Shoes for $200 US and giving it a false Value of $1

Amazing just amazing, now get bull you retards, I hadda suffer for allyuh fcking dotishness?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 13th, 2020, 11:29 am

zoom rader wrote:Take bull

Ent all yuh want PNM

Stupid Mothers Fvckers , what dumb arse country we live in

I got an email from the SkyBoxes I am with

It implies that Imbert no longer considers any Invoice to be valid, even genuine invoices, Taxes are solely up the discretion of a new Customs Division, apparently they have hired Special customs people now dedicated solely for charging skybox items.

Please note NO invoice is Genuine as of today, if you order a laptop for $200 US it can and WILL be charged for $1000 US value.

This kind of crap never would have happened under UNC, under UNC we could import a $2000 USD Laptop and pay no Tax at all, now if we order a $300 US laptop we can actually pay $2000 just to clear it. And not can but will there are already pictures of people invoices from their skybox floating around facebook with outrageous price hike.

Honestly I expected this, Covid shut down most businesses in Trinidad, Imbert was looking for an excuse to Axe Online shopping for a while now because it is destroying the profits of local businesses.

Trinidad turning into Hong Kong which is turning into China.

greedy fckwit Trinis buying Nike shoes for $200 US and emailing invoices for $1 didn't help, now all ah them going and get bull hard.
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on July 13th, 2020, 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 13th, 2020, 11:29 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:Imbert has responded

https://www.looptt.com/content/imbert-c ... alue-items

^ Just imagine people importing Nike Shoes for $200 US and giving it a false Value of $1

Amazing just amazing, now get bull you retards, I hadda suffer for allyuh fcking dotishness?

How are you going to suffer?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 13th, 2020, 11:33 am

^ Because I buy everything online since it is cheaper and I get better support if my item is broken Amazon will refund me where as locally if the item is broken the local store tells you to p!ss off, I buy things from Amazon Warehouse Deals a lot of their items are brand new with just discolor on the box sold as used. I buy things on Black Friday sale etc

If you think you going to buy things for Black Friday and get away you hadda think again.

Trinidad electronics comes from Latin America it uses inferior Capacitors and fails QC among other parts as opposed to items made in China destined for sale in the US and have passed quality control and other strict tests.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 13th, 2020, 11:39 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Because I buy everything online since it is cheaper and I get better support if my item is broken Amazon will refund me where as locally if the item is broken the local store tells you to p!ss off, I buy things from Amazon Warehouse Deals a lot of their items are brand new with just discolor on the box sold as used. I buy things on Black Friday sale etc

If you think you going to buy things for Black Friday and get away you hadda think again.

Trinidad electronics comes from Latin America it uses inferior Capacitors and fails QC among other parts as opposed to items made in China destined for sale in the US and have passed quality control and other strict tests.

You can still purchase online. They haven't banned that activity.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 13th, 2020, 11:40 am

^ People have bought items online for $300 US and were charged $2000 TT In tax to clear. They have their invoices posted on facebook and they were genuine invoices for items where priced can be verified by a google search but charged way overboard regardless.

So you clearly seem to be missing the point.

But Great is the PNM

Postby Dizzy28 » July 13th, 2020, 11:45 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ People have bought items online for $300 US and were charged $2000 TT In tax to clear. They have their invoices posted on facebook and they were genuine invoices for items where priced can be verified by a google search but charged way overboard regardless.

So you clearly seem to be missing the point.

But Great is the PNM

There is recourse if you are overcharged.
If people have genuine invoices with costs then they can take it up with Customs for the correct fees.

I fail to see what is the issue

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » July 13th, 2020, 11:46 am

LMAO at take it up with customs, ok pal sure whatever you say.

Let's just completely ignore people who should be paying $500 in tax but were charged $2000 and didn't have the $2000 to pay to clear it and are left with no item which is then sold by the Skybox I am sure their "recourse" worked out quite well :lol: :lol:

yeah let's go down to Port of Spain, take a entire day of line up in hot sun for social distancing for every single item we order and if lucky enough maybe wait months for a refund ok pal whatever you say :lol:

That sure is gonna be fun to go POS and spend a whole day lining up for a refund everytime we buy an item :lol:

Postby Dizzy28 » July 13th, 2020, 11:55 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LMAO at take it up with customs, ok pal sure whatever you say.

Let's just completely ignore people who should be paying $500 in tax but were charged $2000 and didn't have the $2000 to pay to clear it and are left with no item which is then sold by the Skybox I am sure their "recourse" worked out quite well :lol: :lol:

yeah let's go down to Port of Spain, take a entire day of line up in hot sun for social distancing for every single item we order and if lucky enough maybe wait months for a refund ok pal whatever you say :lol:

Its your money, do as you please.
But there is a system no matter how broken it may appear. Yes it may take a bit long, I received a letter last week dated July 4th in response to a request made to the Comptroller which I personally hand delivered on June 8th. But within just about one month a response from the Comptroller was obtained.

And as you have said its merely the chickens coming home to roost for years of lying and underhanded invoicing by consumers and skybox companies as well as the usual Customs "greasehandedness"

Postby adnj » July 13th, 2020, 11:58 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:LMAO at take it up with customs, ok pal sure whatever you say.

That sure is gonna be fun to go POS and spend a whole day lining up for a refund everytime we buy an item :lol:

Pics or it never happened.

Postby zoom rader » July 13th, 2020, 2:34 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:^ Because I buy everything online since it is cheaper and I get better support if my item is broken Amazon will refund me where as locally if the item is broken the local store tells you to p!ss off, I buy things from Amazon Warehouse Deals a lot of their items are brand new with just discolor on the box sold as used. I buy things on Black Friday sale etc

You reply sounds like a PNM response.

Amazing how big bussiness are left out of the loop.

All those massive containers underpriced and mostly from 1%

Postby Dizzy28 » July 13th, 2020, 3:10 pm

You reply sounds like a PNM response.

Amazing how big bussiness are left out of the loop.

All those massive containers underpriced and mostly from 1%

Are you massively retarded or something?

It's actually getting pretty stale now that anyone you disagree with on any issue its either they or their opinion is PNM.
Are you capable of critical thought outside of hate for the Baliser?

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » July 13th, 2020, 3:21 pm

Fees on the whole haven't changed. What's happening now is that Customs is now charging consumers what they were supposed to in the 1st place. As was stated before, the 'underhandedness' of both consumers and courier companies have led to this.

I don't think people have an issue paying the taxes that they're supposed to. The beatup comes when Customs overcharges you based on the legit cost of the item. Unfortunately, sale items might now be caught up in the mix.

If it is that all legit invoices (even sale items) are now 'under suspicion', then the allure of online shopping to 'save money' will lose its lustre quite dramatically.

Them Black Friday tech sales starting to look not so great all of a sudden.

It's up to consumers now to use the rate calculators on their respective couriers' sites to determine the estimated cost to import an item.

If you can't get it locally, then you may not have a choice.

Even with all the fees and taxes, there are certain items that still cheaper to import.
I like to import the occasional computer chassis now and again... I may have to resort to shipping by sea instead.

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » July 14th, 2020, 11:31 am

well if is one thing i'm not seeing these increases with blue sky (despite all the effin slowness, and waiting weeks to months for packages) and websource.
if anything the inspection cause it to get slightly cheaper.
Ex: ordered some hybrid battery cells before and after, before it was classed as Auto Part @ full value an the obvious rape ensued, now it got classed as metal pieces @ 1/4 d value both came with no invoice.
This an several kid items i noticed much cheaper clearances on, so maybe they targeting certain ppl or buying patterns?

NR8

Postby NR8 » July 14th, 2020, 11:37 am

daxt0r wrote:well if is one thing i'm not seeing these increases with blue sky (despite all the effin slowness, and waiting weeks to months for packages) and websource.
if anything the inspection cause it to get slightly cheaper.
Ex: ordered some hybrid battery cells before and after, before it was classed as Auto Part @ full value an the obvious rape ensued, now it got classed as metal pieces @ 1/4 d value both came with no invoice.
This an several kid items i noticed much cheaper clearances on, so maybe they targeting certain ppl or buying patterns?

Just wait till Customs seizes another of their shipments for ratchifee sheit.