COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3434 cases, 60 deaths, 1905 active, 855 discharged in T&T

Postby 16 cycles » September 18th, 2020, 6:43 am

~2% of population tested....

don't take chances....

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3327 cases, 58 deaths, 2459 active, 810 discharged in T&T

Postby teems1 » September 18th, 2020, 7:27 am

Social distancing, proper hygiene, work from home and wearing a mask is nonsense?

I'm not a fan of the PNM but these are tried and tested methods of reducing the risk of infection.

Stop opposing for opposing sake. Even if you dislike the PNM you can admit a broken clock is correct twice per day.
sMASH wrote:This is the height of emperor new clothes. Everybody know is nonsense pnm on, but glad to go along with it cause is we time now.... Again...

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3327 cases, 58 deaths, 2459 active, 810 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2020, 8:19 am

teems1 wrote:Social distancing, proper hygiene, work from home and wearing a mask is nonsense?

I'm not a fan of the PNM but these are tried and tested methods of reducing the risk of infection.

Stop opposing for opposing sake. Even if you dislike the PNM you can admit a broken clock is correct twice per day.
sMASH wrote:This is the height of emperor new clothes. Everybody know is nonsense pnm on, but glad to go along with it cause is we time now.... Again...
Holding Carnival, public fundraisers In private residences to avoid the 5 person limit, holding elections, telling people to wear masks and waiting months to actually implement the law, UNREASONABLE obstruction of people returning home that just evaporated when it's even worse.

Do anything u want once u say the right words in public

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3434 cases, 60 deaths, 1905 active, 855 discharged in T&T

Postby K74T » September 18th, 2020, 10:32 am

Update running late again

Postby teems1 » September 18th, 2020, 11:06 am

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:Social distancing, proper hygiene, work from home and wearing a mask is nonsense?

Holding Carnival, public fundraisers In private residences to avoid the 5 person limit, holding elections, telling people to wear masks and waiting months to actually implement the law, UNREASONABLE obstruction of people returning home that just evaporated when it's even worse.

The only country which cancelled February Carnival was Italy with Venice. The pandemic was in it's infancy stages then, and hindsight is 20/20, but Carnival did not affect the spread in Trinidad as people are making it out to be.

Holding elections is a case of lose/lose. If PNM didn't hold elections, the UNC would be wailing and crying to call it and that the PNM are being undemocratic. Holding it would get it done so that it could no longer be a sore point. Again you have to blame the Trini supporters also as they were the ones not practicing social distancing during the campaign.

Holding fundraisers is again the fault of the citizens. No one has a gun to their head forcing them to do so. They made stupid decisions to do so.

For many months now since the first lockdown, the MoH has been saying to wear masks etc. You need a law to be implemented before you wear one? Again you have to be blame the Trinis. They won't do the right thing unless there is a penalty or fine.

With respect to the borders, the government is simply reacting to the world's climate, especially the US. The US has by far the most Trini immigrants ready to return home as they are broke/unemployed. The US also has the most cases in the world, so it's a hard decision that had to be made. When the thousands of Trinis return home, they are going to spread the disease like crazy.

It's not like there are 250k Trinis living in Vietnam who haven't had a positive case for a while ready to return home. You have to look at each situation and country differently.

You have to blame the Trinis for the spread. There is nothing more the Government can do except hold out until a viable vaccine is available.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » September 18th, 2020, 11:41 am

like no update today

Postby Dave » September 18th, 2020, 11:53 am

Nothing to report! All good to go. We are free.

Postby pete » September 18th, 2020, 11:57 am

CNC3 reported 78 new cases.

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 12:00 pm

prob trying to contact relatives of deceased

tiger balm

Postby tiger balm » September 18th, 2020, 12:10 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Just imagine there was an 80 year old patient in UNCLE SAM who spent 81 days on a ventilator and survived. He was released yesterday.

In trinidad, if they find you taking longer than a week(off to a next life for you). As far as I was told (very reliable) once you start on a ventilator it is NOT supposed to come off until you showing good signs of improvement...

THAT IS NOT HAPPENING HERE

So, who is taking off the ventilators? The doctors, nurses or the patients? Because that is what Dr Trotman advised against doing in the press conference on Saturday when the authorities implied, in a round about way, what happened to Burkie. Basically, the patients start to feel better/ showing signs of improvement, somebody takes off the oxygen and they then quickly deteriorate and die because the improvement they experienced is deceiving.

Postby zoom rader » September 18th, 2020, 12:15 pm

teems1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

The only country which cancelled February Carnival was Italy with Venice. The pandemic was in it's infancy stages then, and hindsight is 20/20, but Carnival did not affect the spread in Trinidad as people are making it out to be.

Holding elections is a case of lose/lose. If PNM didn't hold elections, the UNC would be wailing and crying to call it and that the PNM are being undemocratic. Holding it would get it done so that it could no longer be a sore point. Again you have to blame the Trini supporters also as they were the ones not practicing social distancing during the campaign.

Holding fundraisers is again the fault of the citizens. No one has a gun to their head forcing them to do so. They made stupid decisions to do so.

For many months now since the first lockdown, the MoH has been saying to wear masks etc. You need a law to be implemented before you wear one? Again you have to be blame the Trinis. They won't do the right thing unless there is a penalty or fine.

With respect to the borders, the government is simply reacting to the world's climate, especially the US. The US has by far the most Trini immigrants ready to return home as they are broke/unemployed. The US also has the most cases in the world, so it's a hard decision that had to be made. When the thousands of Trinis return home, they are going to spread the disease like crazy.

It's not like there are 250k Trinis living in Vietnam who haven't had a positive case for a while ready to return home. You have to look at each situation and country differently.

You have to blame the Trinis for the spread. There is nothing more the Government can do except hold out until a viable vaccine is available.
The PNM did a con job with Covid .

Holding back testing and not telling the public the true figures and dangers .

How stupid can the public be to belive that the PNM did a good job in managing Covid.

Now you want to want blame Citizens cause PNM wanted to maintain power at the cost of deaths.

You full of 5hit

Postby K74T » September 18th, 2020, 1:41 pm

FB_IMG_1600450404075.jpeg
FB_IMG_1600450401487.jpeg

Postby teems1 » September 18th, 2020, 4:48 pm

From the start they said they only have 4000 test kits from PAHO.

When supply is so low you have to be wise about how you use it.

You wanted them to burn through all 4000 in 1 week and have none for months?

Trinidad doesn't manufacture test kits and the international demand for it was huge, especially from countries which had major outbreaks.

Over time newer testing methods were developed so testing could be ramped up. This took months but it started before election.

The government didn't hide or fudge numbers. They worked with the resources they had at the point in time.
teems1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

The PNM did a con job with Covid .

Holding back testing and not telling the public the true figures and dangers .

How stupid can the public be to belive that the PNM did a good job in managing Covid.

Now you want to want blame Citizens cause PNM wanted to maintain power at the cost of deaths.

You full of 5hit

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2020, 4:57 pm

teems1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

not all hind sight is 20/20

-PEP was calling for carnival to be cancelled. the fact that it was spreading rapidly, it was known at that time to be at least 3% mortal, then it was a poor call.

-58 death and climbing. but at least u dont have UNC bawling to call for elections. 3 times PEP wrote the presi to postpone the elections. we all know how election campaigns go on, that and carnival were text book superspreader activities. a word to the wise is sufficient

-the people to blame for fundraising? i talking about the 'cockails with farris' and the previous one where he an moonilal were liming. a stupid decision to hold them, and to attend them.

-for months now the MoH saying to wear masks,,, now we have a law... if the law wasnt necessary, then why put one now? blame the citizens all u want, but PNM let the citizens spread it first, and then put the law... after the horse has bolted the stable.

- what ever the govt is doing now for foreigners trapped abroad by their own regulations, coudl have been done since the beginning.

-the citizens are to blame, the govt makes the rules to protect them from themselves. but a day late, a dollar short, and u have gross over corrections for foolish decisions.

hind sight is 20/20. but other people knew what to do at the onset.
PNM in charge, yes. and they made the WRONG decisions.

Postby sMASH » September 18th, 2020, 5:13 pm

Postby gastly369 » September 18th, 2020, 5:46 pm

sMASH wrote:https://www.facebook.com/100000318206698/posts/3483034708383768/

Blame this citizen
Big chunee big chune

Penguin

Postby Penguin » September 18th, 2020, 5:57 pm

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:
sMASH wrote:

not all hind sight is 20/20

-PEP was calling for carnival to be cancelled. the fact that it was spreading rapidly, it was known at that time to be at least 3% mortal, then it was a poor call.

-58 death and climbing. but at least u dont have UNC bawling to call for elections. 3 times PEP wrote the presi to postpone the elections. we all know how election campaigns go on, that and carnival were text book superspreader activities. a word to the wise is sufficient

-the people to blame for fundraising? i talking about the 'cockails with farris' and the previous one where he an moonilal were liming. a stupid decision to hold them, and to attend them.

-for months now the MoH saying to wear masks,,, now we have a law... if the law wasnt necessary, then why put one now? blame the citizens all u want, but PNM let the citizens spread it first, and then put the law... after the horse has bolted the stable.

- what ever the govt is doing now for foreigners trapped abroad by their own regulations, coudl have been done since the beginning.

-the citizens are to blame, the govt makes the rules to protect them from themselves. but a day late, a dollar short, and u have gross over corrections for foolish decisions.

hind sight is 20/20. but other people knew what to do at the onset.
PNM in charge, yes. and they made the WRONG decisions.

Agree 100%

Also want to add the mask law is making the situation worse as people are forced to pointlessly wear masks outdoors around noone or when driving with their family. This means as soon as they get to work/firends/family they taking off their masks.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3651 cases, 60 deaths, 2005 active, 822 discharged in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » September 18th, 2020, 6:16 pm

139 cases in the PM
IMG_20200918_181503.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3651 cases, 60 deaths, 2005 active, 822 discharged in T&T

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 6:16 pm

big numbers today, we shifting gears

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2020, 6:26 pm

pugboy wrote:big numbers today, we shifting gears

217 new cases reported today
This is the first time we've crossed 200 new cases reported in one day

jhonnieblue

Postby jhonnieblue » September 18th, 2020, 6:28 pm

Yet the minister saying we are heading down the bell curve

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 6:29 pm

so much for the lil lull we had during the week
it would appear we are still accelerating steadily

217 new cases reported today
This is the first time we've crossed 200 new cases reported in one day

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 18th, 2020, 6:30 pm

Brilliance of the mask laws, been almost 3 weeks since it was implemented right?

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 6:35 pm

we've added 800+ in the last 7 days
linear guesstimate of around 5500-6000 by month end is quite plausible

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 6:36 pm

yes but remember incubation period can be up to 2 weeks
so many of these persons could have been infected before or just about mask laws
or at least we hope so
we will know in a couple weeks if mask laws making a difference

Dohplaydat wrote:

Brilliance of the mask laws, been almost 3 weeks since it was implemented right?

Postby pugboy » September 18th, 2020, 6:37 pm

we are, on the special graph that cambridge educated dr hinds uses to fool us with

jhonnieblue wrote:Yet the minister saying we are heading down the bell curve

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 18th, 2020, 6:39 pm

remember these are positive cases reported on that day
not cases tested positive
They are reporting on testing that was done over a period of weeks
If they represent the data as number of tests showing positive by day it may show it is heading down the bell curve

Like this
119217999_10158457124740610_1088021611272145909_o.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » September 18th, 2020, 6:49 pm

remember these are positive cases reported on that day
not cases tested positive
They are reporting on testing that was done over a period of weeks
If they represent the data as number of tests showing positive by day it may show it is heading down the bell curve

Like this
119217999_10158457124740610_1088021611272145909_o.jpg

Which would mean that graph is wrong though as is you try to distribute these back logged cases, I'm sure you'll see no downward trend.

Postby MaxPower » September 18th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Wow...200+ cases today...

Well done Trinis....keep it up.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 18th, 2020, 7:20 pm

Its actually 4k plus though....but carry on