COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3853 cases, 61 deaths, 2097 active, 829 discharged in T&T

Postby redmanjp » September 20th, 2020, 1:31 am

elec2020 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:
elec2020 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
elec2020 wrote:Another 200 cases. But ain't the mask fine supposed to encourage people to keep on the covid destroying masks. If not. Then what is the point of the fine

To make $

Thats what happens when u have a government that's bankrupt of ideas and finances. 400 cases in 2 days and we undertesting. Ah boy we in for some serious trouble

The current restrictions might have to remain till Xmas oui the way tings going

The Bar owners won't be pleased

I think they raised an issue on why non contact sports allowed but they still under restrictions. Imo sitdown bars, gyms and cinemas were never the super spreaders like the government made them out to be. Case in point all these places closed up or have restricted use but we have 400 cases in the last two days.

i would have to disagree- any place that mask wearing isn't possible because u are eating or drinking would always pose a higher risk- u will just get MORE spread than what is already occurring- and those 400 cases were not for the past 2 days.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3853 cases, 61 deaths, 2097 active, 829 discharged in T&T

Postby adnj » September 20th, 2020, 7:41 am

There’s now even more evidence that restaurant dining sharply increases COVID spread

BY SY MUKHERJEE
September 11, 2020 4:20 PM AST

Growing evidence indicates that proximity to other people is among the easiest ways for coronavirus to spread, especially indoors. A new report from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) adds to the thesis and points to a very specific culprit: Restaurant dining.

In a survey of more than 800 adults, the CDC found that people who had contracted COVID were twice as likely to say they had dined at a restaurant in the preceding two weeks.

The CDC survey examined behaviors ranging from shopping at a mall to visiting people in a home. But the consistent culprit, according to the study, was going to a restaurant.

https://fortune.com/2020/09/11/covid-re ... dc-report/

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2020, 7:52 am

air conditioned place, no masks due to eating
persons there for extended periods
yes a higher risk

maybe they can allow distanced outdoor seating in places where it is possible

adnj wrote:There’s now even more evidence that restaurant dining sharply increases COVID spread

BY SY MUKHERJEE
September 11, 2020 4:20 PM AST

Growing evidence indicates that proximity to other people is among the easiest ways for coronavirus to spread, especially indoors. A new report from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) adds to the thesis and points to a very specific culprit: Restaurant dining.

In a survey of more than 800 adults, the CDC found that people who had contracted COVID were twice as likely to say they had dined at a restaurant in the preceding two weeks.

The CDC survey examined behaviors ranging from shopping at a mall to visiting people in a home. But the consistent culprit, according to the study, was going to a restaurant.

https://fortune.com/2020/09/11/covid-re ... dc-report/

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » September 20th, 2020, 8:37 am

@ redmanjp i should have better phrased my comment. I meant that the government villified bars, gyms and cinemas. That these establishments and insividuals who went to them were largely responsible for the uptick in covid cases. But, based on current evidence, those places appear to not have been contributing to as nuch of the spread of covid as the government made us believe.

abducted

Postby abducted » September 20th, 2020, 8:42 am

‘Last lap’ led to Covid spike

When Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced a roll-back of Covid-19 restrictions on August 15, hundreds of people flocked to beaches and rivers for a “last dip”.

Hundreds also flocked to bars for a last lap before bars were forced to close, in keeping with the restrictions. It was this behaviour that led to the recent spike in Covid-19 cases. This is according to epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds, who noted the numbers began to increase from August 17.

Speaking during yesterday’s virtual media conference, Hinds presented a series of graphs showing the spread of the virus in T&T.

“We do see that post the recommendation on the 17th, we see that we have no in-house dining, no gatherings in beaches, etc, there continued to be something of an uptick; and then on September 2, which is approximately two weeks after the ‘last lap’ activity that preceded the closure of beaches and bars, that we did have a spike that most likely corresponds to an increased number of individuals coming into contact and transmitting illness,” he said.

He added that a downward trend was observed at the end of July, following the reintroduction of restrictions on public gatherings and other regulations.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 15640.html

abducted

Postby abducted » September 20th, 2020, 8:46 am

Decrease in cases

Despite large numbers of cases being reported daily, with 202 new cases reported yesterday, Hinds said the month of September has shown a decrease in positive cases.

Dr. Avery Hinds said the trend for September was that it appeared to be going down.

“We do know that as we do the updates figures get revised retrospectively and we have noted that some of the tests would have been before the period of this update, but even with that recurring pattern which is in itself diminishing, we see there is a tendency to see fewer cases on a daily basis within the month of September,” he said.

killercow

Postby killercow » September 20th, 2020, 8:51 am

abducted wrote:Decrease in cases

Despite large numbers of cases being reported daily, with 202 new cases reported yesterday, Hinds said the month of September has shown a decrease in positive cases.

Dr. Avery Hinds said the trend for September was that it appeared to be going down.

“We do know that as we do the updates figures get revised retrospectively and we have noted that some of the tests would have been before the period of this update, but even with that recurring pattern which is in itself diminishing, we see there is a tendency to see fewer cases on a daily basis within the month of September,” he said.

From day 1 to now, according to hinds it was always a downward trend.

Postby maj. tom » September 20th, 2020, 8:56 am

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavir ... nd-tobago/

The graphs on this page... wait you have to look at them upside down or something? Why doesn't the media ask these questions? Only Trinidad has unique scholars of utmost brilliance to produce different graphs from the rest of the world recording the same data.

Why do they continue to lie?

Postby sMASH » September 20th, 2020, 9:13 am

abducted wrote:‘Last lap’ led to Covid spike

When Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley announced a roll-back of Covid-19 restrictions on August 15, hundreds of people flocked to beaches and rivers for a “last dip”.

Hundreds also flocked to bars for a last lap before bars were forced to close, in keeping with the restrictions. It was this behaviour that led to the recent spike in Covid-19 cases. This is according to epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds, who noted the numbers began to increase from August 17.

Speaking during yesterday’s virtual media conference, Hinds presented a series of graphs showing the spread of the virus in T&T.

“We do see that post the recommendation on the 17th, we see that we have no in-house dining, no gatherings in beaches, etc, there continued to be something of an uptick; and then on September 2, which is approximately two weeks after the ‘last lap’ activity that preceded the closure of beaches and bars, that we did have a spike that most likely corresponds to an increased number of individuals coming into contact and transmitting illness,” he said.

He added that a downward trend was observed at the end of July, following the reintroduction of restrictions on public gatherings and other regulations.

:deadhorse:

2WNBoost

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 3853 cases, 61 deaths, 2097 active, 829 discharged in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » September 20th, 2020, 10:02 am

I’ve seen posts alluding to limited effort being made to treat ICU COVID patients.
Here’s the harsh reality.
ICU treatment is very expensive. All those people in foreign lands who have recovered where getting treatment at their expense.

T&T is not in the position to try every treatment option without regard to the expense.

A wealthy family may be willing to burn all their cash to save a loved on, but the country cannot spend all our cash on COVID.
Especially with the need to pay for other medical treatments, food, security, education, disaster relief, pandemic relief, public sector expenses, etc

We have to accept that there will be losses as a result of this virus.

Many years ago I told my loved ones that should I require clinical support to survive, then switch off the machines after 7 days.
This way I don’t become a burden and they are left with some cash to continue living.

Do your part to protect yourself, your loved ones and your fellow man.
But the fact is, some of us will die.

Stay Safe Everyone

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2020, 10:29 am

because they take us all for idiots
worse yet the media who do the questioning not too bright to ask or observe the obvious fraud we seeing in black and white

maj. tom wrote:https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/country/trinidad-and-tobago/

The graphs on this page... wait you have to look at them upside down or something? Why doesn't the media ask these questions? Only Trinidad has unique scholars of utmost brilliance to produce different graphs from the rest of the world recording the same data.

Why do they continue to lie?

Postby Kenjo » September 20th, 2020, 10:31 am

2WNBoost wrote:I’ve seen posts alluding to limited effort being made to treat ICU COVID patients.
ICU treatment is very expensive. All those people in foreign lands who have recovered where getting treatment at their expense.

T&T is not in the position to try every treatment option without regard to the expense.

A wealthy family may be willing to burn all their cash to save a loved on, but the country cannot spend all our cash on COVID.
Especially with the need to pay for other medical treatments, food, security, education, disaster relief, pandemic relief, public sector expenses, etc

Many years ago I told my loved ones that should I require clinical support to survive, then switch off the machines after 7 days.
This way I don’t become a burden and they are left with some cash to continue living.

Stay Safe Everyone

What’s the exact treatment for a corona patient? If a patient is on a ventilator and not improving what’s the 100% proven medication ? Steroids is one that is kind of cheap

Postby teems1 » September 20th, 2020, 10:40 am

2WNBoost wrote:I’ve seen posts alluding to limited effort being made to treat ICU COVID patients.

Stay Safe Everyone

Can you give a breakdown of the costs involved?

So far all the videos seem to show them on ventilators and monitoring. Can you explain the very expensive part?

The below video is taken from Italy, and they are not being charged for treatment. So I'm not sure where you're getting that from.

The US has privatized healthcare, so there is a cost there, but the rest of the world has universal healthcare.

Postby Strugglerzinc » September 20th, 2020, 10:46 am

Like Avery using his Cambridge brain to figure out how to manipulate the figures today?

Postby MaxPower » September 20th, 2020, 10:53 am

Trinis are to blame.

Not to mention the Election hooligans.

Postby K74T » September 20th, 2020, 11:01 am

3 deaths and 13 new cases

ImageImage

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2020, 11:02 am

That's 14

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 20th, 2020, 11:04 am

Kenjo wrote:

Stay Safe Everyone

What’s the exact treatment for a corona patient? If a patient is on a ventilator and not improving what’s the 100% proven medication ? Steroids is one that is kind of cheap

There is no 100% proven medication.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 20th, 2020, 11:45 am

We are not alone.
Second wave on its way in the UK

How it all went wrong (again) in Europe as second wave grips continent
https://www.cnn.com/2020/09/19/europe/e ... index.html

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 20th, 2020, 11:55 am

teems1 wrote:
2WNBoost wrote:
Stay Safe Everyone

Can you give a breakdown of the costs involved?

So far all the videos seem to show them on ventilators and monitoring. Can you explain the very expensive part?

The below video is taken from Italy, and they are not being charged for treatment. So I'm not sure where you're getting that from.

The US has privatized healthcare, so there is a cost there, but the rest of the world has universal healthcare.

Italy is no fairy tale

https://www.nordeatrade.com/en/explore- ... al-context

Italy's economy was heavily impacted by the global financial crisis and only emerged from recession in 2015, however in 2018 the country’s GDP was still 4% lower than the 2007 level. In 2019 the economy stagnated due to several factors, including the uncertain political situation and the Eurozone slowdown. The Italy's GDP has only increased by 0.3% in 2019, compared to 0.8% in 2018 (IMF). According to the updated IMF forecasts from 14th April 2020, due to the outbreak of the COVID-19, GDP growth is expected to fall to -9.1% in 2020 and pick up to 4.8% in 2021, subject to the post-pandemic global economic recovery.

Italy’s public finances situation is still worrying: the public debt – at 133.2% of GDP in 2019 - remains among the highest in the world, and is expected to increase slightly in the upcoming years, due to the feeble nominal GDP growth and a deteriorating primary balance. The country’s primary budget (which excludes interest payments) is structurally positive, however the interest cost on government’s debt weighs heavily on Italy’s accounts. After EU institutions applied pressure on the Italian government in order to lower the 2019 deficit that was originally planned at 2.4% in its budget act (due to the welfare measures introduced and a rise in public investments), the actual deficit was estimated at 2.2% by the European Commission, amid weaker economic growth and lower-than-expected revenues, and is forecast at 2.3% in 2020. Inflation decreased from 1.2% to 0.6% in 2019 mostly due to lower energy prices and a lack of growth in real wages. Inflation rate should decrease to 0.2% in 2020 and increase to 0.7% in 2021, according to the latest World Economic Outlook of the IMF (14th April 2020).

Unemployment rate, which has been on the rise since the global financial crisis, started dropping in 2018 and went down to 10% in 2019, although youth unemployment remains high at 25.7% (ISTAT). Regional inequalities between the highly industrialised and dynamic North and the poorer, rural southern “Mezzogiorno” areas are still high, and organised crime and black economy remain important open issues. Furthermore, Italy has to face a falling birth rate and a declining population. The IMF expects however the unemployment rate to be affected by the negative economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic, the rate being currently estimated to increase to 12.7% in 2020 and decrease slightly to 10.5% in 2021.

Postby De Dragon » September 20th, 2020, 12:54 pm

Seems the PNM is attempting one of those "don't believe what your eyes and brain are telling you" kind of strategies to propagandize the response, or lack thereof. The apportioning of blame seems heavily skewed away from everyone EXCEPT the PNM GORTT, who so far have shown no inclination to accept any.

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2020, 1:06 pm

apportioning blame is something they tell ppl to appease and give reason to believe everything is fine otherwise

Postby aaron17 » September 20th, 2020, 1:06 pm

Lets see what they will blame after....a pro laps/e?

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2020, 1:13 pm

they could always blame the venes but then it would make nat sec look bad

Postby K74T » September 20th, 2020, 3:31 pm

FB_IMG_1600630165728.jpeg

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » September 20th, 2020, 4:11 pm

Breaking down this ‘miracle’ COVID-19 survivor’s $1.1 million hospital bill

https://www.marketwatch.com/story/break ... 2020-06-16

More than $400,000 for six weeks in the ICU, and $82,000 for a month on a ventilator

This life-saving coronavirus treatment could easily drain someone’s life savings. And then some.

A Seattle COVID-19 survivor knew that he must have run up a pretty huge medical tab after spending March and April in the hospital, including more than a month in the intensive care unit. But Michael Flor, 70, told the Seattle Times that the 181-page, $1.1 million hospital bill nearly gave him a heart attack.

“I opened it and said ‘Holy [bleep]!’” he said.

Flor was dubbed “the miracle child” by nurses at Swedish Medical Center in Issaquah, Wash., for his incredible turnaround after spending four weeks on a ventilator. He was so close to death at one point that a night-shift nurse held a phone to his ear so that his wife and children could say their final goodbyes from quarantine. He was “as sick as you can get, with basically every organ system shutting down,” according to one of his doctors.

“I opened it and said ‘Holy [bleep]!’”
The good news is that Flor recovered and is back at home. And he’s probably off the hook for that $1.1 million, because his insurance is footing the bill for most of his medical costs. And his remaining $6,000 out-of-pocket expenses will probably be picked up by the more than $100 billion that Congress has earmarked to help hospitals and insurance companies cover the costs of the COVID-19 pandemic. But Flor’s hospital bill still offers a fascinating look at the cost of treating a life-threatening illness such as COVID-19.

Here’s how the $1,122,501.04 bill breaks down:

The 181-page book — sorry, bill — includes almost 3,000 itemized charges, averaging about 50 a day. The greatest expense by far was his 42-day stay in the ICU, totaling $408,912. His room had to be sealed, and was accessed only by medical staff wearing plastic suits and headgear, which cost $9,736 a day.

Flor also was hooked to a mechanical ventilator for 29 days, which at $2,835 a day ran up to $82,215.

There were two days when his heart, kidneys and lungs were all failing. And the bill for that touch-and-go period spans 20 pages and runs almost $100,000 in costs as doctors “were throwing everything at me they could think of,” Flor said.

Almost a quarter of the bill includes various drug costs, and this accounting doesn’t even factor in Flor’s two weeks of recovery in a rehabilitation facility.

Flor said that the bill has given him survivor’s guilt. “There’s a sense of ‘why me?’ Why did I deserve all this?” he told the Seattle Times. “Looking at the incredible cost of it all definitely adds to that survivor’s guilt.”

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2020, 4:33 pm

icu locally private is around starting $2500/day room and board only, add extra for drugs, consumables and doc fees

Postby K74T » September 20th, 2020, 6:06 pm

Another death and 35 new cases

FB_IMG_1600639560453.jpeg

Postby pugboy » September 20th, 2020, 6:37 pm

4 for the day is highest daily so far

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » September 20th, 2020, 7:07 pm

Bluefete and honourable

That's 15!!! Coincidence??? Or no???

Buss the mark?? Ah go wait on allyuh