1 Year Anniversary - RIP! Andrea Bharatt kidnapped, murdered

MarlonSam

Re: Arima woman kidnapped, found dead

Postby MarlonSam » February 7th, 2021, 11:56 pm

“Do these people have a heart?”

This was the question Randolph Bharatt yesterday contemplated about the men who kidnapped and killed his only child, Andrea.

His heart breaking as he continued to remember walking along Heights of Aripo, Arima, to identify his daughter’s body on Thursday, Bharatt was reinforced by his faith as he talked about the fate of the men who took Andrea.

Speaking for the first time since he saw her body down a precipice, he spoke of the men “who had lost their reason and turned to brutish deeds”.

Bharatt said: “You don’t touch God’s anointed people. He does get back. He will lash back. People in this country need to get serious and put God first.”

On Friday, Bharatt’s family held a wake at her Arima Old Road home which was attended by about 60 people.

In a phone interview, Bharatt, an electrician, recounted how he has been suffering since his daughter went missing: “I have been not sleeping. I have not been eating. It’s not easy.”

He said his brain felt “blank” since his daughter’s kidnap and murder.

Asked if he believed Andrea may have been a target and her disappearance was linked her job in the court as suggested by an online newspaper report (and immediately denied by Police Commissioner Gary Griffith) Bharatt said: “Honestly, people have nothing to do. They should mind their business. I does fix fans. I have no information on it. This is news to me. Look at how many problems I have...”

Bharatt also recalled how he affectionately referred to Andrea.

He said: “I call her about 99 times ‘Andrea’ and she did not answer. I called her ‘Pig’ and she came running. So it stuck,” he said as he recalled a good memory of his daughter.

Sharing more memories of his daughter, Bharatt said: “She loved Indian movies. Her favourite colour was pink. She loved butterflies. Anything to do with butterflies.”

Buoyed by family support, Bharatt added: “My family has been here with me. People have been calling and coming to the house.

“They have been expressing condolences. (My brother) Raymond has been here with me right through. He has really been there for me. This morning we got up and we were praying. We were crying.”

Asked about his neighbours, the Bobbs, Bharatt said: “They have really been there for me. Dawn is distraught. She loved Andrea like her own daughter. She is really feeling hurt. She is crying for Andrea.”

He said the family had a prayer group from Arima Friday night.

“They came from Andrea’s church. We are having another prayer group from San Fernando (last night). The pastor is coming for about 7.30 p.m. We had about 60 people. They came and they said prayers.”

Bharatt said people from all over had reacted to his daughter’s death and it had become a “worldwide event”.

He thanked Police Commissioner Gary Griffith and the police for their dedication and diligence towards finding his daughter.

“I want to thank the police from the top to the last rung. I want to thank the hunters and all the people and the volunteers who really came out and helped. Even the poorest people...were praying and crying for my dear daughter,” said Bharatt.

He said he had actually counselled two people who lost their children under horrific circumstances yesterday.

“It was not easy to digest the details. They came here crying and they left laughing.”

Tomorrow, Bharatt will witness her autopsy at the Forensic Science Centre, St James.

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 089d8.html

Postby MaxPower » February 8th, 2021, 12:11 am

matr1x wrote:Sorry about your grandparents Gladiator. Your grandad was a friggin hero. Those 2 guys had a choice and made the grave they slept in

Postby matr1x » February 8th, 2021, 2:29 am

Sad thing is, people still believe in God. Fairytales don't save lives

Postby aaron17 » February 8th, 2021, 3:11 am

matr1x wrote:Sad thing is, people still believe in God. Fairytales don't save lives
What we can't explain....or control ..we include God in the sentence.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 8th, 2021, 5:05 am

Theory # 200 :|

Latest Theory on Andreas kidnapping :
Tongue say its the one who has all the rape charges who killed her. The intent was robbery to pay his rent, they got the money from her bank account and they went their way and left the girl with the rapist who said he will drop her off, when the guy listening the news the next day he hearing about this girl missing so he called the guy to find out what he did with the girl he said she done dead already. So the guy called his wife and told her what happened so she advised him to go to the police, the most he will get charged with is robbery. He called the guy and told him he going to the police and the guy made arrangements for him to collect a gun he had for him clearly he had planned to kill the witness but by the time the guy got home police was already at his house, so he sang like a canary.
All this talk about bail conspiracy just came out as a result of the investigation but it was a crime of opportunity. They had planned to rob the other girl too but she dropped off early and they didn’t want it to look suspicious so they dropped her off. When they robbed the girl they got $185. She begged then not to harm her and told them she has money in the bank and they can take her bank card and got $5000 which they split up among themselves. The other guy who left the girl with the rapist thought he kept her so he could have gotten another $5000 the next day only to be told that she’s dead.

Postby aaron17 » February 8th, 2021, 7:03 am

Theory 200? Didn't even know there were so many in count.

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2021, 7:17 am

matr1x wrote:But let's be honest, afro workers are creepers. Heard a black worker ask an indo worker if he would let's his son date his daughter. The daughter is 10. The indo man shrug he shoulders and say no.

Black women better to deal with than injun .Injun does have too much problems and have petty minds .

Postby mero » February 8th, 2021, 8:00 am

Les Bain wrote:All ulyuh talking bout afro and indo, but glorification of the ghetto lifestyle expanded it past the afro community. The well off, fair skin children jump on the bandwagon but is just a bandwagon: they get off eventually and go foreign while Raj and Kwame get ketch in the life til age, popo or their gunta peers feed them some lead.

Once is not too late.

Ghetto life seems like fun for many non ghetto ppl cuz they could just go back in dey mummy home, turn off the badness and put on cold breeze and sleep. But plenty get caught up cuz they ain't ready for the conquences

Ghetto life easy to capitalize on and mooch off, everybody want to know a badman from a zone to call up dey name in petty arguments. Latest slangs, protection from a gunta bredren,dances, trends, food..pose with big roll on in dey mouth.... to show off on tik tok. Always been the case. Like if it's almost a strategy

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2021, 8:12 am

mero wrote:
Les Bain wrote:All ulyuh talking bout afro and indo, but glorification of the ghetto lifestyle expanded it past the afro community. The well off, fair skin children jump on the bandwagon but is just a bandwagon: they get off eventually and go foreign while Raj and Kwame get ketch in the life til age, popo or their gunta peers feed them some lead.

Once is not too late.

Ghetto life seems like fun for many non ghetto ppl cuz they could just go back in dey mummy home, turn off the badness and put on cold breeze and sleep. But plenty get caught up cuz they ain't ready for the conquences

Ghetto life easy to capitalize on and mooch off, everybody want to know a badman from a zone to call up dey name in petty arguments. Latest slangs, protection from a gunta bredren,dances, trends, food..pose with big roll on in dey mouth.... to show off on tik tok. Always been the case. Like if it's almost a strategy
Dat sounds like Mouttx

Postby teems1 » February 8th, 2021, 8:28 am

Relaxing in their enclaves.

Because they know one half of the country would rather keep them as modern day massa than have the other half in power.
Redress10 wrote:Where the syrian/lebanese and local white voices in all of this.

Seems that black/brown people always have to shoulder the burden of bettering the country whilst the other groups hide away and silently profit.

Postby aaron17 » February 8th, 2021, 9:49 am

Is there a God thread?

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 8th, 2021, 10:24 am

MarlonSam wrote:society needs to be extremely careful now:
https://www.facebook.com/TrinidadBandit ... 6529548353

these people like they in training...

Hey now, just because they are singing about committing crimes and brandishing actual weapons does not mean they are criminals.

You're such a bigot wow

one eye

Postby one eye » February 8th, 2021, 11:47 am

If it was a girl of African descent, there wouldn't be this much uproar but its an Indian girl so everyone come out of their caves like hungry gremlins.

When so much African girls went missing and was never found in the past, nobody gave a f*ck.

This situation shows prejudice people of this country are.

God did not give humanity the power to weigh a soul over another but since she was wearing a UWI graduation outfit she is deemed better than the rest of the population.

Something is seriously wrong with individuals on this site.

Postby ruffneck_12 » February 8th, 2021, 11:52 am

There was an uproar because we had more details so everyone was on the edge of their seat as the story developed.

The motorcades and vigils were for the other girls as well. EVERY SINGLE GIRL that was made a victim.

The protests was for the safety of women in general. The protest was for Ashanti as well.

Good b8 m8

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 11:54 am

one eye wrote:If it was a girl of African descent, there wouldn't be this much uproar but its an Indian girl so everyone come out of their caves like hungry gremlins.

When so much African girls went missing and was never found in the past, nobody gave a f*ck.

God did not give humanity the power to weigh a soul over another but since she was wearing a UWI graduation outfit she is deemed better than the rest of the population.

You are just as bad as all the others spouting race who cannot see past their nose holes!

I dunno what to say about allyuh.

This is not about race but it is about a young lady whose death has hit a tipping point for T&T.

But then allyuh PNM and UNC sycophants are all doing your masters and mistresses biddings.

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2021, 11:54 am

I also think given we had two in quick succession with similar details had ppl in an uproar state of mind.

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2021, 11:55 am

one eye wrote:If it was a girl of African descent, there wouldn't be this much uproar but its an Indian girl so everyone come out of their caves like hungry gremlins.

One eye

Africans need to show concerns for their fellow tribesmen .

Where is the emancipated support community or the Fat arse brigade to highlight African concerns ?

The only time Africans come together is on election day for tribal voting.

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 11:56 am

Dave wrote:I also think given we had two in quick succession with similar details had ppl in an uproar state of mind.

But this one is definitely different. I don't know why but it has awoken the minds of people in a very different way.

I am feeling it on the ground unlike any other.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 8th, 2021, 11:59 am

Yea we saw FordeG say the same.

In reality, the reason for the uproar is that this young was young, innocent-looking, educated, and by all accounts a very simple kind gentle person.

No offense to many other innocent women who were killed, but this one pulled our heart strings.

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 12:01 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Yea we saw FordeG say the same.

In reality, the reason for the uproar is that this young was young, innocent-looking, educated, and by all accounts a very simple kind gentle person.

No offense to many other innocent women who were killed, but this one pulled our heart strings.

Amen to that. Plus she was her father's only child and they were very close because her mum died some years ago. If you saw the video where her father fixed her old toy car - TEARS!

Postby MaxPower » February 8th, 2021, 12:30 pm

matr1x wrote:Sad thing is, people still believe in God. Fairytales don't save lives

Slim,

There is still a God.

If you have not spoken to God, now is the time to do so.

One may ask, why talk to God now? Why talk to God when things are bad or when i want something?

Get down on your knees, look above and open your arms and say thank you and start with that.

Postby Dave » February 8th, 2021, 12:30 pm

Both rocked me.

I just couldn't get what anyone would want to do with these two little girls who clearly not in anyone business.
Ashanti didn't even see her twenties and Andrea now enjoying hers.

Helpless defenceless human beings that was robbed of their chance at life.
bluefete wrote:
Dave wrote:I also think given we had two in quick succession with similar details had ppl in an uproar state of mind.

But this one is definitely different. I don't know why but it has awoken the minds of people in a very different way.

I am feeling it on the ground unlike any other.

Postby aaron17 » February 8th, 2021, 1:16 pm

Slim,

There is still a God.

One may ask, why talk to God now? Why talk to God when things are bad or when i want something?

Get down on your knees, look above and open your arms and say thank you and start with that.

and may I ask which is the religion to follow?

Postby Les Bain » February 8th, 2021, 1:23 pm

If that is what you took away from this case after following all the details like the rest of us and getting the accounts of the father-daughter relationship, something is wrong with you, you dotish racist jackass.

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2021, 1:28 pm

aaron17 wrote:

Slim,

There is still a God.

and may I ask which is the religion to follow?
His Imperial Majesty Jah RasTafafi

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2021, 1:32 pm

Les Bain wrote:

If that is what you took away from this case after following all the details like the rest of us and getting the accounts of the father-daughter relationship, something is wrong with you, you dotish racist jackass.
Nah bai

One eye correct

The African community does not seem to show concerns when their kind go missing or locked up in jail.

The African community needs to bond together instead of only coming together for elections

All these African groups only after Money be it the ,

Emancipation Support Committee
Fat arse brigade
Black agenda
Red government

They show no support for Africans

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 8th, 2021, 1:47 pm

Les Bain wrote:

Nah bai

One eye correct

The African community does not seem to show concerns when their kind go missing or locked up in jail.

The African community needs to bond together instead of only coming together for elections

All these African groups only after Money be it the ,

Emancipation Support Committee
Fat arse brigade
Black agenda
Red government

They show no support for Africans

Always good to get your perspective because there is truth here too

Postby redmanjp » February 8th, 2021, 1:58 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/02/08/womens-group-alliance-calls-for-action-tears-are-not-enough/

Women's group alliance calls for action: Tears are not enough
AN alliance of social actors in a statement on Monday called for an urgent national action plan against gender violence, saying it was not enough to just mourn murder/kidnap victims Andrea Bharatt and Ashanti Riley.

The Alliance for State Action to End Gender-based Violence includes the Coalition against Domestic Violence, the Institute of Gender and Development Studies (UWI, St Augustine), CAISO, the FPA, PLOTT, WINAD, YWCA, CAFRA, Workingwomen and Womantra.

The alliance said in its statement: "Words are not sufficient to express our collective grief on the murder of Andrea Bharatt. We hold her family and her friends in our hearts and offer our deepest condolences."

Women are at risk for physical and sexual violence in homes and on the streets, the alliance lamented. "Violence against women and girls is a national emergency and should be treated as such.

"Whilst we have had some signs of progress, as a country we still do not have a co-ordinated plan to prevent and respond to this terror that stalks women’s and girls’ lives."

The group lamented some men's use of violence to express power and control over women, as linked to gender inequality and sexist attitudes and behaviours.

"Too many men continue to receive the message that being a man means being dominant, being the 'head of household,' being in charge, having access to women’s bodies whether there is consent or not, and controlling women’s lives."

One in three women has experienced domestic violence, and one in five has been sexually assaulted, the alliance said.

"These statistics come as no surprise to women who must be on high alert on the streets, in the workplace, and in public transportation because sexual harassment can quickly escalate into physical and sexual violence.

"Too many women have shared, just in the past week, stories of the terror faced in travelling to and from home each day for work, the fear of doing day to day tasks that should be simple, and the grief and anger of yet another woman missing, now murdered."

Women know of too many women and girls still missing.

"It is not enough to grieve for Ashanti Riley, for Andrea Bharatt and for the many girls who have gone missing, been kidnapped or been killed. It is not enough to grieve for Suzette Sylvester, killed by her husband. We must act."

This is an obligation for the whole of society, it said, but with the onus most heavily on those with the power and responsibility to make the difference.

"For government, we repeat our call for a national action plan which is accompanied by a budget.

"This plan should improve policing, it should fund shelters, and it should improve judicial services so that we have a system in which delay is not endemic."

The group said the education system, from early childhood education to university, must include messages of gender and sexual equality and respect, so teaching practice is infused with empathy and care. It urged an end to corporal punishment, saying the use of violence to discipline entails more harm than good.

"We have to take seriously the need for a gender-sensitive transportation policy that takes women’s greater use of public transportation and real vulnerability getting to or from work or to their families."

Organisations involving men should take serious responsibility here.

"Today we ask male leaders and male dominated institutions, what are you doing? What are you saying? How are you acting to make the world a more equal and safe space for women?

"We call on men to organise a public show of solidarity at this time when women need to know that men are committed to a world in which they are safe from men’s violence against women."

This should be done not because women are men's mothers, sisters, "tanties" or daughters, but because women are human beings, equally entitled to lives of dignity, peace and safety.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 2:06 pm

Ian Alleyne live on youtube for the Women protesting at the Red House in POS.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-R6deCC6HQ8

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » February 8th, 2021, 2:46 pm

While i applaud all these women's groups for coming together to put pressure on the government, remember this isn't solely a feminist issue. The bigger issue is our failed police service and judiciary and the officials who oversee these bodies.