Great is the DSS

Exits ched

mirohid424

Re: Best Way to Invest Money

Postby mirohid424 » February 7th, 2021, 7:16 pm

bluefete wrote:For a conservative investor:

UTC - 2nd Scheme - Pays around 1%

UTC - 1st Scheme - Price varies but if you keep your money for 3 years, you can get back your original deposit if it is less.

FCB - Abercrombie TT$ Fund - pays around 1%-1.5%

Thank you! I will talk to UTC and FCB concerning what you suggested.

Numb3r4

Re: Best Way to Invest Money in Trinidad

Postby Numb3r4 » February 7th, 2021, 10:02 pm

A good way would also be to just don't spend, with enough time any money not spent is an investment.

In these times just having a savings and wanting to save is a great thing.
If you are serious about an investment but can't figure out all the financial instruments don't beat yourself up too much, just try to keep saving, try for a fixed sum every month.

With that comes adjusting your spending habits as well, another great way to improve your life.

Postby Dave » February 7th, 2021, 10:11 pm

PM me if you have a credit card with a relatively high limit.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » February 8th, 2021, 12:07 am

My advice for simple investing is to go with Roytrin Income & Growth Fund, and make monthly contributions on top of your initial investment. Your money will grow a lot over time, the longer you leave it and keep contributing, the faster it will grow.

The average 5 years return is 10% (http://www.rbcroyalbank.com/caribbean/tt/investments/roytrin-mutual-funds/returns.html) which is phenomenal for hands-off investing. Most importantly when you go for this option is not to withdraw anything when the market (i.e. fund) goes down because of some financial crash...in fact that is when you increase your contributions.

I really like this fund for simple investing because you can buy in TT$, and it holds shares in big name US companies like facebook, amazon and google (http://www.rbcroyalbank.com/caribbean/tt/document/TT_roytrin_tt_income_growth.pdf) which are growth companies. Scotia and Unitrust have similar/better mutual funds, but you need US$ cash.

I would avoid all those investments paying a lil 1% cus inflation guh eat yuh investment... recently inflation does hover around 1% (https://www.statista.com/statistics/728916/inflation-rate-in-trinidad-and-tobago/)... a bug-warner guh cost yuh $1000 today, but next year is $1010... meanwhile yuh investment will basically maintain d same value...it guh be $1010 and yuh no better off dan weh yuh start

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 11:51 am

unimatrix-001 wrote:My advice for simple investing is to go with Roytrin Income & Growth Fund, and make monthly contributions on top of your initial investment. Your money will grow a lot over time, the longer you leave it and keep contributing, the faster it will grow.

The average 5 years return is 10% (http://www.rbcroyalbank.com/caribbean/tt/investments/roytrin-mutual-funds/returns.html) which is phenomenal for hands-off investing. Most importantly when you go for this option is not to withdraw anything when the market (i.e. fund) goes down because of some financial crash...in fact that is when you increase your contributions.

I really like this fund for simple investing because you can buy in TT$, and it holds shares in big name US companies like facebook, amazon and google (http://www.rbcroyalbank.com/caribbean/tt/document/TT_roytrin_tt_income_growth.pdf) which are growth companies. Scotia and Unitrust have similar/better mutual funds, but you need US$ cash.

I would avoid all those investments paying a lil 1% cus inflation guh eat yuh investment... recently inflation does hover around 1% (https://www.statista.com/statistics/728916/inflation-rate-in-trinidad-and-tobago/)... a bug-warner guh cost yuh $1000 today, but next year is $1010... meanwhile yuh investment will basically maintain d same value...it guh be $1010 and yuh no better off dan weh yuh start

Thanks a lot, man! You sound like you really know your stuff. I will definitely check it out. BTW I pm you. Hope you don't mind

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 12:06 pm

I was going to suggest RBC Income & Growth Funds as well. They have done reasonably well except that last year investors took a bloodbath and people lost tons of money for the period around April - June 2020. due to Covid

It did recover after but some are still counting their losses.

But as unimatrix wrote, it is one you can look at.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 12:10 pm

bluefete wrote:I was going to suggest RBC Income & Growth Funds as well. They have done reasonably well except that last year investors took a bloodbath and people lost tons of money for the period around April - June 2020. due to Covid

This ain't exactly an inspiring post to make anyone invest. :?

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 12:16 pm

DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:I was going to suggest RBC Income & Growth Funds as well. They have done reasonably well except that last year investors took a bloodbath and people lost tons of money for the period around April - June 2020. due to Covid

Well, it is the truth.

Like I said, the fund has generally performed well over the past 10 years (since they moved from the static $25.00 to a floating NAV) except for that Covid thing last year.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 12:18 pm

bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Well, it is the truth.

Like I said, the fund has generally performed well over the past 10 years (since they moved from the static $25.00 to a floating NAV) except for that Covid thing last year.

That NAV thing is chouble. The NAV price can fluctuate wildly and people more often than not gonna lose money. The best option and least riskiest is to invest in a mutual fund with a static price but smaller returns each period.

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:21 pm

Oh, thanks for letting me know about this though @bluefete.

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:23 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Well, I'm still grateful for the information.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 12:26 pm

Just don't let your 5K go up in smoke. :faint:

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:26 pm

DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Well, it is the truth.

That NAV thing is chouble. The NAV price can fluctuate wildly and people more often than not gonna lose money. The best option and least riskiest is to invest in a mutual fund with a static price but smaller returns each period.

Alright, thanks. Well I'm considering the UTC TT$ Income Fund as my final decision

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:28 pm

DMan7 wrote:Just don't let your 5K go up in smoke. :faint:

Thanks a lot, man :)

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:30 pm

mirohid424 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Well, it is the truth.

Alright, thanks. Well I'm considering the UTC TT$ Income Fund as my final decision.

What you guys think about that?

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 12:32 pm

NAV can go up and down. It is for the more adventurous. But you still get decent returns regardless.

The conservative investor would do as DMan7 said: Unit Trust 2nd Scheme - $20.00 static @ 1%-1.5% and FCB Abercrombie $20.00 (I think) as well.

One thing I forgot that Unimatrix stated.

Always consider the rate of inflation on your investments. The current inflation rate in T&T is about 0.8% (December 2020 - Central Bank). Any investment you make should give you a rate of at least 0.8% and above. Anything less and you would be losing on the value of your money.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 12:33 pm

mirohid424 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Well, it is the truth.

Alright, thanks. Well I'm considering the UTC TT$ Income Fund as my final decision.

I've been in that for a very long time now. Although it's very tiny returns every 3 months (that is the income distribution period) you are relatively safe with your money there unless you're a risky fella.

Also I see that there's a Soo Soo thread you can probably check that out as well.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=757309

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 12:35 pm

mirohid424 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Well, it is the truth.

That is about as safe as you can get! If you let the returns stay your money will compound over time.

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:40 pm

bluefete wrote:
mirohid424 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Well, it is the truth.

https://www.ttutc.com/what-are-mutual-f ... come-fund/

That is about as safe as you can get! If you let the returns stay your money will compound over time.

Nice! Thanks

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:48 pm

DMan7 wrote:
mirohid424 wrote:
DMan7 wrote:
bluefete wrote:
DMan7 wrote:

Well, it is the truth.

I've been in that for a very long time now. Although it's very tiny returns every 3 months (that is the income distribution period) you are relatively safe with your money there unless you're a risky fella.

Also I see that there's a Soo Soo thread you can probably check that out as well.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=757309

@DMan7 Thanks, I'm going with this one https://www.ttutc.com/what-are-mutual-f ... come-fund/ .

You're also with this one? https://www.ttutc.com/product/mutual-fu ... ed%20bonds.

Idk if it would matter but in your opinion @DMan7... Which one is better the TT$ Income Fund or the Growth and Income Fund

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » February 8th, 2021, 12:49 pm

The Income and Growth fund is the one I'm with. The other one is more risky.

mirohid424

Postby mirohid424 » February 8th, 2021, 12:52 pm

DMan7 wrote:The Income and Growth fund is the one I'm with. The other one is more risky.

Oh, I see. Thanks
I already have a bank account with First Citizens Bank and was thinking about the Abercrombie Fund. But I feel more people liking the UTC stuff because I asked one of my friends too and he is on this one https://www.ttutc.com/what-are-mutual-f ... come-fund/ So I'll open an account with UTC and go with either https://www.ttutc.com/what-are-mutual-f ... me-fund/or https://www.ttutc.com/product/mutual-fu ... ed%20bonds.

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 5:04 pm

I am invested in both UTC 1st (Growth and Income Fund) and 2nd Scheme (Income Fund).

I opened the 1st Scheme when my son was born. The rate varies but it has done very well over the years. This is the one where I told you if you keep your initial investment for at least 3 years, you will get back your capital regardless of what the redeemable price is.

This is more risky than the 2nd Scheme. Currently the Offer Price is $19.08 (what you buy at) and the Bid Price is $18.70 (what they redeem your units at). I have seen the Bid price go as low as around $11.00. If you are looking at a medium term investment - try this.

The 2nd Scheme (Income Fund) is much more stable. You can buy and sell your units at $20.00. That price does not change. You get income distribution every 3 months. The rate varies depending on how the economy is doing. Overall, you will not make as much but your investment will not fluctuate like the 1st (Income and Growth) Scheme.

It all depends on your risk appetite.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » February 8th, 2021, 5:12 pm

bluefete wrote:I am invested in both UTC 1st (Growth and Income Fund) and 2nd Scheme (Income Fund).

I opened the 1st Scheme when my son was born. The rate varies but it has done very well over the years. This is the one where I told you if you keep your initial investment for at least 3 years, you will get back your capital regardless of what the redeemable price is.

This is more risky than the 2nd Scheme. Currently the Offer Price is $19.08 (what you buy at) and the Bid Price is $18.70 (what they redeem your units at). I have seen the Bid price go as low as around $11.00. If you are looking at a medium term investment - try this.

The 2nd Scheme (Income Fund) is much more stable. You can buy and sell your units at $20.00. That price does not change. You get income distribution every 3 months. The rate varies depending on how the economy is doing. Overall, you will not make as much but your investment will not fluctuate like the 1st (Income and Growth) Scheme.

It all depends on your risk appetite.

What is the rate of return you get with Ist and 2nd schemes?

Postby bluefete » February 8th, 2021, 7:32 pm

Averages around 1% - 1.5% in both.

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2021, 8:33 pm

Kamla could come in power and use all your UTC funds as security for whatever scheme she wants. and devalue the dollar on top of that.

Postby zoom rader » February 8th, 2021, 8:34 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Kamla could come in power and use all your UTC funds as security for whatever scheme she wants. and devalue the dollar on top of that.
Stupes

Idiot.

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2021, 8:36 pm

to the OP - if you want to invest: buy bricks, cement, books and tools.

Postby paid_influencer » February 8th, 2021, 8:38 pm

money itself is a tool. when you put money in them long-term funds, you deny yourself access to that tool.