COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7924 cases, 141 deaths, 207 active, 7576 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » March 28th, 2021, 11:33 am

redmanjp wrote:cases have increased for an average of 3 at the beginning of March to an average of 17 now at the end of Match, almost 6 times higher. At this rate, if ppl continue not to be compliant, by the end of April we will have almost 100 cases per day.

And that's assuming linear growth, at some point during growth it moves from looking linear to exponential.

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7924 cases, 141 deaths, 207 active, 7576 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » March 28th, 2021, 4:58 pm

23 more cases, 14 in hospital, 240 actives cases

Postby zoom rader » March 28th, 2021, 5:20 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:23 more cases, 14 in hospital, 240 actives cases
Again the government missed mass testing.

We don't know the true active cases.

ron_28

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7977 cases, 142 deaths, 240 active, 7595 recovered in T&T

Postby ron_28 » March 28th, 2021, 5:51 pm

I was listed as a primary contact to someone who results came back positive on Thursday. the MoH haven't even contacted me as yet

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 7977 cases, 142 deaths, 240 active, 7595 recovered in T&T

Postby redmanjp » March 28th, 2021, 5:55 pm

ron_28 wrote:I was listed as a primary contact to someone who results came back positive on Thursday. the MoH haven't even contacted me as yet

so how do u know u are a contact?

hope u are staying home and wearing a mask around family/household members

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 28th, 2021, 5:55 pm

ron_28 wrote:I was listed as a primary contact to someone who results came back positive on Thursday. the MoH haven't even contacted me as yet

Hoping you actually quarantine yourself :roll:

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » March 28th, 2021, 6:03 pm

redmanjp wrote:

person who tested positive contacted me an told me when they got their results, also was contacted by my company's doctor an nurse.

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » March 28th, 2021, 6:04 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

Hoping you actually quarantine yourself :roll:

yes!! i remained home an isolated upon receiving the news

Postby redmanjp » March 28th, 2021, 6:19 pm

ron_28 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

person who tested positive contacted me an told me when they got their results, also was contacted by my company's doctor an nurse.

so it was a workplace exposure?

MOH has been stressing the importance of wearing masks in the workplace

ron_28

Postby ron_28 » March 28th, 2021, 6:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ron_28 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

yes it was a workplace exposure.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 28th, 2021, 6:23 pm

redmanjp wrote:
ron_28 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

I had a short consultancy gig at IFC in Nov/Dec, literally, no one was wearing masks in that office. They'd come from outside wearing it and take it off when inside.

Postby paid_influencer » March 28th, 2021, 7:09 pm

GHEHTH.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » March 28th, 2021, 7:13 pm

boss, doh go to any easter/holi/shouter baptist/navaratri services next week eh.

pandemic fatigue fully set in among the religious. was driving around and not even seeing chin covers among the church/temple congregations this morning.

God bless them special, so they can be reckless and not wear mask.

Postby MaxPower » March 28th, 2021, 8:30 pm

When will you Trinis get it right?

Allyuh just not listening na.

Its all over we must see the outright and blatant irresponsibility?

Steups

Postby Kenjo » March 28th, 2021, 8:59 pm

Gladiator wrote:A co worker of mine left Trinidad willingly last December to spent Christmas with his family in the US. He got exemption, returned, quarantined and is back to work as of Feb.

What really going on ???

Why everyone is afraid to sell out these people . He went somewhere close by or with direct flights ? Got money to quarantine ?

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2021, 11:51 am

the step down facilities is for positive repatriated ppl or community cases who violate home quarantine?

death365

Postby death365 » March 29th, 2021, 12:13 pm

im stating outright i have never been in St Anns but i heard the food is good

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:I aint go lie the passion with which ppl does defend stuff here, I hope getting paid a stipend.
Free WiFi at St. Anne's and patients with smartphones.

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2021, 12:20 pm

paid_influencer wrote:GHEHTH.jpg

this in conjunction with the nebulizer. nebulizer to make the inflammation/mucus more liquid, and the pronation to let it drain out.

Postby redmanjp » March 29th, 2021, 8:53 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/03/29/epidemiologist-covid19-spreading-in-clusters-sporadic/

Epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds has said although the Ministry of Health has indicated some things that have contributed to the recent surge in covid19 cases, no strict pattern of behaviour has led to the increase in numbers.

Hinds was speaking at the Ministry of Health’s virtual press conference on Monday.

He said contact tracing, as reported over the past few weeks, has found individuals were not wearing masks at work, or attending religious gatherings while ill, or moving around from bar to bar with family members who also turned up sick. There have also been instances where individuals have turned up with no known contact at all.

“Nothing has changed, really, as to what has been identified as high-risk behaviours. We have both cluster and sporadic cases showing up in the population.”

Hinds said the increase in numbers on a weekly and daily basis are still steady at present.

“The current rolling average has gone from a low of three to a possible 17 with cases being accumulated on a daily basis,” he said.

He also mentioned that the ministry noticed that the increase began two weeks after the relaxation of covid19 measures on February 21 to allow large gatherings for group sporting activities.

“While sport is not the immediate driving factor, certainly we saw more after relaxation of measures, along with the increase tendency to gather that we are seeing.”

He said the spillover of cases which originated in County Caroni can now be seen along the East-West Corridor and down to Penal. Numbers are currently concentrated in Counties Caroni, Victoria (which spans Pointe-a-Pierre to Moruga), and St Patrick (Siparia to Icacos).

“Although Caroni’s cases have begun to come down, we’re seeing the exact opposite in neighbouring counties,” he said.

Hinds said he understands people are growing tired of doing the right thing, but the extent to which people change their behaviours will change the rate at which the virus spreads.
Last edited by redmanjp on March 29th, 2021, 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby sMASH » March 29th, 2021, 9:00 pm

wham to the bars and church? now that they bosses get show up its 'undetermined'.
talk about singing for ur supper.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 29th, 2021, 9:03 pm

Back to single digits covid cases today. We aren't doing too bad unlike some of the negative nancies in here like to make it seem. :roll:

Postby paid_influencer » March 29th, 2021, 9:04 pm

DMan7 wrote:Back to single digits covid cases today. We aren't doing too bad unlike some of the negative nancies in here like to make it seem. :roll:

the monday effect

Postby ruffneck_12 » March 29th, 2021, 9:14 pm

(142/7977) * 100 = 1.78% fatality rate.

oopsies :oops:

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 29th, 2021, 9:30 pm

DMan7 wrote:Back to single digits covid cases today. We aren't doing too bad unlike some of the negative nancies in here like to make it seem. :roll:

it's always low on a Monday, also this is 3rd highest number of cases for a Monday for the year so far.....not bad, but not great. We should be worried still.

ruffneck_12 wrote:(142/7977) * 100 = 1.78% fatality rate.

oopsies :oops:

Correct, but that's on detected cases (CFR). Usually the real number of cases is 5 to 10x higher due to the 80% being asymptomatic and mild cases. https://www.npr.org/sections/health-sho ... -you-think

So our IFR is approximately 142/40000 = 0.4%

This is in line with studies done throughout the world as meta-analysis demonstrates a point estimate of IFR of typically 0.68%.

That's probably a worst case IFR too given how poor testing rates, it's probably even lower.

Given all the talk about how unhealthy and vulnerable our population is, we have one of the world's lowest IFR rates. Could it be all the vitamin D we soaking up?

Could Dr. Choas be right and covid wasn't much of a threat in Trinidad?

My hypothesis is ethnicities (black and Indian) that have adapted to high levels of sun exposure due to increased melanin do not experience covid-19 to same degree of severity.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on March 29th, 2021, 9:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Gem_in_i » March 29th, 2021, 9:51 pm

31586FA6-77A5-4760-B8FE-11D3126C7491.jpeg

Postby De Dragon » March 30th, 2021, 9:05 am

Gem_in_i wrote:31586FA6-77A5-4760-B8FE-11D3126C7491.jpeg

A rare win for "me eh hadda wear no mask "Arse Wari :roll:

Postby Habit7 » March 30th, 2021, 9:46 am

Rare if you exclude every other challenge to govt's covid-19 regulations which were likewise unsuccessful.

Where madam SC Persad-Bissessar? I thought she was coming to challenge the" illegal border closure"? Because of her ill counsel, a poor lady is paying losing legal fees to the state.

Postby zoom rader » March 30th, 2021, 10:05 am

Habit7 wrote:

Rare if you exclude every other challenge to govt's covid-19 regulations which were likewise unsuccessful.

Where madam SC Persad-Bissessar? I thought she was coming to challenge the" illegal border closure"? Because of her ill counsel, a poor lady is paying losing legal fees to the state.

Jack arse the Trini courts are Tainted with Red government Judges .

We don't have a real court system in Trinidad , its all tribal

Postby De Dragon » March 30th, 2021, 10:11 am

Habit7 wrote:

Careful how you "buss up your mouth", it's only in the local courts yet. Arse Wari loves to lose when it costs the most like at the PC level :wink:

Postby paid_influencer » March 30th, 2021, 11:06 am

President Biden
@POTUS
United States government official
I’m proud to announce that three weeks from today, 90% of adults will be eligible to get vaccinated — and 90% of Americans will live within 5 miles of a place to get a shot.
3:03 PM · Mar 29, 2021·The White House

God bless the USA