Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » October 30th, 2005, 7:24 pm

ahright...

after over thirty something pages..i NOT botherin to go thru it to find out what was the FINAL solution for the tappets noise.

BP Renegades decide to move in after years of little or no problems. what was decided as the best solution for quieting dere a$$es down?

thanks

8)

Postby ~Vēġó~ » October 30th, 2005, 8:39 pm

^^^^^
Yea, you cah go wrong switching to Shell Helix plus 15W50 (Blue bottle). I tried it after reading about Vega's results with it (somewhere in this thread) and the lifters have never been quieter.

Postby Greypatch » November 2nd, 2005, 11:44 am

wagon r wrote:turns out the guy who bought my car got some shudders yesterday after the car saw me. he said as he pulled off the car hesitated and it cut off on him once over the weekend.

.....i tell him the car just sad she's gorne because it never happened to me. :|

really

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 5th, 2005, 8:16 pm

coil packs pulling the car good..........I can finally overtake and let the gears run through the RPM band without having to worry about power loss at around 5500RPM...............cool........but I feel they not giving as powerful an output as meh last set........

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 14th, 2005, 1:42 pm

seems that these "new" coil packs causing me to be bunning the same amt of gas.......despite the lack of backfiring they seem to be weaker........eg @ 80kph cruising, the tach used to hit a 2150rpm........now it seems to have gorne up for the same speed..........mind you, the small of unburnt fuel at idle or when pulling into my garage has significantly dropped to almost nil........

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 14th, 2005, 1:45 pm

I eh know but they IMHO seem to be producing a weaker supply to crank the spark plug........... and Trac know the kinda torque my GDI does pull........

Postby wagon r » November 14th, 2005, 2:44 pm

i feel is the lancer c/p yuh get.

glad to know more folks are being informed by the thread and to think you'll may have missed a few pages as this topic was trimmed earlier this year.

i have to check up on you guys now as i don't have a GDI based car anymore but it still a mitsu. diesel is a whole new world to me and i'm learning as i go along.

found a great UK web site and i have learned alot from reading what those guys are doing over there.

vega i should be in mayaro if not by year's end early jan. so we'll buss a lime.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 15th, 2005, 4:11 pm

cool G........but nah, the c/p come orff ah galant.

Rah

Postby Rah » November 15th, 2005, 8:12 pm

Hey guys was jus wandering, alot of talk in here aboutg oil etc.............what about transmission oil ? I changed mine when i got the car ( last year august), think i need to change it again. When do yall change and any particular brand /type ?

Hey anybody can recommend a good mechanic for these cars up north, i normally service in couva or by RC if i have a real big problem but these days cant manage those south trips and having the car down for long periods. Car need a service.

blazing

Postby blazing » November 15th, 2005, 11:32 pm

Ive heard that the Quaker state ATF+3 is good.

But how about a comparison for each type of transmission?

What allyuh recommend for:

1)Invecs 11 adaptronic
2)Manual gear oil for 4g15, 4g92
3)Invecs 111
4)3 speed auto

Postby wagon r » November 16th, 2005, 7:04 am

i used to change it every 40,000km on the dot give or take 1,000. my car never really drove much so i didn't have to but once you find the gears taking long to change, it's time.

i used castrol ATF+3 and got the service done by CRISM with new filter for about $350.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 16th, 2005, 9:49 am

Ive heard that the Quaker state ATF+3 is good.

But how about a comparison for each type of transmission?

What allyuh recommend for:

1)Invecs 11 adaptronic
2)Manual gear oil for 4g15, 4g92
3)Invecs 111
4)3 speed auto

I use QuakerState ATF+3 in the galant.......can't say anything further about the others. :|

Rah

Postby Rah » November 20th, 2005, 6:02 pm

Thanks fellas on the help with the transmission fluid. Will look into that over the weekend. I checked my plugs the other day and they are fouled with carbon. Thing is these are denso iridiums that were installed in january (13000Km). Car was alil sluggish and would misfire every now and then, thought it was time to clean injectors but... Neway i did some research and normal denso iridiums are not recommended for the gdi galant because the engine builds up carbon so quickly. Found out that if i want to use a denso iridium, would need to get the denso tough series which burns off carbon build up and is recommended for gdi engines. Anybody knows who sells this in trinidad and at what price. The car comes with the ngk BKR5EKUD plugs. I somehow have a feelin i will ketch ass trying to find this plug. Anybody knows where and how much ? Really dont want to buy the denso tough cuz i can jus imagine the price.

mitsu_crazy

Postby mitsu_crazy » November 20th, 2005, 6:18 pm

the bkr5e is an easy plug to find...
almost any parts place.....just ask around......

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 20th, 2005, 8:42 pm

BKR5EKUD

mine come with BKR6EKUC.........I get it @ Sheriffs Auto Supplies dey on Cipero St. Sando........$60 for one

Rah

Postby Rah » November 21st, 2005, 8:37 pm

well as expected, didnt find the BKR5EKUD, sheriffs has BKR5EKUC for 60, wasnt in the mood to go south so i bought the BKR6EKUC from mathuras, each one cost 30 dollars, different heat range but should work betta than what i currently have.

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » November 22nd, 2005, 1:27 pm

About the noisy lifters...I've been using Mobil 1 for years, 15W50 mostly but I did try 5W30 also...no better. I tried Royal Purple 15W40...same thing. I tried transmission fluid in the engine oil too...slight positive difference.
I went as far as having my lifters removed & cleaned physically...quieted those buggers for about 8000kms...then the pan side move back in.
Ah ready to try the Shell Helix blue bottle...but where can I get it for $78.00 / gallon? First place I checked quoted me $115/gal.
BTW, is this oil a semi synthetic ?

solo

Postby solo » November 22nd, 2005, 2:01 pm

RoadWarrior wrote:I tried transmission fluid in the engine oil too...slight positive difference.

My eyes must be decieving me....

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 22nd, 2005, 6:31 pm

guys my mum'c car a 99 or 00 mitsu galant gdi has been having the loss of power and drop in acceleration problem one of u described before.. i just joined the forum .. well actuallt about 2 1/2 hrs ago and i just finished reading this whole thread..whew .. anyways which mechanice do u guys go to as we have changed the gdi pump the fuel pump and some other parts ,btw the car has been parked down for about 7 months now as my dad got fedup and bought a new one so that car is mines when i come for holidays in dec... but of course i will have to fix it ,any sugggestions as i know it has been checked with an obd computer and the codes are what parts they changed .. now some guy who owned a mitsu said it was the ecu so is there anyone who had this prob or knows any competant mechanic that can help i will be grateful .. or is it wise to just change teh engine? if so what suggestions ...
Thankx in advance for ur suggestions
Last edited by MonsterPower on November 23rd, 2005, 2:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 22nd, 2005, 10:57 pm

Ah ready to try the Shell Helix blue bottle...but where can I get it for $78.00 / gallon? First place I checked quoted me $115/gal.
BTW, is this oil a semi synthetic ?

the user Terran can get that for you......

the bkr5e is an easy plug to find...
almost any parts place.....just ask around......

and actually that plug is different from the BKR5EKUD.......the latter having double electrodes and a longer reach into the combustion chamber.
*mental note* next time I going Mathura's to get my plugs jed.......$30 for one is sure worth the trip.....

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 22nd, 2005, 10:59 pm

MonsterPower wrote:guys my mum'c car a 99 or 02 mitsu galant gdi has been having the loss of power and drop in acceleration problem one of u described before.. i just joined the forum .. well actuallt about 2 1/2 hrs ago and i just finished reading this whole thread..whew .. anyways which mechanice do u guys go to as we have changed the gdi pump the fuel pump and some other parts ,btw the car has been parked down for about 7 months now as my dad got fedup and bought a new one so that car is mines when i come for holidays in dec... but of course i will have to fix it ,any sugggestions as i know it has been checked with an obd computer and the codes are what parts they changed .. now some guy who owned a mitsu said it was the ecu so is there anyone who had this prob or knows any competant mechanic that can help i will be grateful .. or is it wise to just change teh engine? if so what suggestions ...
Thankx in advance for ur suggestions

well ent allyuh know I go say........yes you guessed it, coil packs :lol:

Postby wagon r » November 23rd, 2005, 9:49 am

^yuh is ah carpenter. but i would change the engine if yuh could afford it. sad to say, most of the parts you have changed may not have needed changing but done gorne already.

the c/p could be your problem as well as the ecu. if you read through the thread you would have come across about 2-3 pages back a singapore website i came across, where they also discuss GDI problems.

much info could be had from reading those.

Postby wagon r » November 23rd, 2005, 9:52 am

solo wrote:
RoadWarrior wrote:I tried transmission fluid in the engine oil too...slight positive difference.

My eyes must be decieving me....

.....actually, he's correct. the cleaning addidtives found in tranny fluid helps clean the lifters and hence, less noise.

i'm not sure much you should use but i know jus4sho tried it and it worked well for him.

this was explained about 4 pages ago i think.

solo

Postby solo » November 23rd, 2005, 10:00 am

^^^^^Wow @ that info there G...Now that I think about it it does make sense.
Allyuh Mitsu men jed....

Postby wagon r » November 23rd, 2005, 11:15 am

^just doing my part... :mrgreen:

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » November 24th, 2005, 8:16 pm

the user Terran can get that for you......

Thanx for your response Vega. I put in the Shell Helix + blue bottle today, however the pan side still here. I am hoping it gets better though.

Postby wagon r » November 25th, 2005, 8:16 am

^it should. check over the next few days and see.

venum

Postby venum » November 25th, 2005, 9:20 am

I dunno bout the tranny fluid in the engine oil

I switched to the Shell Helix plus 15W 50 and bye-bye noisy lifters for me

it is a thing of the past

and that's all I ever did

Rah

Postby Rah » November 26th, 2005, 12:03 pm

I use the 15w 40, quiets the lifters but pan side is still there. Does anybody know how much transmission fluid the galant takes ? Still searching for the workshop manual for this car, think im getting close. So far all i have is the engine manual, not sure if its a repost but the link to it is
http://www.mivec.co.nz/tech/4G9x_Engine_Manual.pdf
This is for the 4g9X engine series, gdi and non gdi.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 26th, 2005, 12:48 pm

Great find... Thanks! :D
Any links specific to 4G93 Turbo GSR Engine Manual or specifications?

Return to “MITSUBISHI”