COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2021, 1:42 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:
Habit7 wrote:So they got disproportionally larger donations from India and Barbados they are using unapproved WHO vaccines, at least at the time in the case of Sinopharm. Not forgetting their population is half of ours.

How could T&T have forced our donors to give more and should we have been using unapproved vaccines?

Things happen when you make them and dont sit on your @$$ waiting for them to happen. If the opposition here didnt kick up a stink about getting vaccines from India would we have ever gotten the donation.

Unapproved WHO vaccines please bruh it is generally acknowledged by all WHO dropped the ball on this. Sinopharm and Sputnik V are saving lives elsewhere long now those who are in the know would see the data that has been compiled for many months where Sputnik is concerned.

Guyana has half the population of Trinbago ... 40x's the land mass and not even 1/10th the foreign reserves and yet has managed to vaccinate over 2x's as much people 153k versus 61k.

Stop listening to the excuses for those really responsible cause words mean nothing on results count people are dying because of this mismanagement.

Take some free advice tims, don't bother to further this argument with this fool.
He believes that when you're doing better than Haiti, you're okay :roll:
He also believes that Barbados and other countries didn't at least ORDER vaccines pre-WHO approval like Barbados, which is how we got our first set.

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 2:10 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:
Habit7 wrote:So they got disproportionally larger donations from India and Barbados they are using unapproved WHO vaccines, at least at the time in the case of Sinopharm. Not forgetting their population is half of ours.

How could T&T have forced our donors to give more and should we have been using unapproved vaccines?

Things happen when you make them and dont sit on your @$$ waiting for them to happen. If the opposition here didnt kick up a stink about getting vaccines from India would we have ever gotten the donation.

Unapproved WHO vaccines please bruh it is generally acknowledged by all WHO dropped the ball on this. Sinopharm and Sputnik V are saving lives elsewhere long now those who are in the know would see the data that has been compiled for many months where Sputnik is concerned.

Guyana has half the population of Trinbago ... 40x's the land mass and not even 1/10th the foreign reserves and yet has managed to vaccinate over 2x's as much people 153k versus 61k.

Stop listening to the excuses for those really responsible cause words mean nothing on results count people are dying because of this mismanagement.

According to the India HC himself, TT approached him on the very day one of their vaccines got WHO approval.
You mean the same Opposition that said cases in the Caribbean will be low because of our climate? https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/kam ... 3ad97.html
You want us to follow recommendations from the Opposition, the same one that said WHO EUL approved vaccine Sinopharm is being used on us like guinea pigs? If they are saying that for an approved vaccine, you want us to spend millions on unapproved ones?
You are making my point. Guyana and the several other Caribbean countries with smaller populations will vaccine a greater portion of their population because they are receiving a greater number of vaccines in proportion to their population than us. That is why St Kitts with 30K ppl is so high but TT and Jamaica in the millions are so low.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » May 18th, 2021, 2:19 pm

Habit7 wrote:According to the India HC himself, TT approached him on the very day one of their vaccines got WHO approval.
You mean the same Opposition that said cases in the Caribbean will be low because of our climate? https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/7pmnews/kam ... 3ad97.html
You want us to follow recommendations from the Opposition, the same one that said WHO EUL approved vaccine Sinopharm is being used on us like guinea pigs? If they are saying that for an approved vaccine, you want us to spend millions on unapproved ones?
You are making my point. Guyana and the several other Caribbean countries with smaller populations will vaccine a greater portion of their population because they are receiving a greater number of vaccines in proportion to their population than us. That is why St Kitts with 30K ppl is so high but TT and Jamaica in the millions are so low.

I am not talking about proportions 153k Guyanese have been vaccinated 63k Trini's have less Trinidadians have been vaccinated.

Both the opposition and the govt in this country are playing games and looking to score points and distract fools their taxpayer guaranteed salaries are safe and if they get sick they arent getting the same medication or treatment you and I are going to get if we fall ill.

All these vaccines whether it is Sinopharm, Astra Zenica, Moderna etc have been proven effective at preventing deaths and hospitalizations all of them. Are they safe no one knows people mistrust the Russian's and the Chinese because of their political systems with good reason but we are all rolling the dice now.

Only way this pandemic situation ends is when over 60-70% of people get vaccinated that being said ttgov has dropped the ball securing the borders and acquiring vaccine for citizens.

Postby Habit7 » May 18th, 2021, 2:33 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:All these vaccines whether it is Sinopharm, Astra Zenica, Moderna etc have been proven effective at preventing deaths and hospitalizations all of them. Are they safe no one knows people mistrust the Russian's and the Chinese because of their political systems with good reason but we are all rolling the dice now.

You are right, AZ, Moderna, Pfizer etc have been proven effective through phased study over thousands of ppl, analysed, peer-reviewed and then proven safe. T&T doesn't have the capacity nor the volunteers to do that, we have to rely on the WHO. US can rely on FDA and Europe on the EMA.

Sputnik has not been proven effective or safe as yet. Sinopharm only recently was proven safe and effective. You can't just say a vaccine is a vaccine and shove it up your arm like bleach. I am now for Sinopharm because it has been carried through a clinical approval process, Sputnik is not finished yet. Don't get anxious, otherwise, you could start now with puncheon and lime as was prescribed from the start.

Postby matr1x » May 18th, 2021, 2:55 pm

Let's start the madness from the beginning.

Sure there are Karen's and antivaxxers, but there is a cause for questions.

When did the first pandemic cases start? November or December?
Depending on the month will tell where the origin was since China insisted its didn't start there.

Who dropped the ball since China outright lied about the number in December 2019. Claiming 40 when it was close to 400.

Every country fumbled but China allows ⅚⁵

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2021, 3:00 pm

matr1x wrote:Let's start the madness from the beginning.

Sure there are Karen's and antivaxxers, but there is a cause for questions.

When did the first pandemic cases start? November or December?
Depending on the month will tell where the origin was since China insisted its didn't start there.

Who dropped the ball since China outright lied about the number in December 2019. Claiming 40 when it was close to 400.

Every country fumbled but China allows ⅚⁵

First public revelation was with the famous Wuhan doctor who identified a possible MERS-type virus. Before that they may not have known what it was so cases could have been ramping up in Sept/October, maybe. I never really read up before that point of the initial vid

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » May 18th, 2021, 3:03 pm

@habit7
None of these vaccines have been in use for long enough for us to term them as 'safe' yet but btw Sputnik V is the first covid19 vaccine.

Big Pharma got alot of you fellahs fooled.
Last edited by timothymcdavid on May 18th, 2021, 3:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby matr1x » May 18th, 2021, 3:07 pm

50000000 citizens to travel for Chinese new year 2020. And like suicide bombs were sent out.

The controversy about vaccines came from 2 French doctors who were caught saying (have to search back for the article) that testing would be preferred to be done to Africans than French citizens. Evoking the issue of historical racism which was extremely serious.

This undermine the whole thing. Who wants to be a ginuea pig?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 18th, 2021, 3:49 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:@habit7
None of these vaccines have been in use for long enough for us to term them as 'safe' yet but btw Sputnik V is the first covid19 vaccine.

No vaccine will be 100% safe.
It is however, most likely safer than the alternative. Weigh the risk, make your choice/bed as the case may be

Postby De Dragon » May 18th, 2021, 4:01 pm

Habit7 wrote:
timothymcdavid wrote:

According to the India HC himself, TT approached him on the very day one of their vaccines got WHO approval.

Nah, let's continue to listen the the LFD RFD PNM mob, after all we're doing splendidly aren't we?
The acquisition of vaccines that were already in Phase 3 trials, but hadn't gotten WHO final approval is part of risk management which is what Barbados and all those other countries miles ahead of us did. Even in the very unlikely scenario that the vaccines hadn't gotten approval, and we out a few millions, so what? The LFD RFD PNM is some sort of sudden model for fiscal responsibility? What is the cost now with a seconds shutdown, overloaded healthcare system and hundreds dead? ALL while we still have nowhere near the vaccines we need, so forgive me if I call bull on your specious and ridiculous argument.

Postby adnj » May 18th, 2021, 6:01 pm

timothymcdavid wrote:@habit7

You're wrong. Pfizer and Moderna started trials in March 2020. Sputnik started in June 2020. The Russian government approved the Sputnik vaccine BEFORE Phase III trials were started in August 2020. Sputnik Phase III trials started in September 2020. Sputnik is not approved by any large medical standards body but appears to be effective.

Pfizer and Moderna were approved first. Their clinical trials have set them up to be leaders in the space going forward and it will prove financially beneficial. Pfizer expects US$15 billion in sales this year.

How much is Russia making?

-----

What Was The Process Of Developing Sputnik V?

Russia started clinical trials of a COVID-19 vaccine in June 2020.

Less than two months later, Russian President Vladimir Putin announced that the Gamaleya National Center of Epidemiology and Microbiology had registered the world's first COVID-19 vaccine for use. Phase 3 trials, which usually involve thousands of people and last several months, hadn't even started at that point. Therefore, many health experts warned that the data was not conclusive and questioned the vaccine's safety.

Shortly after that, Russia announced that it would expand trials for the vaccine and include up to 40,000 volunteers. Phase 3 trials then began in September 2020.

After vaccinating some of the country's medical workers, a large-scale rollout started in December 2020. At this point, the vaccine was still undergoing testing. Two weeks later, Belarus became the first foreign country to register the Russian vaccine for use.

https://www.rferl.org/a/sputnik-v-vaccine/31133608.html

carluva

Postby carluva » May 19th, 2021, 8:57 am

Not sure if this made it to this thread, but an interesting view.

https://youtu.be/K3odScka55A

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 19th, 2021, 9:00 am

^ first time I saw it, so thanks!
To embed, just copy the youtube video ID and paste inside the youtube tags in the editor

carluva

Postby carluva » May 19th, 2021, 9:02 am

I was posting from my phone not a PC. Can a video be embedded from phone?

shaneelal

Postby shaneelal » May 19th, 2021, 2:44 pm

The UAE and Bahrain offer third Sinopharm shots amid questions over vaccine effectiveness

https://www.cnbc.com/2021/05/19/uae-bah ... rries.html

COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 20th, 2021, 12:03 am

T&T govt looking into covid tracking bracelets

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 20th, 2021, 9:03 am

Prof. Montagnier referred to the vaccine program for the coronavirus as an “unacceptable mistake”. Mass vaccinations are a “scientific error as well as a medical error,” he said. “It is an unacceptable mistake. The history books will show that, because it is the vaccination that is creating the variants,” Prof. Luc Montagnier continued. The prominent virologist explained that “there are antibodies, created by the vaccine,” forcing the virus to “find another solution” or die. This is where the variants are created. It is the variants that “are a production and result from the vaccination.”

https://rairfoundation.com/bombshell-no ... -variants/

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2021, 9:11 am

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 9:44 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:T&T govt looking into covid tracking bracelets

i was saying this months ago. they must be now read mih post :lol:

also fully vaccinated ppl should be allowed to home quarantine regardless - _ve PCR+vaccination+14 day quarantine ought to be sufficient mitigation

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 2:52 pm

st. vincent sending 16000 AZ vaccines for T&T

bermuda sending 8000+ also

Postby Gladiator » May 20th, 2021, 3:07 pm

redmanjp wrote:st. vincent sending 16000 AZ vaccines for T&T

The king has now become the beggar.... how the times have changed.

Postby pugboy » May 20th, 2021, 3:10 pm

Gonna have fight for them now

Postby teems1 » May 20th, 2021, 3:11 pm

elec2020 wrote:
Prof. Montagnier referred to the vaccine program for the coronavirus as an “unacceptable mistake”. Mass vaccinations are a “scientific error as well as a medical error,” he said. “It is an unacceptable mistake. The history books will show that, because it is the vaccination that is creating the variants,” Prof. Luc Montagnier continued. The prominent virologist explained that “there are antibodies, created by the vaccine,” forcing the virus to “find another solution” or die. This is where the variants are created. It is the variants that “are a production and result from the vaccination.”

How are people still falling for fake news? It's 2021. Learn to check on your sources.

Rair Foundation falls in the category of crazy right wing conspiracy theorists along with OAN News, The Gateway Pundit etc.

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 3:12 pm

pugboy wrote:Gonna have fight for them now

so this time what we getting first, sinopharm or AZ? i would guess AZ as this batch expiring soon

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 20th, 2021, 3:30 pm

teems1 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

How are people still falling for fake news? It's 2021. Learn to check on your sources.

Rair Foundation falls in the category of crazy right wing conspiracy theorists along with OAN News, The Gateway Pundit etc.

so a nobel prize winner is crazy? ok

Postby teems1 » May 20th, 2021, 3:49 pm

elec2020 wrote:
teems1 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

He is a known anti vaxxer, believes homeopathy works and once even said DNA emits electromagnetic waves. He has lost credibility with his peers and has left Europe since 2010 to "escape the intellectual terror".

He is one of the original team who discovered HIV back in the 80s hence the Nobel, but the crazy seems to have taken him over. A broken clock is correct twice a day.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 20th, 2021, 4:20 pm

I'll not downplay the significance of his earlier work. Much respect. But at his age, you might wonder if he's in full control of his mental faculties. A lone voice vs countless peer reviewed work?

Postby redmanjp » May 20th, 2021, 4:34 pm

elec2020 wrote:
teems1 wrote:
elec2020 wrote:

Most of the variants emerged months ago before the vaccines were available

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 20th, 2021, 4:37 pm

MFO survey shows 65 per cent vaccine hesitancy in Trinidad and Tobago

Based on a random sample of 973 people in Trinidad and Tobago between April 14 to May 3, only about 35 per cent of the population are willing to get the covid19 vaccines once they become available. Meanwhile, 20 per cent were undecided and 45 per cent were reluctant.

Responding to urgent questions in the Senate on Tuesday morning, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh noted that for TT to achieve herd immunity, it requires 60-70 per cent of a country’s population to be vaccinated, approximately 700,000 people. He said the country could achieve herd immunity against the covid19 in “six to seven months.”

However, if only 35 per cent of the population are willing to take the vaccine, herd immunity by the end of the year seems unlikely.

The study went on to say, “Persons aged 65 and older age cohort (possibly high comorbidity groups) are more likely than any other age group to express interest in getting the vaccine. Young persons are the most hesitant about taking the vaccine, indicative of social media (home of misinformation) influence and individualistic ways (lack of social norms).”

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/16/mfo-su ... nd-tobago/

Postby teems1 » May 20th, 2021, 4:44 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:MFO survey shows 65 per cent vaccine hesitancy in Trinidad and Tobago

Based on a random sample of 973 people in Trinidad and Tobago between April 14 to May 3, only about 35 per cent of the population are willing to get the covid19 vaccines once they become available. Meanwhile, 20 per cent were undecided and 45 per cent were reluctant.

Responding to urgent questions in the Senate on Tuesday morning, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh noted that for TT to achieve herd immunity, it requires 60-70 per cent of a country’s population to be vaccinated, approximately 700,000 people. He said the country could achieve herd immunity against the covid19 in “six to seven months.”

However, if only 35 per cent of the population are willing to take the vaccine, herd immunity by the end of the year seems unlikely.

The study went on to say, “Persons aged 65 and older age cohort (possibly high comorbidity groups) are more likely than any other age group to express interest in getting the vaccine. Young persons are the most hesitant about taking the vaccine, indicative of social media (home of misinformation) influence and individualistic ways (lack of social norms).”

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/16/mfo-su ... nd-tobago/

April 14th to May 3rd the number of cases started to rise but wasn't catastrophic.

The last 15 days have been some of the worst in the world. People who have said no, now have friends/family who may have died due to the virus and would surely give a different answer.