Leaving Trinidad for good...

Re: Leaving Trinidad for good...

Postby eliteauto » May 18th, 2021, 10:51 pm

MaxPower wrote:Whats the difference with a Trini migrating to USA and a documented Venezuelan in T&T?

One does ketch dey a$$ and pretend they living big and the other does humble themselves and build a better life

Postby MaxPower » May 19th, 2021, 12:16 am

eliteauto wrote:
MaxPower wrote:Whats the difference with a Trini migrating to USA and a documented Venezuelan in T&T?

One does ketch dey a$$ and pretend they living big and the other does humble themselves and build a better life

Thank you

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 19th, 2021, 10:51 am

i go organize a boat to head north america. you on your own once it lands. good luck

Xplode

Postby Xplode » May 19th, 2021, 4:28 pm

wtf wrote:
Xplode wrote:Leaving Trinidad in 2016 was the best move in my life , hey i had a capital to start , USD was a lil easy to get so i stared changing my TT to USD , i moved to Florida ,my first job was body-guarding the rich , there i met my " love" fiancee and was able to get my green card the first thing i did open i own body guarding service and then i got a contract to do the Leaffliter rain gutter system , that business is way doing better , in 2 years in the states i have my own house very good area in Florida , good credit dint go buy some expensive car first ,i bought a simple 2014 corolla $7000 usd , still has it to this day , saved for my house down payment , hey i choose Florida over NY meaning more Caribbean vibes and weather . My fiancee is from Canada so i visit there during the spring/ summer , its gorgeous there at that time.

I remembered back in 2015 i applied for a simple CC in First citizen bank ,and got declined even i owned a business and had multiple accounts they turned me down , 3 weeks in Florida i got a $1500 usd cc , some migrate and has to work they tail off yes , currently i have 9 employees in the body guarding and the leaffilter has 4 and growing , i work more doing the leaffilter 3 days a week and rest is relaxation and looking to expand my 2 business contracts , Bless
Do you have any family in Florida that assisted you?
Do you have assets in Trinidad currently?
Do you plan on returning?
Are you an Indian( you sound so)

Family only in NY
Yes i have assets still in Trinidad
Returning yes anytime , any month i want
nope i'm not a Indian , black man only with South East secondary school leaving certificate ,yes i lived Belmont, Gonzales spend most of my youth days on the Nelsons .
i met my wife in Trinidad carnival weyy back and did the 90 days K-1 visa , before i had only the B-1 visa so i visited her back and forth , if i could say i was on patrol around the Savannah where i met her , rollingstock knew me very well :D
when i got tru with my K-1 i sold out most of my miscellaneous assets .

Postby De Dragon » May 19th, 2021, 5:32 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Yes that's an accurate description of everyone who has migrated :roll:
Like yuh liming with Caxxos?

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 19th, 2021, 6:23 pm

eliteauto wrote:

Yes that's an accurate description of everyone who has migrated :roll:
Like yuh liming with Caxxos?

LOL :D

MikeyRTT

Postby MikeyRTT » May 21st, 2021, 12:47 pm

wtf wrote:Every sector or Industry is maxed out in Trinidad. No Vacancies in teaching, Medical Field, Engineering, Project Management etc..
Is leaving Trinidad the best option?
For persons that migrated, or lived a portion of their lives abroad, what are the issues with surviving elsewhere as a Trini?

It would be a good move. I looking to migrate as well. Trinidad is no longer making profit from oil and gas, which was our biggest contributor to our GDP. Government hasn't incentivized agriculture to make it an attractive/sustainable replacement for oil and gas even though Trinidad has several trade agreements with other Caricom states for free trade. Large companies will be leaving Trinidad during or just after the COVID pandemic, and they have already started downsizing. So lets look at our outside options:
1) Canada: Unless you're educated to atleast tertiary education (Master's Degree and up) you'll most likely have to settle for a Bike Messenger job. Canadian jobs are highly competitive, high-pressure, long hours and demanding.
2) USA: Same as Canada, however, due to the impending revitlization of their oil and gas industry as soon as oil prices go back up, they're reducing the number of green cards handed out, as their priority has moved to fostering their own home grown professionals and constricting the inflow of expatriates.
3) UK: Trinidadians being formerly under British rule, are now open to working in the UK for up to 6 months without the requirement for work permit. However, we will not see a ton of jobs open to Trinis until years after the COVID pandemic has ended - obviosuly all countries will prioritize their citizens to reduce employment and re-start circulation of money. UK is a cold and expensive place to live, but if you have the cash to buy even a small property in the UK, I think it's your best bet.

But note: everywhere you go there's be crime, people will try to cheat you or put you in a bind everyday because you're not the same color, ethnicity, religion, height, age or salary group as they. We survive because others allow us to, so just be good to mankind, help eachother, build stronger relationships and together we can make Trinidad and better place for ourselves.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 21st, 2021, 3:59 pm

Yeah i decided its time. Monitoring covid situations but will start liquidating over next few months and try to jump close to end of the year. Good luck to you all.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 21st, 2021, 4:03 pm

MikeyRTT wrote:
wtf wrote:Every sector or Industry is maxed out in Trinidad. No Vacancies in teaching, Medical Field, Engineering, Project Management etc..
Is leaving Trinidad the best option?
For persons that migrated, or lived a portion of their lives abroad, what are the issues with surviving elsewhere as a Trini?

It would be a good move. I looking to migrate as well. Trinidad is no longer making profit from oil and gas, which was our biggest contributor to our GDP. Government hasn't incentivized agriculture to make it an attractive/sustainable replacement for oil and gas even though Trinidad has several trade agreements with other Caricom states for free trade. Large companies will be leaving Trinidad during or just after the COVID pandemic, and they have already started downsizing. So lets look at our outside options:
1) Canada: Unless you're educated to atleast tertiary education (Master's Degree and up) you'll most likely have to settle for a Bike Messenger job. Canadian jobs are highly competitive, high-pressure, long hours and demanding.
2) USA: Same as Canada, however, due to the impending revitlization of their oil and gas industry as soon as oil prices go back up, they're reducing the number of green cards handed out, as their priority has moved to fostering their own home grown professionals and constricting the inflow of expatriates.
3) UK: Trinidadians being formerly under British rule, are now open to working in the UK for up to 6 months without the requirement for work permit. However, we will not see a ton of jobs open to Trinis until years after the COVID pandemic has ended - obviosuly all countries will prioritize their citizens to reduce employment and re-start circulation of money. UK is a cold and expensive place to live, but if you have the cash to buy even a small property in the UK, I think it's your best bet.

But note: everywhere you go there's be crime, people will try to cheat you or put you in a bind everyday because you're not the same color, ethnicity, religion, height, age or salary group as they. We survive because others allow us to, so just be good to mankind, help eachother, build stronger relationships and together we can make Trinidad and better place for ourselves.

Opening a business is always an option. A business does not always have to be ultra profitable. If it can pay bills and put food on the table then thats a win right there. Or it can be a supplement to a main job. More opportunities in a large ocean compared to a small pond.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 21st, 2021, 4:32 pm

TheBoostLord wrote:Yeah i decided its time. Monitoring covid situations but will start liquidating over next few months and try to jump close to end of the year. Good luck to you all.

Probably would be doing the same.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 21st, 2021, 7:36 pm

Now is the best time to leave.
Things aren't getting any better in Trinidad.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 21st, 2021, 8:07 pm

I hope you all realize that it is not so easy to just pick up and go and find work abroad.

US/Canada you need work VISAs, UK we now have a right to work for up to 6 months but in mainly professional fields. And if you wanted permanent employment you need to get a work visa sponsored. That again is not easy unless you at the top of your field.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 21st, 2021, 8:21 pm

Uk has 6 months work visa? I think they abolished that years ago

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 21st, 2021, 8:46 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:I hope you all realize that it is not so easy to just pick up and go and find work abroad.

US/Canada you need work VISAs, UK we now have a right to work for up to 6 months but in mainly professional fields. And if you wanted permanent employment you need to get a work visa sponsored. That again is not easy unless you at the top of your field.

Some of us are US Citizens, jack.ass.

(as mentioned before)

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » May 22nd, 2021, 9:02 am

Trinidad will bounce back don't hut your head.

When you all leave, I'll be here reaping the rewards.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 22nd, 2021, 10:03 am

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Trinidad will bounce back don't hut your head.

Nope it won't.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 22nd, 2021, 10:06 am

ScHoolboySoloQ wrote:Trinidad will bounce back don't hut your head.

Just curious, not denying what you are saying but how do you see it bouncing back? I asked this here already and a lot of people were saying no.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 22nd, 2021, 11:03 am

As someone who actually lives in the United States and is not 'ketching dey ass', I implore each and every one of you to think long and hard before you relocate here. Indian or Black, racism in this country runs through all sectors of society, and unless you know how to play the game, you may not only remain at the bottom of this society, but get killed for it.

I am still navigating the jungle that is the United States, but I have no intentions of prolonging my stay here or wasting the remainder of my working days slaving on the plantation. The US, UK and Canada are no longer the frontier of success and wealth. Neither is UAE. Do your research, my friends.

Postby MaxPower » May 22nd, 2021, 11:08 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:As someone who actually lives in the United States and is not 'ketching dey ass', I implore each and every one of you to think long and hard before you relocate here. Indian or Black, racism in this country runs through all sectors of society, and unless you know how to play the game, you may not only remain at the bottom of this society, but get killed for it.

I am still navigating the jungle that is the United States, but I have no intentions of prolonging my stay here or wasting the remainder of my working days slaving on the plantation. The US, UK and Canada are no longer the frontier of success and wealth. Neither is UAE. Do your research, my friends.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 22nd, 2021, 11:13 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:As someone who actually lives in the United States and is not 'ketching dey ass', I implore each and every one of you to think long and hard before you relocate here. Indian or Black, racism in this country runs through all sectors of society, and unless you know how to play the game, you may not only remain at the bottom of this society, but get killed for it.

Hello AbstractPoetic,

What did you do there? Did you go to university there?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 22nd, 2021, 11:14 am

Best you try Africa

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 22nd, 2021, 11:21 am

SuperiorMan wrote:

Hello AbstractPoetic,

Investment Banking/Asset Management attorney planning to take my talents elsewhere. Born and raised in TT, but did most of my education/legal training here. TT will always be my home and I'm also planning to return there as there is still money to be made in TT.

Not sure who is advising you my brother, but don't just listen to "a lot of people" to make such an important decision for your life. Many only see what's in front of them, without looking at what's ahead. Best wishes to you in whatever you decide. If you do relocate, don't make it a clean sweep. You never know what the future holds here (USA) where that TT citizenship may require an immediate return.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 22nd, 2021, 11:25 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Hello AbstractPoetic,

Investment Banking/Asset Management attorney planning to take my talents elsewhere. Born and raised in TT, but did most of my education/legal training here. TT will always be my home and I'm also planning to return there as there is still money to be made in TT.

Not sure who is advising you my brother, but don't just listen to "a lot of people" to make such an important decision for your life. Many only see what's in front of them, without looking at what's ahead. Best wishes to you in whatever you decide. If you do relocate, don't make it a clean sweep. You never know what the future holds here (USA) where that TT citizenship may require an immediate return.

AbstractPoetic,

Just wanna get this right....You got a degree at a university in the States? and got a job an attorney there?
Why exactly do you want to leave? Is it because you're not making as much there? or the racism?

The "people" I was referring to was just the people on this forum.

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2021, 11:29 am

Aye, look AP.

I tort you suppose to come back to T&T long time ago? Dat USD must be well worth it with your qualifications. I can only see you coming back at retirement. :D :D :D

You are right though. Once "you know how to play the game", you can survive.

I don't know if I can survive in the poison that is the USA today. It was not so when I was there long years ago. I had a time and never had a problem.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 22nd, 2021, 11:34 am

Kickstart wrote:

Best you try Africa

Many folks are sleeping on that continent. Twitter has already set up post in Ghana, Amazon is planning to open its HQ on the continent in South Africa and Jamaica is now offering direct flights to Lagos, Nigeria - the first of its kind between Africa-CARICOM nations.

Do keep in mind that many TT nationals with ancestral connection to the continent through slavery are also being offered citizenship by several African nations.

Here is a snippet of what Africa has to offer. This is Ghana, and I'll be visiting there later this year:

Last edited by AbstractPoetic on May 22nd, 2021, 11:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2021, 11:39 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:Many folks are sleeping on that continent. Twitter has already set up post in Ghana, Amazon is planning to open its HQ on the continent in South Africa and Jamaica is now offering direct flights to Lagos, Nigeria - the first of its kind between Africa-CARICOM nations.

Do keep in mind that many TT nationals with ancestral connection to the continent through slavery are also being offered citizenship by several African nations.

[b]Here is a snippet of what Africa has to offer. This is Ghana, and I'll be visiting there later this year:
[/b]
[youtube]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jiuEHckpiKI&t=682s[/youtube]

[youtube]v=jiuEHckpiKI&t=682s[/youtube]

Republic Bank - T&T owns a bank in Ghana.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 22nd, 2021, 11:41 am

bluefete wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:Many folks are sleeping on that continent. Twitter has already set up post in Ghana, Amazon is planning to open its HQ on the continent in South Africa and Jamaica is now offering direct flights to Lagos, Nigeria - the first of its kind between Africa-CARICOM nations.

[b]Here is a snippet of what Africa has to offer. This is Ghana, and I'll be visiting there later this year:
[/b]

Yes, sir. In fact, many Trinis are already there.

AbstractPoetic

Postby AbstractPoetic » May 22nd, 2021, 11:44 am

SuperiorMan wrote:
AbstractPoetic wrote:
SuperiorMan wrote:

Hello AbstractPoetic,

AbstractPoetic,

Just wanna get this right....You got a degree at a university in the States? and got a job an attorney there?
Why exactly do you want to leave? Is it because you're not making as much there? or the racism?

The "people" I was referring to was just the people on this forum.

I'll PM you offline. :)

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2021, 11:45 am

AbstractPoetic wrote:
bluefete wrote:

[/b]

Yes, sir. In fact, many Trinis are already there.

Correct. The unfortunate thing about Africa is that it is still coloured by the false narratives put forward by the Europeans and Americans over the years.

China though has a massive headstart.

TheBoostLord

Postby TheBoostLord » May 22nd, 2021, 1:18 pm

bluefete wrote:Aye, look AP.

I tort you suppose to come back to T&T long time ago? Dat USD must be well worth it with your qualifications. I can only see you coming back at retirement. :D :D :D

You are right though. Once "you know how to play the game", you can survive.

I don't know if I can survive in the poison that is the USA today. It was not so when I was there long years ago. I had a time and never had a problem.

Same thing I now bout to say. In reality i dont see her coming back trini as much as she wants to progress.

Anyway you dont have to hit the big places, even other caribbean islands are nice. Trinidad cant offer what im after however which is why im leaving. Pros and Cons to everything, just gotta decide whats important to you, and know what you can deal with