COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

Musical Doc

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby Musical Doc » May 26th, 2021, 12:24 pm

So since this is going to be a yearly vaccine, has anyone seen any mention about if we take one vaccine this year, would we have to take the same vaccine next year or would it possible to use another one?

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 26th, 2021, 12:42 pm

Has it been confirmed that it requires annual boosters?

This article says trials still ongoing
https://www.health.gov.au/initiatives-a ... -each-year

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 26th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Musical Doc wrote:So since this is going to be a yearly vaccine, has anyone seen any mention about if we take one vaccine this year, would we have to take the same vaccine next year or would it possible to use another one?

There are already instances and testing being done using different vaccines for first and second dose
https://www.businesstoday.in/current/wo ... 38993.html

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 26th, 2021, 1:13 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Has it been confirmed that it requires annual boosters?

I'll have to find the source, but AZ protects you up to 8-9 months and sinopharm protects up to 6 months. I remember reading it on the ministry of health site as well about the AZ

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2021, 1:42 pm

U prob could choose which one you wanted
I guess eventually when they are available privately to pay for you can take your pick

By that time there would likely been tests on if one vaccine intereferes or causing reactions

Musical Doc wrote:So since this is going to be a yearly vaccine, has anyone seen any mention about if we take one vaccine this year, would we have to take the same vaccine next year or would it possible to use another one?

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 26th, 2021, 4:00 pm

online I am seeing the Sinopharm 2nd shot to be given 3 to 4 weeks apart, now I was given the 1st dose on the 24th May 2021 and they scheduled me for the 2nd dose on June 06th, 2021, does this seem weird?

CB Style

Postby CB Style » May 26th, 2021, 4:45 pm

I have the option next week to get my first shot (Sinopharm). I’m a bit skeptical but might just go ahead and get it.

Postby redmanjp » May 26th, 2021, 6:09 pm

Musical Doc wrote:

I'll have to find the source, but AZ protects you up to 8-9 months and sinopharm protects up to 6 months. I remember reading it on the ministry of health site as well about the AZ

i saw a vid on youtube where they said ppl with SARS1 still have immunity after 17 years (up to now)

u sure they didn't mean AT LEAST 8-9 months so far? as in more than 9 months haven't even passed since ppl got vaccinated so we just don't know how long it will last?

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 26th, 2021, 7:38 pm

slickrick777 wrote:online I am seeing the Sinopharm 2nd shot to be given 3 to 4 weeks apart, now I was given the 1st dose on the 24th May 2021 and they scheduled me for the 2nd dose on June 06th, 2021, does this seem weird?

What was your experience like? Any side effects?

Postby adnj » May 26th, 2021, 7:52 pm

Immunity to the Coronavirus May Persist for Years, Scientists Find

Important immune cells survive in the bone marrow of people who were infected with the virus or were inoculated against it, new research suggests.

New York Times
May 26, 2021
Updated 4:12 p.m. ET

Immunity to the coronavirus lasts at least a year, possibly a lifetime, improving over time especially after vaccination, according to two new studies. The findings may help put to rest lingering fears that protection against the virus will be short-lived.

Together, the studies suggest that most people who have recovered from Covid-19 and who were later immunized will not need boosters. Vaccinated people who were never infected most likely will need the shots, however, as will a minority who were infected but did not produce a robust immune response.

Both reports looked at people who had been exposed to the coronavirus about a year earlier. Cells that retain a memory of the virus persist in the bone marrow and may churn out antibodies whenever needed, according to one of the studies, published on Monday in the journal Nature.

The other study, posted online at BioRxiv, a site for biology research, found that these so-called memory B cells continue to mature and strengthen for at least 12 months after the initial infection.

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/05/26/heal ... cines.html

Postby stev » May 26th, 2021, 7:57 pm

stev wrote:....I'm keeping a personal log of the side effects....i'll share with you guys later.

For anyone interested, this is just my personal log of the things that are out of the ordinary:

I'll update again if there are major changes

1.PNG

Postby bluefete » May 26th, 2021, 8:14 pm

stev wrote:
stev wrote:....I'm keeping a personal log of the side effects....i'll share with you guys later.

For anyone interested, this is just my personal log of the things that are out of the ordinary:

1.PNG

Wow. Do you suffer with sinuses or asthma?

Did you get any of those symptoms prior to getting the vaccine?

Postby bluefete » May 26th, 2021, 8:26 pm

Why is the time frame between the 1st and 2nd shots for the Sinopharm so short (3-4 weeks)?

Is it because the vaccines will expire shortly?

Research is showing that the longer the time period between shots (up to 2-3 months), the greater the efficacy of the vaccine.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 26th, 2021, 8:32 pm

why does the narrative for the vaccine change so much. All the time it was that the immunity lasted only a couple months to it now lasting a year or possibly for life.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 26th, 2021, 8:38 pm

bluefete wrote:Why is the time frame between the 1st and 2nd shots for the Sinopharm so short (3-4 weeks)?

Is it because the vaccines will expire shortly?

Research is showing that the longer the time period between shots (up to 2-3 months), the greater the efficacy of the vaccine.

That's for AstraZeneca and Pfizer. We have very little data about Sinopharm.

Many people don't even know that the Phase 3 trials didn't include people over 60 (well 209, but that's very little) so we have no idea how effective it is for the aged population.

Postby teems1 » May 26th, 2021, 8:39 pm

You are aware it's a novel virus.

No one knows for sure. They can only work with the data they have within the past few months.

The one overarching factor currently is getting the vaccine is a better option than not getting it.
elec2020 wrote:why does the narrative for the vaccine change so much. All the time it was that the immunity lasted only a couple months to it now lasting a year or possibly for life.

Postby redmanjp » May 26th, 2021, 9:02 pm

adnj wrote:Immunity to the Coronavirus May Persist for Years, Scientists Find

Important immune cells survive in the bone marrow of people who were infected with the virus or were inoculated against it, new research suggests.

Together, the studies suggest that most people who have recovered from Covid-19 and who were later immunized will not need boosters. Vaccinated people who were never infected most likely will need the shots, however, as will a minority who were infected but did not produce a robust immune response.

https://www.nytimes.com/2021/05/26/heal ... cines.html

most of us still hadda get boosters though

Postby stev » May 26th, 2021, 9:43 pm

bluefete wrote:
stev wrote:

1.PNG

Sinus acts up now and then......didn't have breathing problems related to asthma in years (Sahara dust just affected my sinus)

Postby gastly369 » May 27th, 2021, 12:51 am

stev wrote:
bluefete wrote:
stev wrote:

1.PNG

Sinus acts up now and then......didn't have breathing problems related to asthma in years (Sahara dust just affected my sinus)
This cuddas munt sahara dust is de worstttttt
IMG_20210526_155502.jpeg

Postby stev » May 27th, 2021, 12:55 am

^^^ENT!!!! on some days i stay inside whole day in AC and still get my sinus fleck up :(

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 27th, 2021, 7:43 am

teems1 wrote:You are aware it's a novel virus.

No one knows for sure. They can only work with the data they have within the past few months.

The one overarching factor currently is getting the vaccine is a better option than not getting it.
elec2020 wrote:why does the narrative for the vaccine change so much. All the time it was that the immunity lasted only a couple months to it now lasting a year or possibly for life.

fair enough

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 27th, 2021, 8:47 am

Thats alot of side effects there from the SinoPharm, I am at day 3 and 100% back up and runninh with little to no side effects but the 1st day of the vaccine coming to the night really felt really tired and shaky and very very hungry, day 2 was better was a little feeling as though I was now recovered a fever like feeling but good, day 3 which is 2day normal not 1 symptom etc!

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 27th, 2021, 9:35 am

Exactly! Information is changing so many times that it is making me hestitate taking the vaccine. What if after more research they realize the vaccine isn't working as it should, or may cause you harm? I feel like all this right now is a "let's see how it works and depending on that we'll make adjustments" approach which is scary to me

Musical Doc

Postby Musical Doc » May 27th, 2021, 9:37 am

redmanjp wrote:
Musical Doc wrote:

i saw a vid on youtube where they said ppl with SARS1 still have immunity after 17 years (up to now)

u sure they didn't mean AT LEAST 8-9 months so far? as in more than 9 months haven't even passed since ppl got vaccinated so we just don't know how long it will last?

Quoted from Ministry of health site:

https://health.gov.tt/covid-19/covid-19-vaccine/faqs

COVID-19 vaccines have only been around for less than a year and thus current data seems to indicate that immunity lasts about 8 to 9 months. As time passes and more data becomes available from those who first received the vaccine then this information will be updated.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 27th, 2021, 9:41 am

Postby teems1 » May 27th, 2021, 10:37 am

Musical Doc wrote:

Exactly! Information is changing so many times that it is making me hestitate taking the vaccine. What if after more research they realize the vaccine isn't working as it should, or may cause you harm? I feel like all this right now is a "let's see how it works and depending on that we'll make adjustments" approach which is scary to me

Covid19 has only been around for 18 months, and it is a miracle a vaccine already exists for it.

Using newer technology to developer mRNA vaccines is something that didn't exist the last generation.

Covid19 is a distant cousin of SARS as they are both coronaviruses, so the researchers were able to get a jump start on development.

In this case, with the world economy tanking, so and many dying/suffering, the risks of vaccination before complete trials outweigh the cons of waiting.

Postby VexXx Dogg » May 27th, 2021, 11:27 am

Possible delayed side effect with Sinopharm: sore/ticklish throat ~36 hours after

didn't get fever or anything.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 27th, 2021, 11:57 am

FYI: The Sinopharm vaccine is made using trusted old school methods.

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/health/sinopharm-covid-19-vaccine.html

How the Sinopharm Vaccine Works
By Jonathan Corum and Carl ZimmerUpdated May 7, 2021

In early 2020, the Beijing Institute of Biological Products created an inactivated coronavirus vaccine called BBIBP-CorV. Clinical trials run by the state-owned company Sinopharm showed that it had an efficacy rate of 79 percent. China approved the vaccine and soon began exporting it to other countries. On May 7, the World Health Organization announced a similar efficacy estimate of 78.1 percent.

A Vaccine Made From Coronaviruses
BBIBP-CorV works by teaching the immune system to make antibodies against the SARS-CoV-2 coronavirus. The antibodies attach to viral proteins, such as the so-called spike proteins that stud its surface.

To create BBIBP-CorV, the Beijing Institute researchers obtained three variants of the coronavirus from patients in Chinese hospitals. They picked one of the variants because it was able to multiply quickly in monkey kidney cells grown in bioreactor tanks.

Killing the Virus
Once the researchers produced large stocks of the coronaviruses, they doused them with a chemical called beta-propiolactone. The compound disabled the coronaviruses by bonding to their genes. The inactivated coronaviruses could no longer replicate. But their proteins, including spike, remained intact.

The researchers then drew off the inactivated viruses and mixed them with a tiny amount of an aluminum-based compound called an adjuvant. Adjuvants stimulate the immune system to boost its response to a vaccine.

Inactivated viruses have been used for over a century. Jonas Salk used them to create his polio vaccine in the 1950s, and they’re the bases for vaccines against other diseases including rabies and hepatitis A.

Prompting an Immune Response
Because the coronaviruses in BBIBP-CorV are dead, they can be injected into the arm without causing Covid-19. Once inside the body, some of the inactivated viruses are swallowed up by a type of immune cell called an antigen-presenting cell.

The antigen-presenting cell tears the coronavirus apart and displays some of its fragments on its surface. A so-called helper T cell may detect the fragment. If the fragment fits into one of its surface proteins, the T cell becomes activated and can help recruit other immune cells to respond to the vaccine.

Making Antibodies
Another type of immune cell, called a B cell, may also encounter the inactivated coronavirus. B cells have surface proteins in a huge variety of shapes, and a few might have the right shape to latch onto the coronavirus. When a B cell locks on, it can pull part or all of the virus inside and present coronavirus fragments on its surface.

A helper T cell activated against the coronavirus can latch onto the same fragment. When that happens, the B cell gets activated, too. It proliferates and pours out antibodies that have the same shape as their surface proteins.

Stopping the Virus
Once vaccinated with BBIBP-CorV, the immune system can respond to an infection of live coronaviruses. B cells produce antibodies that stick to the invaders. Antibodies that target the spike protein can prevent the virus from entering cells. Other kinds of antibodies may block the virus by other means.

Remembering the Virus
Sinopharm’s clinical trials have demonstrated that BBIBP-CorV can protect people against Covid-19. But no one can yet say how long that protection lasts. It’s possible that the level of antibodies drops over the course of months. But the immune system also contains special cells called memory B cells that might retain information about the coronavirus for years or even decades.

Vaccine Timeline
January, 2020 Sinopharm begins developing an inactivated vaccine against the coronavirus.
June Researchers report the vaccine produces promising results in monkeys. A Phase 1/2 trial shows that the vaccine doesn’t cause any serious side effects and enables people to make antibodies against the coronavirus.
July A Phase 3 trial begins in the United Arab Emirates.
August Phase 3 trials begin in Morocco and Peru.
Sept. 14 The U.A.E. gives emergency approval for Sinopharm’s vaccine to use on health care workers. Government officials and others begin to receive it.
November The chairman of Sinopharm says almost a million people in China have received Sinopharm vaccines.
Nov. 3 The ruler of Dubai, Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid al-Maktoum, announces he received the vaccine.
Dec. 9 The U.A.E. gives full approval to BBIBP-CorV, announcing it has an efficacy rate of 86 percent. But the government did not release any details with their announcement, leaving it unclear how they had come to their conclusions.
Dec. 13 Bahrain also approves the vaccine.
Dec. 30 Sinopharm announces that the vaccine has an efficacy of 79.34 percent, leading the Chinese government to approve it. The company has yet to publish detailed results of their Phase 3 trial.
Jan. 3, 2021 Egypt authorizes the vaccine for emergency use.
March 12 Hungary agrees to pay about $36 per dose of Sinopharm’s vaccine, making it one of the most expensive in the world.
May 7 The World Health Organization estimates that the Sinopharm vaccine has an efficacy of 78.1 percent, and authorizes the vaccine for emergency use.

Sources: National Center for Biotechnology Information; Science; The Lancet; Lynda Coughlan, University of Maryland School of Medicine; Jenna Guthmiller, University of Chicago.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 27th, 2021, 12:13 pm

Musical Doc wrote:

its your body. Don't let anyone force you to take something u don't want. Slavery days done.

slickrick777

Postby slickrick777 » May 27th, 2021, 2:31 pm

It seems like a safe vaccine and little to no major side effects!