HOW IS T&T'S ECONOMY FEARING?

Re: T&T is in Economic Peril - Imbert

Postby timelapse » February 13th, 2021, 10:27 am

Don't you guys realise that Imbert wants the economy to crash?Watch the property tax penalties as well.Conspiracy theory or not, I find it looking like they hoping that people can't pay the taxes and have to give up their property.I hoping not.That Imbert is a money Satan to his core

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » February 13th, 2021, 11:17 am

Habit7 wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Another PNM lament thread while living in a country with low covid cases, large reduction in crime, low taxes and large subsidies.

Still waiting for my first servings of grass that I was promised that we all were going to eat from 7 Sept 2015.

I think I am going to disappear for a few years again and come back because the rhetoric remaining the same.

I aint no much economics.....but what large reduction in crime you speak of??? Lower murder toll in comparison to previous years is not the only definition of crime being reduced...

Ah waiting

FB_IMG_1613221878215.jpg

Wrt murders we had pandemic at the beginning of 2020 till present day. How social media portrays the TTPS, I am certain only the number of serious crimes reported is the lowest in 20 years. Not the number of serious crimes committed. That's a bad way to gauge our progress. Quite misleading.

Postby mero » February 13th, 2021, 12:08 pm

Stats are stats and they can always be manipulated to make something look good or bad.

Less murders factually which is good- less ppl being murdered literally , could be you or someone you know or love.

But still doesn't indicate that this is due to PNM performing and policing is better/ convictions and preventative measures higher.. need the data on that.

So you could argue PNM ain't sheit, is only cuzza covid dey fake looking good but it still is what it is. Less crime/murders on d whole is good enough for me..

Postby De Dragon » February 13th, 2021, 10:19 pm

mero wrote:Stats are stats and they can always be manipulated to make something look good or bad.

Less murders factually which is good- less ppl being murdered literally , could be you or someone you know or love.

But still doesn't indicate that this is due to PNM performing and policing is better/ convictions and preventative measures higher.. need the data on that.

So you could argue PNM ain't sheit, is only cuzza covid dey fake looking good but it still is what it is. Less crime/murders on d whole is good enough for me..

Yes, but when we delude ourselves we're not looking at root causes and proper solutions are we?

Postby 88sins » February 14th, 2021, 11:58 am

When it comes to government, Trini logic has proven to be anything but logical.
We have a trend of putting the least qualified yet most arrogant asses in positions to make decisions for the entire population and the nation in general, and all we do is grumble quietly while being screwed over. After 5 years of being screwed, the idiots happily sing a ditty, put on a red or yellow tshirt, and go back and put the same arsehole that reamed them over for the last 5 years in a position to keep on screwing them for another 5 years.

ScHoolboySoloQ

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » March 16th, 2021, 11:11 pm

Today I was in a mini mart and I've noticed that prices on things have gone up again. Toco loco and lil $2 snacks is $3 now.

The persons cashing were used to paying a fixed price for regulars then when they heard the price went up, they just say hmm then laughing with the store owner about how prices gone up again and just now $100 will be like a $10. Delighted to pay up the extra for the item.

When I hear is $3, I rest it down and exit.

I know things are very tough in the world right now but Trinis will never change.

Postby gastly369 » March 16th, 2021, 11:33 pm

De forqqqqq $3 for toco loco now... Stupess

Postby matr1x » March 17th, 2021, 6:08 am

Peril you and your party of inbred morons caused

Postby paid_influencer » March 17th, 2021, 10:12 pm

i stop buying toco loco. $3/pack is stupidly expensive when I can get a whole tray of wafer sandwiches from the LATAM brands for the same money. I think Festival even have a six-pack bag for about $4 or some ridiculously cheap price.

The trend I noticing now is plenty of them imported snackfoods actually getting cheaper. The forex controls working, maybe not as intended, but they are working. It is very cheap and easy to bring in foodstuff now, so even companies that would normally manufacture locally are bringing in finished-product from abroad for distribution here.

in the short-term, it is great. Packed grocery shelves with cheap foreign goods keep up the appearance the country is as vibrant and rich as ever. Long term, the country's bank reserves are being drawn down for cheaper strawberries while we ole talk about eating more yam.

A sane exchange rate system would sort this out. But people prefer politics to economics, so here we are on the road to Venezuela.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 18th, 2021, 6:23 am

Why does it seem like those in authority measure crime by murders only??? Their minions follow suit as well

Postby bluefete » March 18th, 2021, 6:30 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Why does it seem like those in authority measure crime by murders only??? Their minions follow suit as well

To distract from the white collar crimes and bobol in which they are engaged.

Postby Ben_spanna » March 18th, 2021, 7:35 am

how ironic, those who have their hand in the cookie jar are the first ones to cry when the cookies almost done!

MarlonSam

Postby MarlonSam » March 20th, 2021, 12:23 pm

Expect things to get much worse....Mark my words...

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 20th, 2021, 12:28 pm

MarlonSam wrote:Expect things to get much worse....Mark my words...

Damn padna, like you now wake up? :)

Screenshot 2021-03-20 122651.jpg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » March 20th, 2021, 12:31 pm

Tell us how bro? Don't leave us hanging without any details

killercow

Postby killercow » March 20th, 2021, 2:47 pm

DMan7 wrote:

Damn padna, like you now wake up? :)

Screenshot 2021-03-20 122651.jpg
Bwda!? Duane giving post awards today awah? Yuh shudda go fi d whole page bro.

Govt begins talks to reopen the economy

Postby bluefete » May 27th, 2021, 11:39 am

Interesting

Govt begins talks to reopen the economy
Donstan Bonn May 26, 2021 Updated 14 hrs ago

Minister of Energy and Energy Industries, Stuart Young said the Government is open to the idea of the reopening of Trinidad and Tobago’s economy but on a phased basis.

Young made the declaration during a press conference on Wednesday, immediately following a meeting of a ministerial committee, which he chaired, and representatives of various local business organization.

“We have been managing this pandemic now for well over a year. There have been previous roll backs, previous move forward, and you’ll would recall that last year, April, May, there was a phased opening. We had a phase 1, phase 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. And as it goes forward we’re going to be using a similar template but we’re open to discussing because a lot has changed, there are other things that have come to the table now for us to consider when we’re working this out.”

He said the committee will sit down with the Ministry of Health as they began working out how they’re going to reopen the economy but reopen it in a safe manner.

Members of the ministerial committee included Trade Minister Paula Gopee-Scoon, Works and Transport Minister, Rohan Sinanan, Sport Minister Shamfa Cudjoe, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh, and Randall Mitchell, Minister of Tourism, Culture and the Arts.

Among the business organisations present at the meeting were, the Tobago Division of the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Industry and Commerce, Trinidad and Tobago Manufacturers Association (TTMA), The American Chamber of Commerce Trinidad and Tobago (AMCHAM), Confederation of Regional Business Chambers, Downtown Owners and Merchant Association (DOMA) and Supermarket Association of Trinidad and Tobago (SATT).

Young said the Government’s position has been and continues to be that they are willing to listen.

“Government is listening. Government listened, and what we told the members of the business community is what we’re looking at is a phased reopening of our economy. Of course, any phased reopening has to take in place, and the main determining factor is going to be the public health and safety of our citizens of Trinidad and Tobago, as it has always been since we began managing this pandemic which started in January of last year. So that continues to be the Government’s commitment.”

Noting that there were very open discussions with a number of matters being place on the table, Young said one of the main takeaways was the Government asking all the business representatives to canvass the views, canvass the options, and canvass the different solution they seek going forward, and to send it in writing to the ministerial committee.

He said one of the commitments the Government asked for is the help of the business community in addressing any vaccine hesitancy that there may be out there because they’re finding as they go forward with the vaccination programme, even though persons talk about a desire to be vaccinated there is still unfortunately a lot of vaccination hesitancy.

“Another interesting point that came up is the business sector in particular under AMCHAM and the Trinidad and Tobago Chamber of Commerce and Industry as well as the Downtown Owners Merchant Association, they were advocating to us today any further restrictions that are needed to be put in place by the Government, is better to take a bitter medicine now and hopefully have the results sooner rather than later.

“We listened. Our purpose there today was to listen. There was absolutely nothing that was shot down and we’re waiting to get all of the representations and more to us in writing for further consideration. I’m certain that they will talk about that, they will prepare to take more difficult measures, more restrictive measures at this stage. The Government has made no decisions,” Young said.

He said another item discussed was the extension of the lockdown measure.

“The date of July 7, is the date that is put on the current public health regulations, which are really to do with mandatory mask wearing, management of our borders, and other things that are under the public health regulations as separate from the state of emergency regulations.

“I’d like to take this opportunity to make an important point that the July 7 date is not any drop dead date, as the Government has shown over the management in the past year-and-a-half, we are prepared to amend our regulations as the public health experts advised us to do in that meeting with the Prime Minister, Minister of Health, Minister of National Security and the health experts. Whenever we meet, we’re always prepared to take onboard whatever suggestions are made and to amend our regulations, so there’s no need for a fear that everything is going to remain in a closed state until the July 7. It really depends on how we see the numbers going and the management of the Covid spread. And that is what guides us, and we have shown time and time again, both the state of emergency and emergency regulations as well as the public health regulations can be amended as the Government deems fit, any way that we deem fit over time. I think the business community appreciated that assurance from us.

Stating that right now they continue to monitor the numbers, Young noted that one of the things discussed is one of the ways that is accepted, which is the science, to bring down the number of positive cases on a daily basis, and therefore the number of deaths is reason to restrict and limit the movement of persons, which is why the county was placed in a state of emergency in the first place.

“There was a lot of conversation about the vaccination and persons being permitted to travel abroad to get vaccinated and come back. As I said, it might be too premature to make a decision on that now but it is under consideration. The Government will take advice with respect to that, that is a policy decision and right now I think because of where we are, that is a premature decision to be made but it is certainly something that will be given active consideration.”

He said another suggestion was to increase the curfew hours, making it 6am to 6pm but the Supermarket Association and others agreed with the Government that the current position is that you don’t want to shorten your hours.

“If you shorten your hours to 6pm, it means that groceries and pharmacies will have to close at 4pm to allow their workers to get safely home.

“And then what that does is it pushes a rush and a congregation of persons. But again, today’s meeting by the ministers led by myself, wasn’t for us to get into any decision making. It was for us to listen, to listen to potential solutions, difficulties, which is what we did, and in particular what are the options going forward as we begin to look at, hopefully, a reopening of our economy on a phased basis.”

Young said he was very happy and very encouraged by the tone of the meeting, and the fact that they were able to discuss the topic of vaccination, which was raised by everyone.

“We continue to give the commitment, the Government is doing everything, everything it legally, ethically and possibly can to get a consistent supply of vaccinations to Trinidad and Tobago. That is ongoing, you’ll are seeing that programme continue. The Minister of Health and his personnel will continue to give us updates on that.”

He said having listened to the smaller businesses and those from the confederation talk about the SMEs and the difficulties they are facing, he wants to give the reassurance that the Government is very much aware of how frustrated persons may be, how difficult it may be for persons in the business community, the workers in the business community.

“We are concerned about our vulnerable persons who may have to stay at home right now, where they’re not able to work throughout their various work places. These are all part of the basket of considerations that the Government is taking on board. The conversations we may need to go and have with those leaders in the financial sector and how they may be able to assist the smaller businesses.

Young also noted that persons were asking for predictability and for consistency, but they’ve learned that the one thing the world has learned is there is absolutely no guaranteed predictability in the management of Covid.

“We’re seeing that take place even in some of the countries who have access to all of the vaccines. We had spent some time talking about that, you would see for example the United States, hopefully by now it’s about 40 per cent of their population have received total vaccination, about 60 but under 70 per cent, one shot. And we’re seeing how they are reacting to it, the same thing in the United Kingdom.

“And what we discussed as well, even in those jurisdictions that have vaccine availability, the challenge is they’re having persons vaccinated but also at times the virus continues to spread with different variants, how they have to roll back certain measures, you would have seen in the United Kingdom within the recent past week.”

He said with the Government having gave the commitment that their engagement of the various sectors of society will not end with this meeting, another meeting may be held next week as the focus this week from a public health perspective is looking at the numbers.

“We’re looking at our case load, we’re looking at what is taking place, is the spread slowing down, are we heading in the right direction. And those are the type of information that would govern the decisions that we can make and the regulations that can be amended going forward one way or the other.”

Noting that right now there’s no decision by the Government, Young said: “I think in a nutshell, that is where we are at. We will continue to engage with them and the Government will continue to factor everything in when we meet with our health personnel and the Prime Minister and other members of the team and the Cabinet, to make the decisions to safely, that’s the important thing, to safely take us forward because we are still seeing some of the behaviours that lead to the spread of this awful virus.”

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/g ... 22806.html

Re: Govt begins talks to reopen the economy

Postby ruffneck_12 » May 27th, 2021, 12:46 pm

Is about goddamn time

Maybe if the citizens werent so fat and unhealthy we could reopen sooner, BUt nah, everybody wanna drink a whole bottle of soft drink with every meal

Postby redmanjp » May 27th, 2021, 10:39 pm

to open back this time is a lot more risky than last time as we actually have a very contagious variant. i heard them say the eCommerce option would be considered as part of the phased reopening where no in person shopping is allowed but u can order online and have stuff delivered. some already doing that but they shouldn't yet because their employees can spread the virus and just prolong the lock down.

if this is true it will drive many businesses to finally implement online shopping- one good thing arising out of the pandemic

Postby RedVEVO » May 28th, 2021, 12:07 am

Why do Trini peeps NOT understand ?

Gov't close ALL non-essential businesses on a Monday then say they will re-open on a Wednesday .

What is the above scenario REALLY telling YOU ?

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » May 28th, 2021, 7:10 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^

Why do Trini peeps NOT understand ?

Gov't close ALL non-essential businesses on a Monday then say they will re-open on a Wednesday .

What is the above scenario REALLY telling YOU ?

We open to Venezuela

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 28th, 2021, 8:37 am

They just dreaming. Ain't no way we could reopen anytime soon.

timothymcdavid

Postby timothymcdavid » May 28th, 2021, 9:35 am

Only way they can do that is if they make significant progress in vaccinating people ... that isnt going to happen unless they stop playing the usual games.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 28th, 2021, 9:56 am

reopen discussions is just talk. If that happens cases will explode again and they know that.

Postby redmanjp » May 29th, 2021, 10:07 pm

elec2020 wrote:reopen discussions is just talk. If that happens cases will explode again and they know that.

well they didn't say they reopening NOW. just making plans for when cases go down.

i did hear where they considering online only shopping & delivery first before in person. they probably read my posts a few months ago :D

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 30th, 2021, 8:40 am

redmanjp wrote:
elec2020 wrote:reopen discussions is just talk. If that happens cases will explode again and they know that.

well they didn't say they reopening NOW. just making plans for when cases go down.

i did hear where they considering online only shopping & delivery first before in person. they probably read my posts a few months ago :D

online shopping would mean even less jobs as employers don't need the amount of staff they have on board if they not dealing with customers personally. so unemployment going to get worse actually. And higher unemployment will mean less sales overtime. Less sales mean more retrenchments. And we just in a self repeating negative spiral. Imo the government doesn't have a clue (i still trying to wrap my head on how construction going to jumpstart the economy when it earns 0 foreign exchange). Like Dr. Farrell said the recovery hope hinges on the energy sector. Like always. Luckily oil prices have recovered by a good bit. But idk what our production values looking like. I assume low given the restrictions.

Postby gastly369 » May 30th, 2021, 10:00 am

As we open trini going jackass de scene and we would be back to square one in no time... 100% guarantee it

Postby Rovin » May 30th, 2021, 1:39 pm

d way things not improving i suspect lockdown gonna remain for another mth ...

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 30th, 2021, 2:33 pm

elec2020 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

online shopping would mean even less jobs as employers don't need the amount of staff they have on board if they not dealing with customers personally. so unemployment going to get worse actually. And higher unemployment will mean less sales overtime. Less sales mean more retrenchments. And we just in a self repeating negative spiral. Imo the government doesn't have a clue (i still trying to wrap my head on how construction going to jumpstart the economy when it earns 0 foreign exchange). Like Dr. Farrell said the recovery hope hinges on the energy sector. Like always. Luckily oil prices have recovered by a good bit. But idk what our production values looking like. I assume low given the restrictions.

You don't need to earn foreign exchange to jumpstart ya economy though. The whole purpose of foreign exchange is to buy foreign goods. Unless you using the money to loan to other countries to gain interest then the forex is basically used to purchase things such as food which end up as waste in the toilet or vehicles which essentially cause increased wastage via fuel use etc.

This notion of needing forex to have a good economy is flawed. You only need forex because TT has become dependent on foreign products.

elec2020

Postby elec2020 » May 31st, 2021, 7:41 am

^ so your proposal is to change decades of consumption patterns overnight? Also, what about paying back loans? Cause i doubt the government borrowed in TT dollars. Every nation in the world trades with other nations. To conduct this trade u need forex. Nothing is going to change that. Therefore, the government needs to find ways to bolster how much forex tnt generates.