COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates) (Poll added)

Are you taking the COVID-19 Vaccine?

Yes, I am already vaccinated.
67%
Yes, I am awaiting vaccination.
10%
No, I don't want it.
16%
I am not sure.
7%

Total votes: 121

ProtonPowder

Re: COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby ProtonPowder » June 9th, 2021, 11:54 am

Dohplaydat wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
timelapse wrote:I waiting for Ali, Khan, Maharaj, Williams,Joseph and Singh.

M and R are the largest in TnT last names

They need to have a day for people who last name is RamSomething

Multiple days probably. And you could easily funnel letters like I O Q U X Y Z on the same day because of how small those are.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » June 9th, 2021, 11:55 am

Habit7 wrote:Health Minister apologises: “Sorry for the chaos…”
By Guardian Media -June 9, 2021

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh MP has confirmed that from tomorrow, an alphabetical system would be employed, to bring some order to the current COVID-19 vaccine drive.

There was chaos at health centres around the country today, as hundreds turned out to receive their shot. However, many were turned away because of the limited number of shots available. In addition, staff at the health centres also implemented a number chit system, to ensure those eligible for vaccines could receive them today.

The health minister admitted that they underestimated how many people would want vaccines.

“My apology is unreserved,” he told a news conference, today.

He also noted that many of the people who turned up for vaccines this morning were not eligible at this time.

“Many healthy persons under 60 years of age turned up,” he said. “Many of them did not have NCDs either.”

Even as he apologised for the chaos, the Minister also asked persons under 60 years to allow the 60+ and those with NCDs to get their shot first.

”I assure you, as more and more vaccines come in, your turn to get your shot will come,” the minister assured.

From Thursday June 10th, persons whose surnames are between A-E will be seen to receive their vaccines.

The minister also reiterated that only persons over 60 years of age, and those under 60 years with NCDs are eligible for vaccination at this time. In addition, citizens must walk with proof of ID.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/health-minister- ... the-chaos/
What an idiot this health minster is.

They really lack planning

Postby adnj » June 9th, 2021, 11:55 am

Habit7 wrote:I am enjoying seeing the ppl who defended thousands crowded outside, masked and at night protesting at vigils, now criticising hundreds in a line, masked in sunlight waiting to get vaccinated.

Either way, both were unnecessary gatherings that could have taken place differently.
Your statement is misleading.

There was no "one of the world's ten worst" Covid outbreaks occurring at the time of the candlelight vigils.

Postby aaron17 » June 9th, 2021, 11:55 am

At this point ..we will just be fed up and numbed with the numbers increasing...cause we jus tired of preaching over and over what not to do.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 9th, 2021, 11:57 am

The government is running this country based on social media feedback where the same 20 ole aunties and uncles comment under every news article.

They thought the majority of this country was vaccine hesitant because of it.

Postby MaxPower » June 9th, 2021, 11:57 am

Dohplaydat wrote:The issue here isn't the crowds as they're all outdoor and wearing masks. The spread if any would be minimal. However, the big failure is their lack of planning and anticipation of this. Just another example of poor government planning.

DPD,

Which part you not getting bro?

Outdoor or not, where is the social distancing?

You do understand what a crowd means right?

I know you thinking about outdoor and ventilation and environment etc…..but what happens with the people in the middle if the crowd? What happens when the wind is calm and the ventilation is poor? Outdoor does not always mean in a savanna. Outdoor can mean outside but behind a wall, around a corner, under a lil shed where there is little air. So many crowds with all the body heat and stink breathe is a recipe for viruses to spread. But you have the masks right? Ok good, you have to HOPE the masks are worn properly AND they are effective…..which i assure you many are not.

Poor government planning? Yes i agree, but even with good planning i.e - constantly reiterating the covid guidelines, many people are not listening.

Postby aaron17 » June 9th, 2021, 11:59 am

C'mon health minister man..controlling the amount of ppl and maintaining the covid regulations is always have to be at the top of doing plannings like these for rolling out vaccinations. So I assume the top of the list is to vaccinate as much as they can...steups.

Postby adnj » June 9th, 2021, 12:00 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:MOH needs to do an emergency press conference today and say the first come first serve system for distribution of vaccines ends today. Start back with the online appointment system.

For senior citizens who can't use online system, maybe tell them to go to their district health centre on different days depending on their year of birth.
That is completely unnecessary.

By announcing the total number of vaccines to be distributed and then handing out numbers at the start of the day, you maximize throughput. The issue is to eliminate no-show appointments.

The MoH underestimated demand.

The public doesn't follow 2 meter social distancing.

COVID-19 Vaccine Tracker (News and Updates)

Postby MaxPower » June 9th, 2021, 12:01 pm

At least Terrence was man enough to apologize.

Trinis are going to apologize for their embarrassing behavior today?

Postby Habit7 » June 9th, 2021, 12:02 pm

adnj wrote:
Habit7 wrote:I am enjoying seeing the ppl who defended thousands crowded outside, masked and at night protesting at vigils, now criticising hundreds in a line, masked in sunlight waiting to get vaccinated.

Either way, both were unnecessary gatherings that could have taken place differently.

There was no "one of the world's ten worst" Covid outbreaks occurring at the time of the candlelight vigils.

Of course it would not occur "at the time of the candlelight vigils." Whatever mass gathering event will be felt weeks later.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 9th, 2021, 12:05 pm

MaxPower wrote:At least Terrence was man enough to apologize.

If tens of thousands of people follow a directive badly then the directive was at fault.

Postby adnj » June 9th, 2021, 12:06 pm

Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

Of course it would not occur "at the time of the candlelight vigils." Whatever mass gathering event will be felt weeks later.
You'll need to have that argument with the voices in your head or somebody else because it makes zero sense to me.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 9th, 2021, 12:07 pm

adnj wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

You'll need to have that argument with the voices in your head or somebody else because it makes zero sense to me.

He is referring to the incubation period

Postby MaxPower » June 9th, 2021, 12:07 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

If tens of thousands of people follow a directive badly then the directive was at fault.

Isn’t there a directive to social distance?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » June 9th, 2021, 12:08 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:The issue here isn't the crowds as they're all outdoor and wearing masks. The spread if any would be minimal. However, the big failure is their lack of planning and anticipation of this. Just another example of poor government planning.

DPD,

I know you thinking about outdoor and ventilation and environment etc…..but what happens with the people in the middle if the crowd? What happens when the wind is calm and the ventilation is poor? Outdoor does not always mean in a savanna. Outdoor can mean outside but behind a wall, around a corner, under a lil shed where there is little air. So many crowds with all the body heat and stink breathe is a recipe for viruses to spread. But you have the masks right? Ok good, you have to HOPE the masks are worn properly AND they are effective…..which i assure you many are not.

Poor government planning? Yes i agree, but even with good planning i.e - constantly reiterating the covid guidelines, many people are not listening.

Max, my friend, I agree and I'm not saying it can't happen, it can but the odds are low if everyone is masked up.

200826-social-distance-rules-al-0839-3407569.jpg

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » June 9th, 2021, 12:10 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:

Isn’t there a directive to social distance?

Yes, and there are many directives at play. Masks, distance and lining up.

Which one is the newest and most confusing? That is where the breakdown happened.

Postby Habit7 » June 9th, 2021, 12:11 pm

adnj wrote:You'll need to have that argument with the voices in your head or somebody else because it makes zero sense to me.

I consulted with them and they asked if you could some more reading on the subject before you try to engage in it.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 9th, 2021, 12:15 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

DPD,

Max, my friend, I agree and I'm not saying it can't happen, it can but the odds are low if everyone is masked up.

The Brazilian variant has adapted to spread outdoors and in sunlight. Hence why trinis was doing all kinda thing before and we had no cases.

Also these people soo close together that mask and outdoors irrelevant.

Kickstart

Postby Kickstart » June 9th, 2021, 12:16 pm

How many times must we get apologises from the PNM to get things rights ? This is really poor

Postby adnj » June 9th, 2021, 12:25 pm

ProtonPowder wrote:
adnj wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

I understood the what. What was puzzling is the why. An out door protest juxtaposed against people lined up outdoors who fail to maintain social distancing while trying to get the vaccine to control one of the worst national outbreaks in the world.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 9th, 2021, 12:28 pm

adnj wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

His arguements usually doesn't make any sense. He'll blame the vigils but not the mass gathering in Tobago over the Easter weekend although there is no evidence that the spike resulted from the vigils and there is evidence the spike happened in conjunction with the Easter weekend. Additionally, he doesn't want to understand or admit the dynamics of a situation may vary and so too the relevant action necessary.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 9th, 2021, 12:32 pm

Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:You'll need to have that argument with the voices in your head or somebody else because it makes zero sense to me.

I consulted with them and they asked if you could some more reading on the subject before you try to engage in it.

Solid advice, it's a shame you didn't utilise it.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 9th, 2021, 12:36 pm

adnj wrote:
ProtonPowder wrote:
adnj wrote:
Habit7 wrote:
adnj wrote:

I understood the what. What was puzzling is the why. An out door protest juxtaposed against people lined up outdoors who fail to maintain social distancing while trying to get the vaccine to control one of the worst national outbreaks in the world.

You can excuse someone for saying something unintelligent in person as they speak as they think but online you have the benefit of time when you have to type it out and yet nothing clicks.

BUG

Postby BUG » June 9th, 2021, 12:36 pm

Well put. Add Easter holiday gatherings and travel and you realise the entire world is populated with complete morons.

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2021, 12:38 pm

Kickstart wrote:
sMASH wrote:
Habit7 wrote:ALPHABETICAL ORDER FOR VACCINES
Health Minister Terrance Deyalsingh has said that vaccines will be administered by alphabetical order from tomorrow. People OVER 60 with surnames A-E will start tomorrow.
https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 1868807996
Good system now.
Failure in the first place

if was a failure from the start, the system woulda get bash from the time it announced.
it woudl have worked if u expected low numbers of people.

nobody expected so many persons wanted vaccines.

yes better could have been done, but to my knowledge, i have not come across any alternative suggestion at the time the walk in policy was suggested.

but now that they know is vaccine session, they can adjust to suit. maybe roll out more vaccines. that 100 per day and 60 per day was failure. if they had mentioned it was those low numbers available, then they would have gotten ah bash.

at least with these two days of the alfabet system, lets see if it is sufficient.

i still think they should go with the online registration, to avoid people wasting their time. u pick a site, day and an hour slot, they do 20 per hour. so u know what time to reach, and u can maximize ur time, and they avoid mass gatherings.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 9th, 2021, 12:41 pm

BUG wrote:

Well put. Add Easter holiday gatherings and travel and you realise the entire world is populated with complete morons.

The Easter weekend will make the PNM especially Keith look bad, as he publicly encouraged persons to go, so Habit7 will just follow the lead of Keith and solely blame the vigils.

Postby paid_influencer » June 9th, 2021, 12:46 pm

how could they have expected the 60 or 100 vaccines per health center to have been enough? this borders on negligence

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » June 9th, 2021, 12:48 pm

The gatherings we see this morning of elderly people is a result of all the people who jump line because they know a pnm and they get through. All these old people shoulda done get the vaccine long time.

Postby MaxPower » June 9th, 2021, 12:50 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

DPD,

Thanks for the illustration bro.

But that’s the thing, everyone is not masked up properly or wearing proper masks. Not good for a highly infectious variant.

The odds are low, and you have convinced me, but low odds in large groups will still mean some will/can be infected and we know the chain reaction after.

I can also the agree there may not be that of a “spike” but these little odds here and there adds up and we would just take longer to get the cases to zero.

Wraith King

Postby Wraith King » June 9th, 2021, 12:53 pm

paid_influencer wrote:how could they have expected the 60 or 100 vaccines per health center to have been enough? this borders on negligence

It's possible they want a spike in the virus to distract citizens from other things.