Was Samba Beer really that good?

rs1010

Was Samba Beer really that good?

Postby rs1010 » July 20th, 2022, 11:54 am

I know they discontinued Samba beer a while back, but everybody I asked said that Samba was way superior to other local beers when they used to make it. Is that true? They unfortunately got forced out of the market by another beverage company (not gonna say who, but I think we all know), they used to threaten to stop supplying their products to groceries, bars, etc..., if they used to carry Samba.
Last edited by rs1010 on July 20th, 2022, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Was Samba Beer really that good?

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2022, 12:00 pm

Samba predates my beer drinking days.
Probably drank it once in a fete where it was being given out for free by which time drinks was drinks.

Used to have real promotional items from Samba though as there was a bar opposite me run by someone closely associated with the company. They always had giveaways and promotions and the neighbours got lots of stuff I guess for the inconvenience of noise and traffic.

death365

Postby death365 » July 20th, 2022, 12:17 pm

nope samba sucked, but its still available in certain other Caribbean countries

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 12:25 pm

Allyuh remember the song?

Where my boy timez? Or right he don’t drink beers.

Ok let me start it then….

From Orange Sky…..”wen d icey Samba hits my throat, it’s like sweet music to my ears..on a something something sunny day…Samba beer, for you and meeeee”

I think thas how it went

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 20th, 2022, 12:46 pm

Nothing special, but the same could be said about most of the beers available locally.
Lower/middle of the pack in terms of taste.

Postby alfa » July 20th, 2022, 12:56 pm

I remember they even had their own promo girls as well lol. Never tasted the beer though but back in my drinking days I used to love rush. It was a vodka based fruit juice thing made by angostura, anyone remembers those?

Animal Pak

Postby Animal Pak » July 20th, 2022, 1:10 pm

No it wasn’t.

The reason it was popular was because it was really cheap.

3 for 20 in plenty bars.

Some had 4 for 20

Postby j.o.e » July 20th, 2022, 1:19 pm

No

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 1:29 pm

alfa wrote:I remember they even had their own promo girls as well lol. Never tasted the beer though but back in my drinking days I used to love rush. It was a vodka based fruit juice thing made by angostura, anyone remembers those?

Alf,

Yeh rush, was it the blue bottle?

I also remember Red Square in the silver bottle.

dogg

Postby dogg » July 20th, 2022, 1:32 pm

It was just ok.

But better than many of the never-see-come-see "premium" imported beers some people run down.

ritchie1 wrote:I know they discontinued Samba beer a while back, but everybody I asked said that Samba was way superior to other local beers when they used to make it. Is that true? They unfortunately got forced out of the market by another beverage company (not gonna say who, but I think we all know based on their underhanded marketing tactics), they used to threaten to stop supplying their products to groceries, bars, etc..., if they used to carry Samba.

rs1010

Postby rs1010 » July 20th, 2022, 2:00 pm

death365 wrote:nope samba sucked, but its still available in certain other Caribbean countries

was it better than carib tho?

Postby alfa » July 20th, 2022, 2:03 pm

alfa wrote:I remember they even had their own promo girls as well lol. Never tasted the beer though but back in my drinking days I used to love rush. It was a vodka based fruit juice thing made by angostura, anyone remembers those?

Alf,

Nah you thing of XS. That was another one that came a bit after lol. Red square was the prerunner to red bull I believe but had vodka in it

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 2:21 pm

alfa wrote:

Alf,

Nah you thing of XS. That was another one that came a bit after lol. Red square was the prerunner to red bull I believe but had vodka in it

XS…..weyyyyyyyyz thats it self.

death365

Postby death365 » July 20th, 2022, 2:37 pm

red square was a small bottle and used to taste rellllllllll good. also being vodka based means you could have drink it lunch time and no smell :)

Postby timelapse » July 20th, 2022, 3:07 pm

Samba was awful.The malt in it gave it a fruity kinda taste like vita malt.

XS was like sprite with white oak in it.Not bad

Angostura Rush was nice, especially the king orange flavour.Closet replacement to it is the new orange llb thing with a one shot of puncheon in it.A winning combo

Carib strong was a nice concept, except the combo made me throw up.

Will stick to hard liquor.As mih granpapi used to say, "Beer is for boys, Rhum is for men."

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2022, 4:13 pm

Samba was aiight.

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 4:21 pm

Samba was $4 when last i remember

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2022, 4:41 pm

sabga pushed them out of the market
forced bars into compliance with their advertising and signage
and groceries too gave them the top shelves

there was another local beer on an even smaller scale called howler
was even available in kegs
better than samba imo

Postby timelapse » July 20th, 2022, 4:43 pm

Black Wolf was good though.

Postby Chimera » July 20th, 2022, 5:17 pm

All beer is sheit

But heineken and corona are the least sheit

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2022, 5:44 pm

i like the modelo dark one
but they pricey

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 20th, 2022, 5:59 pm

samba was a full hops flavor not that bitter thing we call beer in the name of carib and worst stag. they market it to say a man beer when its more like mans piss. samba was close to a corona beer.

Postby MaxPower » July 20th, 2022, 6:46 pm

Love a damn cold Stag.

Postby De Dragon » July 20th, 2022, 6:55 pm

MaxPower wrote:Love a damn cold Stag.

True dat!

Postby Dizzy28 » July 20th, 2022, 7:06 pm

Wasn't Back Wolf also Carib
timelapse wrote:Black Wolf was good though.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » July 20th, 2022, 7:34 pm

stag is a water down beer. even the guyana apple j tasting bank beer taste better than carib or stag. brainwashed people who feel them is man to drink that sheit cause they tell you its a man beer.

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2022, 7:45 pm

at the end of the day ppl like what they know esp from long time or when they young

Postby timelapse » July 20th, 2022, 7:47 pm

pugboy wrote:at the end of the day ppl like what they know esp from long time or when they young
Or know what they like.
I like puncheon

Postby SR » July 20th, 2022, 7:52 pm

Correct sabga forced them out of production so they could control the local market price

It was cheaper for samba to import bottles from miami that to buy from carib glassworks.

Sabga told resellers if they sell samba they would not be supplied with carib products at wholesale pricing

The beer was a decent beer however trinidadians were not acustom to european style beers. They did more sales up the caribbean and south florida than locally. Eventually they stopped brewing locally and started bottling products for angostura.

Postby pugboy » July 20th, 2022, 8:18 pm

back then these unsavory tactics by 1% were kept quiet