Identify this woodpecker

death365

Re: Identify this woodpecker

Postby death365 » August 29th, 2022, 12:09 pm

He was back today again, but only heard him on the roof.

Postby RedVEVO » August 30th, 2022, 11:01 pm

The Parrots from T&T are not talkers per se .
It's a lot of work or must be around kids.

Do not buy - The cost about $300 to $600.

The Blue Headed Parrot from Venezuela is a good buy but illegal.

Postby timelapse » August 31st, 2022, 6:48 am

On that note, any caged parrot requires a permit from the forestry division.It isn't expensive, and your animal is registered.Game wardens can seize animals that they believe are being abused.Dont let your pet get seized.

Postby Country_Bookie » August 31st, 2022, 8:11 am

This guy used to visit next door regularly.
20210820_144551.jpg

Postby bluefete » August 31st, 2022, 9:57 am

I love this thread.

Thank you posters for not giving away the locations of these magnificent creatures.

Parrots come home to roost by me in the afternoon. I often wonder how much tourists would pay to see and hear them in their natural element.

VII- I am not sure I can handle the snakes but what a great environment surrounds you.

Postby bluefete » August 31st, 2022, 10:03 am

RedV - Throw your frame nah! People writing about preservation and appreciation of animals in their natural habitat and you write about $25k for a parrot.

Postby maj. tom » August 31st, 2022, 10:11 am

timelapse wrote:On that note, any caged parrot requires a permit from the forestry division.It isn't expensive, and your animal is registered.Game wardens can seize animals that they believe are being abused.Dont let your pet get seized.

Birds do not belong in cages. :x Especially animals with the high intelligence levels that can match a 3 year old human.

I really abhor this human practice. The only way these animals should be captured is with a camera.

VII

Postby VII » August 31st, 2022, 11:08 am

You're mad, our yellow head Amazons are among the top talkers in the world, probably only second to the african Grey, they eveb learn to talk in the wild/free from hearing humans closeby . it's the blue head that doesn't talk as much..and there are many on the mainland that don't talk as much either...

But this isn't about selfish human whims and fancies..

RedVEVO wrote:The Parrots from T&T are not talkers per se .

Last edited by VII on August 31st, 2022, 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

VII

Postby VII » August 31st, 2022, 11:12 am

You get used to them..shared many vids and pics here in the past..even had one with a machete hunting and swallowing a lizard on top my atrium ..

bluefete wrote:I love this thread.

Thank you posters for not giving away the locations of these magnificent creatures.

Parrots come home to roost by me in the afternoon. I often wonder how much tourists would pay to see and hear them in their natural element.

VII- I am not sure I can handle the snakes but what a great environment surrounds you.

Postby Rovin » August 31st, 2022, 2:36 pm

bluefete wrote:RedV - Throw your frame nah! People writing about preservation and appreciation of animals in their natural habitat and you write about $25k for a parrot.

ayyyyyyyyyyyye who get datttt , u know how long i eh see nobody on tuner tell ah next tuner dat - dise rel ole classic tuner insulting terminology

i love to see all sorts of birds chirping & flying around freely anywhere they choose & absolutely hate seeing ppl forcefully keeping them in captivity

even while sitting in my store in d concrete heart of busy chaguanas right outside on d street poles u see\hear a variety of birds & occasionally parrots flying overhead , i see\hear some i never saw b4 in my life & want to guess is bird smugglers from vene bring them in & some escaped into d wildness ... very nice to see\hear them around 8-)

VII

Postby VII » August 31st, 2022, 2:42 pm

There are 487 species of birds here and some that pass through during migration etc..but our local species alone are very impressive for a small island..and yes they're everywhere.. 8-)

Rovin wrote:
bluefete wrote:RedV - Throw your frame nah! People writing about preservation and appreciation of animals in their natural habitat and you write about $25k for a parrot.

ayyyyyyyyyyyye who get datttt , u know how long i eh see nobody on tuner tell ah next tuner dat - dise rel ole classic tuner insulting terminology

i love to see all sorts of birds chirping & flying around freely anywhere they choose & absolutely hate seeing ppl forcefully keeping them in captivity

even while sitting in my store in d concrete heart of busy chaguanas right outside on d street poles u see\hear a variety of birds & occasionally parrots flying overhead , i see\hear some i never saw b4 in my life & want to guess is bird smugglers from vene bring them in & some escaped into d wildness ... very nice to see\hear them around 8-)

VII

Postby VII » August 31st, 2022, 2:44 pm

Totally convinced now...

matix wrote:
VII wrote:You're mad, our yellow head Amazons are among the top talkers in the world, probablybonly second to the african Grey.. it's the blue head that doesn't talk as much..and there are many on the mainland that don't talk as much either...

RedVEVO wrote:The Parrots from T&T are not talkers per se .

You now realise vevo mad?

Postby nervewrecker » August 31st, 2022, 3:29 pm

VII wrote:There are 487 species of birds here and some that pass through during migration etc..but our local species alone are very impressive for a small island..and yes they're everywhere.. 8-)

Rovin wrote:

Wah bout them jaggabat Dem?

Exclusive to here alone?

Postby Chimera » August 31st, 2022, 3:54 pm

It have this big blue bird that does be at the edge of my pond or even on the lillies eating tilapia.

And not baby tiliapia. Like 4 or 5 inch fish he grabbing and gulping like it's a shot of tequila

Postby timelapse » August 31st, 2022, 3:57 pm

maj. tom wrote:
timelapse wrote:On that note, any caged parrot requires a permit from the forestry division.It isn't expensive, and your animal is registered.Game wardens can seize animals that they believe are being abused.Dont let your pet get seized.

Birds do not belong in cages. :x Especially animals with the high intelligence levels that can match a 3 year old human.

I really abhor this human practice. The only way these animals should be captured is with a camera.
I don't support this either.
My late uncle was a game warden that used to have seized animals in his possession while they were being processed.
If you think that its heartbreaking enough to see birds caged,it is a lot worse watching them try to fend for themselves after being accustomed to their respective owners.

Postby bluefete » August 31st, 2022, 4:02 pm

maj. tom wrote:

FULLY AGREE!

Postby SMc » September 1st, 2022, 5:42 am

nervewrecker wrote:Is an epidemic here.

Toucan, woodpecker, macaw, parrot.....

What's this btw, had to use real zoom to not scare it. IMG_20220824_162411.jpg

Maybe this will help bring the tread back on track->

Green-backed Trogon is my guess- cant see the colour of the eye ring but it doesn't look yellow- took these pictures a couple years ago, is this the same type of bird?

Side:
IMG_1155c.JPG

Front:

IMG_1162c.JPG

back- you can see the green here:

IMG_1187c.JPG

Suspect bird

IMG_20220824_162411.jpg
IMG_20220824_162411.jpg (25.16 KiB) Viewed 1423 times

I have toucan one and some others about somewhere

Postby timelapse » September 1st, 2022, 10:07 am

Smc, what area is that?

Postby SMc » September 1st, 2022, 11:04 am

^^Blanchisseuse-Arima road. Somewhere between Las Lapas and Asa Wright if I remember correctly.

Postby 88sins » September 1st, 2022, 11:28 am

All ole talk aside
It have plenty of them my side. Dem ting LOUD boi. Not the knocking on the trees, when they flying sometimes they let out a setta ole noise. It's a very distinct sound, once you hear it you will know that they around.

Postby timelapse » September 1st, 2022, 1:01 pm

Got lots of these copper rump hummingbirds by me.
IMG_20220806_073650.jpg

Postby Rovin » September 2nd, 2022, 2:41 pm

Postby bluefete » September 3rd, 2022, 1:38 pm

There is a guy - Sham Sahadeo -on Fb with the most amazing pictures of creatures in the green forest.

Postby 88sins » September 3rd, 2022, 5:33 pm

We have so much wildlife diversity here eh, it amazing when you get to thinking about it.
So many different species of birds, fish, reptiles and mammals, many actually living in close proximity to urban developments.

The people who can simply look out their window and see these animals are really lucky. Many people in this country go their entire life with ever seeing an agouti, a woodpecker, our scarlet ibis or some of our other local wildlife alive and irl

Postby bluefete » September 8th, 2022, 12:48 pm

Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries

#ForestryDivision | #WildlifeSection | #Bullfinches | #CagedBirds | Man faces a total of $147,000 in fines after pleading guilty to 196 charges

A man found in possession of ninety-eight (98) bullfinches in the back seat of his motor vehicle (in two (2) undersized metal cages) was fined a total of $147,000 or 2,450 days simple imprisonment after he appeared before Senior Magistrate, Ms. Alicia Channka of the Point Fortin Magistrate’s Court on 196 charges.

He was stopped during a search conducted by officers of the South Western Division Task Force along the South Central Main Road in Point Fortin, in the vicinity of Mora Trace.

The accused – Mr. Jemol Butler – who was charged by Game Warden I, Mr. Parvesh Jokhan, on 11/08/2022, pleaded guilty to the 196 charges, among which included:-

i. Keeping Caged Birds in Undersized Cages – ninety-eight (98) counts – fined $500 or ten (10) days simple Imprisonment on each count; and

ii. Possession of caged birds without a Permit – ninety-eight (98) counts - fined $1000.00 or fifteen (15) days simple Imprisonment on each count.

The search warrant on Mr. Butler’s vehicle uncovered two (2) cages measuring 16”x 16”x 23.5”, the dimensions of which had a cubical content of 3.48 cubic feet which was designed to house only nine (9) birds each. Furthermore Mr. Butler was not in possession of a permit to keep these birds in captivity.

The Ministry of Agriculture, Land and Fisheries wishes to thank its Forestry Division (Wildlife Section) staff as well as the officers of the South Western Division Task Force who collaborated with Game Wardens whilst in the conduct of a joint exercise in the Point Fortin area.

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=44 ... 9350672028