Du Maurier by Lucky Strike???

importzxtt

Du Maurier by Lucky Strike???

Postby importzxtt » October 10th, 2022, 10:35 pm

So I recently got a pack of dumaurier cigarettes and was surprised to see the new packaging. But the worse part is the blend is not the same as before! How long now has it been this way? It there any place to get the old versions? So disappointing, these were the only cigarettes I like and they have much nostalgia.

DMan7

Re: Du Maurier by Lucky Strike???

Postby DMan7 » October 10th, 2022, 10:43 pm

It's time to switch to vape and leave the old school cigs to rest in peace.

Postby rollingstock » October 10th, 2022, 10:57 pm

Smoke dunhill instead, that new du maurier is crap

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » October 10th, 2022, 11:01 pm

I hate vape, products and smoke. I really prefer the real thing.

Those new dumauriers are real disappointing. They were never the most expensive cigarettes but were in a class of their own imo. Now, it’s like an off brand or something.

Postby maj. tom » October 11th, 2022, 12:04 am

I know this isn't what you want to hear or believe, but it's psychological.

If you Google it, you will see that for more than 10 years people are always complaining on various internet forums that the cigarettes taste different every time a company changes the packaging.

8 years ago
Long-term smokers find plain-packaged cigarettes taste worse

Tobacco companies have denied changing ingredients, and co-author and PhD candidate Ashleigh Guillaumier said the study's findings highlight the power of branding.

"It's one of the main reasons that the tobacco industry fought so hard against the introduction of plain packs," Guillaumier said.
https://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/jul/15/smokers-find-plain-packaged-cigarettes-taste-worse

This is from 2 years ago when du Maurier Canada first rolled out that new packaging.
Did anybody notice a drop in quality of DuMaurier cigarettes with the arrival of the new plain packs? The cigarettes are like the quality you get in bags from the wagon-burners. They no longer have the du plus filters or the resealable flaps for freshness. The tobacco seems darker and more harsh tasting. When I go back to the old style packaging they are delicious. Wtf is up with that?

BTW, the cost per pack has increased... I knew the packaging would be bland, but the cigarettes also became bland with cheapish tubes.
https://reddit.com/r/Cigarettes/comments/ero9b4/new_dumaurier_smokes_plain_packaging_cigarette/

In fact the cigarette companies themselves did this marketing research and came to that same conclusion.
20 years ago
Market testing results indicate that such imagery is so strong as to influence smoker's taste ratings of the same cigarettes when packaged differently.
https://tobaccocontrol.bmj.com/content/11/suppl_1/i73

Postby MaxPower » October 11th, 2022, 12:06 am

Friends,

Smoking kills.

Let’s be considerate towards our health.

Postby Les Bain » October 11th, 2022, 4:41 am

Smoke Mt. d'Or like a real man.

Postby timelapse » October 11th, 2022, 7:22 am

Smoke herb.Less harmful chemicals especially if you grow it yourself.Forget wrapping paper and get a clay chillum,or a nice glass bong.No need to be smoking glue and fiberglass

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 11th, 2022, 11:56 am

timelapse wrote:Smoke herb.Less harmful chemicals especially if you grow it yourself.Forget wrapping paper and get a clay chillum,or a nice glass bong.No need to be smoking glue and fiberglass

I used to smoke both, but stopped about 12 years ago.
That herb thing is a misnomer, no? Unless you smoking local bud or high grade sheit (that most people not)
Press has a sticky oil that's 100x worse than tobacco tar.

dogg

Postby dogg » October 11th, 2022, 12:13 pm

Most of the few smokers I know use cheap -probably expired and repackaged- illicit cigarettes.

One showed me a cigarette from a just opened pack and pointed out the greying slightly moldy paper. He smoked the whole pack anyway. Costs like 1/4 the price of WITCO products.

If yuh already killing yourself smoking, i figure the mold is the least of his concerns.

Postby timelapse » October 11th, 2022, 1:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:
timelapse wrote:Smoke herb.Less harmful chemicals especially if you grow it yourself.Forget wrapping paper and get a clay chillum,or a nice glass bong.No need to be smoking glue and fiberglass

I used to smoke both, but stopped about 12 years ago.
That herb thing is a misnomer, no? Unless you smoking local bud or high grade sheit (that most people not)
Press has a sticky oil that's 100x worse than tobacco tar.
Homegrown only now

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 11th, 2022, 1:21 pm

still hv to rollon on smth :/
da long butt dumarier is not dumarier at all, i try da new one, dunhill red, malboro, mtdor as someone suggested, an now broadway.
honestly all dem long butt is rel failure, but i guess broadway is the best for now just break out ah good piece from d tip.
rum shop talk is da since dey drop d pack to 20 they plan on bringing back d old one when the new stock done, but i wouldn't hold my puff on da :D

Postby timelapse » October 11th, 2022, 2:48 pm

daxt0r wrote:still hv to rollon on smth :/
da long butt dumarier is not dumarier at all, i try da new one, dunhill red, malboro, mtdor as someone suggested, an now broadway.
honestly all dem long butt is rel failure, but i guess broadway is the best for now just break out ah good piece from d tip.
rum shop talk is da since dey drop d pack to 20 they plan on bringing back d old one when the new stock done, but i wouldn't hold my puff on da :D
Chillum is pack and light bro
Nothing to roll on

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » October 11th, 2022, 3:12 pm

paps, rel saddha/rastafari ting dey boy.
never liked hvin appartus to smoke, feels like being a crackhead with a stalk or small whiskey bottle.
Nex thing you go say you do even buy bambu/elements pure fonto leaf.
to each his own though :D

Postby mero » October 11th, 2022, 5:45 pm

Nothing beats the comfort of sitting back and smoking a j for me. Brought in some king palm leaves as well for when I feeling sexy. Have Arizer solo 2 for dry herb vape. Passed through the pax 2 as well

Them glass pipe and bong is straight business and cuff to chest, no foreplay and no lube. Quick justice

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2022, 8:22 am

Both handmade by me.Made it how granny taught me
IMG_20221013_082334.jpg

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2022, 8:23 am

Front view
IMG_20221013_082341.jpg

Postby MaxPower » October 13th, 2022, 9:24 am

Oh how i miss meh ole Dumaurier in my smoking days.

Allyuh does still “pack” cigarette?

Postby mero » October 13th, 2022, 10:16 am

timelapse wrote:Both handmade by me.Made it how granny taught me
IMG_20221013_082334.jpg
Make one for meh nah :/

Postby Les Bain » October 13th, 2022, 11:19 am

Officially quit smoking years ago but the little stress makes me buy a loose cigarette every blue moon.

Last one I bought was roughly the same price as a half pack from when I started smoking in my teens.

Never again. If they want to dissuade smokers they should replace the gross health effect photos with the price increases over the years.

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2022, 1:04 pm

mero wrote:
IMG_20221013_082334.jpg
Pottery clay kinda scarce right now.If all goes well,I can have one for you by the Festivus.I feel I will give them out to friends.They cost next to nothing to make

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 13th, 2022, 1:43 pm

Ayeeee what about me hoss?

Postby timelapse » October 13th, 2022, 3:34 pm

When Divali done,allyuh remind me nah.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 13th, 2022, 3:52 pm

Cool will do!

Postby MG Man » October 13th, 2022, 5:13 pm

In 2002 when I worked at witco, there was a planned decrease in tar / nic
However, the packaging was ready before the blend was changed
So it was the 'full strength' duM in boxes with the lower tar / nic label
Immediately, consumers began complaining about the 'new' blend being weak
Perception is a helluva thing

Then when we were doing the test market for the new duM graphics, we limited sales to two specific towns
People from those towns began searching for the 'original' duM because the new pack experimental version was smoking different
It was the exact same cigs, just in a new box

quote="maj. tom"]I know this isn't what you want to hear or believe, but it's psychological.

If you Google it, you will see that for more than 10 years people are always complaining on various internet forums that the cigarettes taste different every time a company changes the packaging.

8 years ago
Long-term smokers find plain-packaged cigarettes taste worse

Tobacco companies have denied changing ingredients, and co-author and PhD candidate Ashleigh Guillaumier said the study's findings highlight the power of branding.

"It's one of the main reasons that the tobacco industry fought so hard against the introduction of plain packs," Guillaumier said.
https://www.theguardian.com/society/2014/jul/15/smokers-find-plain-packaged-cigarettes-taste-worse

This is from 2 years ago when du Maurier Canada first rolled out that new packaging.
Did anybody notice a drop in quality of DuMaurier cigarettes with the arrival of the new plain packs? The cigarettes are like the quality you get in bags from the wagon-burners. They no longer have the du plus filters or the resealable flaps for freshness. The tobacco seems darker and more harsh tasting. When I go back to the old style packaging they are delicious. Wtf is up with that?

BTW, the cost per pack has increased... I knew the packaging would be bland, but the cigarettes also became bland with cheapish tubes.
https://reddit.com/r/Cigarettes/comments/ero9b4/new_dumaurier_smokes_plain_packaging_cigarette/

In fact the cigarette companies themselves did this marketing research and came to that same conclusion.
20 years ago
Market testing results indicate that such imagery is so strong as to influence smoker's taste ratings of the same cigarettes when packaged differently.
https://tobaccocontrol.bmj.com/content/11/suppl_1/i73
[/quote]

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » October 13th, 2022, 9:40 pm

Yes, the psychological effect from the changes in the pack are very real. I have seen some of those studies before but these new dumauriers are really not a dumaurier at all.

That handmade chillim is cool!

Hand rolled spliffs are the thing for me. I use Peter stokkebye London export (closest flavor to dumaurier) and the best grade I can afford at the time. 95% of my rolls are straight rolls using JOB organic hemp papers with the glue strip removed.

Postby mero » October 14th, 2022, 10:28 am

timelapse wrote:
mero wrote:
IMG_20221013_082334.jpg
Pottery clay kinda scarce right now.If all goes well,I can have one for you by the Festivus.I feel I will give them out to friends.They cost next to nothing to make
Aite bless.. Go link u with a proper offering too.
DMan7 wrote:Ayeeee what about me hoss?
Wam wam, allyuh cyah see nothing eh

Postby alfa » October 14th, 2022, 10:44 am

If don't deal up in cigarettes or the green man manifesting herb but I like me a lil cigar now and then. Expensive in this country though and don't think you are allowed to import tobacco products again. Got a really smooth one called Santo Antonio from a Brazilian cigar company at Havana hut in woodbrook. Really like the smoothness

Postby timelapse » October 14th, 2022, 11:06 am

alfa wrote:If don't deal up in cigarettes or the green man manifesting herb but I like me a lil cigar now and then. Expensive in this country though and don't think you are allowed to import tobacco products again. Got a really smooth one called Santo Antonio from a Brazilian cigar company at Havana hut in woodbrook. Really like the smoothness
It does exist
hemp-rolled-canngar-819x1024.jpg

importzxtt

Postby importzxtt » October 14th, 2022, 11:22 am

Yeah man I love cigars too. I’m smoking an Oliva serie O right now. I actually find them more relaxing than herb. I love Tobacco from the Oliva family, Eiroa family and some others. I had a Cuban Cohiba Robusto Linea 1492 the other day and it was phenomenal. There’s something about Cuban Cohibas, anytime I smoke one it’s like a familiar taste to me like something I’ve known all my life but I’ve only been smoking cigars for about two years now.