Re: Which Credit Card Would give you best returns/points

Postby S_2NR » October 27th, 2021, 8:41 pm

whiterose868 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
whiterose868 wrote:Good night,
Figured I’d give an update. I went around to each bank asking the qualifying salaries and minimum working periods. Scotia and Republic were my best options here.

It was between the Republic Aadvantage Mastercard and the Scotia Aero Platinum. Did an enquiry online via email and got pre-approval for both cards about 2 days later. RBL gave me $1000usd / $7000tt. Scotia gave me about $3000usd / $20800tt. Ended up going with the Scotia Aero Platinum. Will probably take the Republic Aadvantage at a later date as a backup / emergency card.

All in all I think COVID worked in my favour here lol everybody buying online and getting deliveries etc which mandates having a visa or Mastercard. Banks were (I’m assuming) all too willing to give credit to customers and so they approved me.

Also as a side note, buying things for people and then letting them pay me back in cash has already let me score enough Scotia points for a round trip ticket to the US. This is excluding the bonus points I am supposed to get at the end of the promo period in December.

Scotia gives out aero cards like dinner mints . You have control but I hope people don’t bite chain up by how you got through .

I realized this. They also seem very generous with credit limit increases etc which is what I am banking on.
As someone before me was saying, I thought RBL would have been the better option but I assume they are more conservative with risk taking.

Either way, glad I GT and I hope others who looking for CC can find some value in the post

Do you have a better relationship with Scotia vs RBL?

Never had an issue with RBL but they handle everything for me.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » October 29th, 2021, 9:35 pm

How long after you submit a credit card application to first citizens credit card Centre do you get the card?

Postby j.o.e » October 29th, 2021, 10:26 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:How long after you submit a credit card application to first citizens credit card Centre do you get the card?

They’re very backlogged and your application often gets lost and misplaced. How do I know ? Went through that about a month ago. I suggest you call to make sure they received the application or else you might be waiting in vain. Just to be safe.

whiterose868

Postby whiterose868 » November 4th, 2021, 11:42 pm

A172 wrote:if u mean usd limit increase scotia monthly limit is $3000 usd for all cards

only exception in the premium card with 10k limit

yea I'm aware. I just meant the overall credit limit in TTD. I don't plan to spend more than 3000USD per billing cycle anyway. All that I have going through that these days are some basic online subs that run me about 30USD if so much plus the occasional amazon and Walmart purchases.

whiterose868

Postby whiterose868 » November 4th, 2021, 11:44 pm

S_2NR wrote:
whiterose868 wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
whiterose868 wrote:Good night,
Figured I’d give an update. I went around to each bank asking the qualifying salaries and minimum working periods. Scotia and Republic were my best options here.

It was between the Republic Aadvantage Mastercard and the Scotia Aero Platinum. Did an enquiry online via email and got pre-approval for both cards about 2 days later. RBL gave me $1000usd / $7000tt. Scotia gave me about $3000usd / $20800tt. Ended up going with the Scotia Aero Platinum. Will probably take the Republic Aadvantage at a later date as a backup / emergency card.

All in all I think COVID worked in my favour here lol everybody buying online and getting deliveries etc which mandates having a visa or Mastercard. Banks were (I’m assuming) all too willing to give credit to customers and so they approved me.

Also as a side note, buying things for people and then letting them pay me back in cash has already let me score enough Scotia points for a round trip ticket to the US. This is excluding the bonus points I am supposed to get at the end of the promo period in December.

Scotia gives out aero cards like dinner mints . You have control but I hope people don’t bite chain up by how you got through .

I realized this. They also seem very generous with credit limit increases etc which is what I am banking on.
As someone before me was saying, I thought RBL would have been the better option but I assume they are more conservative with risk taking.

Either way, glad I GT and I hope others who looking for CC can find some value in the post

Do you have a better relationship with Scotia vs RBL?

Never had an issue with RBL but they handle everything for me.

I'd say the relationship is about the same honestly. Scotia savings account was opened about 4 months before RBL savings was open. Both have roughly the same amount in it. My salary doesn't go to either one of those. I've gotten some confirmation from bank employees that Scotia is more lenient with credit than Republic though hence the bigger limit and platinum card from the get go.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 21st, 2022, 2:30 pm

Is there a daily limit on RBL credit cards? I need to pay for something that costs ~$30,000TT. The balance is available on the card.

Can I pay it all at once or would I need to go in over a few days. The bank was no help really, they said to "try it and see if it works".

FYI they did say the daily limit on DEBIT cards is $7,000.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » December 21st, 2022, 2:40 pm

dogg wrote:Is there a daily limit on RBL credit cards? I need to pay for something that costs ~$30,000TT. The balance is available on the card.

Can I pay it all at once or would I need to go in over a few days. The bank was no help really, they said to "try it and see if it works".

You only want to study kamla, go and ask Rowley.

I can't answer the question but i feel it should work.

Postby The_Honourable » December 21st, 2022, 3:17 pm

dogg wrote:Is there a daily limit on RBL credit cards? I need to pay for something that costs ~$30,000TT. The balance is available on the card.

The Point-of-Sale daily limit on debit cards increased to 10K per 24 hours.

Credit card daily limits is customized from what I understand. The CSR supposed to tell you your limit but the best way to know is to try the transaction. If 30k does not go through, you can try 10K.

dogg

Postby dogg » December 23rd, 2022, 10:33 am

Folks, FYI, the daily maximum on your RBL credit card is limited only to the limit on the card itself.

Postby Chimera » December 23rd, 2022, 12:58 pm

for random transactions you may have to call RBL and tell them about it before you do it though

they will flag /block random large transactions

equal2zero

Postby equal2zero » February 20th, 2023, 9:33 pm

Know this changes frequently...what are the current USD limits with the each bank?

Also anyone who has the FCB Visa Gold/Platinum able to share their experience...do you need to have an account with FCB to get a card and how does the rewards program work? Cheers.

Postby The_Honourable » February 21st, 2023, 12:08 am

equal2zero wrote:Know this changes frequently...what are the current USD limits with the each bank?

Also anyone who has the FCB Visa Gold/Platinum able to share their experience...do you need to have an account with FCB to get a card and how does the rewards program work? Cheers.

FCB rewards program works as in I can see my points and my options, but I haven't redeemed yet so can't speak about that part of the process.

You don't need to have an account at FCB to obtain a credit card but the logistics to put money on the card would be easier if you have a FCB account. With an FCB account, you can deposit cash via the smart atm to your FCB account and then send funds to your credit card which would be available "immediately". Without an account, you have to line up and go to the teller and put funds on the card which would be available the next day. You can also deposit it via the fast deposit box but it can take a day or two for it to reach your card according to what time of the day and how fast the deposit box is cleared. Also, at this point in time you can't deposit cash directly to your fcb credit card via the atm.

So basically open an FCB savings account, you only need $100 to do so.

Limits on FCB credit varies but last time i checked, it was 5000USD per month and it replenishes on the 14th per month.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 7th, 2023, 5:47 pm

So my Credit card was compromised over the weekend.
It's a chip card, I though those things were harder to copy??

Thing is I always swipe my cards myself, I never let vendors do it themselves. The only place I could imagine it being skimmed at was at a card-taking gas pump.

Oh well.

Now I dunno where or what safe. Thankfully the amount was insignificant, probably a test to see if it would work.

Anyone had their card skimmed recently?

Postby maj. tom » March 7th, 2023, 6:08 pm

Where still making you swipe the magnetic strip? Then there would be a secondary device to capture your pin like a fake PIN pad. That place is where it happened. It was the gas station. A next trick some places use if they're in on it is say that "the chip machine not working" and force you to swipe.

The chip on the card is very encrypted with ISO7816-15 (likely AES-256) and you have to have the token (the card with the unique chip) and the private key (your pin) and then a machine to generate a symmetric request to the bank that will also be unique based on your purchase. This method is a bit very much unlikely the way you were skimmed but I'm sure hackers will soon figure it out.

dogg

Postby dogg » March 7th, 2023, 6:39 pm

I said swipe, but i should have said insert.
Yeah, I figure it was at the gas station. I contacted them to check, will update if i get a response.
The worst part of this is the card replacement charge.

maj. tom wrote:Where still making you swipe the magnetic strip? Then there would be a secondary device to capture your pin like a fake PIN pad. That place is where it happened. It was the gas station. A next trick some places use if they're in on it is say that "the chip machine not working" and force you to swipe.

The chip on the card is very encrypted with ISO7816-15 (likely AES-256) and you have to have the token (the card with the unique chip) and the private key (your pin) and then a machine to generate a symmetric request to the bank that will also be unique based on your purchase. This method is a bit very much unlikely the way you were skimmed but I'm sure hackers will soon figure it out.

Postby maj. tom » March 7th, 2023, 6:53 pm

The insert the whole card is a swipe. Chip card are just insert till the chip so 3/4 of the card is still outside so the customer can know the difference too.

Postby redmanjp » March 7th, 2023, 8:14 pm

dogg wrote:So my Credit card was compromised over the weekend.

Thing is I always swipe my cards myself, I never let vendors do it themselves. The only place I could imagine it being skimmed at was at a card-taking gas pump.

Oh well.

Now I dunno where or what safe. Thankfully the amount was insignificant, probably a test to see if it would work.

what location did u use your card at a gas pump?

i now going to take gas and use my card same way- might have to reconsider

Postby adnj » March 7th, 2023, 8:25 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Oh well.

Scotiabank recently issued an alert for fraudulent credit card purchases. Those cards were immediately canceled with new numbers issued for the replacements. Some of those customer accounts had fradulent purchases even though the credit card had never been used before.

Edit: wrong bank

dogg

Postby dogg » March 7th, 2023, 10:20 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Oh well.

Unipet El Socorro.

Let me repeat, I'm not sure where it was compromised. It could have been elsewhere.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » March 7th, 2023, 10:27 pm

Oh lawd I does buy gas there every week. :shock:

Postby j.o.e » March 8th, 2023, 10:42 am

dogg wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Oh well.

Unipet El Socorro.

Let me repeat, I'm not sure where it was compromised. It could have been elsewhere.

It could have been a data leak situation. Meaning not a physical breach at a machine but a batch of transactions that were not properly encrypted/deleted from a server

dogg

Postby dogg » April 20th, 2023, 2:32 pm

Republic Bank advises its credit card customers that the Optional Issuer Fee (OIF), that has been in effect for transactions that carry a currency conversion, will now also be applied to transactions that are performed with Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC).

What is Optional Issuer Fee (OIF)
OIF is a fee applied on credit card transactions that involve a currency conversion i.e. any transaction where the base currency has to be converted to TT$ or US$. For example, if you purchased an item for €100 Euros, this transaction will be subjected to an OIF (2.5%) as a currency conversion will take place from Euros to U.S. dollars.

What is Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC)

DCC is a feature that allows cardholders to be billed in their home currency for card transactions performed in a different currency. For example, an item that costs US$100.00, you may receive a prompt that asks if you are interested in seeing this US$100.00 reflected as TT$ (home currency) on your credit card account. If you select yes, the exchange rate plus a margin added by the merchant (DCC markup) is applied to the transaction and reflected in TT$ on your credit card account. This results in a more costly transaction to you, the customer. As such, we encourage you to conduct your transactions in the base currency, where available.

DCC transactions were not subjected to the OIF prior and will now be part of the OIF, which will take effect on May 20, 2023.

These changes do not affect the operations of your credit card and all other terms and conditions remain applicable.

Should you have any questions please contact our Customer Care Centre at 627-3348 or email at email@rfhl.com.

unimatrix-001

Postby unimatrix-001 » April 20th, 2023, 2:44 pm

dogg wrote:
Republic Bank advises its credit card customers that the Optional Issuer Fee (OIF), that has been in effect for transactions that carry a currency conversion, will now also be applied to transactions that are performed with Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC).

What is Optional Issuer Fee (OIF)
OIF is a fee applied on credit card transactions that involve a currency conversion i.e. any transaction where the base currency has to be converted to TT$ or US$. For example, if you purchased an item for €100 Euros, this transaction will be subjected to an OIF (2.5%) as a currency conversion will take place from Euros to U.S. dollars.

What is Dynamic Currency Conversion (DCC)

DCC is a feature that allows cardholders to be billed in their home currency for card transactions performed in a different currency. For example, an item that costs US$100.00, you may receive a prompt that asks if you are interested in seeing this US$100.00 reflected as TT$ (home currency) on your credit card account. If you select yes, the exchange rate plus a margin added by the merchant (DCC markup) is applied to the transaction and reflected in TT$ on your credit card account. This results in a more costly transaction to you, the customer. As such, we encourage you to conduct your transactions in the base currency, where available.

DCC transactions were not subjected to the OIF prior and will now be part of the OIF, which will take effect on May 20, 2023.

These changes do not affect the operations of your credit card and all other terms and conditions remain applicable.

Should you have any questions please contact our Customer Care Centre at 627-3348 or email at email@rfhl.com.

DCC is rel rape. Wen yuh check the conversion rate, it significantly higher than just charging in originating currency. Will DCC transactions count against the forex limits tho?

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 6th, 2023, 9:58 am

Anyone know how to increase Scotiabank 3000us limit on credit card? For example if i give them us dollars can a get a temporary increase? But then they would buy it for 6.7 whereas other places buy it for 7+

Postby Dave » May 6th, 2023, 10:05 am

I know very few have that with Scotia.
They don't generally allow you to load a card and have extra credit.
Banks don't buy at 6.7. The buy back rate is around 6.1.

Mmoney607 wrote:Anyone know how to increase Scotiabank 3000us limit on credit card? For example if i give them us dollars can a get a temporary increase? But then they would buy it for 6.7 whereas other places buy it for 7+

Postby The_Honourable » May 6th, 2023, 10:25 am

Mmoney607 wrote:Anyone know how to increase Scotiabank 3000us limit on credit card? For example if i give them us dollars can a get a temporary increase? But then they would buy it for 6.7 whereas other places buy it for 7+

It cannot be increased. 3 ways you can work around this:

1. Apply for another credit card so you have another $3,000US available. Usually, a Visa Aero or Magna Mastercard so you can get miles and magna points.

2. If a family member has a scotia account, let them apply for one where you can use it.

3. Apply for a credit card at another bank. FCB have $5,000US available per month, but not sure if is for all of their credit cards or specific ones.

Postby Chimera » May 6th, 2023, 10:30 am

Scotia black card has a 10000 usd a month limit

Postby Dizzy28 » May 6th, 2023, 1:10 pm

Visa Classic at FCB is 5k USD. That's their basic card
The_Honourable wrote:

It cannot be increased. 3 ways you can work around this:

1. Apply for another credit card so you have another $3,000US available. Usually, a Visa Aero or Magna Mastercard so you can get miles and magna points.

2. If a family member has a scotia account, let them apply for one where you can use it.

3. Apply for a credit card at another bank. FCB have $5,000US available per month, but not sure if is for all of their credit cards or specific ones.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » May 6th, 2023, 6:49 pm

Will apply for another card at first citizens and Scotia and see who is faster

new_gran_fella

Postby new_gran_fella » July 31st, 2023, 9:21 am

My experience having a credit card with Republic for over 15 years was very nice. Unfortunately, was out of the country for school for 10 months in 2016 and it got cancelled. There was a $200USD balance on it I was not aware of, and they kept sending mails to my home address before deciding to cancel it. Last January I figured I would re-apply for a credit card and try another establishment to see.

I also had a savings with RBC so I decided to apply there. Princes Town, my home branch, told me that the Credit Manager who is at San Fernando has to contact me to come in for a meet. I've been waiting for over a year. Visited Sando a few times and the person wasn't there. Has anyone ever been through this with RBC or heard of this???? RBC calls me every quarter to see if I'm interested in taking a loan, but salt for a credit card??

I'm not entirely sure what my credit score at this point is so I've made an appointment at TransUnion for later this month to check it out. I was generally responsible over the years in paying my bill on time, but I'm not sure how that cancellation in 2016 might have affected my score.

Anyway, will be applying again with Republic.