The TSTT / Bmobile discussion thread

Re: The TSTT / Bmobile discussion thread

Postby Dizzy28 » August 8th, 2023, 9:17 am

maj. tom wrote:Chaguanas too. And Mt. Hope Hospital.

The stretch from Mt Hope to Grand Bazaar has always been bad for TSTT. Since before I had data calls would always drop when I passing there and now with data it drops or is very slow in the vicinity of there. I just assumed its some kinna dead zone.

Postby 88sins » August 9th, 2023, 8:17 am

Looking like there's a problem affecting both land lines and cellular. Can't call nobody from either.
When you pick up the handset is either you get no dial tone or a busy tone, or you getting a dial tone but when you dial it not ringing.
Cellular you can't call or message, or even check your account balance.

Postby Dizzy28 » August 9th, 2023, 9:00 am

Anyone else getting issues? I cannot make or receive calls but data is working.

Zalos

Postby Zalos » August 9th, 2023, 9:20 am

Heard reports of an MPLS failure within TSTT affecting multiple service and dependent customers

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » August 9th, 2023, 9:25 am

Landline and mobile services (including data) is down for me in Couva.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2023, 9:30 am

Digicel to digicel is working

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » August 9th, 2023, 9:32 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:Digicel to digicel is working

Yes my Digicel line is working and my FLOW home phone is working too. It looks like a bmobile problem.

Postby maj. tom » August 9th, 2023, 9:42 am

death365

Postby death365 » August 9th, 2023, 10:07 am

joshuarshah

Postby joshuarshah » August 9th, 2023, 10:57 am

Service is back for me but the network keeps falling back to 3G H+ for some reason. Calls work as normal

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2023, 10:58 am

anyone else getting problems with FCB website and app?

Postby The_Honourable » August 9th, 2023, 11:08 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:anyone else getting problems with FCB website and app?

Yeah, log in is very long on FCB website. When you do, your account info doesn't load and navigating anywhere you will get an incomplete log in page.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » August 9th, 2023, 12:13 pm

joshuarshah wrote:Service is back for me but the network keeps falling back to 3G H+ for some reason. Calls work as normal

I have to try multiple times to get through to numbers

Postby SR » August 9th, 2023, 12:30 pm

Seems to be back to normal now in pos

Outage affected internet ccts mpls circuits cell and land line services

Postby K74T » August 9th, 2023, 1:24 pm

FB_IMG_1691601847060.jpg

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2023, 2:13 pm

SR wrote:Seems to be back to normal now in pos

Outage affected internet ccts mpls circuits cell and land line services

Blink Security as well. saw the yellow LED on the panel and didnt receive the usual sms messages from it.

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2023, 2:15 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/08/09/updated-bmobile-network-crashes-no-mobile-internet-services-2/

TSTT's network crash on Wednesday morning has reportedly affected services at several state institutions.

Operations at the Licensing Division, Caribbean Airlines (CAL) and the National Insurance Board of Trinidad and Tobago (NIBTT) have been affected by the outage.

In a release, the Ministry of Works and Transport said services at all licensing locations were disrupted.

"With a sense of urgency, the Internet Service Provider has assured that this matter is currently being addressed and will seek to provide connectivity in the shortest possible timeframe. As such, members of the public are advised that a range of services are currently unavailable."

CAL posted on its Facebook account, "Due to a major outage experienced by our telecoms providers, the following Caribbean Airlines phone lines are having technical difficulties: 868-625-7200, 868-660-7200, 868-624-3687, 800-744-2225.

"All customers can reach us via the mobile app. Customers using the Digicel network may call 868-299-0186."

NIB said its telephone services were also affected and it was monitoring its data connectivity for issues. Affected customers can contact the NIB by sending an e-mail to customercare@nibtt.net

There were also multiple reports on social media of issues with banking services.

In a post on Facebook, First Citizens said its 62-FIRST number was down and advised customers to use its online banking, ATMs or send emails to channelsupport@firstcitizenstt.com

In a brief statement earlier in the day, TSTT said it was aware of an issue affecting its mobile voice, mobile data and other services.

On its bmobile Facebook account, the company said, "Our engineers have been mobilised and are working to resolve the issue in the shortest time possible.

"We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and assure that all hands are on deck to restore impacted services."

The company promised to provide further updates as the repairs progress.

There was also a statement from TSTT's subsidiary, internet service provider Amplia.

"Due to a network disruption to one of our IP providers, Amplia would have experienced a loss in some of our available IP capacity. This may have caused your circuit to experience periods of congestion. Our engineers are actively re-distributing the traffic to alternative paths to limit congestion on the network until the issue is resolved," the company wrote on social media.

Editor's note: This story was originally published with the title Bmobile network crashes: No mobile, internet services, and has been adjusted to include additional details. See original story below:

BMOBILE's network crashed on Wednesday morning.

In a brief statement, TSTT said it was aware of an issue affecting its mobile voice, mobile data and other services.

"Our engineers have been mobilised and are working to resolve the issue in the shortest time possible," the company said.

"We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience and assure that all hands are on deck to restore impacted services."

The company promised to provide further updates as the repairs progress.

Multiple people took to social media on Wednesday morning to complain that they were unable to access the internet and make calls on the network.

This is a developing story and it will be updated as more information becomes available.

Postby Chimera » August 9th, 2023, 2:23 pm

calls to plenty landlines still not working

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2023, 6:20 pm

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2023, 6:26 pm

Well I doh know who getting that free data. Checked my balance- had 1.16Gb then did a speed test and checked it again- 1Gb. :roll:

0x868

Postby 0x868 » August 9th, 2023, 7:15 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Well I doh know who getting that free data. Checked my balance- had 1.16Gb then did a speed test and checked it again- 1Gb. :roll:

I still can’t call Digicel :lol:

Postby paid_influencer » August 9th, 2023, 7:17 pm

yea and when u forget to take it off tomorrow ALL ALL the prepaid credit gone at $2 a meg or some madness

Postby redmanjp » August 9th, 2023, 8:01 pm

$2 per mb is really expensive for a 4G LTE network. wonder why TATT doh look into that.

ed360123

Postby ed360123 » August 10th, 2023, 10:10 am

redmanjp wrote:$2 per mb is really expensive for a 4G LTE network. wonder why TATT doh look into that.
$2 per mb is probably a holdover from the days of WAP and GPRS when a website was like 30kb.
Nowadays $2 wouldn't even get you one photo on Facebook.

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2023, 11:26 am

ed360123 wrote:
redmanjp wrote:$2 per mb is really expensive for a 4G LTE network. wonder why TATT doh look into that.
$2 per mb is probably a holdover from the days of WAP and GPRS when a website was like 30kb.
Nowadays $2 wouldn't even get you one photo on Facebook.

correct - I think it was 2G/Edge days. the point is the cost of a unit of data has dramatically come down since 2G days so they are likely overcharging by more than 10000%. and they know that cuz once u take a data plan that cost is dramatically reduced- the 2GB data addon is only $15 which is $0.0075 :shock: per mb!

yeah i know buying in bulk is usually cheaper per unit but that would usually be like 10-25% cheaper - not 99% cheaper.

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2023, 1:24 pm

for comparison, the Three network in UK charges the equivalent of 8 cents TT per mb

https://www.three.co.uk/termspdf/PAYG_Plan_price_guide_050319.pdf

Postby adnj » August 10th, 2023, 2:19 pm

redmanjp wrote:for comparison, the Three network in UK charges the equivalent of 8 cents TT per mb

https://www.three.co.uk/termspdf/PAYG_Plan_price_guide_050319.pdf

I don't think that those aren't the prices that Three charges. I have seen 10p/MB —unless you buy a plan.

Postby redmanjp » August 10th, 2023, 2:33 pm

still 80 cents TT cheaper than $2.

Postby redmanjp » August 29th, 2023, 8:31 pm

SO is one ting their app to topup not working- but it still charge my debit card! so bmobile rob me! :x

Tried to topup with the BmobileGo app- it gave an error, tried again, error. so i say flick dat - didn't think they would charge my account. u know i get 2 alerts from RBL each saying TSTT charge my account $56.25 ?

Postby maj. tom » August 29th, 2023, 8:44 pm

So did you get the top up on the phone?