What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Re: What the Best Split level AC Units...Carrier LG, Panasonic?

Postby adnj » August 3rd, 2023, 7:39 pm

pugboy wrote:22 5ton checked out at 26amps continuous
Place was hot ent? Did I not say 25A.
Looks like I still got it.

is R22 still available? It has been phased-out in the US.

You can buy units of the exact same size of varying efficiency from the same manufacturer.

More efficient units tend to be higher priced.

If you want to compare efficiencies, look at the Energy Label rating for that particular unit, if it's sold in the US or EU. They are usually available online on the manufacturer's specification cut-sheet.

IIRC, R410A is more efficient, in general, than R22 below ~35°C. R22 is more efficient above ~35°C.

Postby pugboy » August 3rd, 2023, 9:07 pm

-35c is very low temp, pertaining to what?

adnj wrote:IIRC, R410A is more efficient, in general, than R22 below ~35°C. R22 is more efficient above ~35°C.

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2023, 9:21 pm

pugboy wrote:-35c is very low temp, pertaining to what?

adnj wrote:IIRC, R410A is more efficient, in general, than R22 below ~35°C. R22 is more efficient above ~35°C.
He could be referring to the boiling point at normal pressures. Iirc sea level.

Postby nervewrecker » August 3rd, 2023, 9:26 pm

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:22 5ton checked out at 26amps continuous
Place was hot ent? Did I not say 25A.
Looks like I still got it.

is R22 still available? It has been phased-out in the US.

You can buy units of the exact same size of varying efficiency from the same manufacturer.

More efficient units tend to be higher priced.

If you want to compare efficiencies, look at the Energy Label rating for that particular unit, if it's sold in the US or EU. They are usually available online on the manufacturer's specification cut-sheet.

IIRC, R410A is more efficient, in general, than R22 below ~35°C. R22 is more efficient above ~35°C.
Yes, I was of the impression we stockpiled tanks here but for some reason new tanks keep showing with new brand names.

Ship a tank of r22 into the USA and you making some nice $$$...maybe a jail too.

From what I saw in some of the global groups most still frown upon r290 as a drop in replacement because they don't evacuate the lines. The rest, they seem to not even be aware of this option.

Yellow hat / Wilog had a lot of r290 and I did retrofit quite a few systems with it. The refrigerant is compatible with the Poe oil used in 410a systems so if you know what you doing you can even retrofit it into that and almost half the current draw.

Postby adnj » August 3rd, 2023, 9:31 pm

"~" is shorthand for "approximately."

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 5th, 2023, 2:02 pm

NR8 wrote:
whizzard wrote:Have a Katashi cassette type inverter unit. It got an electrical spike and now it displays E1 and the condenser doesn't turn on when the unit it on. AC tech said we needed to replace the 2 boards in the condenser. We did, but it didn't fix the problem. Now they're saying we may need to change the board in the cassette unit. Looking at the original board from the condenser, only one capacitor looks blown on one board but they said it's because it's an inverter unit you can't change just one, but all the boards needed to be changed. Doesn't make sense to me as the boards are being sold separately.

Can anyone advise please?

Currently experiencing similar issue with a Carrier mini-split inverter. Found breaker tripped and E1 after unit was turned for 5 minutes. Found a fried lizard inside condenser board compartment. Waiting to hear if the board can be repaired...

@whizzard did you get the problem sorted?

Finally getting around to this. The initial technician told me that an IC on the board was blown and that the replacement part could not be found. From my layman's observation it does not look like there is any visible damage. Currently looking to get a second opinion on the board. Nervewrecker I tried calling you bro. Sending you a PM now.

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 17th, 2023, 1:13 pm

Want to get surge protectors for my ac units. What do you guys have, the whole house or individual 230V plug type? ANy particular brand or features to look for?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » August 17th, 2023, 1:26 pm

NR8 wrote:Want to get surge protectors for my ac units. What do you guys have, the whole house or individual 230V plug type? ANy particular brand or features to look for?

I’ll always recommend the break-o-matic or exceline brand.. easy, plug and use. Note the amperage of your unit and by the model to fit the application.. Buy from reputable shops that do provide the warranty because there are a lot of knock offs on the market

NR8

Postby NR8 » August 17th, 2023, 1:31 pm

Thanks Nick. I've noticed those brands around before. Would've never thought they come with warranty

Postby maj. tom » September 4th, 2023, 7:49 pm

I get a Pioneer 12k BTU installed upper floor for $2700 this weekend. Ok price from a known reliable brand.
The guy emphasized to call them every 5 months for cleaning where they will do the whole pressure washer and hose service, or else the dirt and dust will eventually cause the motor to burn out.

Postby pugboy » September 4th, 2023, 9:24 pm

how hot is your ceiling/attic ?
you plan to do any work on making it more efficient up there?

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2023, 8:34 am

My only plan on that for next year is to paint the roof with a high TSR white shade roof coating. I see down south has a place that selling the Australian Nutech.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2023, 9:28 am

i ordered a solar attic fan last week
before i install ac in living area
if it drops ceiling surface temp a few degrees prob won’t need ac

Postby Dave » September 5th, 2023, 9:56 am

You would not believe the difference that would make.
maj. tom wrote:My only plan on that for next year is to paint the roof with a high TSR white shade roof coating. I see down south has a place that selling the Australian Nutech.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2023, 10:07 am

how is the adhesion of those paints though?
colored roof sheeting is hard for paint to stick to

Postby gastly369 » September 5th, 2023, 12:26 pm

Installed a gree inverter smart unit last week... Replaced a 15 year old panasonic

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2023, 12:28 pm

maj. tom wrote:My only plan on that for next year is to paint the roof with a high TSR white shade roof coating. I see down south has a place that selling the Australian Nutech.

where?

i looking for the rustoleum solar roof paint with no luck

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2023, 1:00 pm

gastly369 wrote:Installed a gree inverter smart unit last week... Replaced a 15 year old panasonic

What size and price?
You had to buy the wifi module separately?

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2023, 1:27 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:

where?

https://goo.gl/maps/sNaVqexWSubjDaaW6

Postby maj. tom » September 5th, 2023, 1:33 pm

pugboy wrote:how is the adhesion of those paints though?

I called Sissons a while ago and they say if it's older galvanize roof to scrape off any mildew, rust and dirt, pressure wash it, treat it with some zinc phosphate primer they selling, and then apply their roof coat formula. He say that is why roof paint does flake out when weather beat it because most ppl just skip the proper prep work. Sounds like rel work getting pressure washer up there.

If it's brand new galvanize it still need prep with an etch primer.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 5th, 2023, 1:40 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:

where?

https://goo.gl/maps/sNaVqexWSubjDaaW6

I see they have this ThermaFlex CoolGuard for TT$2,290 per 5 gallon pail - in white only

355877786_763774735751176_8341360378131890046_n.jpg

cornfused

Postby cornfused » September 5th, 2023, 1:50 pm

maj. tom wrote:
pugboy wrote:how is the adhesion of those paints though?

I called Sissons a while ago and they say if it's older galvanize roof to scrape off any mildew, rust and dirt, pressure wash it, treat it with some zinc phosphate primer they selling, and then apply their roof coat formula. He say that is why roof paint does flake out when weather beat it because most ppl just skip the proper prep work. Sounds like rel work getting pressure washer up there.

If it's brand new galvanize it still need prep with an etch primer.

I am looking for a durable paint for the roof of a building. My pressure washer could do that from the ground. Pressure Washing a roof if not for amateurs, too much pressure would push out washers or raise any loose edges and cause leaks.

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2023, 1:56 pm

that white is pain but i guess thats why its 89% reflection but it looking like failure if this is all its doing

For commercial, residential, and mobile home roofs
Reduces interior temperatures up to 15°F
Provides waterproof seal

1 Celcius is 33.8 F

a 15 degree F drop kinda don't make sense? or i calculating wrong

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2023, 2:00 pm

Lanco® Coolguard™ Roof Sealer is a powerful, high performance roof sealer, made from a thick and single component acrylic urethane that is 100% elastomeric and will waterproof roofs and walls. It will provides a single monolithic layer that waterproofs and Insulates the surface. It significantly reduces the interior temperature of your house in two ways:

1. It will reflect 79% of all the sun rays, eliminating 89% of all the heat it received to the roof surface.

2. It uses Thermaflex Technology, a tiny insulating micro-spheres that increase drastically in size as the exterior temperature of the coating rises and prevents heat from being absorbed by the surface.

Postby redmanjp » September 5th, 2023, 2:01 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I see they have this ThermaFlex CoolGuard for TT$2,290 per 5 gallon pail - in white only

355877786_763774735751176_8341360378131890046_n.jpg

do they actually honour that 25 yr warranty? if so that would save a lot of money in electricity bills since rates going to raise

is it that only white offers heat reduction?

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2023, 2:03 pm

for that warranty it would have a set of different conditions that you would never satisfy

right now i on the fence about buying two 24000 BTU units but i thinking the money better used painting the roof
i hadda get for 4000 sq feet

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » September 5th, 2023, 2:31 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:that white is pain but i guess thats why its 89% reflection but it looking like failure if this is all its doing

For commercial, residential, and mobile home roofs
Reduces interior temperatures up to 15°F
Provides waterproof seal

1 Celcius is 33.8 F

a 15 degree F drop kinda don't make sense? or i calculating wrong
Fahrenheit = (Celsius * 1.8 ) + 32.

Example...
100F = 37.7C
85F = 29.4C

So in this case a change in 15F = 8.3C

Postby redmanjp » September 5th, 2023, 2:37 pm

a temp change of 8C is plenty! but that is probably maximum (up to 15F) and likely applies to extreme temps like 40C reducing to 32C. if the interior is like 33C inside i doubt it reducing to 25C as outside might be 28C even at night and u will have heat sources besides the roof.

Postby pugboy » September 5th, 2023, 2:48 pm

best you buy kaleidoscope roofing compound and mix in some perlite

Postby Chimera » September 5th, 2023, 5:51 pm

If its 8 Celsius then yea its worth it.