TriniTuner.com | Latest Event:
redmanjp wrote:st7 wrote:what allyuh men does do when allyuh travel? tote US cash everywhere?
paying in cash for everything might even be considered suspicious over there- everybody using cc
and given the forex problems are local banks going to just give out US cash just so?
My rbc card been compromised... Notice in summary online after they updated info that have seen numerous digicel to ups of $30 for some weeks(over $1500).... Cancel card and went into both digi and rbc... Digi confirm i was not the first recently and while waiting in bank another person was with same issue... Rbc also said they noticed in the past few weeks a uptake in reports....waiting on new card now and they already did their investigation and refunded all what was lost...paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:st7 wrote:what allyuh men does do when allyuh travel? tote US cash everywhere?
paying in cash for everything might even be considered suspicious over there- everybody using cc
and given the forex problems are local banks going to just give out US cash just so?
what I does do is prepay everything as far as possible via cc before I leave the island. flight, hotel, car and any scheduled itinerary. all 100% paid by cc before I reach.
then is just a matter of small money spending for incidentals. i pay in cash everywhere and yes people are suspicious but the money real so what they would do. I cannot risk card getting compromised and things getting blocked. Granted, nowadays everything is contactless or chip-and-pin so idk if that is still a risk.
j.o.e wrote:Phone Surgeon wrote:lol daz flabbergastery yes
a relative of mine use 75000 points for her and 2 others to go miami in august
they paid $1200 each in taxes only
we saw on the printout from the travel agency that the cost of the flight was $6300 to Aero per person
now with these new rules
that same flight they would have to pay $2345 excess PLUS whatever the processing fees are
if u dont want to go over the cap you hadda book early or book off peak
i hate when these credit cards change their terms and conditions......
Significant other has Aero, is there any other competitive card locally for miles? A casual check years ago suggested they are/were the best. I get cash back now which is fine but wouldn’t mind a good option for miles. I believe years ago I had a RBC/CAL card but wouldn’t go back to RBC ever.
gastly369 wrote:My rbc card been compromised... Notice in summary online after they updated info that have seen numerous digicel to ups of $30 for some weeks(over $1500).... Cancel card and went into both digi and rbc... Digi confirm i was not the first recently and while waiting in bank another person was with same issue... Rbc also said they noticed in the past few weeks a uptake in reports....waiting on new card now and they already did their investigation and refunded all what was lost...paid_influencer wrote:redmanjp wrote:st7 wrote:what allyuh men does do when allyuh travel? tote US cash everywhere?
what I does do is prepay everything as far as possible via cc before I leave the island. flight, hotel, car and any scheduled itinerary. all 100% paid by cc before I reach.
then is just a matter of small money spending for incidentals. i pay in cash everywhere and yes people are suspicious but the money real so what they would do. I cannot risk card getting compromised and things getting blocked. Granted, nowadays everything is contactless or chip-and-pin so idk if that is still a risk.
Im more sus on internal breach than a card breach...im very cautious when using and tech savy enough when buying online
redmanjp wrote:i got a fraud alert email from RBC today and they blocked my card but it was something i was actually trying to subscribe to - i told them to unblock it.
u think hackers get digicel?
dogg wrote:folks, those with a RBL/Pricesmart credit card, please note that for Pricesmart's Smart Week, which began yesterday, you'll be getting 10% cash-back when you use the card in-store. And it aint no gimmick thing.
You get 4% cashback at pricesmart with that card normally.
New online transfer fees for Scotiabank customers
Effective March 11, Scotiabank customers will pay $1.25 for each online transfer to other local banks.
Scotiabank users were notified via its app.
In September, the bank retained its position as TT’s Best Digital Bank for the third consecutive year and the Best Mobile Banking App award.
The award was given by Global Finance, a financial magazine headquartered in New York.
Gayle Pazos, managing director of Scotiabank TT, said the company was delighted to be recognised for its digital leadership, saying it had come a long way and made significant investments in its digital transformation.
“We are really excited that the Scotia Caribbean app has been named the Best Mobile Banking App as well."
She said the bank will continue to offer innovative products and services and a customer-focused experience.
In December 2023, Scotiabank reported an after-tax profit of $678 million for the year ended October 31, 2023.
Pazos said she was pleased that the bank had once again delivered another year of solid financial results.
“This is the second successive year that we have posted net income before tax of over $1 billion, following a record-breaking performance in 2022."
Pazos called the bank's profitability year after year a testament to the confidence its customers placed in it, saying the bank continues to work on digital initiatives to address customers' changing needs.