COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2024, 11:54 am

so paho and dem not giving free batches again?
what about other islands?
what about the chinese ?

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 16th, 2024, 12:12 pm

It's December 2019 and January 2020 all over again.

So covid has a 4-year cycle?

Postby alfa » January 16th, 2024, 12:15 pm

Of to panic buy toilet paper

Postby redmanjp » January 16th, 2024, 12:17 pm

pugboy wrote:so how come we not getting new batch ?

vax makers not taking small orders - must be at least 100000

https://newsday.co.tt/2024/01/15/5-die-from-covid-since-christmas-but-800000-vaccines-dumped/

However, in October 2020, Deyalsingh revealed government allocated US$9,741,236 for the purchase of 462,000 vaccines through the COVAX facility, meaning each vaccine cost approximately US$21.08

If this figure is to be used, the dumped vaccines were worth US$16,758,600 or $113,690,995.99.

He said sourcing new covid vaccines is also proving difficult as manufacturers are not willing to sell any less than 100,000 doses in a single order.

“These vaccines are not manufactured and put on a shelf and you go like a store and pick it off a shelf. You have to commit to a minimum purchase.”

Drug manufacturers can produce approximately five million doses of vaccines per week, and Deyalsingh said they were “not going to turn on a factory to make 2,000 vaccines.”

He said, “One of the reasons why small countries can't get vaccines now is that the vaccines come in multi-use vials with ten doses per vial.
“Now, if we have such low levels of uptake, if I spent $10 million to bring in vaccines and then I open one vial to vaccinate one person, what happens to the other nine doses? They are wasted. This is the problem small countries are being faced with.”

Deyalsingh said government is instead trying to reach out to countries who may have vaccines to donate, but that is also proving difficult.

“Even those countries who have to donate will tell you we will only donate a minimum of 5,000.”

He said despite the challenges, the government is trying to acquire more covid vaccines.

well if that is so - perhaps all the small & medium Caricom countries should come together as 1 entity and put in an order for 100k and share it?

as for wastage due to the vials- have an appointment system so u know in advance how much vials u would need on a given day. u schedule it on a day when u know u have other ppl who have appointments so u have at least 5 ppl or more before u open a vial. if u only have 5-10 ppl in a week then only do vaccinations in 1 day of the week so u maximize that vial.
Last edited by redmanjp on January 16th, 2024, 12:40 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Postby maj. tom » January 16th, 2024, 12:20 pm

Maybe CARICOM can make a deal with a manufacturer huh, and buy a batch? And then distribute it regionally as needed. No that too advanced and bureaucratic.

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2024, 1:21 pm

I have really noticed a lot of folks wearing masks since just before xmas
this bad flu has certainly woken up a lot of ppl

most ppl I know, know somebody who has gotten this flu in the last couple months.

time to start back handwashing and ting

Postby sMASH » January 16th, 2024, 3:21 pm

Unless they canceling carnival, no need for concern.

He quoted s figure of 5000 Americans dying of flu,... That works out to 0.0016 of the population died from flu, if I remember the calculation right.

That proportion applied to trini 1.5m works out to 22.

Our figures for flu deaths are between 40 and 44 per year.
That by itself being a low number, the estimate based on US figure is even less concerning.

But, those with compromised immunity should take the vaxes... Caricom should really order a batch run and split it up.

Orrr, check Cuba for some...

Postby j.o.e » January 16th, 2024, 3:41 pm

Who hadda dead go dead

Postby pugboy » January 16th, 2024, 4:34 pm

does ivermectin help against the flu?

Postby paid_influencer » January 16th, 2024, 9:15 pm

i now find some chicken soup that i hoarded during the last lockdown. it was still good

Postby sMASH » January 17th, 2024, 9:36 am

pugboy wrote:does ivermectin help against the flu?
So far so gud...
I know one other person who taking it and no viral symptoms what so ever... And they usually get bouts of virus for the Christmas season.

Postby shogun » January 18th, 2024, 1:11 am

Heard Covid cases and deaths going up again? Who has the stats?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 18th, 2024, 6:11 am

I can say for sure that Arima hospital has 68 covid cases atm.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 18th, 2024, 7:02 am

Work has been going on 7 days a week for the past two weeks at the Tacarigua Step down Facility which has been shuttered since 2022.

If.its one thing no one would be able.tp accuse the MOH of is lack of preparation.

Postby redmanjp » January 18th, 2024, 2:46 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I can say for sure that Arima hospital has 68 covid cases atm.

68 ppl coming for test and testing +ve and going back home? or 68 hospitalized? and how much is incidental? (come in for something else, get tested and +ve for covid and counted as a case but dont need treatment for covid)

i would think its the former and not the latter or incidental cases mostly

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » January 18th, 2024, 5:17 pm

97b2a5dc-243e-4dfa-bc49-8bd4f070847e.jpeg

Postby pugboy » January 18th, 2024, 5:26 pm

they holding back for now because of carnival

Postby redmanjp » January 18th, 2024, 5:37 pm

JN.1 variant confirmed which is causing the spike

Postby paid_influencer » January 18th, 2024, 9:00 pm

call a SoE and cancel eeeeet

Postby supercharged turbo » January 18th, 2024, 9:09 pm

That ain't happening in this life lol

Postby sMASH » January 19th, 2024, 12:04 am

If ur vaxed, y u worried?

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 21st, 2024, 7:15 pm

Some advice.
Screenshot_20240121-191131.png

Postby redmanjp » January 23rd, 2024, 4:15 pm

question: are they still quarantining ppl who go for covid tests at hospitals/health centres ?
Last edited by redmanjp on January 23rd, 2024, 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » January 23rd, 2024, 4:47 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Some advice.

Yea let's interview a lawyer about viruses

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2024, 5:55 pm

one of my bredrin working icu couva, he say mostly the vulnerable ending up there so....if yuh zessing keep away from yuh grand parents and elderly parents

that is all

until next covid

Postby pugboy » January 23rd, 2024, 5:59 pm

when rowlee ketching this variant

Postby maj. tom » January 23rd, 2024, 6:10 pm

Right before the next crime talks.

Postby redmanjp » January 23rd, 2024, 8:45 pm

Chimera wrote:one of my bredrin working icu couva, he say mostly the vulnerable ending up there so....if yuh zessing keep away from yuh grand parents and elderly parents

that is all

until next covid

should ask him whether we have paxlovid or other outpatient treatments here- vax isn't everything especially with 50% of the population not taking it.

Postby Chimera » January 23rd, 2024, 8:54 pm

me eh business with that

everybody cud take care of themself, i just wanted to know how serious to take it and if i could zess up for the carnival

Postby sMASH » January 26th, 2024, 11:39 pm

AlphaMan wrote:Some advice.
... She said with no mask, no social distancing, no limited congregation size and no official local booster.