X1000. Add also parents have to drop kids themselves rather than risk other options.ProtonPowder wrote:Some of you keep missing one of the biggest reasons that people have cars in TnT.
Trinidad is one of the most unsafe countries in the world. When you have your car, you dont have to risk waiting 30 minutes by the taxi stand, just for some PH with 3 hard back men inside to do god knows what. When the place routinely floods, you dont have to stand by south quay for 4 hours stranded. When a prison break or a bomb scare happen, you dont have to worry about how the hell you getting home.
For most of us trinis, is better to sit in your own car in dead gridlock traffic than risk anything else. When the country gets a little safer maybe that attitude can change.
Banana Trinidad Republic have no efficient public transportabbow wrote:^^ Singapore does this..You have to pay for a license to own a vehicle and its usually more than the cost of the actual vehicle. This basically forces the masses to use public transport which is hugely on time and reliable.
jhonnieblue wrote:It’s not that really, even if they had mass transit trinis would only want to drive.
Having a car and the type of car is a status symbol. That’s the biggest problem.
To make it work . You need an efficient mass transit system, use the existing infrastructure and create a rapid bus transit by closing off one lane on the highway to only buses. Modernise the fleet and have new hubs everywhere. Create heavy tolls going into and out of the city.
And increase tax like crazy on all levels of cars starting with the highest luxury vehicles go down. You have to make owing a car not appealing.
Poor ppl?j.o.e wrote:jhonnieblue wrote:It’s not that really, even if they had mass transit trinis would only want to drive.
Having a car and the type of car is a status symbol. That’s the biggest problem.
To make it work . You need an efficient mass transit system, use the existing infrastructure and create a rapid bus transit by closing off one lane on the highway to only buses. Modernise the fleet and have new hubs everywhere. Create heavy tolls going into and out of the city.
And increase tax like crazy on all levels of cars starting with the highest luxury vehicles go down. You have to make owing a car not appealing.
Same citizens will say the govt wicked and don’t want poor people have nothing
Chimera wrote:zoom like yuh getting more crazy and dramatic with age
is everybody yuh attacking so
More like adopting the traits and mannerisms of his handler Padarath, lots of hissy fits, clucking and ranting.j.o.e wrote:Chimera wrote:zoom like yuh getting more crazy and dramatic with age
is everybody yuh attacking so
Early stage dementia. Man very aggressive these days
Dizzy28 wrote:Traffic because of lots of cars is one thing. But avoidable traffic because of duncyness is another.
Now that the cruise season is on the day and times for the cargo ferry to be in operation is reduced given that the Cabo Star uses the Cruise Terminal berth. On the days for ferry sailings there is a sheitload of traffic to get into PoS. We talking about an hour from NP to Hyatt scenes.
This is primarily because the trucks need to queue and because the City is allowing unfettered parking on Wrightson Road for private cars the lane that could have been used for the trucks to line up is filled by 9am from the Ferry Terminal all the way to Hyatt and beyond with cars. Trucks then have to take up a lane of Wrightson Road.
Is this really a problem that can't be solved?
AlphaMan wrote:Why are there so many cars on the roads in the first place.?
How many of you have multiple cars at home.
VexXx Dogg wrote:This is a brainfart without any actual thought, but what about the concept of "hubs"
firetruck POS as the heart of it all.
Create a government service hub in the east, ensuring it's completely accessible via public transport.
Financial / legal hubs elsewhere, same logic.
Technology/services hubs etc etc
group the hubs by related services, and ensure a consistent pipeline of public transit, parking facilities etc.
There are areas in Central and the east to make this happen, with the infrastructure close by.
Rory Phoulorie wrote:VexXx Dogg wrote:This is a brainfart without any actual thought, but what about the concept of "hubs"
firetruck POS as the heart of it all.
Create a government service hub in the east, ensuring it's completely accessible via public transport.
Financial / legal hubs elsewhere, same logic.
Technology/services hubs etc etc
group the hubs by related services, and ensure a consistent pipeline of public transit, parking facilities etc.
There are areas in Central and the east to make this happen, with the infrastructure close by.
Two decentralization studies were done. One by the PNM around 1984 and one by the UNC around 1996. Both studies looked at the area in Valsayn bounded by the UBH to the west, Southern Main Road to the east, CRH/Nestle/Cipriani Labour College/Valsayn Park to the south and the Eastern Main Road to the north.
No further studies were done by either Government after those initial studies. In fact, if I remember correctly, the UNC terminated the initial study before the final report could be prepared.