Vanished teen found buried in family's backyard in Valsayn

Re: Vanished teen found buried in family's backyard in Valsayn

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2024, 11:45 am

Imagine how that neighbour feeling now nah, like the whole country want to blame her! Even the Minister. How in the logical mc they even blaming the neighbours for the things that monster did?!!

Minister Cox knocks ‘neighbours’ for failing to report suspected abuse at Valsayn house
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cox-knocks-neighbours-for-failing-to-report-suspected-abuse-at-valsayn-house-6.2.1949778.a9622735f2

Minister of Social Development Donna Cox is taking the Valsayn South community to task for failing to report suspected abuse at a house where the bones of an 18-year-old were found on Tuesday in a shallow grave.

Police reports stated that Hannah Mathura had not been seen since 2017 and it was her bones that officers excavated from the backyard of the house at Butu Road, Valsayn South. According to police sources, investigators also found a tube top, a pair of red pants and underwear in the shallow grave.

Some residents claimed they contacted police and the Children’s Authority over the years after they noticed suspicious and concerning behaviour at the house, but did not receive favourable responses from the two State authorities. Despite these claims, Cox said she was deeply concerned about the conditions the family had been living in before and after the tragedy occurred.

As the investigation into the startling discovery continues, the minister expressed her disappointment in the neighbours who may have turned a blind eye to the suspected plight of Hannah and other children at the house.

Minister Cox explained that State agencies could only intervene if they are made aware that worrying activities are taking place.

“We are concerned about the neighbours’ role because we have always been asking persons to be our brother’s keeper. Persons wouldn’t find out things just so but people have to talk. If you recognise that something is wrong somewhere, if there is some kind of unusual situation, then you have to report it. We talk about if you see something, say something and these are the things that we need to talk,” she said.

The minister added people were duty-bound as citizens to report any untoward occurrence particularly when it comes to children.

“I am seeing reports telling me that apparently neighbours who were interviewed speak about probably seeing or hearing some kind of abuse. What have they done? How could something like this happen and nobody knows anything? Why are the children not in school? What school are they attending? Shouldn’t they have been in school? If I’m living somewhere and I see children out of school, I have a duty to report that!” she stressed.

‘Catastrophe of child neglect in T&T’

Meanwhile, the Children’s Authority has since responded to the “gruesome discovery” and has gone further to lament what director/CEO Sheldon Cyrus described as a catastrophe of child neglect in Trinidad and Tobago.

“There is an ongoing crisis regarding the protection of our nation’s children, as over the years, the authority has had to intervene in several horrific situations in which children exist”.

Responding to allegations that the family members living at Butu Road were denied freedom of movement for several years, Cyrus said the agency could not have intervened without a report being made.

“While this incident is engaging the attention of the police and the authority, details are still unfolding. However, it is a reminder that we all have a responsibility to say something, if we see something,” he said.

The Children’s Authority director added, “Child protection is everybody’s business, but for the authority or any agency to provide support, we need information that would guide our intervention.”

He assured that once the individuals in the household are assessed, and the circumstances under which they were kept are ascertained, then the psychological impact of their situation can be determined. Once concluded, interventions can be provided.

Cyrus added that the authority is continuing to appeal for a change in the mindset of adults about the value of children and a recognition that children’s rights must be respected.

“Among these fundamental rights are access to education, healthcare and safety, so they can achieve their full potential as contributing members of society.”

The authority further noted that it will work assiduously to support police to bring the perpetrators of heinous crimes against children to justice.

The public is urged to report any concerns or suspicions they may have about the safety of a child to the police at 999 or the Children’s Authority at 996.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 11:49 am

all by the favorite st joseph station

she needed to tape her reports
plus keep station reports

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 14th, 2024, 1:27 pm

"Lady you come back again? That is a domestic matter. We cannot do anything."

"You ever see anybody getting assaulted? That just sounds like regular licks. We cannot do anything about that ma'am."

"Ma'am you telling me how to do my job? We cannot help you unless the victim come and report it to us. If you could get them to come then we will take a report."

etc etc

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2024, 2:06 pm

Tje neighbor could be lying... But given my experiences with ttps over the years, seems about right

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 2:16 pm

that’s why you supposed to keep the receipt the station gives you

sMASH wrote:Tje neighbor could be lying... But given my experiences with ttps over the years, seems about right

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2024, 2:25 pm

like dey wanted d neighbour to get a gun and kill the abuser

how yuh reporting that and getting a receipt fi you dont want to be known tho?

you not sure of the name of the person getting abused nor do you want your name on any report

Postby 16 cycles » March 14th, 2024, 3:02 pm

Press rel convolute Girod family's past with this for headlines.

Should have focused on present day case.

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2024, 3:20 pm

pugboy wrote:that’s why you supposed to keep the receipt the station gives you

sMASH wrote:Tje neighbor could be lying... But given my experiences with ttps over the years, seems about right
Thst ended up being s problem. With no receipt book, come back later, the one who the report not here...

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2024, 3:23 pm

16 cycles wrote:Press rel convolute Girod family's past with this for headlines.

Should have focused on present day case.

but the Girod family living on the same compound though

how the brother could say he dunno the deceased when neighbours use to hear her and see her being physically abused?

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 3:50 pm

150+lbs human meat will stink for a while if only buried a foot or two

VII

Postby VII » March 14th, 2024, 4:29 pm

Yep half acre lots, ours was big and had sugar apple and pomegranate trees among others, Palm road.. he paid 400k for it in the 80s and sold it for 750K in the 90s ! :evil:

pugboy wrote:80s going by ppl in valsayn was always diff, like going texas
place so big, big roads huge lots fancy houses

VII wrote:I'm sure Valsayn hold many more secrets, North too!

My dad had a house there in the 80s and 90s ...had some great times with friends in and around that house, used to go by a few of them who lived in the area and really the place felt like heaven, but with a touch of mystery and deciet. Easy to hide in plain sight, ask Karamath..

What became of that case btw ?

I'm sure there are more skeletons in closets in that place..

The_Honourable wrote:de faq...

Valsayn is a different kind of hot spot

Postby Dizzy28 » March 14th, 2024, 4:32 pm

pugboy wrote:150+lbs human meat will stink for a while if only buried a foot or two

A 17/18yr old possibly handicapped and abused girl living under the conditions the papers described might not have even broke 100lbs.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 4:52 pm

still a stink for sure

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2024, 5:13 pm

so she never went to school for anyone to miss her?

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 5:15 pm

how they proving murder?

Postby matr1x » March 14th, 2024, 5:44 pm

Minister cox real dotish. Thst why ppl doh report things. You are not ttps. Why the neighbor being blamed.

Ppl who blaming are first to hide behind curtains like panty man

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2024, 6:45 pm

breaking news

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television/posts/pfbid0r6sEsWzokdsGV7pSWDvpBnkD7DNrFPBubSDt72uJzin1eSDUXXqQViNxH8TyGrzml

An autopsy done to determine how 18-year-old Hannah Mathura died seven years ago, has concluded that she was shot in the head. Pathologists made the conclusion after examining the skull of Mathura, whose skeletal remains were found buried one foot deep at the back of the family home in Valsayn South on Tuesday.
This story will be updated later.

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2024, 7:01 pm

This plot thick like cesspit sludge.

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » March 14th, 2024, 7:17 pm

Sickening

Postby Gladiator » March 14th, 2024, 7:19 pm

maj. tom wrote:Imagine how that neighbour feeling now nah, like the whole country want to blame her! Even the Minister. How in the logical mc they even blaming the neighbours for the things that monster did?!!

Minister Cox knocks ‘neighbours’ for failing to report suspected abuse at Valsayn house
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cox-knocks-neighbours-for-failing-to-report-suspected-abuse-at-valsayn-house-6.2.1949778.a9622735f2

Minister of Social Development Donna Cox is taking the Valsayn South community to task for failing to report suspected abuse at a house where the bones of an 18-year-old were found on Tuesday in a shallow grave.

Police reports stated that Hannah Mathura had not been seen since 2017 and it was her bones that officers excavated from the backyard of the house at Butu Road, Valsayn South. According to police sources, investigators also found a tube top, a pair of red pants and underwear in the shallow grave.

Some residents claimed they contacted police and the Children’s Authority over the years after they noticed suspicious and concerning behaviour at the house, but did not receive favourable responses from the two State authorities. Despite these claims, Cox said she was deeply concerned about the conditions the family had been living in before and after the tragedy occurred.

As the investigation into the startling discovery continues, the minister expressed her disappointment in the neighbours who may have turned a blind eye to the suspected plight of Hannah and other children at the house.

Minister Cox explained that State agencies could only intervene if they are made aware that worrying activities are taking place.

“We are concerned about the neighbours’ role because we have always been asking persons to be our brother’s keeper. Persons wouldn’t find out things just so but people have to talk. If you recognise that something is wrong somewhere, if there is some kind of unusual situation, then you have to report it. We talk about if you see something, say something and these are the things that we need to talk,” she said.

The minister added people were duty-bound as citizens to report any untoward occurrence particularly when it comes to children.

“I am seeing reports telling me that apparently neighbours who were interviewed speak about probably seeing or hearing some kind of abuse. What have they done? How could something like this happen and nobody knows anything? Why are the children not in school? What school are they attending? Shouldn’t they have been in school? If I’m living somewhere and I see children out of school, I have a duty to report that!” she stressed.

‘Catastrophe of child neglect in T&T’

Meanwhile, the Children’s Authority has since responded to the “gruesome discovery” and has gone further to lament what director/CEO Sheldon Cyrus described as a catastrophe of child neglect in Trinidad and Tobago.

“There is an ongoing crisis regarding the protection of our nation’s children, as over the years, the authority has had to intervene in several horrific situations in which children exist”.

Responding to allegations that the family members living at Butu Road were denied freedom of movement for several years, Cyrus said the agency could not have intervened without a report being made.

“While this incident is engaging the attention of the police and the authority, details are still unfolding. However, it is a reminder that we all have a responsibility to say something, if we see something,” he said.

The Children’s Authority director added, “Child protection is everybody’s business, but for the authority or any agency to provide support, we need information that would guide our intervention.”

He assured that once the individuals in the household are assessed, and the circumstances under which they were kept are ascertained, then the psychological impact of their situation can be determined. Once concluded, interventions can be provided.

Cyrus added that the authority is continuing to appeal for a change in the mindset of adults about the value of children and a recognition that children’s rights must be respected.

“Among these fundamental rights are access to education, healthcare and safety, so they can achieve their full potential as contributing members of society.”

The authority further noted that it will work assiduously to support police to bring the perpetrators of heinous crimes against children to justice.

The public is urged to report any concerns or suspicions they may have about the safety of a child to the police at 999 or the Children’s Authority at 996.

PNM Minister so dotish, all the kids went to school. Two won scholarships. 5 of them in UWI currently and they all very brilliant.

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2024, 7:28 pm

^ but did hannah go to school? how was she not missed?

Postby Gladiator » March 14th, 2024, 7:54 pm

redmanjp wrote:^ but did hannah go to school? how was she not missed?

you finish high school at 16 not so?

Postby Les Bain » March 14th, 2024, 9:03 pm

Gladiator wrote:

In your time, yeah. A decade plus now it have 18 year olds in form 5.

Postby Les Bain » March 14th, 2024, 9:07 pm

Between this and pastor 007, this was a real vomit inducing week in Trinidad.

Imagine, Girod's family were locked indoors with that nut during COVID.

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » March 14th, 2024, 9:54 pm

Gladiator wrote:

Most students leave upper 6 at 18-19

Postby bluefete » March 14th, 2024, 10:08 pm

This story gets sadder and sadder.

When the girls went SAGHS, the father used to pick them up every lunchtime and bring them back. Every lunchtime!

Talk about CONTROLLING. Also the wife's family were the ones with money and the husband took it over.

Plenty more in the works.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2024, 10:12 pm

is that hotel still in operation ?
that nutcase dad seem capable of running a hotel

Postby K74T » March 14th, 2024, 11:44 pm

Express Editorial:

Incomprehensible horror

The unfolding horror at Butu Road, Valsayn, has predictably opened a Pandora’s box of questions that are only avoided by sole focus on the responsibilities of neighbours. Instead, the roles and responsibilities of State agencies, whether they could have intervened to prevent this nightmare and what lessons they are learning, are the priority items on the agenda.

Our reporting thus far is that a “heated argument” among members of the family living on the sprawling Valsayn compound led to one family member informing the police that a girl had been killed and buried in the family’s backyard. To the credit of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service (TTPS), within two days of being told this, they activated the necessary authority and resources from the Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation and the Trinidad and Toba­go Defence Force (TTDF) to move an excavator to the site and locate the remains of Hannah Mathura.

An escaped suspect was located and captured within 24 hours, and one other person is also in police custody. The Forensic Science Centre, known for its backlog delays, moved swiftly to perform an autopsy and arrive at its conclusion that Ms Mathura’s death was unnatural. We do not doubt that, in these extreme circumstances, resources of various agencies will be mobilised to provide further assistance to the survivors and that the police investigation will move forward as quickly as possible.

Where questions emerge is from the period of years that led to this moment of shock and horror, and the number of State agencies and public institutions with which the family reportedly interacted over time.

Our early reporting suggests Ms Mathura was in some way disabled. If this was so, did she interface with any State agency, and what follow-up was conducted that could have saved her from the horrific indignity of being killed and discarded at the back of her home in a one-foot-deep grave?

We reported, too, that several of the surviving children attended secondary schools and, according to the Girod family patriarch and owner of the Butu Road property, 99-year-old Aldwyn Luke Girod, are currently enrolled at The University of the West Indies (The UWI). Did peers and lecturers notice anything untoward?

A strange death at the family home in 2015 when a home inva­der reportedly lost his life in a fall attracted police attention. Was an opportunity missed then to observe other strange activities in the home?

Significantly, neighbours have told this newspaper that goings-on at the property were reported several times to the St Joseph Police Station and the Children’s Authority. It is the duty of both the TTPS and the Authority to review their records to determine whether reports were, in fact, made and what their responses were.

There are instances when little can be done to prevent certain crimes. But in many more cases, keen observation by law enforcement, social workers and teachers can save those in desperation. This case calls for a thorough and honest review and investigation by relevant State agencies to determine whether they could have done better.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2024, 2:47 am

All them complicit... They know, but only talk when yuh vex?

Postby alfa » March 15th, 2024, 7:49 am

sMASH wrote:All them complicit... They know, but only talk when yuh vex?

Correct, just like GG and the spy pastor threatening to bus files if things don't go their way. I hope they question the entire family. Hard to believe that rickety old geezer alone dug a grave