***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Re: ***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Postby Rovin » March 11th, 2024, 6:32 pm

Chimera wrote:Rovie I suppose to search the thread before I post any series or movie I find good? So I not allowed to post that I watching a series that I find real hard?

dont take it d wrong way dan :| , u issa man does be on tuner more than me so i thought u must be already know bout snowfall so when i say do a search : its to see what tuners already posted about it, not that u supposed to search everything b4 posting

like i already said few times b4 it have plenty tv\movies tuners does be talking about that i never seen or have a clue about til i read about it here ...

solarkh

Postby solarkh » March 11th, 2024, 7:13 pm

Postby Chimera » March 11th, 2024, 8:11 pm

Rovin wrote:
Chimera wrote:Rovie I suppose to search the thread before I post any series or movie I find good? So I not allowed to post that I watching a series that I find real hard?

dont take it d wrong way dan :| , u issa man does be on tuner more than me so i thought u must be already know bout snowfall so when i say do a search : its to see what tuners already posted about it, not that u supposed to search everything b4 posting

like i already said few times b4 it have plenty tv\movies tuners does be talking about that i never seen or have a clue about til i read about it here ...
What yuh does type in the search to see all the things that tuners suggest?
Tell meh exactly wha to click and type.

Postby goalpost » March 12th, 2024, 6:55 am

The Gentlemen on Netflix is going pretty wild so far.

The Oscars just awarded. Oppenheimer won best picture and Christopher Nolan finally won best director. Shouldve been his 2nd win (after The Dark Knight). Disappointed that Killers of the Flower Moon went 0/10. They keep doing Marty wrong. He needs to do a drug movie quick to win something.

Postby maj. tom » March 27th, 2024, 3:23 pm

Like Denis Villeneuve is now in the same director tier with legends such as Stanley Kubrick, James Cameron, George Lucas, Ridlely Scott and Steve Spielberg himself.

Steven Spielberg Tells Denis Villeneuve That ‘Dune 2’ Is ‘One of the Most Brilliant Science-Fiction Films I’ve Ever Seen’
https://variety.com/2024/film/news/steven-spielberg-dune-2-brilliant-science-fiction-movie-ever-made-1235953298/

Postby mero » March 29th, 2024, 7:26 pm

Saw Godzilla x Kong.

Badass movie, wish i saw this in cinema as a kid.

Lots of Titan screen time, less human corniness.

Fun show to watch in cinema

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 29th, 2024, 11:08 pm

maj. tom wrote:Like Denis Villeneuve is now in the same director tier with legends such as Stanley Kubrick, James Cameron, George Lucas, Ridlely Scott and Steve Spielberg himself.

Steven Spielberg Tells Denis Villeneuve That ‘Dune 2’ Is ‘One of the Most Brilliant Science-Fiction Films I’ve Ever Seen’
https://variety.com/2024/film/news/steven-spielberg-dune-2-brilliant-science-fiction-movie-ever-made-1235953298/

It's definitely one of the best sci-fi movies ever made.
Blade Runner 2 - also from Villeneuve is also epic cinematography

Postby mero » March 30th, 2024, 7:16 am

He mastered the wide angle aerial view cinematography like shown in Sicario, non Sci fi but still one of my favorite movies in the last 10 years.

Highly recommended.

Postby Country_Bookie » March 30th, 2024, 3:41 pm

Anybody watching 3 body problem on Netflix? Really interesting first 4 episodes so far. The show runners are the same guys who adapted game of thrones. Difference is this book series was actually finished by its author.

A few actors from GoT in it as well.

trinigamer

Postby trinigamer » March 30th, 2024, 6:50 pm

^^ Yeah I'm watching it these days, good sci-fi, humans as good guys gets called into question in episode 5.
Might read the books one day.

Postby goalpost » March 30th, 2024, 7:57 pm

3 Body Problem: reach episode 2, still trying to get into it, but the production design is epic so far.

Postby goalpost » March 30th, 2024, 7:59 pm

mero wrote:He mastered the wide angle aerial view cinematography like shown in Sicario, non Sci fi but still one of my favorite movies in the last 10 years.

Highly recommended.

Villeneuve and Roger Deakins is a killer duo when it comes to cinematography. Sicario & Prisoners were visually brilliant.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 11th, 2024, 11:38 am

Saw this show up under new content on Prime yesterday. Looks good based on the trailer. Full season out as well. They really going all in on video game shows in the past few years - The Last of Us, Twisted Metal, Halo and now this.
Screenshot_20240411-113211.jpg

Postby Dizzy28 » April 24th, 2024, 11:05 am

Well after almost a year I would be wrapping up Sopranos today. It's my first watch of it.
It's good but to be honest it's not Breaking Bad good.

12345678.jpeg

Postby Chimera » April 24th, 2024, 11:21 am

finally finished watching snowfall last night

kind of disappointed in the ending but i guess they had to end it like that to make it seem the drug trade don't make sense and wasn't beneficial to all involved.

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » April 24th, 2024, 11:23 am

Heard Shogun just finished 10 episodes if anyone wants to binge watch it.

Postby mero » April 24th, 2024, 3:50 pm

Chimera wrote:finally finished watching snowfall last night

kind of disappointed in the ending but i guess they had to end it like that to make it seem the drug trade don't make sense and wasn't beneficial to all involved.
Snowfall the realest. Teddy had to get corn

Postby goalpost » April 24th, 2024, 8:30 pm

3 Body Problem turned out ok. 7/10.

Hearing great things about Baby Reindeer.

Right now Netflix have
Dexter
Monk
Law and Order SVU
NCIS
House
And Psych coming May 1.
So i reliving my 20s
New shows cud wait.

death365

Postby death365 » April 25th, 2024, 6:16 pm

Velma season 2 out today. Now checked and they dropped the whole season all available now to stream.

Postby Dizzy28 » April 25th, 2024, 9:28 pm

goalpost wrote:3 Body Problem turned out ok. 7/10.

Hearing great things about Baby Reindeer.

Right now Netflix have
Dexter
Monk
Law and Order SVU
NCIS
House
And Psych coming May 1.
So i reliving my 20s
New shows cud wait.

Wonder how the rights for those are shared for the various platforms?
House is currently on both Prime and Max. SVU is on Prime.
Screenshot_20240425-212623.jpg
Screenshot_20240425-212442.jpg

solarkh

***The Official: Rate/Recommend a Movie or Series Thread***

Postby solarkh » April 26th, 2024, 7:17 am

death365 wrote:Velma season 2 out today. Now checked and they dropped the whole season all available now to stream.

How was Season 1?

death365

Postby death365 » April 26th, 2024, 8:06 am

people does hate on it because its loosely based on scooby-doo, but i find its good. lots of self referential humour and 4th wall breaking as well as abstract references to scooby-doo an other pop culture.

solarkh wrote:
death365 wrote:Velma season 2 out today. Now checked and they dropped the whole season all available now to stream.

How was Season 1?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » April 27th, 2024, 9:10 pm

started fallout.. felt good seeing another one of my preferred gaming franchises make it to the screens. I like it alot! 10/10

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 27th, 2024, 10:01 pm

Arthur the king was a pretty decent feel good movie. If you're a dog lover, you'd enjoy it more...based on a true story

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 27th, 2024, 10:28 pm

Thank to those who recommended Shogun.
It's going really good so far

Postby maj. tom » April 30th, 2024, 4:09 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Dune 2 is a masterpiece - a fitting continuation of the first movie.
The casting, acting, effects etc are fantastic - the cinematography is on another level - those wide shots and compositions... waw

Can't wait for Dune Messiah
I waited and finally take in Dune Part Deux at a 1.43:1 IMAX GT dual laser theatre. Experience was 10/10 and I felt completely immersed in the cinematography and seat shaking sound. After an hour into the movie I felt like I was on Dune experiencing the thralls of wormsign and harvester attacks.

The film on its own was also 10/10. But my experience is from the books, and it was all good for me except the ending script. I think Frank Herbert would have been so amazed to see his book finally done properly for the screen. The casting and acting was perfect save (for me personally) the Emperor Shaddam. The entire part was weak, shallow, had no acting effort, and was a sorry representation of House Corrino and the scheming deep politics of the galactic feudal system. 2/10 for that casting and script on that part. The movie script is changed a bit from the book in the 2nd half and it took a confusing turn on why Paul drank the Water of Life in the film... And the Abomination Alia was supposed to be born and kill her grandfather. But the way it's written in the movie, definitely expect a sequel. However I surmise that they really won't be able to get the true ulterior ideas of Messiah novel across to audiences on the screen and expect a heavily altered script for that.

Overall 9/10, but viewing it in a true IMAX GT was 11/10.

mitch1980

Postby mitch1980 » May 1st, 2024, 8:15 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Thank to those who recommended Shogun.
It's going really good so far

Excellent series
GOT kind of quality.

Sad thing is based on a single book. not sure how new writer material will be in following series

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2024, 2:41 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Dune 2 is a masterpiece - a fitting continuation of the first movie.
The casting, acting, effects etc are fantastic - the cinematography is on another level - those wide shots and compositions... waw

Can't wait for Dune Messiah
I waited and finally take in Dune Part Deux at a 1.43:1 IMAX GT dual laser theatre. Experience was 10/10 and I felt completely immersed in the cinematography and seat shaking sound. After an hour into the movie I felt like I was on Dune experiencing the thralls of wormsign and harvester attacks.

The film on its own was also 10/10. But my experience is from the books, and it was all good for me except the ending script. I think Frank Herbert would have been so amazed to see his book finally done properly for the screen. The casting and acting was perfect save (for me personally) the Emperor Shaddam. The entire part was weak, shallow, had no acting effort, and was a sorry representation of House Corrino and the scheming deep politics of the galactic feudal system. 2/10 for that casting and script on that part. The movie script is changed a bit from the book in the 2nd half and it took a confusing turn on why Paul drank the Water of Life in the film... And the Abomination Alia was supposed to be born and kill her grandfather. But the way it's written in the movie, definitely expect a sequel. However I surmise that they really won't be able to get the true ulterior ideas of Messiah novel across to audiences on the screen and expect a heavily altered script for that.

Overall 9/10, but viewing it in a true IMAX GT was 11/10.

Dune Prophecy on MAX - prequel to Denis Villeneuve's Dune

Focusing on the origins of the Bene Gesserit, an exclusive and powerful sisterhood who undergo intense physical training and mental conditioning to obtain superhuman abilities, it takes place approximately 10,000 years before the events of Herbert's novel Dune (1965) and serves as a prequel to Denis Villeneuve's Dune (2021). The series is produced by Legendary Television, with Alison Schapker serving as showrunner, writer, and executive producer.

During Legendary Entertainment's 2016 acquisition of television and film rights for the Dune franchise, they began development of a two-part film adaptation with Villeneuve serving as director by 2017. Legendary Television ordered the series in 2019, being a spin-off project from Villeneuve's films.

Set 10,000 years before the events of Dune, the series follows sisters Valya and Tula Harkonnen as they combat forces that threaten the future of humanity, and establish the fabled sect known as the Bene Gesserit.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dune:_Prophecy

Postby maj. tom » May 15th, 2024, 3:30 pm

ah ah so they're going to start putting Brian Herbert's ideas on tv. Villeneuve's genius unlocked cinema in a whole different way and Hollywood took notice.

The Bene Gesserit, the Spacing Guild (the calendar is counted as Before Guild BG and After Guild AG and this is 10,000 years after Earth is destroyed) and the Orange Catholic Bible came directly after the effects of the Butlerian Jihad, where the BG formed as a political entity with great influence and would guide humanity through millennia of organized power to seek The Golden Path. They're playing the very long game. The Bene Tleilax arose around the time when the wandering Fremen found Arrakis planet. Unfortunately Jessica upset their breeding plans for the Kwisatz Haderach's due arrival and their hoping to control him.
Paul Atreides (is the KH and isn't at the same time because he) was too afraid of his role and let the Jihad happen, but God Emperor Leto II embraced it, became a tyrant and saved humanity. After Leto II's death (+3500 years) and the Scattering, the Bene Gesserit eventually branch-morphed into a fanatical cult the Honored Matres and destroyed planet Dune (+1500 years). Sand trout was smuggled to planet Chapterhouse, which was terraformed by the sand worms. Humans were eventually able to escape the prescience and dependability of the Spice for folding space travel with technology called no-ships and escape into the unknown. The actual hero of the entire Dune story is Duncan Idaho who will return many times as a genetic clone with memories called a Ghola.

I think it'll be good. HBO, please don't fck this up like Amazon did with the Rings of Power. I promise that hardcore Dune fans are more ardent than the LOTR ones and wouldn't stand for the utter smeagoldung kind of nonsense that Amazon did to Tolkien's Silmarillion works. HBO has a good track record though. The entire sci-fi theme of Dune is not a child's play works like any other science fiction on tv like the Star-universes. It's deep and heavy like the ideas behind Asimov's Foundation.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 15th, 2024, 9:03 pm

^ ah so eventually everyone loses the war on drugs lol

I think HBO will do far better with this than Amazon did with LOTR ROP and it will be considerably better than the two Sci-Fi Channel mini series