kstt wrote:Did some plumbing and the elbow dripping. How or what can I do to stop it from leaking?
pugboy wrote:that need to do over, cut and splice over to fit
good tip, always use the hacksaw or fingernail to remove the burr
you need a minimum of 1/2" glued insertion for a good joint and preferably more
pvc glue is cheap, dont skimp on it and also remove any paint if gluing over painted pipes
having said that I have seen joints that weren't glued hold up for years until somebody bumped the pipe
VexXx Dogg wrote:cut and replace is the best option
A leak can eventually separate the glue and cause the elbow to blow out
PVC cement joints should be held for 30 seconds. The cement fully cures in 2 hours.Les Bain wrote:From experience, is either the pipe fitting into the elbow wasnt properly cut, fit, glued or given enough time to cure.
Recently I've taken to hastening the curing stage with a blowdryer and even then, leaving it overnight before turning the water on.
pugboy wrote:a lot of plumbers put solvent on top of the tape
they claim it works better that way
i don’t believe it, esp if you screwing into a female pvc fitting the solvent will soften up the pvc and possibly increase the tolerances
Wha madness I readingpugboy wrote:a lot of plumbers put solvent on top of the tape
they claim it works better that way
i don’t believe it, esp if you screwing into a female pvc fitting the solvent will soften up the pvc and possibly increase the tolerances
Dave wrote:Overkill for me is a slight wipe of plumbers mate and thread seal and I absolutely hate plumbers mate.