paid_influencer wrote:habit have a point tho. There is no policy difference between PNM and UNC, just a pack of old talk and angling for political mileage.
I would disagree about Kevin Ramnarine's statement that the problem is T&TEC's inability to set prices. They have a natural monopoly, so the last thing they should have is the ability to set their own prices. The blame should really be on the structure of government, in this case the Regulated Industries Commission, for not increasing the price to a realistic level when the country was better able to adjust (i.e., during the PP spendaholic years).
And particularly, for not adjusting rates on the industrial and corporate entities that made an absolute profit by exploiting "cheap energy costs". Those "cheap" energy costs went straight to private hands via corporate profits. The real cost will now have to be repaid by a much more indebted and poorer citizenry.
no dont riot
the status quo is fine
it is in your interest
With no taxes or tariffs, the cost of solar energy in the United States is between $0.08 and $0.10 per kWh for residential use.88sins wrote:paid_influencer wrote:habit have a point tho. There is no policy difference between PNM and UNC, just a pack of old talk and angling for political mileage.
I would disagree about Kevin Ramnarine's statement that the problem is T&TEC's inability to set prices. They have a natural monopoly, so the last thing they should have is the ability to set their own prices. The blame should really be on the structure of government, in this case the Regulated Industries Commission, for not increasing the price to a realistic level when the country was better able to adjust (i.e., during the PP spendaholic years).
And particularly, for not adjusting rates on the industrial and corporate entities that made an absolute profit by exploiting "cheap energy costs". Those "cheap" energy costs went straight to private hands via corporate profits. The real cost will now have to be repaid by a much more indebted and poorer citizenry.
no dont riot
the status quo is fine
it is in your interest
Quite correct, but nobody is talking about that.
In addition to that, the general lack of interest by the state to encourage the population to even slowly switch to alternative energy, even if only for residential energy usage, is part of the problem.
There's a great many people who would prefer to get off the grid and go solar, thus lowering the demand for and by extension the cost of production of electricity. But when you look at what it costs to source panels, storage, inverters, cables etc, (considering that most of these things are going to have to be imported) those who are willing to go solar are disincentivised by taxes and tariffs.
pugboy wrote:yeah they bussing duty taxes normel
i brought in a couple solar attic fans
got the full 20% duty plus vat
DMan7 wrote:What is the latest on the TTEC increases and the billing cycle being 1 month instead of 2 months?
The desert southwest is the US benchmark for solar efficiency.88sins wrote:All things being equally considered, trinidad is still going to be more efficient, due to the fact we have no snowfall to cover panels for several months here
adnj wrote:With no taxes or tariffs, the cost of solar energy in the United States is between $0.08 and $0.10 per kWh for residential use.88sins wrote:paid_influencer wrote:habit have a point tho. There is no policy difference between PNM and UNC, just a pack of old talk and angling for political mileage.
no dont riot
the status quo is fine
it is in your interest
Quite correct, but nobody is talking about that.
In addition to that, the general lack of interest by the state to encourage the population to even slowly switch to alternative energy, even if only for residential energy usage, is part of the problem.
There's a great many people who would prefer to get off the grid and go solar, thus lowering the demand for and by extension the cost of production of electricity. But when you look at what it costs to source panels, storage, inverters, cables etc, (considering that most of these things are going to have to be imported) those who are willing to go solar are disincentivised by taxes and tariffs.
Trinidad's utilities sell electricity for about $0.05 per kWh
Trinidad and Tobago are at a lower latitude than the southernmost US, so all things being equal expect solar panel efficiency to be greater than in the US.
I think Japan uses the rejected heat from the AC units to heat water. A pool heater is basically a reverse AC, spits out cold air from the unit outside.redmanjp wrote:is there hybrid water heaters? one that heat water both from the sun as well as electricity so its take care of those situations where there is no sun overnight or someone uses up the water?
Yes.redmanjp wrote:is there hybrid water heaters? one that heat water both from the sun as well as electricity so its take care of those situations where there is no sun overnight or someone uses up the water?
This will alter the way ppl use A/Cs for sure
The_Honourable wrote:While you paying higher rates in 2028, allyuh really think pnm would pay their bills on time?
Habit7 wrote:The_Honourable wrote:While you paying higher rates in 2028, allyuh really think pnm would pay their bills on time?
Who is “pnm”?
redmanjp wrote:just a question- if your bill says due for disconnection and u pay it online via TTEC website can they still disconnect you? on it says pay it directly at TTEC to avoid disconnection but i had already paid it online before i noticed that statement.
redmanjp wrote:im seeing the balance at 0 so it went through.
good thing i get ebills cuz if i waited till ttpost send it i would be in candlelight.