Lafast and BYD

Re: Lafast and BYD

Postby Habit7 » April 29th, 2024, 1:00 pm

While AC is a massive consumer, you will be using AC throughout your trip anyway. But when there is traffic, the vehicle uses less electricity and recoups energy from regenerative breaking.

Postby Les Bain » April 29th, 2024, 1:44 pm

Electric tuners, how is your home charger set up, and how much did it cost?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 29th, 2024, 1:49 pm

Habit7 wrote:EVs are more efficient in traffic. Stop and go helps recharge the charge the battery by regenerative braking.

Plus there is a 62kwh Leaf that has a 364km range.
That will be more expensive right?

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » April 29th, 2024, 1:51 pm

It's a problem how China sometimes doubles their EV export prices

Vehicles are kinda outer range for the average Joe

Postby Habit7 » April 29th, 2024, 1:59 pm

Les Bain wrote:Electric tuners, how is your home charger set up, and how much did it jcost?

Most cars come with a 220v plug. So if you have an outlet nearby you can just plug in for charging 3-11kwh which all depends on the car. If you don’t have an outlet you can have an electrician make one, my experience is around $1000 per 10ft from your panel.

If you want to install a dedicated charger it is like US$500 plus the same price above for wiring. There are local companies that do the charger and the installation but I have never used them.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2024, 2:02 pm

30 amp 220v? or 50?

Postby Habit7 » April 29th, 2024, 2:04 pm

It all depends on the car or the charger.

Postby Les Bain » April 29th, 2024, 2:10 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Les Bain wrote:Electric tuners, how is your home charger set up, and how much did it jcost?

Most cars come with a 220v plug. So if you have an outlet nearby you can just plug in for charging 3-11kwh which all depends on the car. If you don’t have an outlet you can have an electrician make one, my experience is around $1000 per 10ft from your panel.

If you want to install a dedicated charger it is like US$500 plus the same price above for wiring. There are local companies that do the charger and the installation but I have never used them.

Thanks for the response, man.

Postby j.o.e » April 29th, 2024, 2:14 pm

PariaMan wrote:It's a problem how China sometimes doubles their EV export prices

Vehicles are kinda outer range for the average Joe

Why yuh being me into this? lol

Postby Dizzy28 » April 29th, 2024, 3:29 pm

Habit7 wrote:

TTEC has to come and inspect the installation?

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2024, 3:46 pm

unlikely and ttec or the inspectorate probably dont have a policy on this as yet

do those chargers require 4 wire 220v ?
the current code is 4 wires but more houses are 3 wires 220v

Habit7 wrote:

TTEC has to come and inspect the installation?

Postby maj. tom » April 29th, 2024, 3:53 pm

https://ttec.co.tt/default/wp-content/uploads/2018/05/Electric-Vehicles-Public-Advisory.pdf

6. All new electrical installations, or alterations to existing ones, must be inspected by the Government Electrical Inspectorate Division and a certifi cate of approval issued before the electrical installation is energised in accordance with the Electrical Installation (Building) Act Chapter 54:71 of the Laws of Trinidad and Tobago.

7. All electrical works must be carried out by a licensed wireman or by an electrician under the supervision of a licensed wireman.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2024, 4:02 pm

thats good because we know it have real fake electricians out there
wonder how much them inspectors going to charge for this charging inspection
I bet nobody knows how much inspectors supposed to charge for a job

Zee

Postby Zee » April 29th, 2024, 5:24 pm

I have a EV Charger to sell for someone if anyone is interested.

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » April 29th, 2024, 5:40 pm

Habit7 wrote:While AC is a massive consumer, you will be using AC throughout your trip anyway. But when there is traffic, the vehicle uses less electricity and recoups energy from regenerative breaking.
Regen does not work that way.
Traffic is very low speed.
Power derived from Regen in traffic is very negligible.
Only benefit of electric is in traffic at a standstill no engine is idling wasting fuel

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2024, 8:51 pm

in f1 braking regen is for like braking into a corner and that little current generated is used to boost coming out of the corner

Postby Habit7 » April 29th, 2024, 9:00 pm

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
Habit7 wrote:While AC is a massive consumer, you will be using AC throughout your trip anyway. But when there is traffic, the vehicle uses less electricity and recoups energy from regenerative breaking.
Only benefit of electric is in traffic at a standstill no engine is idling wasting fuel

Hold this https://www.recurrentauto.com/research/ ... t-stopping

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » April 30th, 2024, 9:44 am

Habit7 wrote:
Supra GT-FOUR wrote:

Hold this https://www.recurrentauto.com/research/ ... t-stopping
It's basic physics.
The article you quoted can't violate the laws of physics.
Regeneration uses the vehicles momentum (mass x velocity) and converts it to electricity (via installed permanent magnet generators).

What I am saying is in traffic there is not an opportunity for a vehicle to obtain much velocity (speed).
Traffic is more of a creep where friction brakes would do more of the stopping.
The article you quoted referenced speeds of 30-40 mph. If you are attaining such speeds is it really traffic? 30mph is 48km/h, 40 mph is 64km/h.

In physics there is also the concept of efficiency output power/input power * 100.
Every time energy is converted from one form to another there is energy loss due to the conversion not being 100 percent.
Transformers are some of the most efficient electrical machines (97-99%).
Electric motors/ generators have their own efficiency around 90% (stated on nameplate).

There are losses both when the motor is moving the vehicle and also when the vehicle is regenerating.

Friction brakes always provide the stopping/securing force to maintain a vehicle at standstil. Regeneration cannot secure a vehicle on an incline.

Screenshot_2024-04-30-09-13-22-733_com.android.chrome-edit.jpg

Postby Habit7 » April 30th, 2024, 10:56 am

I think this comes down to your subjective understanding of traffic as only being creep or standstill. EVs are more efficient at slower speeds and the stop and go traffic allows for regenerative braking to recoup energy that would have been lost by friction braking alone. That is a fact and nobody is saying that by standing still energy is pouring into the battery.

Postby adnj » April 30th, 2024, 12:20 pm

pugboy wrote:30 amp 220v? or 50?

Most home chargers fall into 3 to 19 kW output with supply breakers being either 50A or 100A. The 3kW chargers can use 20A.

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2024, 1:23 pm

boy if you running a stiff charge and everybody using aircon in the house plus somebody baking a ham and taking a shower you might trip the 150 mains breaker

Postby maj. tom » April 30th, 2024, 2:44 pm

I assume that those who install EV home charging ports are using smart plugs and switches that can easily read and regulate those things. And will be programmed to turn on charging at the off peak hours.

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2024, 2:45 pm

there are smart plugs which monitor usage in rest of house?

Postby Habit7 » April 30th, 2024, 2:58 pm

maj. tom wrote:I assume that those who install EV home charging ports are using smart plugs and switches that can easily read and regulate those things. And will be programmed to turn on charging at the off peak hours.

For most cars the onboard charger can regulate it if plugged in directly to a socket with the plug that comes with the car. As well as installed mounted chargers have digital relays.

But I don't think T&T has peak and off-peak pricing for electricity, it is more like a tier system based on consumption.

HSM (the ppl known for Teslas locally) have a charger installation company and are the local distributors for Wallboox https://www.facebook.com/electrifycompanyltd

Postby adnj » April 30th, 2024, 3:49 pm

maj. tom wrote:I assume that those who install EV home charging ports are using smart plugs and switches that can easily read and regulate those things. And will be programmed to turn on charging at the off peak hours.

There are smart home EV chargers available.

Postby adnj » April 30th, 2024, 3:58 pm

pugboy wrote:there are smart plugs which monitor usage in rest of house?

I'm not sure what you mean but the are monitors for individual branch circuits and also the building service entry for whole-house loads that you can add to a smart home.

There are also smart home breakers and circuit breaker panels.

Postby pugboy » April 30th, 2024, 4:05 pm

that’s what i mean
because to have a charger putting continuous 50+amp load for a good few hours can likely bring main breaker load up

adnj wrote:
pugboy wrote:there are smart plugs which monitor usage in rest of house?

I'm not sure what you mean but the are monitors for individual branch circuits and also the building service entry for whole-house loads that you can add to a smart home.

There are also smart home breakers and circuit breaker panels.

Postby gastly369 » April 30th, 2024, 5:28 pm

Famz got the new ioniq 5 and massy org to get the home charger installed etc

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 10th, 2024, 4:45 pm

China's EV giant, BYD, makes more electric vehicles than any of its competitors and sells them for as low as $10,000. The cars are not yet sold in the U.S., where hurdles include a 25% import tariff. Meanwhile, U.S. lawmakers are concerned that smart car technology could be used to spy on American drivers.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 29th, 2024, 9:43 am

BYD unveils hybrid with 2,000km range