End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Re: End of ICE (Internal Combustion Engines)

Postby adnj » May 2nd, 2024, 4:18 pm

kamakazi wrote:Ignoring 88sins interpretation of the laws of thermodynamics.

I recall an electric supercharger system by Thomas knight, advertised in car magazines, which used a modified starter motor to turn a compressor. Supposed to function in short bursts similar to a small shot of nitrous. Nothing to do with efficiency, more to do with power.

Biggest challenges with EVs locally is initial buy in price, unknown resale value and who is fixing it when it eventually needs parts (not just the battery). Cause the technology is still being developed at a fairly decent rate, by the time you are ready to sell, what you have could be outdated

Should do a like for like comparison on similar/same vehicles
MG gas engined vs full electric
Hyundai ioniq hybrid vs electric etc

My personal fear is how connected some EVs are. Leaving control of the vehicle up to the manufacturer, no thanks. They can shut down features when they want, take away or give you more range if they feel like it,bAsk you to pay a subscription to get it back; and they only asking now... Give it a couple of years and they will force it.

You do know that some companies offer EV subscriptions for the entire vehicle.
The plans are closer to a long term rental than a short term lease.

No long term contracts. No upfront costs. No maintenance. No insurance. No extras.

But only for those that have the requisite income and the credit rating, of course.

Postby pugboy » May 2nd, 2024, 4:36 pm

a thought might be to put in a battery to run an electric motorized supercharger and charge it up at home

Postby Habit7 » May 2nd, 2024, 4:52 pm

I recall an electric supercharger system by Thomas knight, advertised in car magazines, which used a modified starter motor to turn a compressor. Supposed to function in short bursts similar to a small shot of nitrous. Nothing to do with efficiency, more to do with power.

Biggest challenges with EVs locally is initial buy in price, unknown resale value and who is fixing it when it eventually needs parts (not just the battery). Cause the technology is still being developed at a fairly decent rate, by the time you are ready to sell, what you have could be outdated

My personal fear is how connected some EVs are. Leaving control of the vehicle up to the manufacturer, no thanks. They can shut down features when they want, take away or give you more range if they feel like it,bAsk you to pay a subscription to get it back; and they only asking now... Give it a couple of years and they will force it.

Most of your points are valid. But I think ppl still think of EVs like ICE. There aren't many moving parts in EV motors and drivetrains like there are in ICE. Most parts are either lifetime or not much different than an ICE to swap (suspension, electric AC, body parts, etc). Where there are total failures, they are mostly due to software which can be fixed with over-the-air updates. But we have local ppl being trained in EV repair but it's not as viable because EV numbers are still low and they don't break down as often as ICE.

Also, all modern cars now are computer controlled and can be manipulated by manufacturers. VW had to pay billions in the US for fooling monitoring devices when their diesels were being assessed.

But EV problems are:
Prices (although over 5yrs you would save on fuel costs over a comparable ICE)
Resale value (T&T resale value rules don't always apply because ppl are still paying big money for used Jeep, Land Rover and MB)
Technology curve (While future EVs will exceed present ones, present EVs are way ahead of present ICE eg. self driving capabilities are almost standard on EVs while that is a premium feature on ICE. A used EV will have features a new ICE will have.)

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 2nd, 2024, 5:05 pm

kamakazi wrote:My personal fear is how connected some EVs are. Leaving control of the vehicle up to the manufacturer, no thanks. They can shut down features when they want, take away or give you more range if they feel like it,bAsk you to pay a subscription to get it back; and they only asking now... Give it a couple of years and they will force it.

Which dealerships in T&T are using over-the-air updates and controls?

Postby 88sins » May 2nd, 2024, 7:45 pm

Yuh late to the game
A very popular EV manufacturer has been doing something like this for a few years now.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 2nd, 2024, 8:24 pm

kamakazi wrote:My personal fear is how connected some EVs are. Leaving control of the vehicle up to the manufacturer, no thanks. They can shut down features when they want, take away or give you more range if they feel like it,bAsk you to pay a subscription to get it back; and they only asking now... Give it a couple of years and they will force it.

Which dealerships in T&T are using over-the-air updates and controls?
I don't have the info yet on any local dealerships...I am just observing the worrying trend/s in foreign markets

@Habit
Not afraid of computer controlled. I'm afraid of over the air connected computer controlled, that can update itself without your permission.

@88
Those superchargers were advertised almost 2 decades ago... How late is the party

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2024, 3:53 pm

orhor, now I see
yuh late cuz yuh slow

Try looking up on occasion son, that way you won't miss things going over your head :lol:

Postby Habit7 » May 3rd, 2024, 4:23 pm

kamakazi wrote:@Habit
Not afraid of computer controlled. I'm afraid of over the air connected computer controlled, that can update itself without your permission.

Yea but I am trying to say that it is not EV-specific

Postby 88sins » May 3rd, 2024, 5:05 pm

Habit7 wrote:

Correct, it's not EV specific at all.
Once there's some sort of proprietary software on-board, manufacturers will prefer to connect to the vehicle remotely for patches and updates. Besides, sometimes an update can be a good thing, so one shouldn't fear such things.
Will they shut down the vehicle if they seeing the vehicles software being tampered with? Maybe, maybe not. You know after sales service in this country ain't exactly known for dealers going above and beyond.
Easiest way to avoid that entirely, either don't interfere with it, or taxi for life

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 3rd, 2024, 7:24 pm

The subscription model is coming to everything - eventually.

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2024, 7:40 pm

europe will fight subscription model for sure
they don’t take this kinda crap

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 4th, 2024, 2:03 am

Habit7 wrote:

It appears to be more strongly pushed in EVs though, and more encompassing in control over the vehicle.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 4th, 2024, 11:52 am

kamakazi wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

It appears to be more strongly pushed in EVs though, and more encompassing in control over the vehicle.

I thnk that might be because more tech, self driving etc are being used on EVs than ICE or hybrid vehicles because of the capabilities of the EV platform.

Remember when Tesla pushed out a free update to their vehicles in Florida increasing range during the evacuation for Hurricane Irma?
https://techcrunch.com/2017/09/09/tesla ... e-evacuate

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2024, 12:54 pm

A 2024 vezel play costing me like 200k landed.

The gas savings alone should be 12000 a year

Studying it's a good purchase if I saving that much on gas plus sell my 2018 Tucson before it start to give trouble.

Then could always sell back the vezel in a 4 years for probably the same price it cost me to bring it in.

Wha allyuh feel

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » May 4th, 2024, 1:16 pm

Good luck getting 200k for a vezel in 4 years

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2024, 1:22 pm

a play selling for 250-280k and sometimes more currently

lewwe say a 180k in 4 years then

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 4th, 2024, 1:56 pm

Chimera wrote:Then could always sell back the vezel in a 4 years for probably the same price it cost me to bring it in.
Unlikely but the fuel saving is a major factor to consider depending on your mileage

Postby j.o.e » May 4th, 2024, 2:49 pm

Chimera wrote:a play selling for 250-280k and sometimes more currently

Nah the amount of Vezels out there the price will drop significantly. Just use the previous model as a gauge. They don’t hold so much value but if you get 120-130k for a vehicle you drive heavily for 4 years that’s still very good.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 4th, 2024, 3:08 pm

Anytime tesla themselves could come in with a model 3 at less than 300000tt they will mash up the place

Postby Habit7 » May 4th, 2024, 4:51 pm

Don't hold your breath for Tesla Trinidad. Their only presence in the Caribbean is in Puerto Rico, a US territory. And they are only in Chile in South America. They are not in Brazil, one of the biggest car markets in the world.

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2024, 5:44 pm

j.o.e wrote:
Chimera wrote:a play selling for 250-280k and sometimes more currently

Nah the amount of Vezels out there the price will drop significantly. Just use the previous model as a gauge. They don’t hold so much value but if you get 120-130k for a vehicle you drive heavily for 4 years that’s still very good.
True that

Paid 260k for the Tucson in 2018 and I say if I got 130 140k for it now I lucky

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 4th, 2024, 9:19 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I thnk that might be because more tech, self driving etc are being used on EVs than ICE or hybrid vehicles because of the capabilities of the EV platform.

Remember when Tesla pushed out a free update to their vehicles in Florida increasing range during the evacuation for Hurricane Irma?

I remember trying to figure out how they suddenly got additional range. My theory of the system misreporting the 0 to 100% state of the battery was right. What I got wrong was the reason. I thought it was artificially limited to protect the battery (preventing the user from fully charging or discharging the battery which would cause damage to the cells). What I have now learnt is that it was done for market segmentation.

So what is the purpose of carrying around this dead weight everywhere you go, negatively affecting acceleration, deceleration and more importantly, range, all the time...and only if the manufacturer deems it so, to give you a bligh.
An OTA update wouldn't be necessary if they were given full use of the hardware that was already installed on the vehicle from day one.

Ukrainian hackers have gotten around Tesla soft locks and the possibility of disabling OTA updates or enabling modes that the vehicle didn't initially come with, but this shouldn't have to be the go-to solution.

OTA updates give manufacturers too much control.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 4th, 2024, 9:36 pm

kamakazi wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:I thnk that might be because more tech, self driving etc are being used on EVs than ICE or hybrid vehicles because of the capabilities of the EV platform.

I remember trying to figure out how they suddenly got additional range. My theory of the system misreporting the 0 to 100% state of the battery was right. What I got wrong was the reason. I thought it was artificially limited to protect the battery (preventing the user from fully charging or discharging the battery which would cause damage to the cells). What I have now learnt is that it was done for market segmentation.

So what is the purpose of carrying around this dead weight everywhere you go, negatively affecting acceleration, deceleration and more importantly, range, all the time...and only if the manufacturer deems it so, to give you a bligh.
An OTA update wouldn't be necessary if they were given full use of the hardware that was already installed on the vehicle from day one.

Ukrainian hackers have gotten around Tesla soft locks and the possibility of disabling OTA updates or enabling modes that the vehicle didn't initially come with, but this shouldn't have to be the go-to solution.

OTA updates give manufacturers too much control.

Also BMW's ConnectedDrive
https://www.bmwusa.com/explore/connecte ... l#upgrades
Adaptive M Suspension, Remote Engine Start, Drive Recorder, Driving Assistant Plus and Parking Assistant Professional etc are all available via OTA subscription

Postby Les Bain » May 4th, 2024, 10:34 pm

Habit7 wrote:Don't hold your breath for Tesla Trinidad. Their only presence in the Caribbean is in Puerto Rico, a US territory. And they are only in Chile in South America. They are not in Brazil, one of the biggest car markets in the world.

How do the local Tesla owners fix dey business though?

Postby Habit7 » May 5th, 2024, 3:44 pm

Les Bain wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Don't hold your breath for Tesla Trinidad. Their only presence in the Caribbean is in Puerto Rico, a US territory. And they are only in Chile in South America. They are not in Brazil, one of the biggest car markets in the world.

How do the local Tesla owners fix dey business though?

HSM claims they have trained techs and a direct parts source in Miami.

But as I said before the maintenance needs of EVs are not the same as ICEs. It’s not like buying a Lamborghini and needing an Italian trained mechanic. Tesla is not officially in many countries but used Teslas are being sold a lot and they are making out. Go at your own risk.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 5th, 2024, 7:31 pm

Well my buddy isn’t doing too bad with his Tesla . 2017 model 3 long range version. Last year he was 100000 miles + with work and after work Uber eats. Supercharger use from his parking lot and still has 94% battery health…Long Island so full 4 seasons..

That’s 7 years of basically maintenance free living. And the condition of this car worse than a 323 pulling bull

Postby MG Man » May 6th, 2024, 3:25 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:The subscription model is coming to everything - eventually.

even trinituner? :shock:

Postby MG Man » May 6th, 2024, 3:28 pm

kamakazi wrote:So what is the purpose of carrying around this dead weight everywhere you go, negatively affecting acceleration, deceleration and more importantly, range, all the time...and only if the manufacturer deems it so, to give you a bligh. .

nothing new tbh
Lotus Evoras have power fold mirrors as an optional extra...but every Evora has mirrors with the motor....the difference is a $10 switch that you can plug in (according to Doug Demuro)

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » May 9th, 2024, 2:18 pm

The difference in battery weight for that 15kwh could start at a minimum of about 50kg.

blazing

Postby blazing » July 16th, 2024, 7:24 pm

YouTuber’s cordless Tesla with gas engine just managed 3500 miles without charge

This YouTuber was sick of stopping to charge his Tesla
Fitting a Diesel engine went some way towards solving this issue
However, taking the car out on a 3,500 road trip presented some issues

A YouTuber who built a self-charging Tesla decided to hit the road to see how long he could go without needing to charge.

YouTube channel Warped Perception made some slight modifications to a Tesla Model S with a ICE generator.

Namely, they fitted it with an old diesel engine to charge the battery.

How did the modified Tesla do on a cross-country road trip?
The team placed a 3.0L diesel engine in the front of the car, allowing to serve as an electricity generator for the Tesla’s battery.

Having learned from a previous attempt, the YouTuber, real name Matt Mikka, surmised that the increased airflow at the front would help the engine’s cooling radiator work better.

On a previous drive, the ICE generator in the back had proven to be an issue as it started to smell and produced a lot of noise.

Thanks to a tri-chamber exhaust system contraption, the noise and vibrations from the diesel engine were reduced.

All in all, the kitted-out car managed 3,500 miles – a round trip from the American Midwest to Atlanta, Georgia – without needing to be charged the conventional way.

That didn’t mean the trip wasn’t without its bumps in the road, so to speak.

From clogged fuel filters to oil leaks – and even pieces of road gravel puncturing cool hoses – there were a multitude of issues to contend with.

However, the experiment was successful in its main purpose, and avoided using EV chargers the whole drive.

That just meant that people had to contend with the noise generated by the Tesla being left to charge overnight in car parks.

It’s more than double what Mikka managed on a previous road trip, when he racked up 1,600 miles of road without a EV charger.

Whilst it may defeat the point to turn a Tesla into a gas guzzler, you have to admire the creativity regardless.

To check out more of Mikka’s work, head on over to his YouTube channel.

https://supercarblondie.com/youtubers-c ... ut-charge/