Home Security measures and solutions

Re: Home Security measures and solutions

Postby pugboy » July 3rd, 2024, 4:37 pm

order the dsc wireless ones which using the cr123 batteries, it lasts a few years unlike them other ones which use small car remote batteries

this way you just need panel and keypad with wireless receiver to talk to the sensors

Postby 88sins » July 4th, 2024, 7:03 am

Chimera wrote:a padna tell me a car battery and two alligator clip shorting out a electric fence

i dunno the science or explanation behind it myself

yuh padna trying to get a car battery to blow up in yuh face. that's the kinda padna you need to get rid of.

but fr
ppl don't use electric fence really because they actually really easy to defeat.
best thing, would be a VERY HIGH wall, 10 feet is good, with raptor on top, and a second fence on the inside 6 feet from the wall, with 4 inch barbed spikes concealed and anchored in the ground between them in pit traps.

As they land, they not going anywhere in a hurry

Postby pugboy » July 4th, 2024, 7:49 am

they use some very flimsy vertical brackets to mount the wires
i feel anybody could use a stick and pull down the wires

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2024, 4:10 pm

Im looking at this tongou TO-Q-SY1 din rail mounted smart switch with wifi, seeing it cab be set as a timer relay as well. Used to send power to other control devices that can control devices.

Smart Switch, Smart Wi-Fi Light Switch, Work with Alexa and Google Assistant for Voice Control, with Energy Monitoring, Smart Life/Tuya APP Remote Control, Timers Functions, DIN Rail mounted, 16A https://a.co/d/088NXhXY

Anyone ever try any like this before?

Postby 88sins » July 6th, 2024, 5:47 pm

pugboy wrote:they use some very flimsy vertical brackets to mount the wires
i feel anybody could use a stick and pull down the wires

one good clipper, 4 cuts, and electric fence rendered useless.
screw that
One piece of metal with hooks on both ends, and power supply will short out, entire fence dead

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2024, 6:29 pm

Most anyone can do is make it a bit more difficult for them. They had enough sense to short circuit t&tec 12000 volt high tension lines to trip the recloser here. The dip in current apparently gets rid of camera footage from on dvr.

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2024, 6:30 pm

i planning to put up electric fence soon in a back wall
i putting it behind spikes to make the wires less accessible

Postby pugboy » July 6th, 2024, 6:31 pm

many business places have had their meters pulled out too

nervewrecker wrote:Most anyone can do is make it a bit more difficult for them. They had enough sense to short circuit t&tec 12000 volt high tension lines to trip the recloser here. The dip in current apparently gets rid of camera footage from on dvr.

Postby 88sins » July 6th, 2024, 6:58 pm

nervewrecker wrote:Most anyone can do is make it a bit more difficult for them. They had enough sense to short circuit t&tec 12000 volt high tension lines to trip the recloser here. The dip in current apparently gets rid of camera footage from on dvr.

Not so much the dip, but yuh see the EMP?
A sufficiently powerful EMP blast will shut down even the UPS that powers your cctv system in the event of a power outage.

Best options?
Boobytrap and burglar proof yuh place, get a propwrly trained manstopper, and keep things in strategic spots inside your house/yard that can be used to defend against intruders if need be

Postby nervewrecker » July 6th, 2024, 9:20 pm

How you go about creating an emp now?

I'm also seeing the honeywell motion / proximity sensor priced on par with others. Reviews say they made in China.

Looking at a couple of din rail relays and timers. Some with Bluetooth and wifi. Easy for some minor automation like turning lights on automatically others can trigger an alarm with motion sensors. They are small power and variable voltage meaning a ups can support them. Will post results so if anyone interested I can do a bulk order.

Postby 88sins » July 7th, 2024, 7:08 am

nervewrecker wrote:How you go about creating an emp now?

You don't have to create one, they occur naturally. Ever noticed, when lightning flash, sometimes electricity goes out?
But if one wants to, one can create one. Just overload or short out a transformer.

VII

Postby VII » July 7th, 2024, 11:36 am

Correct !! 8-)

pugboy wrote:spikes and those contraptions have to be high up so you don’t have it easy to fiddle with them to climb over

the raptor one doesn’t look easy to bend since it rotates, would need extra help to hold it whilst trying to bend

VII

Postby VII » July 7th, 2024, 11:39 am

We know humans can overcome anything but it's not as easy as that..and it has to be installed a certain way which takes into account protecting itself and creating maximum coverage to counter free climbing, even a leaning ladder would be problems, as you still have to get over the spike overhang.. theoretically a very tall and very wide step ladder is the only thing that would defeat it as you would need to transition from one part outside the wall to the part inside the wall, would be a task to work a step ladder like that and plenty noise and scene and the support brace etc..

The whole point is to convince them that it may be too troublesome and risky with other possible unknowns and to go somewhere else and i think the Raptor does this well..

These are nice, but it's not for here. People like me bending that and climbing over.
They havs a tendency to throw towels over barbed wire but from what I saw they fit between the barbed wire and the fence at my aunts place next door.

VII

Postby VII » July 7th, 2024, 11:53 am

Ent any decent pliers defeating that easy ? Not to metion the $1000 dollar Klien ones..

alfa wrote:
Chimera wrote:a padna tell me a car battery and two alligator clip shorting out a electric fence

Dunno about the battery part but if all phases are bonded together and connected to a ground spike theoretically it's supposed to short out the system and create a zero potential.
Would have to alligator clip all the wires together and connect to a ground spike

VII

Postby VII » July 7th, 2024, 12:09 pm

Proper advice there, nothing else need to be said .

Not so much the dip, but yuh see the EMP?
A sufficiently powerful EMP blast will shut down even the UPS that powers your cctv system in the event of a power outage.

Best options?
Boobytrap and burglar proof yuh place, get a propwrly trained manstopper, and keep things in strategic spots inside your house/yard that can be used to defend against intruders if need be

Postby alfa » July 7th, 2024, 12:14 pm

VII wrote:Ent any decent pliers defeating that easy ? Not to metion the $1000 dollar Klien ones..

alfa wrote:

Dunno about the battery part but if all phases are bonded together and connected to a ground spike theoretically it's supposed to short out the system and create a zero potential.
Would have to alligator clip all the wires together and connect to a ground spike

I'm not sure what voltages the system puts out but it not wise to even get close enough to clip a 1000 plus voltage system which is the max them pliers rated for. A good system is also supposed to have a grounded phase to so that you don't need to touch two wires to get zap.

Postby 88sins » July 7th, 2024, 6:24 pm

alfa wrote:
VII wrote:Ent any decent pliers defeating that easy ? Not to metion the $1000 dollar Klien ones..

alfa wrote:

I'm not sure what voltages the system puts out but it not wise to even get close enough to clip a 1000 plus voltage system which is the max them pliers rated for. A good system is also supposed to have a grounded phase to so that you don't need to touch two wires to get zap.

Throw a simple chain over yuh nice new electric fence, and it dead like a old man piggy

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2024, 8:07 pm

Alfa, common, you know they does wrap thing in cloth to build up resistance to work live. My pliers rated for 1kv and they went past pliers. They have power tools now. With recent advancement in battery technology it's possible to chop up most burglar proof with a good disc and a cordless grinder. Notice I said good disc, so men really have to know what they doing.
Have the oxy-acetylene kit like mine as well. That dealing with burglar proof.

Had issues with men throwing chain over high tension to trip it and have a field day.

Alarms are a good deterrent and a latching relay is a good option. It's closed with a NC aux on an alarm. So once the circuit is broken the relay is opened and cannot close back as the line is broken and the NC becomes closed so it will sound the alarm.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2024, 8:38 pm

the cheaper cutting discs does actually cut better since they thin
you just have to not flex and break it but they usually avoid noisy tools
which is why car scissor jacks are number one

i have been told the better electric fence power supplies have some form of alarm to detect faults
havent researched it though

nervewrecker wrote:Alfa, common, you know they does wrap thing in cloth to build up resistance to work live. My pliers rated for 1kv and they went past pliers. They have power tools now. With recent advancement in battery technology it's possible to chop up most burglar proof with a good disc and a cordless grinder. Notice I said good disc, so men really have to know what they doing.
Have the oxy-acetylene kit like mine as well. That dealing with burglar proof.

Had issues with men throwing chain over high tension to trip it and have a field day.

Alarms are a good deterrent and a latching relay is a good option. It's closed with a NC aux on an alarm. So once the circuit is broken the relay is opened and cannot close back as the line is broken and the NC becomes closed so it will sound the alarm.

Postby nervewrecker » July 7th, 2024, 10:38 pm

Have other types of razor disc's like the ones I use. Can run through 15 - 20 of the normal razor disc's while the other lasts about a 2 weeks.

It's possible for electric fences to have a protection circuit against faults like auto reclosers. It will open in an instant on a high current surge so they may have such will maintaining a current flow on something with a resistance accross it like a human body.

Postby pugboy » July 7th, 2024, 10:51 pm

those inverter welders have a circuit like that
if you stick the rod to material it cuts off to not short out the unit and starts back to work when rod unstuck and arc struck again

nervewrecker wrote:Have other types of razor disc's like the ones I use. Can run through 15 - 20 of the normal razor disc's while the other lasts about a 2 weeks.

It's possible for electric fences to have a protection circuit against faults like auto reclosers. It will open in an instant on a high current surge so they may have such will maintaining a current flow on something with a resistance accross it like a human body.

solarkh

Postby solarkh » July 8th, 2024, 6:41 am

With all the big wall, security fence
,cameras etc, wouldn’t the bandits just wait for you to open the gate and hold you up?

Postby j.o.e » July 8th, 2024, 6:44 am

solarkh wrote:With all the big wall, security fence
,cameras etc, wouldn’t the bandits just wait for you to open the gate and hold you up?

Pretty much

Postby pugboy » July 8th, 2024, 7:07 am

that’s the sad reality, best you can do is hope to live in area which doesn’t have street layout conducive to them parked out of your vision whilst your gate is opening

j.o.e wrote:
solarkh wrote:With all the big wall, security fence

Pretty much

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 12th, 2024, 1:06 pm

question. With this notice about security system components:
https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... ry-1st.pdf

Did anyone bring in their own camera/systems recently and got exempt? I recall some time ago, you were getting jammed.

I find this looks like a good option for some monitoring coverage, plus builtin siren
https://www.wyze.com/products/wyze-cam-floodlight-pro

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2024, 1:14 pm

i’ve brought many wyze cams
no taxes

Postby MaxPower » July 12th, 2024, 1:42 pm

pug,

i know yuh believe in them wall spikes.

Postby pugboy » July 12th, 2024, 1:49 pm

perimeter defence first and foremost
cameras is for entertainment use only

right now i use my wyze cams to study the rodent infestation in my neighbourhood

MaxPower wrote:pug,

i know yuh believe in them wall spikes.

Postby Chimera » July 12th, 2024, 1:53 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:question. With this notice about security system components:
https://www.finance.gov.tt/wp-content/u ... ry-1st.pdf

Did anyone bring in their own camera/systems recently and got exempt? I recall some time ago, you were getting jammed.

I find this looks like a good option for some monitoring coverage, plus builtin siren
https://www.wyze.com/products/wyze-cam-floodlight-pro
It's all exempted

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » July 12th, 2024, 4:24 pm

Take a few hours, sit and ponder how you would rob your own place and you would see the amount of ideas you come up with. When you finish, you would want to sell your house