Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2024, 12:23 pm

As i said PNM areas will be getting ur taxes to fund PNM gangs
IMG-20241007-WA0033.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » October 7th, 2024, 3:14 pm

Formula = wratchment and bobol under the guide of equitable distribution based on presumably pop density.

Why not simply allocate the region/locale specific collected funds to their respective corporation.

Postby redmanjp » October 7th, 2024, 3:26 pm

well it cant be that the corporation only getting taxes from 10 houses which might be $5000 a year vs another with 1000 getting $500000 a year. perhaps the 1 with 10 get somewhere in between like $30000.

Postby paid_influencer » October 7th, 2024, 6:59 pm

zoom rader wrote:As i said PNM areas will be getting ur taxes to fund PNM gangsIMG-20241007-WA0033.jpg

so the whole premise of this tax was a lie lol

Postby zoom rader » October 7th, 2024, 7:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
zoom rader wrote:As i said PNM areas will be getting ur taxes to fund PNM gangsIMG-20241007-WA0033.jpg

so the whole premise of this tax was a lie lol
PNM it self is a lie, invented by the white trash in 1956 to control the black population.

Slowly over time its the 1% that control the black population

Postby The_Honourable » October 30th, 2024, 11:16 am

Imbert: Online property tax payments start today

FROM today you will be able to pay your property tax online, Finance Minister Colm Imbert has announced.

Imbert said that state owned First Citizens will today introduce its online payment option with other commercial banks set to follow suit soon.

And according to Imbert in the "near future" you will be able to pay all of your taxes online.

Imbert made the comments a short while ago while delivering the feature address at the Trinidad and Tobago Stock Exchanges' Capital Market Conference 2024 being held at the Hyatt Regency, Port of Spain.

During his budget presentation Imbert announced that by October 31 online payment options for property tax would be available.

"I am pleased to report that First Citizens Bank will go live today to provide an electronic banking facility to allow property owners to pay their property tax online the same way they pay their utility bills," Inbert said.

Imbert said this was all art of the Government's thrust to provide digital options for all financial transactions.

https://trinidadexpress.com/newsextra/i ... 54296.html

Rayden6

Postby Rayden6 » October 31st, 2024, 5:09 pm

Saw Inshan Ishmeal post on FB a authorization letter from Valuations Div asking for permission to take photos inside and outside of your property anybody saw this?

Postby 88sins » October 31st, 2024, 9:23 pm

Fack dem, and dat
Why should the population pay it at all?
Especially when the BS clause "at the ministers discretion" exists in the legislation wrt exemptions?

Postby The_Honourable » November 2nd, 2024, 9:08 pm

Property tax deadline extended to December 20

The deadline to pay property tax has been extended to December 20, Finance Minister Colm Imbert has announced.

In a post on his X account, Imbert also shared that the Board of Inland Revenue’s deadline to deliver property tax notices has been extended to November 29.

On September 23, Imbert had previously advised that the property tax payment deadline had been extended from September 30 to November 29, under Legal Notice No. 175 of 2024.

https://trinidadexpress.com/business/pr ... f749b.html

Postby paid_influencer » November 2nd, 2024, 9:21 pm

when they starting with commercial properties?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 2nd, 2024, 10:25 pm

paid_influencer wrote:when they starting with commercial properties?

One cannot tax thyself

Postby The_Honourable » November 7th, 2024, 1:11 am

Govt collects $105M in property tax

With the Government expecting to collect $191 million in property tax, the Inland Revenue Division (IRD) has already received $105 million from property owners. In a media conference yesterday, Minister of Finance Colm Imbert revealed that, as of yesterday, property owners paid $105,609,387 for 104,102 properties. Breaking it down, he said $13 million came from property owners within the Couva/Tabaquite/Talparo Regional Corporation; Diego Martin Borough Corporation, $13 million; San Juan/Laventille Regional Corporation, $9 million; San Fernando City Corporation, $9 million; Chaguanas Borough Corporation, $9 million; Penal/Debe Regional Corporation, $8 million; and Port-of-Spain City, $3 million.

The largest payment of $18 million came from the Tunapuna/Piarco Regional Corporation. With these payments crossing 50 per cent of the expected revenue, Imbert said the Ministry of Finance (MoF) foresees it climbing to $191 million. Imbert reiterated that the Board of Inland Revenue’s (BIR) deadline for delivering property tax notices to property owners has been extended to November 29.

He clarified that this notice is not the valuation notice, but the property tax notice. Explaining the difference, he said the Notice of Valuation that property owners receive from the Valuation Division informs them of their property’s Annual Rental Value (ARV). It is not the Notice of Assessment (NOA) from the BIR, outlining the tax payable, which is two per cent of the ARV.

“I am aware that people continue to get a little mixed up between a notice of an Annual Rental Value and a property tax assessment notice. The deadline that has been extended is the deadline for the Board of Inland Revenue to deliver property tax assessment notices. As a result, we have extended the time for payment without penalty from November 29 to December 20,” Imbert said.

There are concerns over delays in receiving notices, with some property owners worried about incurring penalties for missing the payment deadline. One writer to Guardian Media said despite submitting all required documentation, she still awaits the notice to proceed with payment.

“Repeated visits to the Port-of-Spain office have yielded the same response: Someone will call, someone will visit, and notice will be sent. As the year draws to a close, this delay is causing unnecessary anxiety and potential financial hardship,” the writer stated.

The writer urged the Valuation Division to expedite the process of issuing the notices.

Imbert acknowledged this concern and assured that property owners who do not receive an NOA will not face penalties and interest. He stated he would need to make appropriate amendments to allow those people to pay later.

“At this time, they do not have to pay once they do not get it by November 29, the end of this month, because people are a little worried. They have not received their tax assessment notice, or they have an old one with the three per cent rate, or they only have a valuation notice, and they are worried. Do not worry. If you have not received this, you do not have to pay at this point.”

Imbert also reminded the public that there are Linx (point of sale) machines at all IRD Regional Offices and District Revenue Offices. These offices also accept cash and cheques.

With online payments now accepted, he said the MoF expects to near the $191 million target as it moves towards December 20. The MoF launched its online payment option for First Citizens Bank customers to pay their property tax via the First Citizens Online Banking and Mobile App on October 30. Imbert said Republic Bank’s online payment should come on stream by Friday, with other banks joining shortly after.

However, he noted that offering online payments was not straightforward, as banks impose a service charge on transfers and revenue should not be deducted. This created challenges in transferring payees’ revenue to the Treasury. Consequently, the Government decided to cover these charges.

“If you pay your phone bill or your electricity bill online, you are going to get a charge, and the service provider may not get the full amount. They may get, just like in a store when you are going to use your debit card, you know the item may cost $100, and the bank may take out $2 for providing that service through Linx. The problem with revenue is that you cannot deduct anything from it, so what we have decided to do is that the Government, in the first instance, will pay the service charge on top of the tax.”

Imbert reiterated that property tax would be allocated to municipal corporations to use for goods and services and their development programmes. He said they would not be able to use it for personnel expenditure and that some legislative adjustments would allow the MoF to distribute the funds over the coming months.

Regarding Tobago, Imbert said the Tobago House of Assembly (THA) Act requires that the THA retains all Tobago revenue for its use. He stated that the THA will collect property tax on the island.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/govt-co ... 66bf3e7511
image-3.5734179.590803.20241106034858.jpg

Postby zoom rader » November 7th, 2024, 3:00 am

^^^ u all see any improvements yet?

Postby Dave » November 7th, 2024, 6:38 am

That 105m he was boasting about he collected would only benefit him and his preferred contractors.
The average Joe remains unaffected.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » November 7th, 2024, 6:39 am

Like grande corporation didn't collect any... Lol

viedcht

Postby viedcht » November 7th, 2024, 7:54 am

Dey done tief dat arredy

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 7th, 2024, 8:40 am

zoom rader wrote:^^^ u all see any improvements yet?
Roads going to get paved from about mid next year. #2025election.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 7th, 2024, 8:56 am

Ent all the tax is going to the consolidated fund?Have the allocation to the corporations been calculated? I don't even know if they figure out the distribution ratios yet.

death365

Postby death365 » November 7th, 2024, 11:54 am

December 20, Finance Minister Colm Imbert has announced.

so somebody in their infinite wisdom say - yesh the friday before christmas is a bess date to extend too...

ok papi :bday:

Postby j.o.e » November 7th, 2024, 12:55 pm

death365 wrote:December 20, Finance Minister Colm Imbert has announced.

so somebody in their infinite wisdom say - yesh the friday before christmas is a bess date to extend too...

ok papi :bday:

People does get pay early for Christmas. Sort out yuh tax and stop buying imported items you don’t need. lol

Postby sMASH » November 7th, 2024, 1:16 pm

Ptax will get sort out after ge 2025...
Go ahead and invest in imburt dss

Postby MG Man » November 7th, 2024, 2:41 pm

sMASH wrote:Ptax will get sort out after ge 2025...
Go ahead and invest in imburt dss

why would this gov't rescind it after winning ge?

fokhan_96

Postby fokhan_96 » November 7th, 2024, 3:25 pm

Has the government ever did anything to anyone who hasn't paid any tax. What about people who pay little or no income tax and claim every expense as a business expense.

Postby MG Man » November 7th, 2024, 3:42 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Has the government ever did anything to anyone who hasn't paid any tax. What about people who pay little or no income tax and claim every expense as a business expense.

well in this instance, it's free land if you don't....they not gonna resist that

Postby paid_influencer » November 7th, 2024, 4:55 pm

fokhan_96 wrote:Has the government ever did anything to anyone who hasn't paid any tax. What about people who pay little or no income tax and claim every expense as a business expense.

most workers earn less than under the personal allowance.
but we do pay tax in the form of VAT and duties on the goods
we also pay NIS as a significant % of our income

what would help if the govt go cashless
no more people ducking taxes
everything digital and the Revenue Authority could take directly from ppl bank account

rowley need to get on this cashless thing right now. do it during the christmas season so the currency could switch over easier just like he did in 2019. he needs to do it just like he promised he would

Postby 88sins » November 7th, 2024, 8:29 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

everything digital and the Revenue Authority could take directly from ppl bank account

rowley need to get on this cashless thing right now
. do it during the christmas season so the currency could switch over easier just like he did in 2019. he needs to do it just like he promised he would

You really eh kno what you saying nah.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 26th, 2024, 11:36 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

rowley need to get on this cashless thing right now. do it during the christmas season so the currency could switch over easier just like he did in 2019. he needs to do it just like he promised he would

"no more people ducking taxes"
You doh understand the tax system ... Wealthy and smart people avoid taxes legally.

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » December 4th, 2024, 8:27 pm

I noticed that RBC and Scotia (unless I've missed it) haven't issued anything in regards to online payment and hasn't been shown on the MOF website.

I also noticed they stated BIR had till Nov29th to issue notices of assessment, but I haven't gotten one as yet.

Is it once you don't have that, they cannot incur charges on you? It's making me think they're gonna extend it again.

Postby pugboy » December 4th, 2024, 8:47 pm

i went in to query and was told the property wasn’t assessed yet and don’t have to do anything until it is

MISHI wrote:I noticed that RBC and Scotia (unless I've missed it) haven't issued anything in regards to online payment and hasn't been shown on the MOF website.

I also noticed they stated BIR had till Nov29th to issue notices of assessment, but I haven't gotten one as yet.

Is it once you don't have that, they cannot incur charges on you? It's making me think they're gonna extend it again.