Astronomy

The Bamboo Online

Re: Astronomy

Postby The Bamboo Online » August 17th, 2024, 10:10 am

They Going to get it on the station. Front line exposure.

https://www.livescience.com/space/the-sun/auroras-headed-to-the-us-again-in-aftermath-of-gargantuan-x-class-solar-flare

Auroras may once again be visible in northern parts of the U.S. this weekend as Earth braces for impact from a powerful coronal mass ejection.

The Bamboo Online

Postby The Bamboo Online » September 12th, 2024, 9:07 pm

Lots of space related news today and nobody post up anything about…. Shame shame shame

1) Very first commercial space walks and test of next gen 1st gen spacex space suits.
2) Mass ejection of matter from the Sun hits earth.
3) Increase radiation exposure for space men as high energy particles strike earth’s magnetic fields
4) And mega Northern lights show in the night sky tonight. Closer to poles you are the brighter it will be.

Postby st7 » September 12th, 2024, 9:25 pm

*shhhkkt

ground control to maj, tom, over

where are you? over

(and oi'mm so soirry oi cannot sleep oi cannot dream tonoiight)

Postby mero » September 13th, 2024, 6:58 am

The Bamboo Online wrote:Lots of space related news today and nobody post up anything about…. Shame shame shame

1) Very first commercial space walks and test of next gen 1st gen spacex space suits.
2) Mass ejection of matter from the Sun hits earth.
3) Increase radiation exposure for space men as high energy particles strike earth’s magnetic fields
4) And mega Northern lights show in the night sky tonight. Closer to poles you are the brighter it will be.
Northern lights been making some appearances earlier on in the year and lower than usual.

Sistren from Saskatoon send me this last week.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2024, 6:40 pm

Postby st7 » September 17th, 2024, 7:01 pm

oh damn... that looks good and bloody!

Postby redmanjp » September 17th, 2024, 7:58 pm

^supposed to be a partial eclipse too but only a lil piece of the moon blocked (less than 5% probably) so u wouldn't even notice that.

Postby st7 » September 17th, 2024, 8:01 pm

it starts at 8:41p and maximum is at 10:44p

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » September 17th, 2024, 10:37 pm

Can see it!

img_276546.jpg
img_276546.jpg (8.26 KiB) Viewed 7071 times

Postby st7 » September 17th, 2024, 11:10 pm

kinda looks like an eyeball
WhatsApp Image 2024-09-17 at 10.50.14 PM.jpeg

Postby Les Bain » October 7th, 2024, 8:56 pm

We've got a temporary 2nd moon until late November this year. The science vlogs claim it's the size of a bus and can't be seen without a telescope but I'm seeing something. It looked like a dim star around 6:30 but now it seems to be flickering and going from white to red.

Also, a few degrees from the moon to your right there's a bright star with a misty glow about it. What's the deal with that?

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » October 7th, 2024, 8:59 pm

^ What them aliens trying to do to we bai?

Postby Les Bain » October 7th, 2024, 9:11 pm

Rowley might say they here to dig in we bamsee.

Postby st7 » October 12th, 2024, 4:44 pm

anyone gonna try to see the comet?

Postby sMASH » October 12th, 2024, 10:00 pm

Too much cloud

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » October 13th, 2024, 10:27 pm

I saw it tonight around 6.40pm from the foreshore. Visible with naked eye, and took some pics with my S23 cell phone (zoom in a bit)
20241013_184043.jpg
20241013_183840.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 13th, 2024, 10:44 pm

^ oh wow!

Postby st7 » October 14th, 2024, 12:56 am

apparently tonight was a good night to watch cause it had less clouds... i saw someone post from chaguanas that they saw it from their house... lucky them

Val

Postby Val » October 14th, 2024, 6:58 am

st7 wrote:apparently tonight was a good night to watch cause it had less clouds... i saw someone post from chaguanas that they saw it from their house... lucky them

Yea she was tracking the time, she's a good friend. Used an iPhone 15 Pro to capture the shot, truly amazing what that phone can do for night skies. They also captured the Milky Way with it in Tobago.

Postby st7 » October 14th, 2024, 9:29 am

Val wrote:
st7 wrote:apparently tonight was a good night to watch cause it had less clouds... i saw someone post from chaguanas that they saw it from their house... lucky them

Yea she was tracking the time, she's a good friend. Used an iPhone 15 Pro to capture the shot, truly amazing what that phone can do for night skies. They also captured the Milky Way with it in Tobago.

you can get the milky way once there's little to no light pollution and use short/long exposure with any phone. once the camera app supports it and the camera sensor is decent. but since 2018 android had the astrophotography mode feature introduced.

Val

Postby Val » October 15th, 2024, 9:50 am

Yea I was able to get it with my iPhone 13 Pro last night.

Postby st7 » October 15th, 2024, 10:15 am

i was supposed to come there last night, but i saw the bunch of clouds...so i say i eh go bother

man hopefully today will be clear...

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 15th, 2024, 6:49 pm

Saw it!

3b5f826d-1e08-47f1-92dd-2f3c63a9a599.jpg

ecf9e74c-0607-416d-8558-f81a5c551816.jpg

In case you are trying to find it that's Venus on the left and the comet on the right of this photo
140da3af-c5e1-4b7f-90eb-dbbdbd9801d0.jpg

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » October 15th, 2024, 10:08 pm

I think it's the other way around.. Venus on the left and comet on the right :)

Postby st7 » October 15th, 2024, 10:15 pm

i couldnt make it out with my eyes, but i saw it on my phone though

used night sight
PXL_20241015_224404702.NIGHT-EDIT.jpg

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » October 15th, 2024, 10:19 pm

I also saw it tonight from the foreshore..from around 6.30pm.
IMG-20241015-WA0004.jpg

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » October 15th, 2024, 10:23 pm

20241015_183558.jpg

Postby st7 » October 15th, 2024, 10:24 pm

it had plenty ppl there trying to see it? i doh mind going there if it safe enough lol

ttphilip

Postby ttphilip » October 15th, 2024, 10:27 pm

Quite a few. It was early, 6.30pm, I think it’s relatively safe that early. Bring camera or cell phone camera, maybe binoculars if you have

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » October 21st, 2024, 3:49 pm

60bb3059-dc7c-4020-8558-008006c8c7b3.jpg

7d505313-049a-4bf4-bccc-816703e3969c.jpg