Energy Policy-Why Not Nuclear Power for TnT?

abbow

Re: Energy Policy-Why Not Nuclear Power for TnT?

Postby abbow » October 25th, 2024, 3:29 am

The issue is not the plant....it would be the following:

Who get the contract, kickback, who famz getting a wuk inside, cost overruns, which politician build ah building with tax payers money to rent to the workers and contractors during the build, and then which gov gets to boast about it on an election platform.....then the tax payers might have to fork out billions after project abandonment where the contractor sues the state.......then while zero fcks are given by anyone we end up like Fukishima or worst Chernobyl....

btw .....anyone heard anything recently about that piece of work/fcukery in the middle of the creek?.....that might trigger another COE just now

Postby Les Bain » October 25th, 2024, 12:32 pm

sMASH wrote:
Les Bain wrote:
sMASH wrote:
wing wrote:Nuclear power in Trinidad?Screenshot_2024-10-23-19-57-42-955_com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox-edit.jpg
If in the hands of pnm operations , like paria and niquan , then yes.
If in the hands of the actual competence here, it woukd be as safe and unassuming as universal cereal company .

Bring nuclear !

Operations manager at trindad nuclear power generation company , sounds like a nice title to have.

The Paria divers is a strong case against this. One mishap and it will be downplayed into oblivion while everybody from President to pauper is glowing green, melting and blaming Kamla for bringing nuclear power to Trinidad.
That's the thing. In pt lisas there are projects many times more complex than the paria divers job , that are handled very often, and go off sans incident .

Like regular average work day, like a week is as cumulatively complex as that diver job.

We have plenty people could handle that.

Case in point: niquan blow up multiple times with the pnm affiliated structure . They hired the best of the best locals and within a year plant produced no incidents.

And updated tech, the fissile material is very secure in with good fail safe devices ... It not that dangerous.

Look at submarines ... They operate quite well in even more complex conditions .

I wah operate a nuke plant.

Don't let your dreams be dreams. Scan the international market and send a c.v.

Postby 88sins » October 25th, 2024, 5:17 pm

adnj wrote:Nuclear fusion reactor could be here as soon as 2025

A viable nuclear fusion reactor — one that spits out more energy than it consumes — could be here as soon as 2025.

That's the takeaway of seven new studies, published Sept. 29 in the Journal of Plasma Physics.

If a fusion reactor reaches that milestone, it could pave the way for massive generation of clean energy. 

During fusion, atomic nuclei are forced together to form heavier atoms. When the mass of the resulting atoms is less than the mass of the atoms that went into their creation, the excess mass is converted to energy, liberating an extraordinary amount of light and heat. Fusion powers the sun and stars, as the mighty gravity at their hearts fuse hydrogen to create helium.

https://www.livescience.com/amp/nuclear ... -2025.html

In a country where they can't even figure out how to take care of a fleet of buses, yuh really feel a nuclear reactor is a good idea?
Not to mention, you know what it go cost to pay ppl to run that, considering that there's damn near nobody in the region with the qualifications to do so?
And exactly where we storing the waste material? It only have so much room in Rowley ass, and right now it fully occupied with a lot of different people heads and lips. Or we hadda factor in that cost for a foreign country to do that for us too?

Postby nervewrecker » October 25th, 2024, 10:02 pm

What kind of waste material is generated by a nuclear plant?

Also, I am stressing on management. Jointly owned entities are managed near first world status when they have foreign owners. The nonsense we accustomed to here will result in immediate dismissal with just the slightest hint of it.

Also, qualified to run what? We need nothing more than operators, management as a human interface to schedule tasks, manual labor to do menial tasks like paint, cut grass etc and automation handles the rest.

Postby nervewrecker » October 25th, 2024, 10:03 pm

Do some research on nuclear diamond batteries.

Postby zoom rader » October 26th, 2024, 12:52 am

nervewrecker wrote:Too much to read, we setting up a solar farm right now. BP project iirc, executed by D2f.

Nuclear Is a definite yes from me. We keep looking at plants built decades ago and we have fears of local management. Do you all know we have plants jointly owned by companies like Mitsubishi? Iirc CGCL is part owed by Mitsubishi, massy has shares in it and I'm not sure how much we own. I think proman bought majority shares in TGU as well, open to correction. Also Atlantic LNG is part owned by shell iirc. Most of these places have really good management that simply will not tolerate the kind of nonsense we accustomed to.

In this day and age there is automation and redundancies for instance of failures. Monitoring and feedback devices are also far more accurate and efficient than what existing here decades ago. Manpower is only needed for general maintenance and manual labor, nothing more. Done right the incident of a meltdown should be never.

Diverting gas from power generation means more gas for sale and more gas for point Lisas. Gas for point lisas means jobs for people.
Nerve

A privately run plants with qualified staff and competent is a yes.

However PNM has a habit of politically appointing idiots to run industrial plant with high failure rate.

Even with privately run plants PNM demand favors to have their people installed in these plants.

I have worked on the estate for over 20 years and have seen this first hand.

Postby 88sins » October 26th, 2024, 12:56 pm

Nerve
wrt to waste
There's two primary sources of waste material in generating nuclear energy:
Water from the cooling systems
The actual radioactive materials themselves

Now, things to note.
As industry standard, rods are used until 10% of their energy is expended. And what that means is that we will need to have a place to safely and securely store and manage this highly radioactive material, permanently, because these things emit radiation and have a VERY LONG half-life. And considering this is a small island, that storage requirement in of and by itself, over a relatively short time, will prove to be a challenge at best, impossible at worst. Then there's the issues wrt security, but I eh go get into that.
And that's just storage for the rods, we eh start to talk about what to do with the water used in cooling the reactor, that is also contaminated with radiation. Guess what happens if that water storage system develops a small leak and seeps into the groundwater? WASA can barely clean silt out of the water in their lines, them eh checking for radiation levels not once.

Nuclear energy, for an island this small, is impractical and not worth the initial outlay cost, the operational cost, ant the risk potential. Because basically, in the event of an incident, literally everyone on the island either dead or dying from radiation poisoning or disease caused by said poisoning.
The reason this isn't as much of an issue for the US. Russia, etc, they have the land mass and can evacuate people easily in the event of a disaster quickly and easily to areas far beyond the exclusion zone and the affected area. On this island, we eh have that option.

Is ok if you would want nuclear energy here, would be a cool scn , we be the first in the region to go nuclear.
But that's a lot of expense and risk for regional pips

Postby pugboy » October 26th, 2024, 2:24 pm

security is certainly a concern
doh wanna have a reactor running and waste products and then realize a lot of iranians suddenly visiting the country

Postby 88sins » October 26th, 2024, 7:12 pm

pugboy wrote:security is certainly a concern
doh wanna have a reactor running and waste products and then realize a lot of iranians suddenly visiting the country

Imagine the IAEC or another acronym visits, and the following convo takes place

"We see you bought 50 rods in the last year, yet you've accounted for only 49, and we've observed some unusual marine traffic through your ports during the last six months. Please explain and provide the location of the 10 unaccounted for items within 7 days"

I go be honest
It would be in kinda fun to watch the national village idiot try to explain he way outta that, to people who see him for and as the lower primate he and his ilk actually are :lol:

Postby sMASH » October 26th, 2024, 7:16 pm

88sins wrote:Nerve
wrt to waste
There's two primary sources of waste material in generating nuclear energy:
Water from the cooling systems
The actual radioactive materials themselves

Now, things to note.
As industry standard, rods are used until 10% of their energy is expended. And what that means is that we will need to have a place to safely and securely store and manage this highly radioactive material, permanently, because these things emit radiation and have a VERY LONG half-life. And considering this is a small island, that storage requirement in of and by itself, over a relatively short time, will prove to be a challenge at best, impossible at worst. Then there's the issues wrt security, but I eh go get into that.
And that's just storage for the rods, we eh start to talk about what to do with the water used in cooling the reactor, that is also contaminated with radiation. Guess what happens if that water storage system develops a small leak and seeps into the groundwater? WASA can barely clean silt out of the water in their lines, them eh checking for radiation levels not once.

Nuclear energy, for an island this small, is impractical and not worth the initial outlay cost, the operational cost, ant the risk potential. Because basically, in the event of an incident, literally everyone on the island either dead or dying from radiation poisoning or disease caused by said poisoning.
The reason this isn't as much of an issue for the US. Russia, etc, they have the land mass and can evacuate people easily in the event of a disaster quickly and easily to areas far beyond the exclusion zone and the affected area. On this island, we eh have that option.

Is ok if you would want nuclear energy here, would be a cool scn , we be the first in the region to go nuclear.
But that's a lot of expense and risk for regional pips
None of the waste should be stored locally . Only temporarily before shipped out.
Which ever company doing this, most like China because of their modular systems, would have that ad part of the contract, to handle all the waste .

Too many reactors all over the world for security to be a unique consideration ... Just go with the established protocols .

Postby 88sins » October 27th, 2024, 7:09 am

Ah smash, and that's the issue, because storage is another running cost of operation.
By the time you tally up the cost of going nuclear including construction, staffing, materials, transport and waste disposal, the population will be paying a lot more for electricity than we are now.

You cool with your electric bill going from $400 a cycle to $1200? cuz most people ain't gonna look forward to that.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » October 27th, 2024, 10:20 am

Wait nah.... Ah doh see Redman again He okay?

Postby zoom rader » October 27th, 2024, 2:56 pm

viedcht wrote:Wait nah.... Ah doh see Redman again He okay?
He was an idiot blogger just like Habit7 & Wing