Re: Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2024, 7:03 pm

protests raise awareness among the grassroots
not everybody does read

Postby hover11 » December 7th, 2024, 7:08 pm

I agree with this, protest with no inconvenience doesn't make any sense. As it doesn't show great urgency to rectify the issue
pugboy wrote:protests only effective when they affect others
eg burn tires, block road, services

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2024, 7:12 pm

hover11 wrote:I agree with this, protest with no inconvenience doesn't make any sense. As it doesn't show great urgency to rectify the issue

in less than 6 months ppl will have a chance to rectify the issue
even getting time off from work by law to go rectify the issue

reminding everyone go EBC and make sure your address, id card, etc in order

Re: PNM in Gov't

Postby zoom rader » December 7th, 2024, 7:15 pm

Protess is only valuable when PNM is not in office as the state is lapse at that time.

Postby hover11 » December 7th, 2024, 7:15 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:I agree with this, protest with no inconvenience doesn't make any sense. As it doesn't show great urgency to rectify the issue

Remember he could extend elections by 3 months,knowing how bad the current state of affairs are , he may very well do that and suffer ppl even further

Postby zoom rader » December 7th, 2024, 7:17 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

Yes this is protess that Trinidad needs but I am afraid that the African population lacks logic & reasoning when it comes to critical thinking on voting

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2024, 7:18 pm

technically he could call it in november but financially idk if the state has that staying power

more like we get christmas-->carnival-->election where money and vibes flowing throughout
after election it going to be dark tho

Postby The_Honourable » December 7th, 2024, 10:07 pm

paid_influencer wrote:technically he could call it in november but financially idk if the state has that staying power

more like we get christmas-->carnival-->election where money and vibes flowing throughout
after election it going to be dark tho

More like christmas-->carnival-->mid-term budget-->announce election date-->3 months campaigning-->elections

Rowley held generals in August 2020 and locals in August 2023. I mentioned this before but from history, i believe generals will be in August 2025.

If i want to be a bit bolder, 11th or 18th August 2025. After emancipation, before Independence, new academic year and budget.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2024, 10:16 pm

2020 elections had special circumstances tho, and local elections is a completely different thing to generals.

you know economic circumstances going to deteriorate badly next year. I think they want people drunk and distracted when going to the polls. So carnival or right after carnival. definitely not after mid-term budget why would they do that

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2024, 10:22 pm

locals are straight up patronage network contests. the swing voters don't participate. LGEs are completely irrelevant to generals

Postby The_Honourable » December 7th, 2024, 10:26 pm

paid_influencer wrote:2020 elections had special circumstances tho, and local elections is a completely different thing to generals.

you know economic circumstances going to deteriorate badly next year. I think they want people drunk and distracted when going to the polls. So carnival or right after carnival. definitely not after mid-term budget why would they do that

paid_influencer wrote:locals are straight up patronage network contests. the swing voters don't participate. LGEs are completely irrelevant to generals

Comparing Generals to Locals is not the point. It's relevant cause political parties sees it as a test run and to get a feel.

Rowley doesn't feel threatened at this time to call "snap" elections. He has less than 9 months in his term anyway. Opposition forces are still fragmented.

Deterioration next year may happen but remember, Covid was a low point and he still won

Mid-term budget Imbert can release money to mamaguy

Plus a lot of infrastructural projects are set to be completed in 2025... more mamaguy

Trinis does be drunk and distracted a lot of the time, not just during carnival.

Postby hover11 » December 7th, 2024, 10:32 pm

I could be wrong but I just don't see them fixing everything in less than nine months to make ppl vote for them. Tribal voting aside, what good is PNM doing atm? Where are the accomplishments? For a party that had Two consecutive terms , all I could remember the Rowley administration for is raising their salaries and pensions while the rest of the country suffered.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2024, 10:54 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Deterioration next year may happen but remember, Covid was a low point and he still won

is this a joke? "Protecting we from covid" was the only reason he won in 2020.

Postby paid_influencer » December 7th, 2024, 11:01 pm

The_Honourable wrote:Comparing Generals to Locals is not the point. It's relevant cause political parties sees it as a test run and to get a feel.

that doesn't make them relevant. All them regional corps run via patronage networks and the LGE results reflect that. There is 0 input from swing voters and 0 impact on the generals.

Trinis does be drunk and distracted a lot of the time, not just during carnival.

christmas and carnival is the only time we can have the illusion of a functioning economy in 2024/2025. It is insane to delay an election to wait on the time when you know the economy will be basically dead.

Unlike 2020, the economy WILL be the deciding issue this cycle.

Postby MaxPower » December 8th, 2024, 4:50 am

hover11 wrote:I could be wrong but I just don't see them fixing everything in less than nine months to make ppl vote for them. Tribal voting aside, what good is PNM doing atm? Where are the accomplishments? For a party that had Two consecutive terms , all I could remember the Rowley administration for is raising their salaries and pensions while the rest of the country suffered.

Jason,

PNM and UNC dont need to do anything to “make” people vote for them.

At the end of the day, regardless of what happen, and generallllly speaking…..the Indian voting for the UNC and the black man voting for PNM.

That’s how it is, unfortunately.

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2024, 6:56 am

hover11 wrote:I could be wrong but I just don't see them fixing everything in less than nine months to make ppl vote for them. Tribal voting aside, what good is PNM doing atm? Where are the accomplishments? For a party that had Two consecutive terms , all I could remember the Rowley administration for is raising their salaries and pensions while the rest of the country suffered.

Jason,

At the end of the day, regardless of what happen, and generallllly speaking…..the Indian voting for the UNC and the black man voting for PNM.

Max,

Rowley must go

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2024, 7:59 am

Jason,

No max, you have Greedy Injuns that will vote PNM

Meanwhile, 1% laughs at a stupid country as they build a bigger buffer from lower class people.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » December 8th, 2024, 8:10 am

118 milli extra for Tobago airport and not a word.... Then again if 3 billi could disappear, this is small thing

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2024, 8:39 am

Minister of Finance knows the populace are mostly idiots who pay him no mind so it easy to fumble with figures and no one bats an eye. He's done worse yet he retains his position, they had to get rid of Hinds because ppl couldn't take him anymore but I think Imbert gonna be alot harder to remove.

Postby The_Honourable » December 8th, 2024, 11:26 am

paid_influencer wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Deterioration next year may happen but remember, Covid was a low point and he still won

is this a joke? "Protecting we from covid" was the only reason he won in 2020.

Not a joke because only reason or not, he won, not so?

paid_influencer wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:Comparing Generals to Locals is not the point. It's relevant cause political parties sees it as a test run and to get a feel.

that doesn't make them relevant. All them regional corps run via patronage networks and the LGE results reflect that. There is 0 input from swing voters and 0 impact on the generals.

christmas and carnival is the only time we can have the illusion of a functioning economy in 2024/2025. It is insane to delay an election to wait on the time when you know the economy will be basically dead.

Unlike 2020, the economy WILL be the deciding issue this cycle.

You fail to see from the perspective of the election machinery in a political party. You can say all you want that it is not relevant from a voter perspective (i agree) while the election committee in a political party crunching numbers, comparing stats, and getting a feel so they will know how to campaign in the general election.

But we under that illusion YEARS now before and after carnival. People have been saying the economy "dead" YEARS now. 88sins alluded to it in another ched but it is the underground economy propping us up.

Rowley is very boldface as you know, carnival will come and go and he'll operate normal. You think Rowley was bothered by the unions "protesting" on a saturday by his whitehall residence in POS when he wasn't there?

Unless something drastic happens, there will be no snap election and Rowley will serve out his term normal.

Postby zoom rader » December 8th, 2024, 11:55 am

PNM , Wing, mero, Joe & Eliteauto hold dis

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2024, 11:57 am

zoom rader wrote:PNM , Wing, mero, Joe & Eliteauto hold dis

Political Sprangers crew

Postby paid_influencer » December 8th, 2024, 12:06 pm

The_Honourable wrote:But we under that illusion YEARS now before and after carnival. People have been saying the economy "dead" YEARS now.

That logic can be sustained only by people with comfy and stable jobs. The body of the country - the minimum wage workers and the pensioners particularly - have seen a dramatic reduction in the standard of living under Rowley. There is no illusion about that. Rowley can't fool people into thinking they have money.

Next year going to be worse because whatever savings people had are being used up and whatever fixed assets like tools, vehicles, housing, health, are going to be deteriorating without the financial ability to fix it, even if the economy mirrors 2024 exactly.

Rowley is very boldface as you know, carnival will come and go and he'll operate normal. You think Rowley was bothered by the unions "protesting" on a saturday by his whitehall residence in POS when he wasn't there?

Unless something drastic happens, there will be no snap election and Rowley will serve out his term normal.

This maybe changes my mind. If Rowley simply does not care about the 2025 election result and already booked his plane ticket off the island next year, he will serve out his term and leave whatever successor to ketch. To think about it, that plan probably already in play.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 8th, 2024, 1:16 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:But we under that illusion YEARS now before and after carnival. People have been saying the economy "dead" YEARS now.

That logic can be sustained only by people with comfy and stable jobs. The body of the country - the minimum wage workers and the pensioners particularly - have seen a dramatic reduction in the standard of living under Rowley. There is no illusion about that. Rowley can't fool people into thinking they have money.

Next year going to be worse because whatever savings people had are being used up and whatever fixed assets like tools, vehicles, housing, health, are going to be deteriorating without the financial ability to fix it, even if the economy mirrors 2024 exactly.

This maybe changes my mind. If Rowley simply does not care about the 2025 election result and already booked his plane ticket off the island next year, he will serve out his term and leave whatever successor to ketch. To think about it, that plan probably already in play.

You're not wrong.

But paid_influencer but you'd need to consider the following which trumps that:
1) Party and tribal politics
2) Those who would normally vote against the PNM are disillusioned by a lacklustre and ineffectual opposition.
3) Swing voters will most likely not consider the opposition as viable.

The PNM will be winning the next election.

This is a given. A Kamla-led UNC absolutely cannot win another election.

And from the looks of it, the PNM obviously knows this and is doing succession planning with that in mind.
Last edited by Alpha_2nr on December 8th, 2024, 1:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2024, 1:21 pm

Alpha_2nr wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

You're not wrong.

But paid_influencer but you'd need to consider the following which trumps that:
1) Party and tribal politics
2) Those who would normally vote against the PNM are disllusioned by a lacklustre and ineffectual opposition.
3) Swing voters will most likely not consider the opposition as viable.

The PNM will be winning the next election.

This is a given.

And from the looks of it, the PNM obviously knows this and is doing succession planning with that in mind.
Lots of disenfranchised voters here and man talking like if PNM gonna win by a landslide. Probably happened in 2020 but definitely not happening in 2025. PNM doesn't have anything under control atm.

I highly doubt the common man going to take a look around and watch how hard things are and vote PNM. I'm sure Manning thought the same way in 2010, he was confident they would put him back. Let Rowley make that mistake.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 8th, 2024, 1:25 pm

hover11 wrote:Lots of disenfranchised voters here and man talking like if PNM gonna win by a landslide. Probably happened in 2020 but definitely not happening in 2025. PNM doesn't have anything under control atm.

I highly doubt the common man going to take a look around and watch how hard things are and vote PNM. I'm sure Manning thought the same way in 2010, he was confident they would put him back. Let Rowley make that mistake.

Wait wait......you mean people think that the UNC, in its current state, actually has a chance of winning?
Because a Kamla-led UNC cannot win another general election in this country. So unless something drastic happens with the UNC's planning and strategy (a "strategy" which until this point is lethargic and reactive at best ), the PNM-led gov't continues until 2030 at a minimum.

Postby paid_influencer » December 8th, 2024, 1:39 pm

hover11 wrote:I highly doubt the common man going to take a look around and watch how hard things are and vote PNM.

I agree hover. You might get the die-hards to do that, but the die-hards alone cannot win an election.

I think we have some fellas here who hitting the baliser juice hard and hold "Great is the PNM and it shall prevail" to be some biblical truth.

Chambers lost in 1986.
Manning lost in 1995
Manning lost again in 2010 (to Kamla, the same Kamla ppl here doubting)
Rowley would have lost in 2020 if not for the COVID fluke election

Rowley going to lose badly in 2025. Ten years of pent up frustration with crime and the economy. I could take anybody that bet. That loss might make even Chambers look good

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2024, 1:44 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
hover11 wrote:I highly doubt the common man going to take a look around and watch how hard things are and vote PNM.

I agree hover. You might get the die-hards to do that, but the die-hards alone will lose an election.

I think we have some fellas here who hitting the baliser juice hard and hold "Great is the PNM and it shall prevail" to be some biblical truth.

Chambers lost in 1986.
Manning lost in 1995
Manning lost again in 2010 (to Kamla, the same Kamla ppl here doubting)
Rowley would have lost in 2020 if not for the COVID fluke election

Rowley going to lose badly in 2025. I could take anybody that bet. That loss might make even Chambers look good
Whether ppl want to believe it or not PNM saving grace in 2020 was Covid, PNM got a grade F prior to covid . Had it not been for that virus they would have lost. Well it have no covid this rounds. Let's see what the true result should have beenm

Postby paid_influencer » December 8th, 2024, 1:50 pm

all this time last cycle they was boasting that Oxford say we is #1

what we is #1 in now

baliser juice frothing? we could down gallons of baliser juice and still suck off rowley/imbert/hinds?

Postby hover11 » December 8th, 2024, 1:51 pm

paid_influencer wrote:all this time last cycle they was boasting that Oxford say we is #1

what we is #1 in now

baliser juice frothing? we could down gallons of baliser juice and still suck off rowley/imbert/hinds?
Drinking that balisier juice like Kool aid from Jim jones