*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby zoom rader » February 14th, 2025, 8:47 am

Mmoney607 wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:My FIL passed away a few weeks ago.

The amount of help the PNM MP for his area provided (starting at the hospital where my FILs body was misplaced so we almost didn't get the autopsy done in a timely manner) to booking the cremation site on our behalf with the Regional Corporation to organizing parking at a nearby govn't facility on Sunday gone so that we would not have ppl parking on the roads for the Bandara. All this and the MP knows my FIL would have never voted for him.

Meanwhile UNC sent 3 ppl to the Funeral to give their words of comfort (my FIL was on some local seat executive council in that party). They came and were most undiplomatic IMO taking up too much time giving the party platitudes.

TBH its not my constituency but the difference bt the parties really is chalk and cheese

That’s not the job of an mp, the job of an mp is to go to parliament and make laws
In a sense, ur right , an MP asking or demanding favours for you is a conflict of interest and corruption.

Asking ur MP to conduct ur business to get things done is pure corruption.

If however ur business is to improve ur community and uplift ur area then that is what an MP is for.

They are not there to conduct ur personal business or help u get an HDC house, Job or government contract.

People like Joe & Eliteauto are really scum

Postby Dizzy28 » February 14th, 2025, 9:46 am

eliteauto wrote:Condolences for your loss Dizzy, I lost my Mom recently so I know that it can be tough on the family. May he RIP

Thank You Elite. It was especially tough on the wife and all her siblings given that it started as a same day procedure at Mt Hope for diagnostic purposes and ended up in us rushing there in the evening b/c they called and say tell everyone come. A blood clot caused Pulmonary Embolism. On the day of the Autopsy his body was in Arima b/c Mt Hope fridges were filled. OFC no one knew anything that was going on from an administrative purpose at Mt Hope's mortuary.

Condolences to you and your family as well.
In the end Family is the foundation to keep things going in times like these.

Postby Dizzy28 » February 14th, 2025, 9:57 am

Mmoney607 wrote:

The amount of help the PNM MP for his area provided (starting at the hospital where my FILs body was misplaced so we almost didn't get the autopsy done in a timely manner) to booking the cremation site on our behalf with the Regional Corporation to organizing parking at a nearby govn't facility on Sunday gone so that we would not have ppl parking on the roads for the Bandara. All this and the MP knows my FIL would have never voted for him.

Meanwhile UNC sent 3 ppl to the Funeral to give their words of comfort (my FIL was on some local seat executive council in that party). They came and were most undiplomatic IMO taking up too much time giving the party platitudes.

TBH its not my constituency but the difference bt the parties really is chalk and cheese

That’s not the job of an mp, the job of an mp is to go to parliament and make laws

No one asked him for help. He and my FIl both attended the same High School and are active members of the Old Boy's Association. They also are friendly antagonists in Politics so he was there in a personal capacity. However he took it upon himself to assist once he realize things were not going smoothly.

Anyhows this is a GE election thread. Back to the realities.

UNC need to do something big b/c from the circles I am in, middle ground ppl do not view them as a credible alternative. Stuart's ascension and Rowley leaving was quite a masterstroke that rejuvenated the PNM and I don't think UNC has gotten that or care to reply to it. Aligning with OWTU and PEP??? In the 2020 election PEP got like 200 votes in my seat and my seat has a reasonably high turnout with the UNC getting over 10k votes and the PNM person reaching 6000 or something. PEP was never a force.

Postby paid_influencer » February 15th, 2025, 3:42 pm

my leader

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 15th, 2025, 9:12 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:

No one asked him for help. He and my FIl both attended the same High School and are active members of the Old Boy's Association. They also are friendly antagonists in Politics so he was there in a personal capacity. However he took it upon himself to assist once he realize things were not going smoothly.

All of that has nothing to do with his/her performance as an mp

Postby zoom rader » February 16th, 2025, 9:28 am

Mmoney607 wrote:

All of that has nothing to do with his/her performance as an mp
That is how MPs work. They favour others as friends & family while ignoring the perceived lesser value citizen.

This is corruption.

While the MP helped Dizzy28 loved one and Dizzy28 wrote on the lovely experiences he had, it goes to shows how Currupted Dizzy28 is to highlight this.

There are 100s if not 1000s of citizens that need help as the same as Dizzy28 experienced. People ask for help, and those employed as an MP or government clerk ignor the perceived lesser value citizen because they not important to them.

This is corruption

Postby paid_influencer » February 16th, 2025, 9:41 am

putting aside dizzy28, the problem with patronage networks in general is that the system is designed not to work, unless you have a string to pull.

keeping it that way puts all the power into the hands of those holding the strings.

making a system based on merit, or open access, devoid of 'who you know and who knows you' will inherently be a threat to the power and stability of the patronage network.

which is why it can't happen here and why nothing works on the island.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 17th, 2025, 8:40 pm

Imbuttt get selected to run for his constituency again yes

Postby pugboy » February 17th, 2025, 8:48 pm

i see pea take aim at inshan now

Postby alfa » February 17th, 2025, 9:00 pm

pugboy wrote:i see pea take aim at inshan now

Who hasn't that little twit taken issue with?

Postby paid_influencer » February 17th, 2025, 10:00 pm

• Mr. Sanjiv Boodhu to contest the Cumuto / Manzanilla seat;
• Hon. Colm Imbert., to once again contest the Diego Martin North/ East seat;
• Incumbent Diego Martin Central MP, Hon. Symon de Nobriga, reselected;
• Diego Martin West to field a new candidate in the person of Mr. Hans Des Vignes.

Postby paid_influencer » February 17th, 2025, 10:12 pm

^ with those choices, diego martin is a marginal this cycle

Postby The_Honourable » February 17th, 2025, 11:44 pm

Looks like the fix is in for UNC Mayaro... Nicholas Morris went up for nomination

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 18th, 2025, 6:20 am

This was literally sanjiv last night
IMG_20250218_061800.jpg

Postby eliteauto » February 18th, 2025, 6:53 am

COI Nominee
Pt Fortin.jpg

Postby eliteauto » February 18th, 2025, 6:55 am

PNM Nominees -1
PNM.jpg
PNM1.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2025, 9:19 am

Casual observer can point out that their slate is loaded with candidates of all creed and race.
And some young candidates too.

Postby matr1x » February 18th, 2025, 10:23 am

They of different creed and race, but serving the same 1% master

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 18th, 2025, 10:42 am

matr1x wrote:They of different creed and race, but serving the same 1% master

Yup
All local politicians are puppets, you just don't know who the puppet masters are.

My comment was largely aimed at the racist narrative pushed by the populace.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 18th, 2025, 12:09 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Imbuttt get selected to run for his constituency again yes

Imbert very popular in the constituency, he could walk anywhere by himself

Postby zoom rader » February 18th, 2025, 5:13 pm

matr1x wrote:They of different creed and race, but serving the same 1% master

Postby The_Honourable » February 19th, 2025, 8:01 pm

Looks like the fix is in for UNC Tabaquite... Sean Sobers went up for nomination

Postby paid_influencer » February 19th, 2025, 9:22 pm

Anita vs Sobers in Tabaquite

somebody ask why she wearing red

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 19th, 2025, 10:30 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Anita vs Sobers in Tabaquite

somebody ask why she wearing red

All that big speech about the UNC constitution, but She didn’t say No to opportunities to jump ship.

Postby paid_influencer » February 23rd, 2025, 1:54 pm

Mikela speaking out for Workers against Unions.

video is 5 minutes long watch the whole thing if you can

MSJ press conference for reference (starts around the 3 minute mark). MSJ decision not to contest election was made after thorough discussion with the party hierarchy, and based on a long-term strategic interest. The MSJ is not in a position to challenge government so they have decided not to contest. Again, watch the whole thing if just as a contrast to Mikela's offering.

Postby hover11 » February 25th, 2025, 8:00 am

NEW COALITION TO FIGHT THE 2025 GENERAL ELECTIONS - - - - "DISGRUNTLED" UNC MEMBERS INVITED

A new political coalition has emerged to contest this year's general election.

A statement issued on social media on February 24 identified this coalition as the People's Alliance.

The members are the National Transformation Alliance (NTA), Honesty, Opportunity, Performance and Empowerment (HOPE) and the Community Reformation Network (CRN), a non-governmental organisation which works in Chaguanas, Cunupia and parts of East Trinidad.

The alliance will be launched at Mt Lambert, Eastern Main Road, on March 12 at 6.30 pm.

https://newsday.co.tt/2025/02/25/pushba ... thout-unc/
FB_IMG_1740484720135.jpg

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby alfa » February 25th, 2025, 9:15 am

Dibs on how much of them gonna lose their deposit

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2025, 9:57 am

at this late stage pnm doh have to do anything yes

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » February 25th, 2025, 4:04 pm

Nta grasping at anything to make up a slate... Unc in a mess and the pnm continues to be a solid force despite piss poor governance.

Guaranteed victory for the encumbent

Postby pugboy » February 25th, 2025, 4:10 pm

gg rants and body language indicate this
likewise kamala et al

only person who talking confident is pea

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Nta grasping at anything to make up a slate... Unc in a mess and the pnm continues to be a solid force despite piss poor governance.

Guaranteed victory for the encumbent