Re: Giant African Snail?

Postby Chimera » May 22nd, 2025, 3:20 am

https://redfame.com/journal/index.php/i ... /3972/4144

snail killing.jpg

i have no idea what the truth is with the banning of Thiovin, does sell all kinda thing from it have a 21 days pre harvest interval to warning you not to feed animal any crops with Thiovin residue

you know in Trinidad the majority of farmers don't take on the Pre harvest intervals before picking and selling crops...plus when poeple steal crops and sell....is a big scene

so if thiovin as dangerous as it suppose to be...and a man spray his lettuce or cabbage or baigan with thiovin today and it gets sold within a day or two to a consumer (whether by farmer or thief) then it could firetruck you up

i had a bad experience spraying it once where it blow back on my face and half my face was numb for the whole day

but that aside..the thiovin use to work realll good....but i have dogs so i can't even spray that in the yard anymore

i maintaining almost 5 acres

what i do is use pigtail buckets on their sides with food scraps soaked in beer plus throw some snailbait in at the back of the bucket.....so when that pile up with snails it easy to lift up and throw in a heap and burn the snails...cuz dem sheit does smell stinkkkkk when they rottening

closer to the house where my dogs does be.....i does use upside down pigtail buckets and cut notches in it for the snails to go into.....and rest them ontop the bucket cover....the bucket cover would have the snaibait/foodscraps/beer so it wont get soaked from the ground if rain fall...the reason for the upside down bucket and notches is so the dogs cant get at it

and then i does mistblow organeem and acaramik OR Aramite on the whole land

Acaramik 1.8 EC, based on abamectin, is an insecticide and acaricide that can be used to control snails and slugs. It works by contact and ingestion, paralyzing snails and slugs almost immediately after contact, with death occurring several days later.

ORGANEEM 3000PPM INSECTICIDE
ORGANIC INSECTICIDE
NEEM-BASED INSECTICIDE
BROAD-SPECTRUM INSECTICIDE

This Neem-based insecticide is very EFFECTIVE as it acts as:
Anti-Feedant (Eliminates insect eggs)
Growth Disruptor (Disrupts growth/molting)
and can be applied THROUGHOUT the lifecycle of insects (Larvae-Adult)

Akanath Singh - Plant Diagnostic Clinic

I have been receiving too many messages from gardeners on how to control the Giant African Snails. Please note:
▪️Simply mix Organeem (15 mls) + Aramite (15 mls) in a gallon of water, shake and spray the Snails. The following day after Snails have died, you can then dispose of them; bag them or bury them or burn them.
▪️Organeem and Aramite are both Organic/Botanical Insecticides certified and approved by OMRI for Organic Gardening.

i does also set the bucket traps on the road outside my property so it would attract snails away from me

and what helps alot is taking a walk around early morning and picking up and burning whatever snails you see

Giant African land snails (GALS) can lay a significant number of eggs, typically ranging from 100 to 500 in a single clutch. In some cases, they may lay up to 1,000 eggs in a single clutch. GALS can also lay multiple clutches throughout the year, contributing to their rapid population growth

imagine each big snail you see off to lay a 100-500 or more eggs...so each one you pick up and burn ...you removing that amount of snails from the population for sure

unfortunately i dont think it possible to win the fight against the snails, it get too bad and it is costly to buy chemicals and set bait etc....most people dont do it....so you might be fighting hard and the neighbour eh taking on and the snails by him will keep coming by you

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2025, 5:20 am

21 day phi is super long

that neighbour issue is a real problem
friend living fairways uses pounds of bait a month and the neighbour does nothing and have bushy yard
they just keep coming

somebody should come up with a mechanical trap
where the snails go into a baited container and a sweeper device like windscreen wiper pushes them into a bucket
they could use arduino to run sensors and trigger the sweeper

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 22nd, 2025, 6:34 am

I don't think there is nothing as deadly as regent. Plus it's expensive AF..

With all this rainfall, these snails out in abundance. I kill them as fast as I see them.

Postby pugboy » May 22nd, 2025, 6:39 am

i think snail and slug chemicals are different, they call them molluscides

regent aka fipronil works real good for insects

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I don't think there is nothing as deadly as regent. Plus it's expensive AF..

With all this rainfall, these snails out in abundance. I kill them as fast as I see them.

Postby SR » May 22nd, 2025, 11:50 am

I does jest throw salt on them direct

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2025, 7:15 pm

SR wrote:I does jest throw salt on them direct

The salt causes them to release their eggs and the eggs live on.

Use a solution of both salt and bleach. Kills them instantly , leave in a container for a few days to make sure the eggs die as well, then discard.

Postby bluefete » May 22nd, 2025, 7:16 pm

Max: You can try this as well

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » May 23rd, 2025, 9:19 am

bluefete wrote:
SR wrote:I does jest throw salt on them direct

The salt causes them to release their eggs and the eggs live on.

Use a solution of both salt and bleach. Kills them instantly , leave in a container for a few days to make sure the eggs die as well, then discard.
Yep this is what i did i clear of them for about five months

Also used the bait and sprayed for small ones not visible

Postby MaxPower » May 23rd, 2025, 3:24 pm

bluefete wrote:Max: You can try this as well

Thanks man

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » May 23rd, 2025, 3:30 pm

Dunno if this help with snails because I do it constantly with my regular bait and sprays,

When I change oil in my van them I does put it in an old gas can and pour it around the base of the perimeter wall. Either it works well or I getting them under control with the bait

Skillys

Postby Skillys » May 23rd, 2025, 6:46 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:I don't think there is nothing as deadly as regent. Plus it's expensive AF..

We kill them immediately and also use snail bait.

Postby bluefete » May 23rd, 2025, 7:29 pm

Got 3 last night on the wall coming over from the neighbour side.

Postby pugboy » May 23rd, 2025, 7:54 pm

yuh gonna need to make up a pvc bait station on the wall to shelter the bait from rain

Postby 88sins » May 23rd, 2025, 9:34 pm

heads up
dem snails go ape-shit for bananas, and have a strong dislike to fire.
do with this information what you will

Postby *KRONIK* » May 24th, 2025, 7:19 am

88sins wrote:heads up
And that....i shall

Boi
I see a mandingo of a snail last night in the yard
But rain was drizzling, somebody gone with my snail tongs, and i was holding "my precious" (a box of bbq), so he go live to tell the story.....today

But i go drop some bait later and see if he come back

Postby pugboy » May 24th, 2025, 7:56 am

pull out the 177

*KRONIK* wrote:
And that....i shall

Boi
But rain was drizzling, somebody gone with my snail tongs, and i was holding "my precious" (a box of bbq), so he go live to tell the story.....today

Postby *KRONIK* » May 24th, 2025, 8:17 am

pugboy wrote:pull out the 177

*KRONIK* wrote:
And that....i shall

Boi

Lol

Thats exactly what you NOT supposed to do

But i gonna set up my chlorine bucket a buy back a tongs from the chinee grocery
I hadda get a lil proactive now before they get comfortable

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 24th, 2025, 10:28 am

They have a liking for durantas and other ornamentals...plants dying in quick time once they pass through.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 25th, 2025, 8:39 pm

LORD LEND A HAND

I now make a lil patrol in the yard

Initially i see 1 big fella

When i take in the settings i probably meet up bout 40
Walk across the road to a spot where i know usually has
Meet about 4 more giants

I didnt have chlorine so use out a about ½lb of salt of them

Tomorrow i go make a pass in the agri shop for some bait and chlorine

I cant believe how they just pop out of nowhere after almost a year of no sightings

Postby alfa » May 25th, 2025, 9:20 pm

Might also help to spray the yard and the lil pests with diaznion or malathion when they come out. Should take care of them as well as the ones you don't see.

Postby MaxPower » May 25th, 2025, 10:22 pm

Used out a large $[emoji[emoji6]][emoji6] pack of Deadline bait…

Leh go it all over….even put some in ” PVC pipes.

Rel deaded…..didnt really smell surprisingly…ants like they eating the dead ones and the sun drying it out too.

Will use the Nimbecidine spray for the eggs

Postby *KRONIK* » May 26th, 2025, 11:11 am

War has been waged

20250526_110954.jpg

Postby MaxPower » May 26th, 2025, 11:29 am

Anyone ever try Corry’s Slug and Snail Killer?

[attachment=[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]]IMG_[emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]].JPG[/attachment]
IMG_5339.JPG

Postby *KRONIK* » May 26th, 2025, 12:02 pm

MaxPower wrote:Anyone ever try Corry’s Slug and Snail Killer?

[attachment=[emoji[emoji6][emoji6]]]IMG_[emoji6][emoji[emoji6][emoji6]].JPG[/attachment]
Where we getting this?

Postby pugboy » May 26th, 2025, 12:49 pm

at first glance it looked like curry

Giant African Snail?

Postby MaxPower » May 26th, 2025, 12:56 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Where we getting this?

Foreign ting.

Seems to be very effective…..but you know Trinis..they would ban it because it slowing down the sales for the less effective products.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 26th, 2025, 2:39 pm

Foreign ting.

Seems to be very effective…..but you know Trinis..they would ban it because it slowing down the sales for the less effective products.
Lewee go halfsies on a big pack nah

Giant African Snail?

Postby MaxPower » May 26th, 2025, 2:58 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:

Foreign ting.

Lewee go halfsies on a big pack nah

Yeh no scene.

The bait wuking in wet conditions too…they eat it and go back to where they shelter and then die. Would help with the clean up as well. They coming from my neighbor neglected lot of land so they will go right back there and die.

Amazon have it.

Postby *KRONIK* » May 27th, 2025, 10:13 am

Put out 4 sets of bait yesterday

Only 1 had success

20250527_094110.jpg

Postby alfa » May 27th, 2025, 10:39 am

Foreign ting.

Harmful to pets?