T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Tezzadude

Re: T&T OFFICIAL New Vehicle Prices & Discussion Thread

Postby Tezzadude » June 29th, 2025, 11:12 am

snowman wrote:Went to see the Tucson Hybrid yesterday.

Not the fully loaded because I simply cannot afford it, But the Comfort spec is very nice and loaded with features. No 12V battery except integrated into the big Hybrid battery under the backseat, So music installation would be a challenge BUT not impossible.
I drove a Creta in Tobago for 2 days. It was fully loaded with sunroof, leather seats and a bose system. The owner says the car came with the stereo standard. It sounds good to me. You ever listened to the radio on a Vezel or Yaris Cross lol if you raise the volume too much the paper cones will tear.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » June 29th, 2025, 11:37 am

drchaos wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Proton e.MAS 7 EV - $299,000 at ANSA Motors
Full EV
8 years warranty

143335-TriniTuner.jpg

143352-TriniTuner.jpg

143446-TriniTuner.jpg

143453-TriniTuner.jpg

THis actually is not bad. This is a Geely E5 with a proton badge, but is sold in malaysia for 200,000 ttd.
SO overpriced, but you get a Geely which is one of the better chinese EV brands. Im sure you can beat down ansa to a 260K.

Im still holding out for the Xiaomi YU7.
Lmao. Man put a vehicle that sounds like a cell phone that may never reach here. Good one. The still thinking about it crew will be pleased.

sheit i might as well join in too. I an all waiting for a new ride. Hoping Space-X makes a personal space craft so I can take selphies in front of the earth. If they had something like this, I'll seriously think about it before the year is out please gawd.

snowman

Postby snowman » June 29th, 2025, 8:54 pm

Tezzadude wrote:

Not the fully loaded because I simply cannot afford it, But the Comfort spec is very nice and loaded with features. No 12V battery except integrated into the big Hybrid battery under the backseat, So music installation would be a challenge BUT not impossible.
I drove a Creta in Tobago for 2 days. It was fully loaded with sunroof, leather seats and a bose system. The owner says the car came with the stereo standard. It sounds good to me. You ever listened to the radio on a Vezel or Yaris Cross lol if you raise the volume too much the paper cones will tear.
I have been using the Grand Vitara All Grip for a couple weeks now in between purchases and I'm annoyed at how the stereo sounds. And I know for sure, I'd get fedup of whatever is in the Tucson pretty quickly. The day after I get it, realistically, I'm taking off the doors and see the setup and planning will begin from there. Thankfully the Americans have made this easy by already having tutorials on how to do certain things.

Changing the door speakers is the first step then a bass line.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 29th, 2025, 10:50 pm

Tezzadude wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Full EV
8 years warranty

143335-TriniTuner.jpg

143352-TriniTuner.jpg

143446-TriniTuner.jpg

143453-TriniTuner.jpg

THis actually is not bad. This is a Geely E5 with a proton badge, but is sold in malaysia for 200,000 ttd.
SO overpriced, but you get a Geely which is one of the better chinese EV brands. Im sure you can beat down ansa to a 260K.

Lmao. Man put a vehicle that sounds like a cell phone that may never reach here. Good one. The still thinking about it crew will be pleased.

sheit i might as well join in too. I an all waiting for a new ride. Hoping Space-X makes a personal space craft so I can take selphies in front of the earth. If they had something like this, I'll seriously think about it before the year is out please gawd.

YU7 doh need to reach here, just need to be RHD in another market and I can order it down.
I done giving my money to stealerships, the margins they have on their criminal mark ups dont make sense. I can replace the entire battery of the car if something goes wrong and still have money left over if I bring it in myself.

I asked a gray market dealer for a quote on the BYD Sealion 7, he charges 10K to source, order, clear, register and deliver.
LaFast 475K
Bring it in yourself 275K from china RHD (they produce the LHD and RHD in china at their factory).

both fully loaded.

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » June 30th, 2025, 12:05 am

Buh wtf is dis. So much profit that dealer possibly making on a sale? Them make Southern Sales look like a NPO! The 299 Proton admittedly is not a bad option as an ev as it uses the lfp battery chemistry. I say buy it and milk the crap out of it for 7-8 years. If you buy the great Prado for 1.4m now. I guarantee you will lose more than 50% of its value (over $700k) in 8 years. Even if your Proton ev is thrown away after 8 years, your loss is capped at 299 plus whatever powergen electricity you paid for.

Postby j.o.e » June 30th, 2025, 11:55 am

Tezzadude wrote:Buh wtf is dis. So much profit that dealer possibly making on a sale? Them make Southern Sales look like a NPO! The 299 Proton admittedly is not a bad option as an ev as it uses the lfp battery chemistry. I say buy it and milk the crap out of it for 7-8 years. If you buy the great Prado for 1.4m now. I guarantee you will lose more than 50% of its value (over $700k) in 8 years. Even if your Proton ev is thrown away after 8 years, your loss is capped at 299 plus whatever powergen electricity you paid for.

Also factor that electricity (home charging) is a fraction of the cost of gas. No oil and filter changes. The lower running costs of electric vehicles are worth the lack of resale imo once you’re keeping it long term

worksux101

Postby worksux101 » July 1st, 2025, 8:53 am

j.o.e wrote:
Tezzadude wrote:Buh wtf is dis. So much profit that dealer possibly making on a sale? Them make Southern Sales look like a NPO! The 299 Proton admittedly is not a bad option as an ev as it uses the lfp battery chemistry. I say buy it and milk the crap out of it for 7-8 years. If you buy the great Prado for 1.4m now. I guarantee you will lose more than 50% of its value (over $700k) in 8 years. Even if your Proton ev is thrown away after 8 years, your loss is capped at 299 plus whatever powergen electricity you paid for.

Also factor that electricity (home charging) is a fraction of the cost of gas. No oil and filter changes. The lower running costs of electric vehicles are worth the lack of resale imo once you’re keeping it long term

This together with the sheer convenience. How much do you value your time? Not having to lineup in a gas station every few days is pretty neat.

The xiaomi yu7 has something like a 1yr wait time as its so in demand. If they made RHD I'd definitely consider also - absolutely amazing vehicle.

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 1st, 2025, 4:46 pm

I just wish they ditch this ugly fast back trend… that BYD seal with a wagon back I think would be pretty damn sweet

Tezzadude

Postby Tezzadude » July 1st, 2025, 11:04 pm

dredman1

Postby dredman1 » July 2nd, 2025, 12:53 am

snowman wrote:
Tezzadude wrote:

I have been using the Grand Vitara All Grip for a couple weeks now in between purchases and I'm annoyed at how the stereo sounds. And I know for sure, I'd get fedup of whatever is in the Tucson pretty quickly. The day after I get it, realistically, I'm taking off the doors and see the setup and planning will begin from there. Thankfully the Americans have made this easy by already having tutorials on how to do certain things.

Changing the door speakers is the first step then a bass line.

The Bose system in the Tucson isn't all that. It can get loud and has decent bass with the separate (albeit smallish) subwoofer, but I'm not a big audiophile and even I was expecting more given the Bose name. It only has 3 tone adjustments (bass, mid, treble).

I would say it's just adequate for the vehicle, so likely you'll be working on music sooner rather than later.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 2nd, 2025, 6:39 am

Tezzadude wrote:https://youtu.be/IfnLcRLzsaw?feature=shared

Lol
Trade war?
Screenshot_20250702-063827.jpg

Postby j.o.e » July 7th, 2025, 9:53 am

What’s the engine displacement on the new Sorrento ?

Postby Gladiator » July 7th, 2025, 7:13 pm

j.o.e wrote:What’s the engine displacement on the new Sorrento ?

1.6L

Postby j.o.e » July 7th, 2025, 7:59 pm

Gladiator wrote:

.[emoji6]L

Wtf

Mkukid

Postby Mkukid » July 7th, 2025, 10:30 pm

Any personal reviews on the byd shark?

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » July 8th, 2025, 8:53 am

Gladiator wrote:

1.6L

This is for the Hybrid version which Maska Motors sell also the Plug in Hybrid gets that engine. The one from Southern Sales has the 2.2 Diesel and 2.5 Gas.

Postby Dizzy28 » July 8th, 2025, 10:15 am

j.o.e wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

.[emoji6]L

Wtf

That's also the engine size in the new Santa Fe's Massy selling

Postby j.o.e » July 8th, 2025, 2:07 pm

Shalom Vanamson wrote:
Gladiator wrote:

.[emoji6]L

This is for the Hybrid version which Maska Motors sell also the Plug in Hybrid gets that engine. The one from Southern Sales has the . Diesel and .[emoji6] Gas.

Oh ok thanks. Was doing some number crunching for a vehicle without taxes so was looking at the bigger SUVs

Postby Dizzy28 » July 12th, 2025, 4:12 pm

Test drove the emas7 today. Not bad but the handling had a softness to it. Not sure if there were settings to be able to change it.
Comes with adapter for 110 charging as well we 220 charging.

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 13th, 2025, 10:40 am

Here is my review of the Emas 7:

I've owned a Mazda 3, Rav 4, Hyundai and Hondas. My last car was a Hyundai Tucson—technically my wife’s and she hated the DCT hesitation when pulling off from a stand still in heavy traffic . I always wanted to try the EV and took a chance based on Proton based the price, size, that's it really a Geely EX5 and features. I've had a few cars from ANSA and my experiences with them as been mostly positive.

My review:
The driving experience is smooth and quiet, and my wife likes it, says its a smooth drive and prefers it over the Tucson. Range is more than sufficient for her daily commute we could charge once a week if needed.

There are a few downsides:
Lack of a tonneau cover – I noticed Proton is now including one in Malaysia; I truly hope ANSA follows up with this
The Maps app does not include Trinidad.
The car comes with an eSIM - but not active in Trinidad.
I have to wait for the next OTA to add Apple CarPlay and add a save settings feature.

I had also considered the Haval H6 (but a facelift is due in December) and the BYD Sealion 7 (which was just out of budget). I have no regrets choosing the Proton.

Would I recommend it? Yes.

scotty_buttons

Postby scotty_buttons » July 16th, 2025, 9:56 am

drchaos wrote:
Tezzadude wrote:
drchaos wrote:
Full EV
8 years warranty

143335-TriniTuner.jpg

143352-TriniTuner.jpg

143446-TriniTuner.jpg

143453-TriniTuner.jpg

YU7 doh need to reach here, just need to be RHD in another market and I can order it down.
I done giving my money to stealerships, the margins they have on their criminal mark ups dont make sense. I can replace the entire battery of the car if something goes wrong and still have money left over if I bring it in myself.

I asked a gray market dealer for a quote on the BYD Sealion 7, he charges 10K to source, order, clear, register and deliver.
LaFast 475K
Bring it in yourself 275K from china RHD (they produce the LHD and RHD in china at their factory).

both fully loaded.

This is brand new from china? With warranty as well?

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » July 16th, 2025, 1:26 pm

drchaos wrote:I can replace the entire battery of the car if something goes wrong and still have money left over if I bring it in myself.

you could try, and when you fail to hook it up properly or forget to double check a few things because every bms is different, and your car explodes, makes the news giving EVs a bad name, when it was really just your ignorance, then what?

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » July 16th, 2025, 7:44 pm

i_code_and_stuff wrote:
drchaos wrote:I can replace the entire battery of the car if something goes wrong and still have money left over if I bring it in myself.

you could try, and when you fail to hook it up properly or forget to double check a few things because every bms is different, and your car explodes, makes the news giving EVs a bad name, when it was really just your ignorance, then what?

Actually a lot of EVs are pretty much a couple large Anderson plugs, few data cables and an OTA update when doing an entire battery swap.

If u changing banks or individual cells is where it gets lil hairy but still I wouldn’t call it a headache even.

i_code_and_stuff

Postby i_code_and_stuff » July 16th, 2025, 8:50 pm

nick639v2 wrote:
i_code_and_stuff wrote:

Actually a lot of EVs are pretty much a couple large Anderson plugs, few data cables and an OTA update when doing an entire battery swap.

If u changing banks or individual cells is where it gets lil hairy but still I wouldn’t call it a headache even.

personally i think it's being oversimplified, especially as the ICCU is one of the things ppl tend to ignore when theyre talking about swapping out anything. i watched a video the other day on cell replacement for the taycan, it was quite interesting, but one takeaway is that everything is measured and assembled in a very precise manner. i've seen a few stories EVs running into trouble, not due to some fault with the car itself, but because they took it into the dealership for maintenance and somebody forget to tighten a screw, or fully connect a plug. if that can happen with engineers at an official dealership, you can only imagine how much higher the chances are with some random outside "i know wha i doin" fella. you know how it is in trinidad.

that's just personally how i see it - i rather not take the risk myself. im sure some men here probably dont really care, and that's fine, but it sucks when some nonsense story comes about some EV issue, fueling skepticism and setting us back more, when it's not an issue that needed to happen

Postby j.o.e » July 16th, 2025, 10:15 pm

triniboi49 wrote:Here is my review of the Emas 7:

I've owned a Mazda 3, Rav 4, Hyundai and Hondas. My last car was a Hyundai Tucson—technically my wife’s and she hated the DCT hesitation when pulling off from a stand still in heavy traffic . I always wanted to try the EV and took a chance based on Proton based the price, size, that's it really a Geely EX5 and features. I've had a few cars from ANSA and my experiences with them as been mostly positive.

My review:
The driving experience is smooth and quiet, and my wife likes it, says its a smooth drive and prefers it over the Tucson. Range is more than sufficient for her daily commute we could charge once a week if needed.

Lack of a tonneau cover – I noticed Proton is now including one in Malaysia; I truly hope ANSA follows up with this
I have to wait for the next OTA to add Apple CarPlay and add a save settings feature.

I had also considered the Haval H6 (but a facelift is due in December) and the BYD Sealion 7 (which was just out of budget). I have no regrets choosing the Proton.

CarPlay OTA update confirmed ? I couldn’t function without CarPlay

triniboi49

Postby triniboi49 » July 17th, 2025, 2:51 pm

j.o.e wrote:
triniboi49 wrote:Here is my review of the Emas 7:

My review:

CarPlay OTA update confirmed ? I couldn’t function without CarPlay

According to the reports I've read, it should be out July 21st - fingers crossed: https://paultan.org/2025/07/02/2025-pro ... e-carplay/

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2025, 3:17 pm

Updated Kia, Suzuki and KGM prices on the first page

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 23rd, 2025, 3:28 pm

New 2026 KIA Sportage Hybrid HEV is here
$301,000

2WD, Powered tailgate, powered driver and passenger seat, dual zone AC, lane keep and collision avoidance, wireless Apple CarPlay & Android Auto, 360 camera, 12.3” infotainment and 12.3” instrument panel

64485fc8-5baa-4703-94ca-f59ff859fda6.jpeg

Postby Dizzy28 » July 24th, 2025, 9:29 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Updated Kia, Suzuki and KGM prices on the first page
All the Proton prices bar the emas7 are incorrect. There have been pretty big price drops in the year since they have been introduced.

Proton X50 P - $229,950.00
Proton X50 F - $269,000.00(not sure where this price is now)
Proton X90 P - $299,000.00
Proton X90 F - $339,000.00

Shalom Vanamson

Postby Shalom Vanamson » July 24th, 2025, 9:46 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:New 2026 KIA Sportage Hybrid HEV is here
$301,000

2WD, Powered tailgate, powered driver and passenger seat, dual zone AC, lane keep and collision avoidance, wireless Apple CarPlay & Android Auto, 360 camera, 12.3” infotainment and 12.3” instrument panel

64485fc8-5baa-4703-94ca-f59ff859fda6.jpeg

So they finally picked sense and saw what Maska did bringing in the hybrid version LWB and did the same. I Always wondered why we couldnt of gotten it through the local dealership when islands like Jamaica got it. I wonder if they have access to the AWD version as well and at what cost. It seems to be coming with more tech this time for us more in line international models.