Both the major fireworks houses owned by injuns, so what's your point now?mero wrote:alfa wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/independence-day-parade-fireworks-cancelled-this-year/article_05d044c3-5b21-4270-8dd6-f6b2ad1d042e.html
So independence day parade cancelled. I wonder if they go cancel Christmas next
Seems like a direct F U to the syrian business community the unc trying to wage a war against
And De f*q is a national day of prayer?
Is one thing to cancel the state sponsored fireworks , but the Independence Day parade too?
UNC keeping true to dey one term in office policy
If a political party had a back to back 10 year term, could it be done in that time?j.o.e wrote:MaxPower wrote:Just as GG, everyone was so amazed with his performance.
The way he spoke at press conferences, such assertiveness, such confidence, such support for his police officers.
O how they loved him, GG this GG that.
O bring back Gary.
Was crime significantly reduced?
This COP eh no different…all words, all a pappy show, bare minimum….but the public loves how he talks.
All politics.
T&T does not want to fix crime.
If the TTPS cannot be fixed due to MOST of the officers being a WOFT, corrupt, rude, lazy and incompetent….then we wasting time.
It is said, we cannot pull all the officers offline to reassess and retrain…..then there you have your answer.
But yeh cool whatever, give the new Govt time to settle.
GG and this new COP may mean well….they just don’t have the right officers.
Trinis love talk. Until govt reforms legal system, license plate system, customs, e999, national CCTV anything else is just old talk. None of these things can be done in 100 days so I don’t expect to see that now but let’s see what the budget and next 18 months brings
Pnm and empty barrel good for two ting , making ole noise and gathering rubbishThe_Honourable wrote:PNM: It have no african on state board! kamla racist! bangladesh and delhi!
KAMLA: Selwyn Cudjoe on CAL as a director and now UTT as Chairman
PNM: sing for your supper! sell out! lick bottom african!
mero wrote:alfa wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/independence-day-parade-fireworks-cancelled-this-year/article_05d044c3-5b21-4270-8dd6-f6b2ad1d042e.html
Seems like a direct F U to the syrian business community the unc trying to wage a war against
Is one thing to cancel the state sponsored fireworks , but the Independence Day parade too?
Ah the position of president of this country....epitome of WOFTpugboy wrote:gonna miss seeing the prez roll out in the bling out land rover
The majority of the money saved from these events is expected to be funnelled into the Ministry of Homeland Security. Which i don't see any problem withshake d livin wake d dead wrote:If she jump out and ban fireworks for old years then I'd say she saying thing! As it stands for independence, if it saving some dinero....then by all means
Who is Indian? Name them. Waitingtimelapse wrote:Both the major fireworks houses owned by injuns, so what's your point now?mero wrote:alfa wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/independence-day-parade-fireworks-cancelled-this-year/article_05d044c3-5b21-4270-8dd6-f6b2ad1d042e.html
Chimera wrote:mero wrote:alfa wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/independence-day-parade-fireworks-cancelled-this-year/article_05d044c3-5b21-4270-8dd6-f6b2ad1d042e.html
LOL come na man Mero. you really AGAINST saving money on state sponsored fireworks? and the overall savings of not having it?
Past Budget: The 60th anniversary of Trinidad and Tobago's independence in 2022 had an overall budget of $7.5 million.
Inclusions: This budget encompassed more than just the parade, including other festive activities and the fireworks display
yuh just fighting up for fighting up sake now
if Kamla sneeze in public you might say "oh gawddddd Rowley never use to sneeze so oh gawdddd watch how she can't even hold in a sneeze oh gawdddd we shudda never put them in power "
sMASH wrote:I and Moonsammy used to tag team pnm back in the 2020 elections , , I for pep and she for unc.
Always thought she was Mrs Santa Cruz on the radio stations.
hover11 wrote:With the countdown on to the Government’s first Budget since assuming office, two of the nation’s largest union bodies are pressing to see the ten per cent wage offer on the bargaining table in the coming financial year.
For more: https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/trade-u ... 436434.jpg
"But while the Minister in the Ministry of Finance, Kennedy Swaratsingh, said the Government will honour its promises and deliver all commitments outlined in the Budget, he stopped short of confirming that negotiations would commence in the new financial year"hover11 wrote:With the countdown on to the Government’s first Budget since assuming office, two of the nation’s largest union bodies are pressing to see the ten per cent wage offer on the bargaining table in the coming financial year.
For more: https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/trade-u ... b74be74b90
I hear what you saying blue but the politicians got theirs with no issue now we have workers who on signed agreements not even talking about the ones who have yet negotiate and still waiting for their just dues......we want our pound of flesh as wellbluefete wrote:hover11 wrote:With the countdown on to the Government’s first Budget since assuming office, two of the nation’s largest union bodies are pressing to see the ten per cent wage offer on the bargaining table in the coming financial year.
Stop dribbling. Tancoo between a rock and a hard place. I want to see how he plans to collect the revenue to pay the 10%.
hover11 wrote:I hear what you saying blue but the politicians got theirs with no issue now we have workers who on signed agreements not even talking about the ones who have yet negotiate and still waiting for their just dues......we want our pound of flesh as wellbluefete wrote:hover11 wrote:With the countdown on to the Government’s first Budget since assuming office, two of the nation’s largest union bodies are pressing to see the ten per cent wage offer on the bargaining table in the coming financial year.
Stop dribbling. Tancoo between a rock and a hard place. I want to see how he plans to collect the revenue to pay the 10%.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Some people special in all forms tbh... Trying to compare a religious festival like to diwali to a dumbarse parade... 2 totally different things...
People talking about the 1 million spent on moodi but nobody saying how his visit may help us in the future
Saddam did say it was a cost savings measure though with the money redirected to the Police.j.o.e wrote:I’d prefer if UNC just say it was a security risk or a cost saving initiative or exactly the reason. It’s a lil confusing as the goal post is being moved.
Mites think the Govnt sponsors fireworks for Divali?The_Honourable wrote:Pnm on facebook like... "wE wAiTIng fuR dEeWaLee"
$2.6M saved as Independence Day celebrations scrapped
The government is expected to save at least $2.6 million after cancelling this year’s Independence Day parade and fireworks display in the capital.
Guardian Media understands that funding for this year’s ceremonial events had already received Cabinet approval from the former People’s National Movement (PNM) administration in February.
According to the Cabinet note submitted for approval, the parade alone was projected to cost $1.5 million. This figure included expenses such as renting the Grand Stand facilities, hiring ushers, constructing media towers, installing audio systems, providing guest refreshments, and renting chairs and buses. The Grand Stand rental alone cost approximately $600,000.
This year, the government opted to cancel the parade and fireworks show in favour of a National Day of Prayer and Reflection.
In defending the decision, Legal Affairs Minister Saddam Hosein cited security concerns due to the ongoing State of Emergency (SoE). He added that the money saved from the cancellation would be redirected to crime-fighting initiatives.
Additionally, Guardian Media was informed that the fireworks display was expected to cost the state around $1.1 million. There is some contention regarding this figure, as an official from the former administration said the fireworks are donated by private corporate entities.
However, a government source clarified that while the private sector helps fund the show, several state entities, including the Urban Development Corporation of T&T (UDeCOTT), also contribute financially and manage key logistical aspects of the event. UDeCOTT was expected to cover $700,000 of the fireworks costs.
The $2.6 million savings does not include the cost of the “Toast to the Nation,” a formal part of Independence Day celebrations traditionally held at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), where the President offers a toast in the presence of government officials and dignitaries. It also does not include expenses for internal celebrations usually held by members of the protective services.
The government is currently compiling the overall savings from the cancellation of these events—a figure expected to be released next week, due to the complex nature of how the celebrations are funded.
There is no dedicated line item in the annual budget for Independence Day events. Funding has traditionally come from the Ministry of National Security, which has since been divided into the Ministry of Defence and the Ministry of Homeland Security. Various divisions within these ministries contribute to the parade from their allocated funds.
Several arms of national security participate in the military parade, including the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment, the Coast Guard, Air Guard, Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service, and the Prisons Service.
The Independence Day parade traditionally begins with a formal inspection of the troops by the President, who is greeted at the Grand Stand with a Royal Salute and the national anthem. Following this, the military and uniformed services stage a grand march past, accompanied by their bands, proceeding through the streets of Port-of-Spain along a published route, often including Frederick Street, Park Street, and Tragarete Road. The event also features the mounted branch of the police, the K-9 unit, ceremonial vehicles, and at times an Air Guard fly-past. Spectators typically line the streets, waving flags and cheering.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/26m-sav ... e5a4acef54
I too, that even worse than independence. I can see even 10' in front u ... The amount of rocket stick dies be in the yard, is a fire hazard.The_Honourable wrote:Pnm on facebook like... "wE wAiTIng fuR dEeWaLee"
$2.6M saved as Independence Day celebrations scrapped
The government is expected to save at least $2.6 million after cancelling this year’s Independence Day parade and fireworks display in the capital.
Guardian Media understands that funding for this year’s ceremonial events had already received Cabinet approval from the former People’s National Movement (PNM) administration in February.
According to the Cabinet note submitted for approval, the parade alone was projected to cost $1.5 million. This figure included expenses such as renting the Grand Stand facilities, hiring ushers, constructing media towers, installing audio systems, providing guest refreshments, and renting chairs and buses. The Grand Stand rental alone cost approximately $600,000.
This year, the government opted to cancel the parade and fireworks show in favour of a National Day of Prayer and Reflection.
In defending the decision, Legal Affairs Minister Saddam Hosein cited security concerns due to the ongoing State of Emergency (SoE). He added that the money saved from the cancellation would be redirected to crime-fighting initiatives.
Additionally, Guardian Media was informed that the fireworks display was expected to cost the state around $1.1 million. There is some contention regarding this figure, as an official from the former administration said the fireworks are donated by private corporate entities.
However, a government source clarified that while the private sector helps fund the show, several state entities, including the Urban Development Corporation of T&T (UDeCOTT), also contribute financially and manage key logistical aspects of the event. UDeCOTT was expected to cover $700,000 of the fireworks costs.
The $2.6 million savings does not include the cost of the “Toast to the Nation,” a formal part of Independence Day celebrations traditionally held at the National Academy for the Performing Arts (NAPA), where the President offers a toast in the presence of government officials and dignitaries. It also does not include expenses for internal celebrations usually held by members of the protective services.
The government is currently compiling the overall savings from the cancellation of these events—a figure expected to be released next week, due to the complex nature of how the celebrations are funded.
There is no dedicated line item in the annual budget for Independence Day events. Funding has traditionally come from the Ministry of National Security, which has since been divided into the Ministry of Defence and the Ministry of Homeland Security. Various divisions within these ministries contribute to the parade from their allocated funds.
Several arms of national security participate in the military parade, including the Trinidad and Tobago Regiment, the Coast Guard, Air Guard, Trinidad and Tobago Police Service, Trinidad and Tobago Fire Service, and the Prisons Service.
The Independence Day parade traditionally begins with a formal inspection of the troops by the President, who is greeted at the Grand Stand with a Royal Salute and the national anthem. Following this, the military and uniformed services stage a grand march past, accompanied by their bands, proceeding through the streets of Port-of-Spain along a published route, often including Frederick Street, Park Street, and Tragarete Road. The event also features the mounted branch of the police, the K-9 unit, ceremonial vehicles, and at times an Air Guard fly-past. Spectators typically line the streets, waving flags and cheering.
https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/26m-sav ... e5a4acef54
Dizzy28 wrote:Saddam did say it was a cost savings measure though with the money redirected to the Police.j.o.e wrote:I’d prefer if UNC just say it was a security risk or a cost saving initiative or exactly the reason. It’s a lil confusing as the goal post is being moved.
Sent from my Pixel 7 using TriniTuner mobile app
Is mih bredren, so I ent shining them upmero wrote:Who is Indian? Name them. Waitingtimelapse wrote:Both the major fireworks houses owned by injuns, so what's your point now?mero wrote:alfa wrote:https://trinidadexpress.com/news/independence-day-parade-fireworks-cancelled-this-year/article_05d044c3-5b21-4270-8dd6-f6b2ad1d042e.html