Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby wagon r » November 28th, 2005, 7:17 am

dias ah big find right there.

duhno bout the amt. of tranny fluid but i know it's quite alot.

stang

Postby stang » November 28th, 2005, 9:37 am

Does anybody know how much transmission fluid the galant takes ?

i think my gdi 2000 (2L) took 7-8

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » November 29th, 2005, 12:14 am

any one know a good mechanic who could help with my previous problem?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 29th, 2005, 11:31 pm

now dat link is ah damn good find!!!!!!!! much thanks! WOOT! 8)

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » December 15th, 2005, 12:15 pm

Okay, ah finally tried the shell helix plus and.......

I eh really see a difference :?

To those who made the switch, did your lifters quiten dramatically, or was it a more gradual change?

Postby wagon r » December 15th, 2005, 1:12 pm

some say it's instant, mine was gradual. how long ago was the change and what type of driving u do.....

...also remember that your lifters may have carbon build up that despite all measures needs to be cleaned.

i just sayin but check it over time.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » December 15th, 2005, 1:19 pm

Changed oil 5 days ago.

Driving habits - well mostly highway runs, 110-120kph, not much traffic. Rarely at WOT.

If there is carbon buildup on my lifters, how do I get that off??

Yeah, i'll monitor it over time.

VW_Exec

Postby VW_Exec » December 15th, 2005, 2:10 pm

SOURCE http://www.vfaq.net/DSM/mods/10faq.html

The "Noisy lifter" solution

From the day I purchased it to the day I performed the following miracle (I use this word because you will too) my Talon made horrible lifter noises. Anyways here's a "low-buck" solution that's guaranteed to put a smile on your face. BTW, I have 16 new lifters for sale that I prematurely bought before trying one of the oldest tricks in the book (and now, one of my favorites).
Materials You Will Need:

1-quart Dexron II Transmission Fluid
1-quart of cold water
2-feet of Vacuum tubing
4-New NGK BP7ES spark plugs (BR7ES-11 non-turbo)
1-quart of any brand "motor flush"
5-quarts of Fresh Mobil-1 15W-50 Oil
1-New Oil Filter
First, make sure your Diamond Star is up to normal operating temperature. Find the direct-port vacuum line at the throttle body and on the driver's side of the manifold (where the VPC pressure sensor is usually plumbed into).
Have a friend bring the engine speed of the car up to 3500 rpm. Run your vacuum line to the direct-port source at the throttle body. Submerse the other end in the bottle of transmission fluid. Keeping the tube slightly pinched, regulate the flow of fluid into the engine as your friend works the throttle to keep engine speed between 3500 and 4500 rpm. Large puffs, no, LARGE CLOUDS of smoke will begin to emit from the tailpipe and possibly under the hood (if you have any exhaust leaks).
After half of the bottle is used, repeat with the water using half of that bottle. After you locate the vacuum port on the driver's side of the manifold, repeat the process. First use the tranny fluid, then follow with the water.
When you finish this process which will remove the carbon buildup within the cylinder, follow the manufacturers directions for the engine oil "motor flush." Follow with an oil change and replace the plugs (the chamber cleaning process can foul the plugs).
That's it, you're done.
Now, go out and drive the car and feel the power. If your valves were gummed up before, it'll feel like these an extra 20 ponies under the hood as throttle response will be tremendous.
Since my car had so many miles on it, I repeated this process at the next oil change. For the heck of it, I did a cylinder leakdown test. The results were amazing...two percent leakdown in each cylinder. Typically, cars with this kind of mileage would be happy to see 6 to 12 percent.
Credited to: Michael Ferrara turbogod@primenet.com

(NOTE: DO NOT attempt this if you don't know what you are doing! You can suck too much fluid in too fast, and "hydrolock" your engine (fluid is incompressible - too much, and it is like trying to crush a rock), which can destroy valves, rings, pistons, or the head or block. The fix above does NOTHING to clean the lifters, it is cleaning carbon off of the valves, which can cause a ticking sound similar to that of noisy lifters. Use fuel system cleaners instead -TS).

if my lifter situation gets pretty bad (it quiet enuff now) i'll probably explore this technique!

8)

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » December 15th, 2005, 2:42 pm

"The fix above does NOTHING to clean the lifters, it is cleaning carbon off of the valves, which can cause a ticking sound similar to that of noisy lifters"

Ummm, so this is actually for valves (which make a noise that appears to be lifter noise)

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » December 16th, 2005, 4:52 am

i have seen very bad lifter nosie disappear with the use of 2 cans of amzoil power foam, normal cleaning of intake , u must change the oil after though, even in my car :shock:

ProjectAlteredBeast

Postby ProjectAlteredBeast » December 17th, 2005, 8:02 am

what site?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 19th, 2005, 8:10 pm

Corollaman wrote:Changed oil 5 days ago.

Driving habits - well mostly highway runs, 110-120kph, not much traffic. Rarely at WOT.

mine usually ticks away for a couple days after oil changed (100-300km) then it sorts itself out and gets quiet........

That scene mitsu exec quoted there sounds interesting.........similarly when tings get real bad I may just try it out.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » December 20th, 2005, 6:57 am

Update:

Several days later, I *think* my car has quietened substantially. More monitoring needs to be done but there seems to be a definite improvement.

Postby wagon r » December 20th, 2005, 7:13 am

^told ya it would work out......another satisfied customer.. :mrgreen:

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 21st, 2005, 8:37 am

Corollaman wrote:Okay, ah finally tried the shell helix plus and.......

To those who made the switch, did your lifters quiten dramatically, or was it a more gradual change?

Same for me on monday.....didnt have the noise toooo much before....Now its DEFINATELY there........
Car sounds like sheit!
But ill give it a few more days before taking apart the damn thing! :twisted:

blazing

Postby blazing » December 21st, 2005, 1:47 pm

mines disappeared when i changed filter :shock:

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » December 21st, 2005, 2:01 pm

^^^ dat is true yuh filter does affect the lifter noise what u use

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 22nd, 2005, 9:50 am

^^^yup, somwhere in this thread we had discussed that........somwhere......lol

I usually run sakura and tried out the fram once and my oh my them lifters were intolerably noisy.......immediately changed it back to the sakura and the noise was reduced considerably.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » December 22nd, 2005, 10:07 am

Hmmm, I am running a fram filter.

Okay nex rounds, i'll change to sakura and see what happens.

stang

Postby stang » December 22nd, 2005, 10:23 am

Hmmm, I am running a fram filter.

try using the KNN for about $80.00 at Mini City...

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 25th, 2005, 7:31 pm

Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:

Same for me on monday.....didnt have the noise toooo much before....Now its DEFINATELY there........
Car sounds like sheit!
But ill give it a few more days before taking apart the damn thing! :twisted:

Fellas!!

joke is joke, but the guys here eh lie!

My noise was sorted out in exactly 5 days!

No....I mean absoulutely NO engine knock at all!

This grey bottle buisness worked for me...

Self adjusting tappits(sp) is a boss!

Seriously! The mivec wukkin bettter than ever before!

BEWARE TUNERS :twisted:

Postby wagon r » December 26th, 2005, 1:02 am

*GREAT NEWS for GDI owners*

....the guy who bought my car has the workshop manuals for sale, this is the complete manual for everything 1996-2000 GDI for both 4 and 6 cylinders.

...the number is 764-4340.

doh say i eh lookin out for allyuh...

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 26th, 2005, 8:19 am

how much he want for a copy???? hook meh nah G

Rah

Postby Rah » December 26th, 2005, 1:57 pm

i had posted a link before to an engine manual. Is it that ? Cuz they are different, last time somebody told me the y had one and it was the engine manual. If its the workshop then im interested too. Will give him a call.

Postby wagon r » December 28th, 2005, 7:06 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:how much he want for a copy???? hook meh nah G

...i didn't ask but feel free to call him a pick up a copy. is the full monty - engine, suspension, electrical.....allyuh cyar go wrong.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 29th, 2005, 7:44 pm

^^^will do....noice 0X

Rah

Postby Rah » January 8th, 2006, 5:27 pm

Hey vega i remember once you were talkin about changing back shocks. You got thru with it ? Think i might need to change one of my rear ones ( might change the two and done) Where u got yours and what price ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 9th, 2006, 12:26 am

^^I actually didn't........was not getting KYB oil for the rear and the dealer was hooking me up with the gas alternative. But as I explained to him that there was no sense taking those as my current rear gas still had a good bit of life in them........

I did replace the front with the KYB oil (premium label) and my ride in the front got smoother, noticeably different from the gas I had there as well.......which incidentally also had life left.......

The cost of the rear KYB Excel-G was $325 for one and the KYB Premium for the front was $375 for one........

I got them by order from A&J's in Cocoyea in San Fernando........

Tel # 652-3661, 754-0370........ask for Travis. I did not take the rear shocks from him so ask whether he still has them.........you could tell him the guy from Rio Claro (Ravee) link yuh.

Rah

Postby Rah » January 9th, 2006, 7:43 am

Thanks man Vega, very helpful.

Corollaman

Postby Corollaman » January 18th, 2006, 5:06 pm

After monitoring for about 8-10 days, the noise didn't reduce dramatically so i had just resigned myself to having this lifter noise permanently. So ah stop listening for/studying it.

Anyway, yesterday, start up de machine first thing in the morning (real cold start dey) and I realized something. The engine silent dread :shock: . Like no lifter noise, not even for a few seconds after startup. I dunno when it happened but it was so gradual that I didn't notice the change. I monitored it over yesterday and today and WOW, hardly any noise at all.

The only time i ever really hear anything is if i mash a lil hard and then have to come to a stop suddenly. But i guess that would be due to a sudden drop in oil pressure.

Anyway, a month and change after changing my oil, my lifter problems seem to have sorted themselves out.

Much thanks for the info my mitsu brethren!! 8-) 8-)

Return to “MITSUBISHI”