act street&strip clutch plate on oem p\plate

YDA Auto Accessories

act street&strip clutch plate on oem p\plate

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » May 23rd, 2006, 9:13 pm

yeah folks sr20 that is.i have a vaio or valeo or some kinda pressure plate right.i want to know if i can put the act street and strip on it without scorching the pressure plate after some time.i know if i put the 6 puck coppers it would scorch and damage it i saw it happen already.so my question is would this happen if i put in the act street and strip disc.?????????

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 24th, 2006, 12:20 pm

i put the 6 puck coppers it would scorch and damage it

Nope had mine and it worked quite well the only problem was the stock pressure plate did not have enough clamping force so the would slip when I launch the car.

With a street and strip clutch and a stock pressure plate yes it will work fine but don't expect the clutch too last long if you are a wild man. :|

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » May 24th, 2006, 1:00 pm

lol well i guess it won't last long then.so picasso it was slipping then??so it wasn't gripping good???and how long is not long????

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 24th, 2006, 1:21 pm

so it wasn't gripping good

Yeah it was gripping good for normal driving. When I started hammering the car on launch the sucker would start to slip.. I have no idea how long it would have lasted but when I pulled down the gear box the last time to change the clutch and pressure plate we checked the fly wheel everything was safe. We checked the pressure plate and it was still like brand new after 2 weeks of pressure. the copper didn't even scorch it or anything. The only thing is the pressure plate when we tapped it there was a slight rattle ( Son Ice Mechanic says the pressure plate is good ).. If you want I will give you mine for $175 It sitting here doing nothing cause I only placed in untill I could have gotten an ACT kit.

TRDTrini

Postby TRDTrini » May 24th, 2006, 2:17 pm

Hey i had the same street and strip clutch in my car with the stock pressure plate and stock flywheel. Fa every day driveing it was good but as soon as u start dogging it it will slip so i upgrade with the act heavy duty pressure place and a fidenza fly wheel and it's all good now my advise is bear with the stock clutch till u can get the full kit it worth every penny.

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » May 25th, 2006, 7:40 am

ok i know picasso talking bout turbo eh.trdtrini are you turbo as well?cause i am N\A so i am guessing it might not slip like you guys.casso i will let you know wah is d scene.you talking bout the pressure plate right???i will have to check it out and see it.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 25th, 2006, 2:59 pm

^^ Yeah I have it home I eh have use for it so yuh pipper price in order :mrgreen:

JWT

Postby JWT » May 25th, 2006, 10:43 pm

pallie
take meh advice here stock pressure plate with 6 puck copper no slip once that engine stock you are very safe i ran this coombo for over 1 yr in my car and actually sold the comeplete thing and that person is still driving it
but make sure everything is brand new

YDA Auto Accessories

the clutch

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » May 26th, 2006, 10:37 am

JWT are you for real come on be serious nah cause i thinking bout it.well it is basically stock.except for exhaust intake plugs sheit like that.so hear nah the pressure plate not scorching bro.cause i know of a few that did that and the pressure plate scorch.well i looking to ring it out and burn out and sheit.you use to do those things??????i wanna know please i really want to do this

JWT

Postby JWT » May 26th, 2006, 9:17 pm

seriously if you ringing out and sheit then go street and strip but i do not ringg out dunlop tyres kinda expensive nah
i do not ringgout or burn rubberzzz :lol: :lol:
so it would last me long

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » May 29th, 2006, 1:43 pm

jwt you eh easy yes.doh worry that was funny.nah bro i think it will be better for me to use the street and strip cause i will be racing and sheit with it thas why it lasted you long i guess and thas why the pressure plate lasted but thanks for the info man

adri 2nr

Postby adri 2nr » May 30th, 2006, 9:52 am

my advice for you would be do the proper thing one time and have a piece of mind.if you plan to race and it is a daily driver go street and strip and heavy duty..i have that set up in my car over 9 months now with no complains

vvenom

Postby vvenom » May 30th, 2006, 5:37 pm

watz d seen am new in this

Picasso

Postby Picasso » May 30th, 2006, 5:41 pm

rubberz join me in the world of copper clutch.. It gives you a warm feeling inside like VTEC. :mrgreen:

YDA Auto Accessories

Postby YDA Auto Accessories » June 1st, 2006, 11:29 am

lol picasso you eh easy.i cyah go heavy duty pressure plate cause i driving nearly whole day too much driving for that heavy duty pressure plate.and i have ah cable type gearbox so it will be rock hard.if i had a hydraulic it would have been nice :roll: :roll: :P

SCHOLARS

Postby SCHOLARS » June 16th, 2006, 6:26 pm

CONVERT CABLE TO HYDRAULIC. I did it with a b14 gearbox

Postby SmokeyGTi » June 21st, 2006, 10:05 am

Breds if you loking tuh ring out and burn out adn shiet then but the whole ACT kit

scholars, how difficult is it to do that?

do the benefits outweigh the cost?