WTK: Turbo Charging A SR20DE Silver Top FWD

JJ16

WTK: Turbo Charging A SR20DE Silver Top FWD

Postby JJ16 » June 26th, 2006, 3:18 am

Yea 2nrs, :twisted: I've been hearing some talk that its possible to turbo charge a SR20DE without damaging the engine. It was stated that 5-7psi of boast would be the amt to keep the engine in the safe zone.

I would like to know if any 2nr cud say how this is possible, because to me 5psi is enough to run with a SR20DE. Its a SR20DE FWD with LSD Tranny..Yes its Automatic Transmission.

So if anyone could please tell me how i can go about turbo charging my SR20DE and the approx cost on doing this..thanks alot :D

FugiTECH

Postby FugiTECH » June 26th, 2006, 10:55 am

i wanna do the same , we will make a pull when projects are completed
but for now

BOIIIIII............................. UPGRADE MONEY !!!!!!!!

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 26th, 2006, 11:34 am

lol yuh know..money is the key thing we need to upgrade...right now i going flat piper status after i finish with this engine job of the Sr20, so we guh pull ah project..but eh..i see ah fella reply 2 u in yours real plenty things need to be done just 2 get ah lil boast boy lol

the killin ah man for speed :twisted:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 26th, 2006, 2:01 pm

You gotta understand, you can do a quick setup but then you'll have to worry about if the car go make it home. To have an easy head do everything one time so that you won't be bothered after.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 26th, 2006, 2:34 pm

fuh real thaz real sense u talking dey..well arite cool thanks TriniGT..cause i hear ah talk on one of the topics if you turbo charge ur stock SR20DE you could run up to 5-7psi and be safe..but i was jus willin to run maybe 5psi boast...so thaz why i din know i had to change all that.. :twisted: thanks alot though

vvenom

Postby vvenom » June 26th, 2006, 2:57 pm

can a D8 tracktor tubro work on a sr20vvt

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 26th, 2006, 3:36 pm

Anything is possiblew but you have to have it tuned properly. Money is a funny thing.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 27th, 2006, 12:29 am

fuh real money is de hmm i eh even know how 2 say it..other than why i cyah be the first person to get a money tree in meh house :twisted:

cdx2k1

Postby cdx2k1 » June 27th, 2006, 12:47 am

^^You real dying for boost.lol.Just a joke>don't take it serious :wink:

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 27th, 2006, 2:59 pm

^^^ lol nah nah we cyah take tings serious on de forum lol here is all kix and fun...i dyin for boast yea..lol to much guh kill meh and well money is not here lol gimme some nah haha :twisted:

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 28th, 2006, 7:55 am

Well lastnight I spoke to a guy who is on the forum and believe it or not the myth has been busted.. Homie runs 15psi on stock internals on a SR20DE where others keep saying 7psi or you will mash up the engine I think 7psi with stock everything is the limit, But if you have a BTM and an Apexi controller as the guy has 15psi is what it can take( I sheit you not :| )... The engine was N/A b4 and he slapped on a hair dryer and dang the sheit moving.. :twisted:

dry

Postby dry » June 28th, 2006, 8:11 am

Homie also gets detonation that melts off the tips of the plugs....

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 28th, 2006, 8:14 am

Homie also gets detonation that melts off the tips of the plugs....

Serious.. He eh tell me that part.. LMAO :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hmm and to think he had me feeling I should of bought a DE and boost it..

So doc how long do you give the engine to live :lol: :lol: :lol:

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 28th, 2006, 8:18 am

I told to him to be careful, running a T25 on that high a boost won't do the turbo justice, will just shorten the life. But it would be an enjoyable one though.

Picasso

Postby Picasso » June 28th, 2006, 8:48 am

^^ I told him the same thing too.. I say " Boi you maxing out that turbo take care you start seeing smoke "

havokkk

Postby havokkk » June 28th, 2006, 9:11 am

Picasso wrote:Well lastnight I spoke to a guy who is on the forum and believe it or not the myth has been busted.. Homie runs 15psi on stock internals on a SR20DE where others keep saying 7psi or you will mash up the engine I think 7psi with stock everything is the limit, But if you have a BTM and an Apexi controller as the guy has 15psi is what it can take( I sheit you not :| )... The engine was N/A b4 and he slapped on a hair dryer and dang the sheit moving.. :twisted:

isn't the sr20de an over-built motor? in factory trim, what with it's stout, forged rods and lots of main and rod bearing overlap on the forged, induction-hardened crank, it's supposedly capable of handling 500hp.

but then, no forged bits will prevent you breaking ring lands, throwing rods, spinning bearings etc. from detonation. if he's any detonation at all, maybe he should revisit the engine mgmt.

it's not the boost pressure level in itself alone that wrecks your motor... it's ignition timing, and fuel delivery, and post ignition cylinder pressure.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 29th, 2006, 10:50 am

http://www.se-r.net/car_info/project_ca ... index.html

05/06/00- 392hp and 367lb/ft of torque. These figures were seen at R&D Dyno in Gardena, Ca.

1/4 ET 12.348 secs
1/4 MPH 114.70 mph

Here's a little info on the car. The car is a 1995 Nissan 200SX SE-R. It has a T3/T04E turbo on it with a huge 24" wide by 8" tall by 4.5" deep front mount intercooler. The motor is completely stock internally with the exception of the Jim Wolf Technology (JWT) 2nd generation cams. The head has not been romoved and it still has the original head gasket. The stock compression is 9.5 to 1 which is a little high for a turbo but not as bad as a Honda B16 motor.It also has Aquamist water injection which is controlled seemlessly with the JWT ECU. It is activated based on MAF sensor voltage (it's set at a certain value or load on the car) and is activated when it reaches that voltage. Then 120 milliseconds later, the JWT ECU switches to another set of timing and fuel maps. Water injection alone will yield a loss in horsepower, but with the timing and fuel map changes we are able to get more power out of the car on 92 octane pump gas. The car also has an MSD 6A ignition with a Nology Coil. Suspension wise the car is outfitted with Stillen front and rear Strut Tower Braces, GAB adjustable Struts and Shocks, and Ground Control Coil Overs. The car is also equiped with NuTech's front 3-way adjustable sway bar and (thicker than ST) rear bar. For wheels, the car has light weight Enkei RP01s and Toyo T1-S tires. The sizes are 17 X 7.5 and 215/45-17. The exhaust is a custom mandrel bent 3" exhaust with a Random Technology 3" cat.

thats allot fo HP for an internally stock SR20DE :D

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » June 29th, 2006, 10:57 am

Sweeeettt!!!

Bezman

Postby Bezman » June 30th, 2006, 11:39 am

Sweeeettt!!!

i've been telling people to check out this car for a while now, that was 6 years ago..

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 30th, 2006, 12:32 pm

wait nah tha was ah DE..and allyuh turbo charge it ?
tha in trinidad or somewhere else

sss

Postby sss » June 30th, 2006, 2:14 pm

hey the plug promblem needs to be checked out did not pay no mine on till it acted up recently will back off the boost till i get the safc tinkered with but how are we going to know what a stock sr20 de can do till we try it willing to be test subject

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 30th, 2006, 6:56 pm

^^^ thaz ah real gud point..i can't know until u try...u have ah SR20De and u turbo it or wha??

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » June 30th, 2006, 7:21 pm

anybody know the approx cost 2 turbo charge the silver top DE? i jus wanna push small boast ah 5psi is all i need...anybody cud link me with ah $$Figure and an approx time 2 do this :?:

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » June 30th, 2006, 7:37 pm

aye jasonsjohn16 how much u paid for ur Sr20de with LSD and where u got it?? Is it roller rocket type or the older sr20de?? U got ur axles for it?? Whose the mechanic??.....I asking all these questions cuz i considering buying one and swapping it in a QP11 primera....

KE70corolla

Postby KE70corolla » June 30th, 2006, 7:39 pm

ALso what to look for when buying any model engine?? what to ask?? etc.....thanks guys

turbohead

Postby turbohead » June 30th, 2006, 9:19 pm

hey it kinda cheap ah tell u all u ha 2 get is u manifold an turbo which is workin after dat 2 put it in wit pipin an exhaust an tin might cost 3 grand to get sum small boost. it might be cheaper also due 2 availibilty 2 parts an cost. give us a call or pm me right. 6558033 ask 4 lenny

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 1st, 2006, 8:56 am

aye KE70 corolla check uh PM

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 15th, 2006, 6:38 pm

aye fellaz if i turbo charge my sr20De Silver Top LSD Automatic Engine...wud that kill the life of it by chance...or do u tink i shud jus save up money and then in the furture look for a SR20DET to buy..but i also noticed that Sr20DET FWD does be hard 2 get..any help wud apprec.thanks fellaz

TriniGT

Postby TriniGT » July 17th, 2006, 11:26 am

If you ar erunning small psi you have no need to worry on the higher compression engines once you tune it properly, check your PM.

JJ16

Postby JJ16 » July 17th, 2006, 5:13 pm

oh scene..well i check the PM b4 i check here..cause i had tell u about the high compression ting...well ye ai wanna run as little as possible..lol if i cuda run 3psi i wuda run tha..buh if i cud get 5 and not damage my engine ...i wud invest in tha project as soon as momz and dem throw money my way again :lol: