Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby wagon r » February 24th, 2006, 7:10 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:....(thanks again to wagon r for enlightening us)........

.....aaaawwwww :oops: :oops: :oops:

....but stick to the 5,000km rule or just after. my oil always looked black after a while but GDI engines do tend to have a higher carbon build up as compared to other gas engines as far as i have discovered.

you'll have to remember that the engine design is almost the same as a diesel engine and those oils get black pretty fast.

venum

Postby venum » February 24th, 2006, 5:40 pm

blazing wrote:Firstly, changing the oil at 5000km is not a flush.

I did not mean that it was changed @ 5000km as a flush

the prevoius engine oil was Castrol GTX

which is fully a mineral oil

what I was advised by fellow mitsu brethren was to just drain the GTX and fill the Helix

then run for a short mileage and change to get rid of the remnant GTX

this is what I did

remember my engine (4G15) is non-GDI

so I am expecting the oil to be less black than if it was GDI

I guess that I will be sticking to a 5000km mileage

just use the Shell Helix for the advantage of keeping those lifters quiet

Corollaman - the effect of the Helix Plus on my engine was dramatic

one day Castrol GTX - noisy lifters (making noise every morning)

next day Shell Helix Plus - quiet lifters

and my lifters do not make noise when I do sudden braking

surprised that yours do :shock:

Rah

Postby Rah » February 25th, 2006, 11:31 am

Yeah i like the comparison of GDI's to diesel. Lol. Nice to know that its not only my oil that gets black so quickly. Vega your quite right, that fram jus doh cut it on the gdi. I used to have small tappet noise on start up. Im running a fram right now and lawd. Steel pan right thru. After carnival ill be changing it.
Last edited by Rah on February 26th, 2006, 12:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.

venum

Postby venum » February 25th, 2006, 9:35 pm

^^^ I use the Fram filter on my engine (PH-7317)

no problems

my engine is 4G15 non-GDI though

Postby wagon r » March 1st, 2006, 7:02 am

....but it's true.....the comparo between the diesel engine and the GDI. i have to find the article on it on sport compact car where they did a write up on it.

....was the only reason i bought that issue.. :mrgreen:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 25th, 2006, 2:13 am

bump for a bess thread......

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 28th, 2006, 6:39 am

can anyone tell me where i can fnd the gas filter in my vrg galant? is it easy to change?. also where can i get my injectors cleaned for a reasonable price...automotive components charges $250

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 30th, 2006, 11:22 am

gas filter located just in front of the rear wheel on the driver's side....yeah it under the car........

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 17th, 2006, 1:18 am

^TTT^

mitsugdi

Re: Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Postby mitsugdi » July 17th, 2006, 8:05 am

altec wrote:*TOPIC RE NAMED*

I finally got the noise to go, at least temporary(fingers crossed no probs yet). the engine gdi 4g93, the problem noisy hydraulic tappets, the solution run-rite 4 stage treatment. It cost me $288.00 but it working good so far. You could checkout their site, just do a search for run rite. I got it done at auto labs in arouca.

fellas when i change my oil the problem would go away then comes back after about a month. so i am monitoring this situation. hope you continue to update us on the forum. :roll:

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » July 17th, 2006, 8:16 am

Rah wrote:Yeah i like the comparison of GDI's to diesel. Lol. Nice to know that its not only my oil that gets black so quickly. Vega your quite right, that fram jus doh cut it on the gdi. I used to have small tappet noise on start up. Im running a fram right now and lawd. Steel pan right thru. After carnival ill be changing it.

8-)
why the oil on the gdi becomes so black in a short time. you mentioned about disel engine ,can you further explain because my oil becomes very black and lifters becomes noisy about one month after oil change. :roll: also i cant see the link between oil filter and lifter noise may be some one can explain. :oops:

sant74

Postby sant74 » July 17th, 2006, 5:54 pm

hey did that run rite every work out on the Vrg? or did it still act up?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 17th, 2006, 8:54 pm

^^^^Hey, y'all need to take some time and go through the entire thread......it'll take a while but many of your basic questions are answered.

also i cant see the link between oil filter and lifter noise may be some one can explain.
it has been suggested within the thread that due to the filtration material used in various brands of filters, the oil pressure may be reduced relative to the engine's rpm, thereby negatively affecting the flow of oil that circulates within the lifters' assembly (assuming that there is some fault within the lifter assembly)......

OIl is the life blood of the engine and clean healthy oil is important for the hydraulic lifters to operate properly. VW didn't make up these guidelines to get you into the dealer more often. Oil is a consumable item and its longevity depends on many factors. Use dirty oil and the lifters may score like a bearing. Use oil contaminated with blowby and moisture from short trips and cold weather driving and they will eventually act up. Gasoline leaking into the crankcase is bad also.

Despite anti-foaming agents in oil, if the level drops sufficiently it will aerate in the pump and cause lifter issues. This means if your oil is below the lower mark on the dipstick you may hear clattering of the lifters unnecessarily so keep the crankcase oil level at or near the top mark. Hot thin oil lets the lifter bleed down quickly which you may witness when you restart the engine after a long highway run. Eventually oil breaks down and loses its viscosity which leads to similar issues as hot thin oil.

Quoted from Hydraulic Lifters

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » July 17th, 2006, 10:10 pm

Interesting point ~Vega~ This might help too...

Engine flushing

"For every 100 gallons of gasoline burned in an engine, the following by-products are produced:
90 to 120 gallons of water
3 to 10 gallons of unburned gasoline
1/2 to 3 pounds of soot and carbon
1/4 to 1 pound of varnish
1 to 4 pounds of sulfuric and nitric acid."

http://www.yotarepair.com/sludge%20article.html

"How Sludge Forms...
Too much time between oil changes. (Which seems to agree with your opinion but...)
Running the engine low on oil. (55 hours use at one quart too little... ie the "minimum" mark
on the dip-stick... increases the viscosity of the oil by over 1000%)

Severe service conditions. Short trips, Stop & Go Driving, extended idling, high or low
ambient temperature, mechanical malfunctions etc. It is estimated that vehicles operate
80% of the time under one or other of the above "severe service" conditions!"

http://www.synlube.com/sludge.htm

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 18th, 2006, 2:39 am

I can't believe I missed that engine flushing thread.......good job linking it here...btw I edited the link to read according to the subject..hope you don't mind there Sanctifier :wink:

sant74

Postby sant74 » July 18th, 2006, 4:11 pm

what about the fuel pump? can an aftermarket pump work? if so, which one?and where can you get the coil packs at a good price?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 18th, 2006, 8:22 pm

^^^^there are around 3 different versions of the coil packs for the galant 4g93gdi motor.......differs in terms of mounting onto the engine and length of shaft, however I uncertain as to if there exists any electrical output differences.

I had paid $1400 for a set of 4 from some f/u place (meh mech bought them after waiting nearly 2 years for Diamond motors to fulfill my order. They however have a different bolt pattern from the original but they working........

sant74

Postby sant74 » July 18th, 2006, 9:19 pm

which foreign used place ? maybe i can hook up with a set for myself,also any tips with a mechanic that is HONEST and knows about the GDI engine?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » July 19th, 2006, 3:21 am

sant pm me ... i might have a set for u

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » July 19th, 2006, 3:30 pm

mitsu men , my wife's GDI lancer cedia makes a noisy clicking noise when acclerating, i read a couple pages of this thread, can this be a result of the noisy tappets you spoke off...when the car is idleing i don't hear it, only on accleration and well driving....any ideas??

sant74

Postby sant74 » July 19th, 2006, 7:02 pm

MonsterPowergive me a number to call you we'll talk

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 19th, 2006, 11:50 pm

~*SiLvA MeRa*~ wrote:mitsu men , my wife's GDI lancer cedia makes a noisy clicking noise when acclerating, i read a couple pages of this thread, can this be a result of the noisy tappets you spoke off...when the car is idleing i don't hear it, only on accleration and well driving....any ideas??

Usually you would hear the lifters at idle, as the engine is at a low rpm and thereby oil pressure is lower than when driving.....You may continue to hear them during driving........ Only when accelerating do you hear the noise? And if so does the sound you hear, sound more like *packs packs packs*?

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » July 20th, 2006, 8:39 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:
~*SiLvA MeRa*~ wrote:mitsu men , my wife's GDI lancer cedia makes a noisy clicking noise when acclerating, i read a couple pages of this thread, can this be a result of the noisy tappets you spoke off...when the car is idleing i don't hear it, only on accleration and well driving....any ideas??

Usually you would hear the lifters at idle, as the engine is at a low rpm and thereby oil pressure is lower than when driving.....You may continue to hear them during driving........ Only when accelerating do you hear the noise? And if so does the sound you hear, sound more like *packs packs packs*?

Vega boy, to me it sounds like clicking but i suppose to others it may sound different, thinking about it, that pack pack sound may very well be one and the same noise i am referring to?...so what that could be??

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 21st, 2006, 9:51 pm

*packs packs* noise is self explanatory.........lol........coil packs man.......

But the lancer gdi should not be calling for that so soon......I would suggest getting a qualified someone to inspect the ride....

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » July 24th, 2006, 11:45 am

will do vega...i took it some time ago to get it checked, but you know the usual story when you take your car to the mechanic, suddenly, you hear no noise and eveything seems to be working perfectly.... :lol:

sant74

altenator belt

Postby sant74 » July 24th, 2006, 3:00 pm

Can anyone help me source an alternator belt for my VRG,mine is stripping. Bobby's dont have nither does PT Auto

stang

Postby stang » July 24th, 2006, 3:09 pm

try lauglin and DeGannes (St. Augustine)..had all the belt on my VRG changed for 200-300 inc of service...

Postby Greypatch » July 24th, 2006, 6:01 pm

this thread still alive :shock:

Postby ~Vēġó~ » July 25th, 2006, 12:21 am

^^^Yes it is.......too good to kill....... :wink:

Can anyone help me source an alternator belt for my VRG,mine is stripping. Bobby's dont have nither does PT Auto

Got me a Gates belt right here in rio claro......think I paid $40 for it.

Do you know the belt# or do you need that info? I can post that # for you later if you so desire.....

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » July 25th, 2006, 12:27 am

coil packs kicked out on me. had to get them changed on a 1999 lancer.

Return to “MITSUBISHI”