WiFi hotspots

Dr Zoidberg

WiFi hotspots

Postby Dr Zoidberg » July 20th, 2006, 3:34 pm

Think it would be a good idea to compile a list of places with open wifi hotspots in T&T.
I'll start with two I've come upon. Pls add more to the list if you know of any.
Thanks.

1) Trotters
2) More Vino

Val

Postby Val » July 20th, 2006, 3:39 pm

I'm not quite certain, but I have heard that Movietowne has a hotspot.

Can anyone confirm?

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » July 20th, 2006, 3:46 pm

I've never accessed the MT hotspot in the carpark... It would also be cool if people could post bandwidth test results with their hotspots

3) Piarco AIRPORT - ~1.5mbit
Last edited by zer0xp on July 20th, 2006, 3:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 20th, 2006, 3:46 pm

^ Yes MovieTowne has a hotspot

4) TGI Fridays POS
5) Piarco Airport

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » July 20th, 2006, 3:47 pm

Repost on duane... 1 more we thread :lol:

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 20th, 2006, 3:49 pm

^ you are incorrect - Piarco is a village in Trinidad - you didnt specify the airport

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » July 20th, 2006, 3:50 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ you are incorrect - Piarco is a village in Trinidad - you didnt specify the airport

I really study dat after i post it you know... but i figure people wudn get so technical wid it... :lol:

rice-a-roni

Postby rice-a-roni » July 20th, 2006, 3:56 pm

ent it have 1 in Trincity Mall?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 20th, 2006, 3:58 pm

^ I've heard the food court at trincity has one but havent confirmed it

plex

Postby plex » July 20th, 2006, 4:00 pm

anyone know any in south?

Postby Cjruckus » July 20th, 2006, 4:00 pm

Rituals in Maraval has a Hotspot
So does the parking lot across from the bank next to KFC Maraval for some weird reason.. Someones internet isnt secure. But that is kinda spotty.

Where is the Hot spot in Movietowne?
cause it doesnt work outside in the parking lot?
Last edited by Cjruckus on July 20th, 2006, 4:04 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Sinister_Audio » July 20th, 2006, 4:01 pm

Hooters

zer0xp

Postby zer0xp » July 20th, 2006, 4:05 pm

Cjruckus wrote:Rituals in Maraval has a Hotspot
So does the parking lot across from the bank next to KFC Maraval for some weird reason.. Someones internet isnt secure. But that is kinda spotty.

boy i fix dat man DSL For him :lol: :lol:
It wasnt set up correctly... thing down probably waitin 3-4 weeks for tstt to come

Postby AllTrac » July 20th, 2006, 4:09 pm

in front on TTBS :mrgreen:

Postby Cjruckus » July 20th, 2006, 4:13 pm

oh and infront of R. Mutt house has an open hotspot.
been using that cause i missed my TSTT Bill lst week.

Thanks Patrick!

Rahtid

Postby Rahtid » July 20th, 2006, 4:47 pm

3) Piarco AIRPORT - ~1.5mbit
d carpark also or only inside?

EL JEFE

Postby EL JEFE » July 20th, 2006, 4:58 pm

ask snags. he is war drive apache king.

Postby X2 » July 20th, 2006, 5:07 pm

Piarco airport is only inside and upstairs if I remember correct.

How exactly do they limit the distance anyways ?

Postby Cjruckus » July 20th, 2006, 5:15 pm

Rahtid wrote:3) Piarco AIRPORT - ~1.5mbit

Terminal only, the signal dies once you hit duty free

trini_ravi

Postby trini_ravi » July 20th, 2006, 5:27 pm

X2 wrote:Piarco airport is only inside and upstairs if I remember correct.

How exactly do they limit the distance anyways ?

i got signal in the car park...

Postby pete » July 20th, 2006, 5:46 pm

On the promenade opposite TSTT has a AP. 512k but MSN is blocked.

Outside of Trotters some other company has a 512k AP but they allow MSN. (or they did around december)

Trincity food court is supposed to have but the two times I went there I was only getting 169.254.*.* IP addresses and was "disconnected" (not like I was even connected) very regularly.

In the airport by KFC I was able to access TSTT's website and MSN but nothing else worked.

Driving between Kaydonna and Valpark I've passed a couple APs that don't have WEP on but never stopped to see if I could get online.

Snags

Postby Snags » July 20th, 2006, 5:52 pm

$mall$464 wrote:ask snags. he is war drive apache king.

Thank you sir, thank you kindly 8-)
ehh, there's all over south, too many places to list, if I can find some dumps of my dumps I'll post it up.

Cheers posers

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 20th, 2006, 5:55 pm

at the airport i find and got online on at least 3 different networks..
all parked in front of arrivals
and one or 2 by the doubles lady

Postby X2 » July 20th, 2006, 5:58 pm

I have signed on INSIDE the airport a few times... no limitations on sites, etc... but I can only vouch for departures. :wink:

Postby Cjruckus » July 20th, 2006, 6:02 pm

Outside Redsupra house is a next one.
1mb not secured. Just checked and confirmed.

Chiney

Postby Chiney » July 20th, 2006, 6:09 pm

Outside Redsupra house is a next one.
1mb not secured. Just checked and confirmed.

srnoth

Postby srnoth » July 20th, 2006, 9:09 pm

Cjruckus wrote:
Rahtid wrote:3) Piarco AIRPORT - ~1.5mbit

Terminal only, the signal dies once you hit duty free

Well in the airport there are several, not just TSTT's one. I've connected upstairs in the restaurant, waiting infront of arrivals, sitting in my car in the car park, and sitting in a plane waiting to depart the gate ;-).

There are hundreds of open wifi APs along the east-west corridor, plenty of which aren't hotspots but simply ppl who never heard of WEP or encryption :-).

Also in trincity mall Laptop City had an open access point, but I got plenty strange looks from ppl after I pulled out my laptop infront their store and started to use the internet, lol.

Stephen.

turbo master

Postby turbo master » July 21st, 2006, 11:08 am

trincity isnt working.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » July 21st, 2006, 11:17 am

^ is the trincity hotspot supposed to only be in the food court or the entire mall?

turbo master

Postby turbo master » July 21st, 2006, 12:26 pm

as far as i know duane..the food court..i took my laptop when i was workin at tstt..n only got bootleggers network which btw..is security enabled..