Project "Dougla" begins...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 21st, 2006, 6:39 pm

i've decided to have a running "journal" about project Dougla...have not really seen it done here.....

..so last weekend we did the unthinkable.....broke the GSR LSD diff.....so we took the time to jack up the rear of the car and do some "structual inspection......

the car is 17yrs plus...so we expected to find strucual fatige..which wasnt as bad as we thought

original GSR brakes...we're looking at an upgrade..just not sure what direction as yet as they do bring th car down in its current setup

Karl found something that he cudnt immediately idientfiy..so we dubbed it..."Fuel Torque COnverter...." lol

what was really funny is thaat the exhaust sytem is a 3 inch up at the down pipes but is then "REDUCED" to 2.5 inches....yeh....

so a quick call to Navin at D n D (have yall seen his mad 200 Sx as yet?....wow!!!) yeilded us this...fresh off the container....this will be spliced on to the rest of th 3 inch set up we want to use..

thats it for now..hopefully tomorrow we'll scrap the diff and see what went "clunk" and make an attempt at fixing/replacing it.....we've installed the Recaros last weekend (actualyl it was this fresh feeling of compfrt that led to the diff breaking...)

and ive swapped out the "blingers" for something lightweight....for now.
Last edited by Monk BANzai on July 22nd, 2006, 2:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 21st, 2006, 6:51 pm

*runs around screaming like a madman*

Postby Maserati » July 21st, 2006, 10:06 pm

lovely

RYO3149

Postby RYO3149 » July 21st, 2006, 11:05 pm

project dougla yuh say ... lol

InDeForest

Postby InDeForest » July 21st, 2006, 11:50 pm

Thats nice, hear nah, banzai, that Nur Spec looks to me like it has WRX/STI hanger mounts, give men a bligh and sell it to a grateful subie owner and geh a nex 3" for the lancer nah, it would be worth your while, it would also be the 2nd time ive seen a subie diffback chopped into a box lancer!

Anyway, we want engine bay pics, and tell us, what are your options for upgrading the GSRs diff? Do you have to stick to the solid rear axle?

MISHI
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby MISHI » July 21st, 2006, 11:59 pm

I thought you sold this yes bro.....

Aern't those the wheels from the VR-4?

redsupra101

Postby redsupra101 » July 22nd, 2006, 12:36 am

^ check the bolt patter.. its 4 bolt..

very nice that he got similar styled wheels for both cars tho :P

should i expect to see this one parked with the 'others' as well?

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 22nd, 2006, 1:42 am

What engine will ya be using?

Postby Monk BANzai » July 22nd, 2006, 2:19 am

engine is stage three of th project......as for a diff..we looking at a 720 dif...preferably not welded...the GSR diff is strong but nt for what we plan...

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 22nd, 2006, 7:10 am

Ah. I take it you using something much more powerfull than the original 1800 gsr engine.

Do you still have the original 1800 around btw? *looks as if he is a corbeux waiting* :lol:

Dada
3NE 2NR Aficionado

Postby Dada » July 22nd, 2006, 7:54 am

Banzai Rastafarai wrote:engine is stage three of th project......as for a diff..we looking at a 720 dif...preferably not welded...the GSR diff is strong but nt for what we plan...

sweet...remind me of my days.....but that time ah sirus2K and ah 32/36 or a 36/36 ratchet was ah big deal for we......sweet.........i always love those cars...mines was PAK9423..........

Fuzz Master

Postby Fuzz Master » July 22nd, 2006, 10:15 am

sweetness

.:PROZAC:..

Postby .:PROZAC:.. » July 22nd, 2006, 11:05 am

was this neil's car?

Postby Monk BANzai » July 22nd, 2006, 12:38 pm

^^ Sham....his brother....

Quicksilver

Postby Quicksilver » July 22nd, 2006, 1:17 pm

Dougla looking good.... or is not a dougla yet, still waiting to get crossbreed or what? good stuff man :twisted:

Rx

Postby Rx » July 22nd, 2006, 3:53 pm

yuh parting with the silencer?

great project .... keep us up to date :)

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 22nd, 2006, 3:56 pm

yuh cudda well sell meh dem recaros.... :|

but i find de backrest lookin broader than usual...i mighta still slide around in dat...stewps i hadda put on some weight yes...

Postby Monk BANzai » July 22nd, 2006, 8:58 pm

pr came out of a "rally spec" scoobie..or so de felal tell me..i personally think is tw odifferent seats....buh say wah...dey wukking!!

R. Mutt
Location: on the side of the road maptracing and reflashing the ecu

Postby R. Mutt » July 22nd, 2006, 9:03 pm

Very Nice...wish they had more thread like this.

demented

Postby demented » July 22nd, 2006, 10:00 pm

Now this is what we talking about..ole school projects..my kinda thing. Can't wait to see the progress reports 0X

EVOlved

Postby EVOlved » July 22nd, 2006, 10:48 pm

look ting....i sold mine earlier this year PAK 4023

Postby Monk BANzai » July 22nd, 2006, 10:49 pm

^^ wil ltry and keep it on a weekly schedule once progress is done.....

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » July 23rd, 2006, 9:21 am

find out what went clunk in the diff? my stock cressida diff did that loudly from test run and dropping from Drive to 2 and it was 3 teeths in a gear that broke off, was fixable but i get bess deal on a complete supra rearend

Postby Monk BANzai » July 24th, 2006, 12:35 am

the source of the clunk........teeth bite way.....mitsu GSR diff definitely not up to the kind of power we looking at...

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » July 24th, 2006, 12:48 am

^ouch, that not so comforting :shock:

bluespeed

Postby bluespeed » July 24th, 2006, 6:26 am

Rass, What type of engine you running with that big intercoler you have in front yuh car???? Did you get the bumper???

Postby wagon r » July 24th, 2006, 7:03 am

......man have the seats i lookin for oui....nice article rover, have me considerin one for the L2.....

...although the project is now complete.... :mrgreen:

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » July 27th, 2006, 10:58 am

Banzai Rastafarai wrote:^^ wil ltry and keep it on a weekly schedule once progress is done.....

great post man,
knew the car and 2 previous owners very well.
glad to see those chromes off.

PM sent.

Val

Postby Val » July 27th, 2006, 2:17 pm

looks great.

I don't know the Lancer, why is it XL if it has GSR diff etc? (conversion?)

I smell 4G63T power coming on.

Postby pete » July 27th, 2006, 3:14 pm

The car not leaning out any more like it was on the dyno rite?

and if u think 3" to 2.5" is weird.. mine goes from 2" to 1.5" around the middle of the car. :?