Info needed on Diesel vehicles

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 2nd, 2006, 4:44 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:question where do u'll service .. adn whats an ave cost for a regular service.. ie the 3/4 filters ( nissans have 2 fuel) & oil??

or rather what does ur regular service entail and how much does it cost u?

Oil Filters are changed with oil... that's a duh... I change oil every 7500km because of the turbo. Using Castrol Ultramax 25W50 right now.
(BTW, I saw a Castrol Triple Protection or something like that. Anyone seen it? In a Olive green bottle. It's for extreme diesel conditions - towing, uphill driving, etc. I might try that next!)

I know the Shell is good too... and comes in the Madzas.

Used to change the fuel filter every 40K km, but I might reduce that interval given the availability of the filters and the crap fuel.

Some of the better air filters can be washed with breeze and left to dry. I've done this before with a Sakura filter. Good stuff... Only washed it once though. Replaced it the second time. Remember be careful when washing! If you choose to go that route...

Postby equipped2ripp » August 2nd, 2006, 9:59 pm

change fuel filter at every 40K? :shock:

Postby wagon r » August 3rd, 2006, 8:31 am

just a lil something you guys should read.....it's located in the "Best of Tech" stickie....

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=64739

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 3rd, 2006, 8:35 am

equipped2ripp wrote:change fuel filter at every 40K? :shock:

Yes yes... back in the days of IGNORANCE!

Man I learn alot about diesels by force in the past 6 years eh! :shock:

Now I try to change it every other oil change

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 3rd, 2006, 8:37 am

wagon r wrote:just a lil something you guys should read.....it's located in the "Best of Tech" stickie....

http://forums.trinituner.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=64739

And I think it got lost in there cause we just couldn't SEE it anymore... :?

Postby wagon r » August 3rd, 2006, 12:48 pm

true dat, otherwise this thread may not have started, the old one would have continued.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » August 3rd, 2006, 8:35 pm

i noticed a post in that thread, about the reason why a diesel engine will "mash up" if u try to start it with a busted timing belt. good info there.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 4th, 2006, 7:55 am

^^ Eh?

But the engine will be destroyed when the timing belt goes... And I doh think a timing belt bursts while the engine off :)

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » August 4th, 2006, 2:46 pm

Oil Filters are changed with oil... that's a duh...

dont get sassy with me or i'll slow down ur request for the winches.. :twisted: lol

now more silly questions .. where do u'll service?
what is the ave cost of ur service.. labour inc.
and what is the one mod u would liek to see done to ur engine?

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 4th, 2006, 5:11 pm

horsepwrjunki wrote:
Oil Filters are changed with oil... that's a duh...

dont get sassy with me or i'll slow down ur request for the winches.. :twisted: lol

now more silly questions .. where do u'll service?
what is the ave cost of ur service.. labour inc.
and what is the one mod u would liek to see done to ur engine?

MMmmm Hmmm!! I still waiting for that quote man!

I go start to boycott allyuh yuh know! :D

As for the servicing - I service my personal vehicle at the service station we've been servicing at for years. That is underwash, engine wash etc. They also do oil change and other fluid changes ( diff oil, transfer case, etc.)

I would usually pay about $80-$100 for an underwash, engine wash, spray and to grease the nipples (all 8).

My Mechanic in Barataria handles everything else. He knows his diesels, and is pretty thorough. As you can imagine, his price is nifty too! But his turn around is FAST.
We changed clutch plate, pressure plate, release bearing, pilot bearing, etc. Plus oil, glow plugs, cleaned strainer, etc. and got the vehicle back in 2 1/2 days. And you KNOW what taking down a 4x4 pickup tranny is like...

venum

Postby venum » August 4th, 2006, 6:41 pm

really great info in that thread wagon r

so let me ask this now

post some prices - oil, oil filter, fuel filter, air filter, glow plugs

also mileage per tank for both auto and manual, TD and N/A

anyone with any experience with Mitsu 4D56 L200 and 4M40 Pajero's

sweeks

Postby sweeks » August 4th, 2006, 9:20 pm

Fellas... Good work on the previous posts.
Anyone running sytec oil in their diesel engine?
If so how often is the oil changed?
What would be the advantages?
Would the engine (esp the turbos) run cooler with syntec oil?

Postby equipped2ripp » August 5th, 2006, 2:32 am

venum wrote:really great info in that thread wagon r

so let me ask this now

oil - from $92.00/gallon up (total quartz 15w-40)

oil filter - from $30 up

fuel filter - from $50 up

air filter - from $75.00 up

prices tend to vary for the filters.

use genuine oil and air filters.

i get around 550kms to a tank with a manual 3.0TD

Postby equipped2ripp » August 5th, 2006, 2:33 am

prices i quoted on the filters are aftermarket - asco, sakura, purolator etc.

original tend to be in the $100's

Val

Postby Val » August 6th, 2006, 8:36 am

Mileage so far 284kms on a half tank of diesel. So double that for a full tank.

2.9 Non Turbo (that's driving with A/C on all the time).

Postby wagon r » August 7th, 2006, 6:52 am

....i get usually between 550-620 on a tank. manual non-turbo L2....the first set they ever brought in.

i use a/c but only on occasion, and i try not to cross 95kph.....mileage in a diesel all depends on how you drive it. :wink:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 7th, 2006, 7:28 am

wagon r wrote:i use a/c but only on occasion, and i try not to cross 95kph.....mileage in a diesel all depends on how you drive it. :wink:

I agree. Economy drops DRASTICALLY once you running a diesel... that is 3500 - 4500 rpm range.
I try to change gears at 3000 -3500 rpm doing highway driving, and keep it about 3500 in 5th to give me a speed of about 110-120 kmph... But I occasionally push it all the way once I'm in the mood... that's 4200-4300 rpm :!: :!:

Max Torque on the Mazda B2500 Turbo comes at 1800-2000 rpm.
Max Power comes at 3500 rpm. For the non turbo is 4200 I think.

Of course, every diesel owner LOVES to lug it.. right? :oops:

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 7th, 2006, 7:38 am

venum wrote:really great info in that thread wagon r

so let me ask this now

Oil Filters - $40 (Sakura) - $80 (Bosch)
Air Filters - $65 (Sakura) -$80
Fuel Filters - $40(Sakura) -80 (Bosch)

Glow Plugs - $95 (NGK)
Note: glow plugs aren't something that you have to change THAT often. I think ours went cause we had a problem with a heating sensor.

Brake pads - $140 - $300

Engine Oil - $25-30 for a quart of Castrol Ultramax. Other brands may vary.

Transfer case / diff / gear oil - $20 - $30 per quart.

OEM prices are 3-4 times as much, as you would already know. I use replacement parts cause they are from the same manufacturers as OEM... :? At least, that's my logic.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 8th, 2006, 8:02 am

Fuel economy:
369 kms and the needle just under half

Val

Postby Val » August 8th, 2006, 8:20 am

I got 489 kms thus far, needle just a bit over E.

That's moderate driving (cruising speed at 110kph) and A/C on ALL the time. So I'd estimate 500 kms for a full tank with A/C on.

bleedingfreak

Postby bleedingfreak » August 8th, 2006, 2:43 pm

I didn't make much highway runs this week... mostly main road, etc... so my overall speed was slower... hence the economy :0