Spyrogyra

Postby Spyrogyra » August 10th, 2006, 2:03 pm

One thing he forgot to do is bleed the brake fluid

mitsugdi

Re: Brake pad change for tuner-nOObs

Postby mitsugdi » August 10th, 2006, 2:29 pm

MG Man wrote:This will be too basic for most tuners, but given some of the questions asked on this forum, I am sure some ppl will find it useful

Brake pad replacement is pretty simple and straightforward: pull old pads out, reset caliper pistons, put new pads in.......

First, some basics
Safety: do not take safety for granted. Always use a proper jack and axlestands if available. I did not have my trolley jack, so I used the car's scissors jack (not the best option), and put a tyre under the rocker panel.....also, the opposite back wheel was chocked and handbrakes applied.

Tools: always ensure you have all the tools available. You do not want to get stuck and have to leave the car unfinished while u look to borrow / buy tools....for this job u need the basics, spanners, pliers, plus a good g-clamp will make your life easier

Secure back of car
Notice low level of brake resivior, indicating worn pads. This is because the caliper pistons stick out of the caliper further, to maintain contact with the brake pads....hence more fluid in the system, less in the resivoir. Do not top-up. Also, leave resivoir cap off when resetting pistons. Careful any debris gets into resivoir! When the pistons are pushed back in, the level will return to 'max' unless you have a leak in the system
This is what the caliper assembly looks like, The forward facing cover keeps the pads in place, and is removed by loosening two retaining bolts. On older cars, you may simply have some spring clips and pins. Note flexible brake hose which should be inspected for cracks or damage
note bolts top and bottom
[bolts slackened
In some cars, it is possible to just remove the bottom bolt and swing the cover up to expose the pads. In this case, both had to be removed for full clearance. It also made the task of resetting the pistons easier by removing the caliper altogether
[with the bolts off, you can move the caliper out of the way. NEVER let the caliper hang by the flexible hose. If necessary, tie it to the suspension so the hose is not under strain or twist.

Worn pads are clearly visible, and can now be removed

The pads are backed by shims, and these are easily removed, folowed by the bads. Take care not to get any oily fingerprints on the rotors. It is also helpful to lay the removed parts out the way they came off, noting carefully the orientaion of springs and clips

[shims, old pads, new pads...OEM Toyota

The new pads did not come with new shims and clips, so I reused the old shims and clips. Be careful when removing the clips, as they can be easily damaged. Take careful note how the fit, and which one goes on which pad!
note use of old clip
Pads ahd ships in place
Time now to refit the caliper. Since the pads are thicker than the old ones, the caliper piston must now be pushed back into the caliper so the caliper assembly can be replaced. While it may be possible to pry it back using a screwdriver or other such lever, I prefer to use a g-clamp and an old pad. In this way, the piston is pressed back in evenly and n a more controled manner

Caliper, showing exposed piston
It is a good practice at this time to examine the piston for signs of corrosion or pitting, if the piston surface is visible, especiallyif the car has been left idle for some time. In older cars, pert of the piston surface is actually exposed when the pad becomes worn, so there is a much greater risk of piston damage due to moisture and dirt exposure. The piston must be perfectly smooth, otherwise it can damage the caliper seals
[Here you can see hw much the piston is protruding. It has to be bushed back flush
The tools

Once the piston is reset, the caliper can be reinstalled. Assembly is the reverse of removal

Remember with new pads you need to bed them in before driving like a lunatic. No hard acceleratoin / hard stops to 'test them out'

well done man.
I noticed on one of the pics that the pads went down to zero.I would like to add that there is a wear limit indicator on each pair of pads. That silver clips you see on one side would touch the rotor and start to make noise. wen you hear that well is time to replace before the disk is damaged.

Postby MG Man » August 11th, 2006, 9:56 am

^^^^ yeah, I really stick on replacing those pads, especially after three Solodex events.....but that car crawls to abd from work in traffic, so the brakes never even gave a hint of a squeal.......I tend to take this car for granted......it does not complain like the others

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 11th, 2006, 10:29 am

^^ cause toyota kicks a$$!!

Nav_1981

Postby Nav_1981 » December 12th, 2010, 7:05 am

Great read..

now i can Do it myself..

btw i went down to Chag auto suppllies .. the did nt hav the OEM disc pads. they suggetsed Elite replacment ,,,

can anyone advise? how do these perform (braking capacity, noise level etc.)

Postby MG Man » December 12th, 2010, 8:50 pm

Nav, what vehicle you running?
I'm running Mintex on the rear of the MINI Cooper, sourced out of the US
EBC green stuff might be an option as well

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 12th, 2010, 10:55 pm

great thread man....been changing my own brake pads for a while too.....need to invest in that piston re-set tool thingy though....

Postby MG Man » December 12th, 2010, 10:59 pm

the one to wind the piston back in?
$50 in The Tool Store

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 13th, 2010, 11:38 am

^^^^ that doh look the tool you posted initially...

Postby MG Man » December 13th, 2010, 12:22 pm

vega,
on some cars, you can't simply press the piston back in with a c-clamp
You have to actually rotate it as you push it back in...that's what I thought you meant.....
when you need to rotate the piston, the cube-lookin thing snaps onto a ratchet, and the 4 pegs fit into 4 holes on the piston...you then wind the piston back in using the ratchet

Postby bluesteel29 » December 14th, 2010, 1:31 pm

so wam...ya doh grease d boot rubbas, slidin pins n back ah d pads?

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 3:19 pm

nah
couldn't find copper-based grease for the back of the pads, but the shims do their job anyway
assuming u mean the piston dust seals, grease is not a good idea....
pins were moving nice and free so I left them alone

Postby bluesteel29 » December 14th, 2010, 3:29 pm

XD..sry...i meant the dust boots where the pin slides in...but as u said it was movin freely

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 3:35 pm

either way I wouldn't grease those
grease would make them deteriorate
Some mechanics put silicone behind the pads or behind the shims
On my older cars I use copper based grease

True story:
Mornin' yuh ha copper-based grease?
A cup ah woh????
GREASE...copper BASED grease
We ha grease in choob an plastic container...we eh he de one in de cup
Ok thanks...have a nice day

Postby bluesteel29 » December 14th, 2010, 4:30 pm

but if grease deteriorates the dust boots why do they come from the factory with grease?..or why does a caliper rebuilt kit come with grease for the dust boots?

Postby MG Man » December 14th, 2010, 7:32 pm

ever look at the type of grease?
nex ting I say grease and somebody go and put all purpose grease

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 15th, 2010, 1:20 am

ah, I have learnt something yet again there MG Man....much thanks.... I believe my pistons are the press in type.....but that's based on what I've seen my mech do in terms of using a screw driver between worn pad and edge of caliper to prise and send piston back in......

Postby MG Man » December 15th, 2010, 1:43 am

the turn-and-retract type will typically have the notches for the tool

this one's pretty nifty too but I've never seen it locally

Postby bluesteel29 » December 15th, 2010, 2:17 am

cant go wrong with the cube tho....screw in type pistons are normally on rear disk brakes

bess DIY write up nevertheless

angel_player

Postby angel_player » December 27th, 2010, 1:16 am

Very handy thread...bookmark!

Postby Strugglerzinc » December 27th, 2010, 8:10 am

MG Man wrote:either way I wouldn't grease those
grease would make them deteriorate
Some mechanics put silicone behind the pads or behind the shims
On my older cars I use copper based grease

True story:
Mornin' yuh ha copper-based grease?
A cup ah woh????
GREASE...copper BASED grease
We ha grease in choob an plastic container...we eh he de one in de cup
Ok thanks...have a nice day

I'd almost swear this was a Couva parts place. I had a similar convo some time back.

Postby MG Man » December 28th, 2010, 9:02 am

lol a popular place in marabella

ivar

Postby ivar » May 10th, 2012, 3:06 pm

great i will need dis

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 9th, 2012, 11:10 pm

MG Man wrote:nah
couldn't find copper-based grease for the back of the pads, but the shims do their job anyway
assuming u mean the piston dust seals, grease is not a good idea....
pins were moving nice and free so I left them alone

What type of grease would you recommend for the pins?

Postby MG Man » June 10th, 2012, 9:16 pm

general purpose hi temp grease should suffice, but be VERY sparing with it

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 10th, 2012, 10:51 pm

Why do you say that though?

Postby MG Man » June 10th, 2012, 11:55 pm

high operating temperatures require a high temp grease

Postby Strugglerzinc » June 11th, 2012, 1:13 pm

And sparingly because you do not want any grease of any sort finding its way to your friction surfaces.

NR8

Postby NR8 » June 13th, 2012, 8:03 am

I asked why wrt to the sparing part, should've specified, my bad.
Thanks though!

Postby MG Man » June 13th, 2012, 10:03 am

NR8 wrote:I asked why wrt to the sparing part, should've specified, my bad.
Thanks though!

no prob
as said before, you don't want to risk grease getting on the rotors or pads
Also, do not use gasolene to clean your brake parts. Never use anything that will leave a residue when dry......that's why I use methylated spirit.........you can use brake part cleaner as well........also try not to touch or handle the rotors.....your fingers will also leave grease prints