Toyota Supra = Dead

Yeo

Toyota Supra = Dead

Postby Yeo » August 17th, 2006, 8:30 am

...And in one move the hopes and dreams of all Toyota fanboys are crushed in one swoop, maybe...

Originally Posted by Leftlanenews.com
There will not be a new Toyota Supra, according to trade publication Automotive News. "All the rumors of the two-passenger sports car's return are false," a new report says. Instead, it looks like the Lexus LF-A will be Toyota's only supercar. The publication also said Toyota has delayed the launch of the Lexus IS convertible, because there were concerns over its competitiveness. Originally slated to debut alongside the IS coupe, the cabriolet may now be delayed until 2008. Lastly, the report indicates a successor to the Lexus SC 430 will arrive in 2008, using the IS/GS platform and a 4.6-liter V8. It will apparently feature "proportions and stance similar to those of a BMW 6 series."

Yeo

Postby Yeo » August 17th, 2006, 8:34 am

I am a fan of the Supra, so this does hit pretty hard for me. I guess this was to keep up with trends. The Celica's gone and replaced by the tC. The Toyota MR-S is with the MR-2 in the graveyard. So it leaves their only sports car- the Supra. That's been gone for a while. Now their flagship car is probably the Camry or the Corolla or whatever they have. Rivaling Nissan is still doing well with the 350Z. So I don't know. Maybe Toyota is offering mostly commuter cars for those who don't want to light up the tires and go crazy on the road.

I don't know if the LF-A will be marketed like the SLR McLaren as a quality sports car from a luxury branch of a major car company. I'm pretty sure there will be some luxury. Just not enough to say that this is a grandfather's car or whatever. Any TCS would likely be added or at least can be toggled. I don't know too much on the LF-A to actually say that I'll say goodbye to the Supra and hello to the LF-A. I'll have to read more about it to know what could be in play vs. the GT-R.

I still just hope that people saddened to not get a Toyota sports car will likely find some nicer alternatives. Question is, will the "fanboys" (I hate using that term much less referring to people as such) still appreciate the cars available from Toyota or just care more about older times when you had the Celica GT-Four and Supra as two of the finest Toyota models (Chaser nonwithstanding). Whether or not this is a big loss depends on how much you like Toyota and what their past offerings brought about compared to now.

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 17th, 2006, 10:04 am

Bloody hell......nail in the coffin there yes!! :evil:

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » August 17th, 2006, 10:15 am

:( :(

Strauss

Postby Strauss » August 17th, 2006, 10:33 am

Yes I was expecting this.
I feel it really bad here.

Postby eliteauto » August 17th, 2006, 10:35 am

guess the older models will be more valued, as said above Toyota fans may have to move on to another brand for high performance vehicles

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2006, 11:14 am

i think Toyota is positioning itself alongside BMW not Nissan or Honda. for years BMW didnt bother with sports cars, they then tried later with the Z3, Z4 and of course Z8, even making sub par M versions of each, but their strong hold has ALWAYS been incridibly well refined and tunned sports sedans and WICKED fast, agressive sport coupes (M3)

i think Toyota / Lexus is on the right track in a kinda of way.. focusing on well build RWD sports sedans and coupes will allow them to compete with BMW, grow into a wealthier market and refine theor rpoduct, and soon they will build a sports car again, i think they are jsut trying to jump out of the japanese tuner box, and into the euro tuner sports sedan / coupe class..

the Lexus LF-A will be like the Acura NSX, remember thats american news we got there. jsut as my Altezza is badged a Toyota in japana nd a lexus in america, the Lexus LF-A may be a toyota in japan ;)

its only natural that sports cars cost more now, as they come form the manufactirer with practically everything a younger 'fan boy' wouold want to bolt onto it, most of them are NA now and 500hp V8 NA's with emissiosn controlls etc are already tunned to the max most of the time.. so you need to looka t it like that, you are no longer buying a 280hp sports car, you are buying a 500hp sports coupe with a V8 !!! its going to be more like a porsche, M3, CLK-R etc.. all under the Lexus name...

big differences. different target audience, i like it, i understand what they are trying, we will all get older, rememerbing the supra and follwing toyota / lkexus and hoping their next super sports car / coupe will live up to it and in that time toyota hopes we get richer and buy the Lexus LF-A ;)
Last edited by Bezman on August 17th, 2006, 11:17 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby AllTrac » August 17th, 2006, 11:14 am

i love my mr2.

web_phantom

Postby web_phantom » August 17th, 2006, 11:26 am

http://www.lexus.com/assets/about/conce ... nc_img.jpg

The latest concept vehicle based on the L-Finesse design philosophy is the most intriguing yet: The LF-A. Incorporating the distinctly understated elegance of the new Lexus styling direction, the LF-A is the next evolution of exotic sports cars.

As a reflection of the vehicle's Formula One bloodline, the sheer, fluid surfaces with their striking lines and curves were sculpted to have your pulse racing before you've even opened the door. Once inside, the unique two-seat interior is equally impressive with its futuristic minimalist approach. Pushing the boundaries of design and performance, the LF-A is an awe-inspiring glimpse into the future. You can view more shots at the LF-A Gallery.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2006, 11:28 am

acesinghit

Postby acesinghit » August 17th, 2006, 12:48 pm

there are mixed reports about an NSX successor, an RX-7 successor and even the Supra sucessor. Nissan's new SKyline cannot be the only RWD Jap to take on a Corvette!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :evil:

as for toyota, the current SC430 was a step backwards to replace the SC400/300 so I hope the new one would be better. Since its dimensions are gonna be bigger, making it a heavier car and with a V8, dont expect heart-stopping performance. If it does 0-60 in 5.5s and the quarter in 14s thereabouts then consider it lucky....cause a 350Z makes those numbers easily.

lets hope lexus brings out an original design because the new LS460 has BMW 7-series looks and the current LS430 looks like the MB S-Class of 2 generations ago. If I see any hint of 6-series in the new SC then we know where those designers go for holidays.

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 17th, 2006, 1:05 pm

Nissan's new SKyline cannot be the only RWD Jap to take on a Corvette!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

nope, cause its AWD ;)

as for toyota, the current SC430 was a step backwards to replace the SC400/300 so I hope the new one would be better. Since its dimensions are gonna be bigger, making it a heavier car and with a V8, dont expect heart-stopping performance. If it does 0-60 in 5.5s and the quarter in 14s thereabouts then consider it lucky....cause a 350Z makes those numbers easily.

the SC430 is not s sports car, tis a luxury coupe,

only recently its been being used in Super GT (old JGTC) with teh new V8 thats going to be comming the new Lexus / Toyota super car / coupe / sedan. its got 400+hp - its NOT goingt o be on teh same level as a 350Z, more on teh same level as the GT-R (which nissan also hopes to get into teh rnaks of 911, M5 etc)

God Bless the Black Top*

Postby God Bless the Black Top* » August 17th, 2006, 5:13 pm

this is SOO fcuking GAY

Advil
Location: searching for an avatar that will not offend the idiots

Postby Advil » August 17th, 2006, 10:53 pm

z8?

Tsuchiya

Postby Tsuchiya » August 17th, 2006, 11:49 pm

It seems Toyota is out of the "playboy" world of sportscars and truly fun autos. For years Toyota fans have begged for a RWD successor to the almighty AE86 and have gotten a very disappointing luxury car ( Altezza), which went on to evolve into some sort of a luxury yacht. The MR fans have been cut off at the knees and sent to check out a blossoming MX5. Celica fans have been shot in the courtyard and told to acquire the new civic Si. And the Supra "Tifosi" have been dropped in the desert without water only to look on to a good possible battle between the nex-gen rex (kabura)? against the almighty? yankee GT-R....only to be bettered or at least given a better bargain by cruise missiles from GM and Mopar.

The Supra is Dead, long live the Supra! :cry: :cry:

Postby eliteauto » August 18th, 2006, 9:07 am

^^^ x2, not feeling the LF-A, but I agree that Toyota is making a pronounced shift towards more economy sedans and luxury rides probably based upon market forces and trends

Bezman

Postby Bezman » August 18th, 2006, 12:32 pm

It seems Toyota is out of the "playboy" world of sportscars and truly fun autos. For years Toyota fans have begged for a RWD successor to the almighty AE86 and have gotten a very disappointing luxury car ( Altezza), which went on to evolve into some sort of a luxury yacht. The MR fans have been cut off at the knees and sent to check out a blossoming MX5. Celica fans have been shot in the courtyard and told to acquire the new civic Si. And the Supra "Tifosi" have been dropped in the desert without water only to look on to a good possible battle between the nex-gen rex (kabura)? against the almighty? yankee GT-R....only to be bettered or at least given a better bargain by cruise missiles from GM and Mopar.

The Supra is Dead, long live the Supra!

that made em, uh.. almost cry :cry:

Postby AllTrac » August 18th, 2006, 3:59 pm

no more 3sgte's either :cry:

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » August 18th, 2006, 5:03 pm

^ at least it still lives on kinda...in the Caldina.

TeamH2O

Postby TeamH2O » August 19th, 2006, 1:32 pm

d supra aint dead until the car itself all disappears on this planet! at least not to me :twisted:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » August 19th, 2006, 1:42 pm

Wha??? ways, and it had so much potential to get even better :(