Solodex BYCC 3 Sept 10th flyer added page 1

Official Solodex Forum -
Please visit www.carstt.com for more info on Autocross (aka Solodex)

Moderators: CarsTT, CARSTT SoloDex, 3ne2nr Mods

Postby pete » September 11th, 2006, 10:12 am

MG Man wrote:Hopefully I will have that dang misfire straightened out in time to run in ES next year

the kinda acceleration I was seein from that car yesterday no way u cud get me to believe it runnin a 17+ second 1/4 mile eh :P

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2006, 10:54 am

that time was recorded at CARS first BYCC, done at wallerfield. I did some runs together with Kamikaze using a gtech pro and got the same results. The last time we ran the car wasat wallerfield against Kamikaze's Mini before it was douglarised , again with mid 17s......remember, my car is geared for acceleration, and I run through my five gears quickly in a quatermile run.....then I am stuck in 5th at the redline waiting to finish, hence the high quartermile times.....unless CARS wanna do 660 foot times to class cars, I safe :P :lol: .....yesterday I was doing 105kph at 4000rpm in 5th on the highway......not exactly ah high speed cruiser now, is it :wink: ...... :P

Postby pete » September 11th, 2006, 11:04 am

105 @ 4000 rpm? :shock:

what's your redline?

seanf3000

Postby seanf3000 » September 11th, 2006, 11:05 am

Jezans.......that what yuh call realllll cloose ratio yes.

Still...hard to believe we have the same kinda 1/4mile time yes.

But your 17secs looks so much more exciting.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2006, 11:24 am

pete wrote:105 @ 4000 rpm? :shock:

what's your redline?

redline at 7000rpm
max hp at 5700rpm
max torque at 5600rpm
The car will rev to 7000 but no sense doing that
I have seen 6500rpm in 5th, and that was just before I had to move aside to let two CRVs pas me on the right. They were racing and I would have held them up :shock:
Pete, based on my gearing and diff ratios, my theoretical TV at 6500 rpm is 117 mph (187.2kph)
The car takes about 7 seconds from 80mph to 100mph
but none of this has any bearing on dex.....keep in mind the few times the car has run at dex, it was classed in ESP and was always several seconds of the pace........ :wink: :P :lol:

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2006, 11:27 am

seanf3000 wrote:Jezans.......that what yuh call realllll cloose ratio yes.
:

thats cuz 1st is really just to get u rolling
2nd is like another 1st. when the car is working properly u hardly ever need to shift down to 1st. That's why its on a dogleg.....2,3,4,5 are laid out in a standard H
The club strongly advises against hard launches in 1st cuz it's also a physically weak gear.....
so how are my 'ES excuses" so far, Pete? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

djaggs

Postby djaggs » September 11th, 2006, 1:35 pm

Mg Man,

Is dat the same Vauxhall Chevette HSR that was owned by Boodosingh you have???

If it is, I remember that car when it first landed here, that car was really quick, 250bhp. Did you get the original engine running again or did you change the engine??

Postby MG Man » September 11th, 2006, 4:31 pm

^^^^^yes

Postby wagonrunner » September 11th, 2006, 4:58 pm

djaggs wrote: Did you get the original engine running again or did you change the engine??
Mg Man wrote:yes

wasn't aware nipple rubbing led to blindness......................... :poke:

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 11th, 2006, 6:24 pm

He stick an ess arr tweenty in it!

I could just imagine the look on MGman face when he read that!

Postby wagonrunner » September 11th, 2006, 9:00 pm

yuh unnastan?
i sure meh name get scratch off d list at vie d france already. :cry:

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2006, 8:29 am

djaggs wrote: Did you get the original engine running again or did you change the engine??
Mg Man wrote:yes

wasn't aware nipple rubbing led to blindness......................... :poke:

jed I tired answer dem question.........loooooooooong story

Postby crazybalhead » September 12th, 2006, 8:58 am

Was just showing meh boss the pics dey MG man, he from England, so he saying, "isn't that a Chevette? or as we use to call it a "Shove it?" :lol: :lol: :lol:

Doh get two vex and blow a valve cover gasket now eh...yuh might foul yuh plugs... :lol: :lol: :lol:

flatline
3NE 2NR Spannerator

Postby flatline » September 12th, 2006, 9:17 am

^lol @ "shove it". Hope it stopped starting like it going to want to be shoved :mrgreen:

Postby MG Man » September 12th, 2006, 10:59 am

yep, the stock Chevettes were called shuv-its :lol: Just like they call Porsches 'Porkers' and Subarus 'Scoobies'
The media used to call the HSRs Droop Snoots cuz of the drooping front panel sans grille

zodiaque
CARS Member

Postby zodiaque » September 13th, 2006, 12:25 pm

^I did not know that, till just now, thanx! :mrgreen:

Postby wagonrunner » October 6th, 2006, 11:40 am

enlighten D I.................it had any pics from this event?

Postby MG Man » October 6th, 2006, 12:04 pm

wagonrunner wrote:enlighten D I.................it had any pics from this event?

Postby wagonrunner » October 6th, 2006, 12:14 pm

Sir MgMan Nipple Rubbing Extraordinaire
may you be so kind as to post link to pics?

Postby MG Man » October 6th, 2006, 1:19 pm

Narend sent that for me
proper footage on www.zorce.com soon!

Return to “CARS - Autocross (Solodex)”