Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » October 25th, 2006, 9:47 pm

N E assistance qould be welcomed :roll: :lol:

sant74

offical mitsu thread

Postby sant74 » October 26th, 2006, 5:34 pm

i see that this thread is still going,i am sure this must be some kind of record,as well as one of the most informative threads out there.

So i got the fuel pump on the engine replaced (working very well) with the proper njk sparkplugs NJK bkr6ekuc, and with porting of the head that i did it works really well now.I can feel a difference that i didnt feel before,even when i first got the car.
I need to kill the rev limiter though (know anyone?) so i can really run out the car to see what itz top speed is.
Was thinking of supercharging this engine,if anyone has any ideas on this holla back.
Peace Out.

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » October 31st, 2006, 12:33 am

Hi galant pple,

Im from singapore and i love galants too! Ruuning on a 4g94 GDI and im seriously looking into boosting power. Ive read around that turbos are hopeless on this engine so howz about supercharging? Anyone has done any form of boost on their GDIs b4? I can lower compression ratios with custom cyclinders. but i guess the real issue is fuel injection? :?:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » October 31st, 2006, 11:03 am

Suggestion only. Couldn't you get a (Lancer GSR) 4G93BT easily from a Singapore scrap yard?
Straight bolt on job to your tranny. You might need the GSR ECU and harness as well.
That way you avoid (most) of the problems of sensors... ECU... etc.
After you "shoot the bugs" in the swap, then sell your GDI engine.

BTW whatever you do, upgrade the brakes. Galant brakes are only barely adequate for GDI.

My $0.02¢

Postby wagon r » October 31st, 2006, 1:12 pm

....he living in ah bigger superstore than we here in trinidad. the cars i would have if i were over there....*sigh*...

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 1st, 2006, 2:09 am

pfffft. lol swapping engines is like sending ur car to certain doom. the fine for turbo is 500 sing dollars. The penalty for engine swap is Immediate destruction of your car while u watch. They will roll a tank over it. :cry:

Anyways. ya a hyper mart here, but a car costs $90000 sing. Its a F!@#ing branded goods store the way i see it. how i wish i could get rastas vr4 for 30K sing bucks. a really good deal!

So? Any supercharging options for the GDI? Must i swap pistons to lower compression?

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 1st, 2006, 2:12 am

oh and now tt u mentioned the GSR lancer. Im sure they have manual transmissions. I take it since that engine is a direct bolt on to my tranny, then does tt mean that manual tranny of the GSR's is a direct bolt on to my 4g94 2.0l GDI? Schweeet..... how sure are you of this? If u are very 100% sure. holler out and ill start my search straight away.

Ya and the fine for a tranny swap is 1500 sing dollars. But thats still bearable compared to watching painfully as a tank rolls over ur car..... :roll:

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 1st, 2006, 8:50 am

zyrofillica wrote:...the fine for turbo is 500 sing dollars.
The penalty for engine swap... They will roll a tank over it. :cry:
So? Any supercharging options for the GDI? Must i swap pistons to lower compression?

:shocked!: SH!T! No room for tuning at all. Sorry to hear that. Ol' T&T is Heaven in comparison.
Must i swap pistons to lower compression?... Yes. As an alternative to low compression pistons
you can use a de-compression (spacer) plate. You'll have to get one carefully flame-cut and
machined to the correct thickness.
zyrofillica wrote:oh and now tt u mentioned the GSR lancer. Im sure they have manual transmissions.
I take it since that engine is a direct bolt on to my tranny, then does tt mean that manual tranny of
the GSR's is a direct bolt on to my 4g94 2.0l GDI? Schweeet..... how sure are you of this? .

Ya and the fine for a tranny swap is 1500 sing dollars. But thats still bearable compared to
watching painfully as a tank rolls over ur car..... :roll:

Physically verify my suggestion first. My mistake. My wife's Galant is a 1.8 4G93 GDI.
That swap can work... Not sure about bolt-pattern for 2.0 4G94 block.

BTW a source for tuning near you is RPW in Australia. they may be able to help. Good luck.
Last edited by Sanctifier on November 1st, 2006, 9:09 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby wagon r » November 1st, 2006, 8:58 am

....talk about getting owned...... :|

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 1st, 2006, 9:00 pm

yup. no rooms for mods here. Tried RPW. They are not familiar with the GDI engine.... Is there no workshop in any country tt has technical knowledge on the GDI? Is it really such a lame ass engine tt no one bothers to cater to it? this sucks. I cant afford another S$90000 car. Can i move to T&T :D

Postby wagon r » November 2nd, 2006, 7:05 am

.....the thing is, the GDI engine was never supposed to be any performance engine. i guess mitsu realised this and they went back and brought out a factory turbo model but i'm not sure if even that could be modded. :|

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » November 2nd, 2006, 7:10 am

It isn't a lame azz engine... just too scarce to attract many 2nrs to develop it.
Very little info here on most cars... especially the GDI. Little or no Workshop Manuals either.

FWD Galant size and weight doesn't help either. I was going to swap a 1996, 4G93T into it...
but it's going into an 'EX' Lancer GSR instead. Better base to start with...
lighter weight, RWD, better handling etc.

Don't know what to suggest, other than using a turbo and ECU from a new Lancer GDI
Turbo as a base and experimenting from there. IMHO leave well enough alone...
either stay N/A (cams, extractors, etc.)... or sell it and get another car (better base) to tune.

My $0.02¢

Postby wagon r » November 2nd, 2006, 8:34 am

^ dat worth more than .02c pallie...

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 3rd, 2006, 3:22 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~ wrote:Image

ok can someone point out to me what is the name of this kit? I can see it uses the VR4 dual fog lights. NIce!!! :wink:

zyrofillica

Re: Catalytic Converter

Postby zyrofillica » November 3rd, 2006, 4:44 am

mitsugdi wrote:
squinty_eye wrote:What are the symptoms to indicate that the Catalytic converter is fouled or clogged.

Wondering if you G-men still have them in your cars.

What benefit is there for not having them in terms of increase in horsepower...

Still want to know where I can get me a couple of those coil packs from foreign.

To understand why a catalytic converter fails, you need to know how it works. The catalytic converter is part of the automobile exhaust system. It converts harmful compounds in exhaust into harmless compounds. In a typical passenger car, the catalytic converter, which resembles a muffler in shape, is between the engine and the muffler. It's on the underside of the car, usually underneath the passenger seat. Maybe you have felt its warmth through the floor on a long trip.
Catalytic converters have been standard on U.S. automobiles since the mid-1970s. The catalytic converter helped drive the push toward unleaded gasoline as well. Leaded gasoline contaminates the catalyst used inside a catalytic converter, destroying its usefulness and leading to a clogged converter.

After the engine exhaust gases pass through the catalytic converter, the gases go through the muffler or mufflers, depending on the make of the automobile. Some vehicles use a pre-converter as well, to perform a similar function. The catalytic converter generally lasts the life of the automobile and rarely has a problem with being clogged or plugged during its lifetime.

The inside of the catalytic converter is a honeycomb set of passageways or small ceramic beads coated with catalysts. A chemical reaction takes place to make the pollutants less harmful. There are many passages for the exhaust gases to flow, to allow for the maximum amount of surface area for the hot gases to pass.

The catalysts include:

Oxidation catalysts: Palladium (Pd) and platinum (Pt) metals in very small amounts (to keep the catalytic converter price down) convert the hydrocarbons of unburned gasoline and carbon monoxide to carbon dioxide and water.
Reduction catalysts: Palladium and rhodium (Rh) metals also in very small amounts convert the nitrogen oxide to nitrogen and oxygen. Nitrogen oxide is a big contributor to smog.
Many states and localities have legislated annual automobile emissions testing that checks the actual emissions content. The exhaust emissions test checks for the absence of a converter or a malfunctioning one during an inspection. It's illegal in some states and localities to remove a factory-installed catalytic converter. A mechanic can sometimes temporarily remove it and replace the catalytic converter with a test pipe, but the rules on this can vary from place to place.
There are two ways a converter can fail:

It can become clogged.
It can become poisoned.
There really is no "inspection port" for the consumer or mechanic to see an actual clog in a converter. Often, the only way to tell if a catalytic converter is malfunctioning (plugged) is to remove it and check the change in engine performance. When a clogged converter is suspected, some mechanics temporarily remove the O2 sensor from the exhaust pipe ahead of the catalytic converter and look for a change in performance.
A catalytic converter relies on receiving the proper mix of exhaust gases at the proper temperature. Any additives or malfunctions that cause the mixture or the temperature of the exhaust gases to change reduce the effectiveness and life of the catalytic converter. Leaded gasoline and the over-use of certain fuel additives can shorten the life of a catalytic converter.

A catalytic converter can also fail because of:

Bad exhaust valves on the engine
Fouled plugs causing unburned fuel to overheat the converter
Sometimes you can tell that a converter is clogged because you don't go any faster when you push the gas pedal. Also, there usually is a noticeable drop in gas mileage associated with a clogged catalytic converter. A partially clogged converter often acts like an engine governor, limiting the actual RPMs to a fast idle. A totally clogged converter causes the engine to quit after a few minutes because of all the increased exhaust back pressure.
The catalytic converter, like the rest of the emissions system, typically has a warranty length that exceeds the term of the warranty for the rest of a typical U.S. automobile.

Here is a safety reminder: Do not park your car over tall grass or piles of dry leaves. Your car's perfectly running catalytic converter gets very hot…enough to start fires! You can keep it running well by keeping the ignition system in top shape, to prevent any unburnt fuel from entering the catalytic converter.

Dude. Arent there 2 catalytic converters for the GDI engines? I read this somewhere. from some mitsu manual. Apparently a pre converter is needed for our engine b4 it goes to the main one. Or was this for the VR4? Hmm think its safe to remove the larger/main one for increased performance. but dun ever remove the first one else ur engine going to go boom soon man~

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » November 6th, 2006, 4:11 am

Hi, saw this kit in one of the topics in this forum. Can anyone kindly tell me the name of this kit? I cant seem to find it on the internet. Only found cyber, monster, erebuni and visworks for galant. Looks like a customized VR4 kit. Anyone knows? thanks! [/img]

Postby ~Vēġó~ » November 7th, 2006, 4:29 pm

^^I really don't know.......pm the user Banzai Rastafarai, I believe he posted that very pic a while back and may have a better idea.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 16th, 2006, 8:19 am

Sanctifier wrote:
Silvermike wrote:because it doesnt break down and evaporate out ure engine like the synthetics and other multigrades do.

:? ... Ahmm... Not quite mike
Synthetics and multi-grade mineral oils do offer more protection than straight-body oils.
Howerer they are also "over-hyped" to con owners with unmodified "daily drivers" to buy them IMHO.

Sleeper this might help... The Truth: ~ About Oil... and the BULLSH!T about it.
Mr. Red Sleeper wrote:On acceleration i rev up to 6k, mivec kicks in as usual but on higher revs the extra pull ill normally get is not there.Where i used to get at least up to 50 kmh in 1st gear i now get up to about 30.

Basically it feels to me that the power is there but something is holding it back..As i said before the gas has gone crazy now...It almost feels like i have a choke or starvin for gas....

With no excesive smoke it sounds like something other than excessive piston-to-bore
clearance IMHO.
It almost feels like i have a choke or starvin for gas... Overheating fuel pump? Choked fuel filter?... damaged O2 sensor, fuel regulator or fuel sensor?
Detonation perhaps???... Check compression ratio like mike said... then check for blown head gasket... then ignition settings... etc. etc.

My $0.02¢

just an update guys.....

everything checked out as ok but ive now been told that my o ring seals are the problem.....even getting a lil smoke goin on when i try to take off from standstill..

does this seem like a possible cause for my symptoms?
and if so, would the normal 4g92 seals work on my MIVEC 4g92?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » November 16th, 2006, 3:00 pm

anyone?

Morpheus23

Postby Morpheus23 » November 18th, 2006, 7:28 pm

CK Lancer guys with 17" rims---- What width rims and tires allyuh using without rubbing(ESPECIALLY IN THE BACK). Front wheel well looks bigger to me.

17 X 7? 17 X 7.5?

Anyone ever run 17 X 7.5?

What about tyres? Would 205s(tyres) fit on a 7.5 width rim good?

Thanks I need y'all Mitsu expertise

Silvermike

Postby Silvermike » November 19th, 2006, 10:29 am

7.5 u should use 225/40/17

but i dont think it would fit. stick with 7"

horsepwrjunki

Postby horsepwrjunki » November 19th, 2006, 12:07 pm

just an update guys.....

everything checked out as ok but ive now been told that my o ring seals are the problem.....even getting a lil smoke goin on when i try to take off from standstill..

does this seem like a possible cause for my symptoms?
and if so, would the normal 4g92 seals work on my MIVEC 4g92?

y not get teh mivec seals.. apparently that may be one of the fewseals that are swappable with the 4g93t. and i was told both faiz an jurwans may have the kits...

( take a pass in the shop this week.. u might like wahts goin on)

sant74

air / fuel ratio guage

Postby sant74 » November 20th, 2006, 10:11 am

i put in an auto meter guage in my galant, but noticed that it wasnt reading when accelerating. when i took my foot off the pedal it lit up.
Is this wired wrong? or doesthe GDI O2 sensor turn off when accelerating,like an open loop.when the throttle body opens up? need some answers.

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » December 3rd, 2006, 12:12 pm

ok guys....

check this out

"The MIVEC engine:
engine - type 4G92
type: transverse in-line 4
bore x stroke: 81.0 x 77.5
capacity: 1597cc
valve train: dohc 16v with MIVEC
[i]compression ratio: 11.0:1

fuel system: (Mitsubishi) multi-point fuel injection
power: 175ps at 7500rpm
torque: 17.0kgm at 7000rpm

MIVEC engines 4g92 ge1 (1993-1996)"

Now based on the above, why would i get a 225 psi guage reading on 3 cylinders and an 185psi reading on cyl #4?

bearing in mind , this is the tool i used:

sant74

coil packs

Postby sant74 » January 14th, 2007, 6:20 pm

looking for some coil packs for the 4g93 engine (vrg) ,

DW

Postby DW » January 22nd, 2007, 10:49 pm

Ok guys..need some advice / help here on a few things regarding the local Mitsubishi Galant "shark mouth" type.

1. Headlight assembly

I want to know if replacing the stock 55W headlight bulbs, both the low and high beam bulbs with 100W bulbs ( changing relevant fuses and such ) will cause a problem. I am unsure whether the housing will handle the increased heat emitted from the bulbs....I know the stock wiring will handle the increased currrent draw, but not sure about the housing..I have seen housings melt in other vehicles and do not want a similar effect.

2. Fog light assembly

I am interested in installing the foglight assembly but have seen at least 3 types, one that has a circular lens surrounded by a grill, one that has a single bulb with a lens that completely fills the space in the bumber; and one that seems to have two bulbs that completely fills the area in the bumber. What I want to know is what types of bulbs are used in each and the approximate wattages. I am leaning towards the one that has two bulbs as it seems the aiming of the bulbs provides both side and forward illumination.

3. Shocks

Currently I have the stock oil shocks and need to change one as it has begun to leak. I am only seeing the firm having oil shocks for this car...everyone else seems to have gas shocks. Now the price of the one oil shock from the firm....equates to about the same as 4 new gas shocks. What I want to know is which type is better for the Galant, the oil shock or the gas shock on the stock springs, etc.

Thanks for any info you can offer :wink:

Postby wagon r » January 23rd, 2007, 2:55 pm

^ i cyar answer the last one but the first two i'll take a crack at them....

the first one, i wouldn't suggest going 100w. not only will you be blinding on-coming drivers but the housing will melt eventually. the plastic molding wasn't desgined to take that amount of heat esp. if you drive for long distances.

why don't you just upgrade to a higher quality 55w bulb, clean your lenses and adjust your lights to give you more light on the road.

the second, i had the rectangle fogs on my legnum and found them to be brighter than the circle ones. the double lights, i may be wrong but the outside one supposed to work only when the indicator light for that side is turned on. i know vega has these lights and he could confirm or deny.

i await the views of the others, everyone has a different take sometimes.

DW

Postby DW » January 23rd, 2007, 5:07 pm

^^ Yeah, I was thinking the melting would arise, since the housing is soo compact. The lens itself is still clear, no discolouration, just looking for anything that would allow for better lighting on the roads. I will look into the adjusting of the headlights.

I will look out for those rectangular fogs you mentioned...sounds like the second type I mentioned.

thanks for the assist man..

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 23rd, 2007, 10:59 pm

wagon r wrote:the second, i had the rectangle fogs on my legnum and found them to be brighter than the circle ones. the double lights, i may be wrong but the outside one supposed to work only when the indicator light for that side is turned on. i know vega has these lights and he could confirm or deny.

yuh not wrong about the outside lamp being activated by the indicator when park light is on......have seen ppl changed the operation to function with the fog lamp......however you are wrong about me having them.....lol.....I got the circular big one which show just great!

DW wrote:3. Shocks

Currently I have the stock oil shocks and need to change one as it has begun to leak. I am only seeing the firm having oil shocks for this car...everyone else seems to have gas shocks. Now the price of the one oil shock from the firm....equates to about the same as 4 new gas shocks. What I want to know is which type is better for the Galant, the oil shock or the gas shock on the stock springs, etc.

well firstly there is the KAYABA oil shock replacement........it's the premium model (comes in the blue box) and should cost around $375 - $400 for one....... available at AJ's auto parts in Cocoyea, San Fernando...call 652 3661 and ask for Travis.

As per your second question, well I ran both gas charged and oil charged.......the gas gave a stiffer feel, with more control in the cornering......the oil gave a more supple comfortable ride, but tends to roll more on the cornering.........with the kinda suspension that the galants come with, any one would be adequate.........but if you want it feeling as close to original ride, well the the oil may be the way to go.

Postby wagon r » January 24th, 2007, 6:53 am

thanks for the clear up there pallie. :mrgreen:

Return to “MITSUBISHI”