PREMIUM OR SUPER UNLEADED

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 2nd, 2006, 5:17 pm

econo cars run well on super, the more higher end cars need the premium to run properly. super in a SR20DE would give less performance than premium.

if a turbocharged vehicle could run on super without knocking(which i highly doubt is possible) switching to premium would surely give added performance. i've read about it in many performance mags where the pump gas was giving certain results and when switching to a higher octane pump gas a gain in power was achieved.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 2nd, 2006, 10:29 pm

^^The gain in power is acheived because the car in question can run more aggressive timing settings.

TESTED performance

Postby TESTED performance » December 2nd, 2006, 11:10 pm

^^ as well as boost increases. i cant find any "in laymans terms" documentation to help put this topic to rest but this octane issue is one of the greatly misunderstood notions of the collective of auto sport enthusiasts. even in my 11:1 compression engine which is significantly higher than normal i dont find any noticeable increase in power on the street. just significantly less likelyhood of ping. high octane fuels are more of an engine longevity measure as they allow significantly higher levels of power to be attained without detonation.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 2nd, 2006, 11:26 pm

^^Exactly correct.

eitech

fuel

Postby eitech » December 3rd, 2006, 1:11 am

is not a matter of savin money, i jus want to use d right fuel for the car. i have no problems usin d premium. for all i care i can switch to super and get problems..i dunno..

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 3rd, 2006, 7:57 am

^^You won't get problems....assuming your buy from a gas station which has refurbished/new u-graound gas tanks, and not some rotten old ones :D

Even NP workers will tell you (not the gas station ones) that it's all technically a big rip-off.....they call gasolene "Super" and "Premium" ...people gravitate to Premium instead of super thinking that it's a better quality gas...buit in actuality, it makes no difference.

JUS4SHO

Postby JUS4SHO » December 3rd, 2006, 10:12 am

what is recommended for the gdi lancer and the glx lancer? been using premium, i use to run super in the ck lancer and i found it worked better than the premium also it would last much longer

Marct

Postby Marct » December 3rd, 2006, 10:30 am

I use super in my GDI lancer with no probs

Postby wagonrunner » December 3rd, 2006, 2:29 pm

hmmm............i'll stick with the premium

super in ck2 4g15l (carb) lancer.........car pings, and diesels when you switch off engine.
super in ga15de wagon..........pings badly
super in B6 323F hatch........pings badly & bucks.

on premium, none of these "problems" occur.

Val

Postby Val » December 3rd, 2006, 6:42 pm

^^^ Really? I must try the Premium in the Lancer then.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 3rd, 2006, 8:13 pm

Really strange. These engines require 89 ROn minimum. When switching from Premium to Super, you;d need to give the ECU a chance to re-adjust itself to the new RON of the gas.....it's not an immediate change.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 3rd, 2006, 8:24 pm

so the manual reset wont work?
(negative terminal off the battery for ah 10mins) :?:

eitech

Postby eitech » December 3rd, 2006, 10:25 pm

WOW, SO MUCH INFO, YET NO CONCLUSION YET. I FEEL I GONNA CAL NP IN D MORNIN

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 3rd, 2006, 10:28 pm

so the manual reset wont work?
(negative terminal off the battery for ah 10mins)

yep that will work...but not everyone does that. For those who don't do a "hard reset", the car will have to re-adjust over a period of time.

Postby wagonrunner » December 3rd, 2006, 11:24 pm

Knight1 wrote:

Really strange. These engines require 89 ROn minimum. When switching from Premium to Super, you;d need to give the ECU a chance to re-adjust itself to the new RON of the gas.....it's not an immediate change.

ignition stock setting is 7, (according to nissan). mine was at 5 "and working superbly" when i got the car. was advanced to 10 a while ago, almost a year.
car treats super like we would the plague.

Alpha_2nr

Postby Alpha_2nr » December 3rd, 2006, 11:48 pm

^^That's since you've advanced the timing. On stock timing (off the factory floor) the super will work fine.

Loprofile PC

Postby Loprofile PC » December 3rd, 2006, 11:57 pm

I used unleaded when I had jus got want my car(b15) wanting the best for it like everyone else who cares abt their vehicle. when all gas was declared unleaded I began using super, no probs, less paper spending, after a few ole chats like these I switched back to premium, i dont know if the car felt better, But I felt better knowing the car was running with bess gas.....I even used full synthetic oils for my engine......then I became wise, so I now use super unleaded and NP ultra motor oil. Its like switching to Gieco :lol:

Postby tr1ad » December 4th, 2006, 10:19 am

actually no matter what np say they dont sell the premium as 95 ron it is actually a lower level of around 93 based on iso standards. petrotrin produces 95 ron but that is mostly exported to us an other countries.
guys in pt lisas use 1 chubby bottle of pure methanol for every 3 fill ups, its the same base as the injector cleaners.to boost octane level some guys i know put 3-4 moth balls ever so often in the tank. but basically i use the super unleaded with a injector treatment every other fill up, an i run fine ( suzuki swift gti ) with no problems, but basically it comes down to your preference.

Val

Postby Val » December 4th, 2006, 10:24 am

i know put 3-4 moth balls ever so often in the tank.

Is that safe? How much does this raise the octane by?

Postby tr1ad » December 4th, 2006, 10:29 am

You takin bout moth balls right?
They say by 20-25% depending on if its super unl or premium.
They have been doing it for a while and i have not heard of them going to change engines or any major mech work.
1 of the guys actually is a chem engineer, so i guess they kno wwhat they doing and he has a skyline

juicemanfta

Postby juicemanfta » January 21st, 2007, 3:25 am

Ok this is my first post here….

After reading all what has said here it is obviously some of you know a little about the octane concept where some of you have no idea what it is about..

I did a lot of research on this so here is what I know.

Octane is added to the gas so that the gas does not pre-ignite which cause pinging. In Canada regular gas is 87oct, and then we have the supreme/premium which is 93 and over. High performance cars use/needs premium gas because their timing is more advance so that they get more horse power. If you were to use 87 octane gas on these cars most likely they would keep shutting off. I had a Honda prelude and that requires premium gas and once I tried regular gas and I had to push it back into the gas station and fill it back with premium gas. Now I have a ford explorer that requires 87 octanes and what most of the guys said on the forums is that if did use premium gas in this truck most likely I would loose power.

So to end this I suggest you use what gas your car is timed for (manufacture suggest octane) unless you reprogram your chip in your car to use a different octane/timing.

BTW vehicles made to use lower octane is supposed to last longer. Note this does not mean that if you use lower octane that your car would last longer. If you car is supposed to use high octane and you use lower octane you are putting more stress on your engine because most likely you are going to get pining.

BTW pining pre-ignite happens when the gas is compress and ignites before the sparkplugs ‘sparks’.

Postby X_Factor » January 21st, 2007, 2:35 pm

super in ck2 4g15l (carb) lancer.........car pings, and diesels when you switch off engine.

thats the same exact sheit happenin wit me

ah goh try the premium this week for sure...

Postby Hook » January 21st, 2007, 4:35 pm

^^^ then both of you have the same problem...excessive carbon deposits in the cylinders (piston crowns and the underside of the head) will give these symptoms

changing the type of gas won't help you, the engine needs to be decarbonized...if not chemically, then actually removing the head and polishing the crud off will work...but try the chemical clean first

call 663-1917 and ask for Andy..he's the local WYNN's agent and does a chemical decarbonize...by appointment only

Postby X_Factor » January 21st, 2007, 6:30 pm

^^ will do..thanx...but i rather open up the head cause that gasket showing signs of ah leak..soo i'll fix that one time

i'll still give him ah call

dreadman

Postby dreadman » January 27th, 2007, 4:19 pm

when u use super u have to clean injectors more frequetly dan d premium

Notorious Scullman

Postby Notorious Scullman » January 27th, 2007, 7:11 pm

The recommended fuel for the 4A-GE is 100 RON.

I've used Premium for the last couple months, and it pings daily

Terran

Postby Terran » January 28th, 2007, 9:12 am

I ran my 20V on super and it began pinging BADLY.

I was told to "just use a gas treatment". I never did.

Then I was told to forget that thought - go back to and STICK to premium. So I did.

The engine still pings. But it's nowhere as bad as when I ran with super.

No notable power increase/loss between the two fuels. Super was actually more economical to use as it burned slower AND it cost less. Also wth super, you could HEAR the difference. With premium the engine is quieter and idles smoother.

2ren

Postby 2ren » January 28th, 2007, 9:44 am

I've been using premium in my QG15 since I got my car 1 yr ago. My mileage is excellent (38mpg; sando-pos 5dys/wk) so I don't even want to find out if it will be better on super. Car runs smoothly; no complaints.......oh, and I change Castrol full syntec oil at 7000 km. Anyways, for those who thinking, check ur owner's manual if u have one.

eitech

Postby eitech » January 28th, 2007, 1:49 pm

wtf! ur qg15 givin you 38 mpg? what kinda car is dat? pray do tell!

eitech

Postby eitech » January 28th, 2007, 1:54 pm

my b15 ex is a 1.5l. i does use ac moderately, arouca to mt hope 6 days a week. i doh drive hard. vehicle is well maintained, no problems, and ah $110 fill up go last me 6 to 7 days. i does manage to get 28mpg wit premium.