Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby Greypatch » January 24th, 2007, 8:09 pm

whayy this thread still alive..

DW

Postby DW » January 24th, 2007, 9:38 pm

Thanks there ~˜VëgŲ˜~, I will call the parts place and look into the shocks you mentioned.

xtech

Postby xtech » January 25th, 2007, 9:51 pm

i have 100 watt bulbs in the legnum now Wagon_r an for about 12 months now an i ent see no melting......... :roll:..........as for the shocks i tried a Gas / Oil charged brand from e-power ...... my advice about the brand is stay away lasted only one week an i had them replaced and again one week......ran the KYB gas in front an back works perfect.....

sant74

Postby sant74 » January 26th, 2007, 1:07 pm

looking for some coil packs for the 4g93 engine (vrg) ,

xtech

Postby xtech » January 26th, 2007, 8:18 pm

aren't we all.......................
call 751-7248

sant74

cold air intake

Postby sant74 » January 31st, 2007, 11:07 pm

anyoneknows if there is a cold air intake for the vrg 4g93 engine? or do u have to make a custom one?

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 31st, 2007, 11:12 pm

custom is the easiest bet i think!
Cheaper than driving around looking forever for it IMO.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » January 31st, 2007, 11:40 pm

sant74,

No I would advise that you get the drop in K&N filter..........

If you were to observe the intake charge system for the galant, it is pretty efficient, with huge amts of air getting into the t/b efficiently, via generous amts of tubing (which incidently is not hampered by the heat from the engine bay!!!!!)........

what you want would mean that you need to take your piping somewhere in front of the headlamps or somewhere down below the front fender......I honestly think that it is too much worries!!!!!......have you actually played with the throttle and observed the volume of air that is sucked into the engine?......when youy block the intake, then entire piping system collapses at 1500rpm or less!!!!!!.....man I was bloody impresed!!!!!!

I tried a cone K&N on the box, once............at start up, everything was fine but once the engine got hot, everything was sheit!!!!!!!!!!...............

I wish to state again that the stock intake system for the gdi galant is very impressive and revamping of such may prove to be an expensive endeavour to achieve similar results!!!!!!!!!

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » January 31st, 2007, 11:50 pm

what causes pinging till you almost cut off, and then white smoke when you drive off?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 1st, 2007, 12:18 am

^^^how your coolant level reading???? GDI's don't really ping.......mine cranking 208,000+ km and I have never experienced any sort of "pinging"....... it runs over 150kms daily so I think I know......... that white smoke appears to be a coolant leak........bummer :(

Postby Mr. Red Sleeper » February 1st, 2007, 12:55 am

~˜VëgŲ˜~,
Mivec....and coolant is good

zyrofillica

Postby zyrofillica » February 6th, 2007, 11:50 pm

sorry for posting an out of topic question. Been reading through this forum for close to a year. Am looking for this bodykit (a name? A seller?) Can anyone of u kind souls point me the way mon?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 8th, 2007, 12:19 am

^^^I don't know meh boy.........you're from singapore right? If so, is there no one who could fabricate it?

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 8th, 2007, 1:21 am

duuuuude my gdi engine is kaput again due to poor gas

but my mechanic said if i can get a gdi turbo engine from the gsr lancer or galant from singapore its a godsent... only problem is that its rare ..

anyone eva seen it or heard about it ..

i also heard from this mechanic who is a mitsu specialist that alot of gdi owners are having probs with the fuel regulator

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 8th, 2007, 10:02 am

MonsterPower wrote:duuuuude my gdi engine is kaput again due to poor gas
i also heard ...that alot of gdi owners are having probs with the fuel regulator

Bad gas caused more than one GDI failure? Could be... but very hard to believe. Something else is wrong IMHO.

^ ^ ^ When I was told that a new pump was $12k; I cleaned the high pressure fuel regulator/pump on the engine block myself. It has worked like a charm ever since (18 months +) AFAIK my post described it in some detail. Doing a search might help.
Sanctifier wrote:BTW be careful when removing the plastic/Bakelite (synthetic resin) plate seperating the pump sections. Use a feeler-blade to begin to seperate it from the pump-body... then knife blade (carefully lifting diagonal corners in turn) to remove it. If it breaks... :roll:

I used Power Foam to soak the fuel nozzles, carrier etc. overnight...
Clean everything with Rubbing Alcohol. Try to remove all varnish stains.
Leave metal parts in clean alcohol until re-assembly. It gets tarnished (rusty) very quickly.

Finally, replace fuel filter before starting engine.

My $0.02¢
Last edited by Sanctifier on February 8th, 2007, 10:14 am, edited 3 times in total.

Sanctifier

Postby Sanctifier » February 8th, 2007, 10:07 am

Edit: Double post... No delete option.
Last edited by Sanctifier on February 8th, 2007, 10:12 am, edited 2 times in total.

W2J

Postby W2J » February 8th, 2007, 10:12 am

GDI does not react to well to out high sulphur content in our Gasoline. The pump has a inline filter on the high pressure side of the line that clogs causing the pump to burn. Remember these pump put out more that 100psi.

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 8th, 2007, 10:15 pm

so is there anything that can be done ...

or any engine that u can recommend to replace it

xtech

Postby xtech » February 13th, 2007, 9:04 am

2.0 6a12 V6 mivec........ 2.4 SOHC or DOHC V6......... 2.5 6a13 V6 twin turbos.........better than going back to the GDI technology turbo or none turbo............GDI runs great when is working well with huge mileage on a tank but it just to demanding an a pain to keep the injectors clean with our type of gas

mitsugdi

Postby mitsugdi » February 13th, 2007, 10:14 am

MonsterPower

Postby MonsterPower » February 14th, 2007, 1:31 am

so mitsugdi what do u recommend?

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » February 14th, 2007, 7:03 pm

i know someone who knows how to treat those noisy lifters....I dunno what he does , but my uncle's shark mouth Galant was real noisy and now its silent as a lamb...his name is hafeez 744-2718

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » February 14th, 2007, 7:11 pm

that can be your plugs , check them and make sure they in good shape..

xtech

Postby xtech » February 20th, 2007, 1:19 am

aye he put engine restorer to make them silent i try it on mine an it went completely dead right after puting the can of stuff in..................
http://www.atvconnection.com/Features/P ... storer.cfm

hondamatic

Postby hondamatic » February 21st, 2007, 12:02 am

nah itsnot engine restorer....i know that for sure

xtech

Postby xtech » February 21st, 2007, 8:41 am

but this i know works permanently an completely none invasive........

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 22nd, 2007, 9:19 am

sry if dis question was already addressed but who can reccomend a guy to clean my injectors. meaning remove clean ans replace. reason being, i smell a lot of un burnt gas wen i start up in the morning, the mileage to gas ratio is very poor, and my acceleration is also poor.
i still get a good top end though
is for a 1.8 gdi gallant
thanks

Rah

Postby Rah » February 22nd, 2007, 12:39 pm

Xtech where can i get the engine Restore? Willing to give it a try.

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » February 23rd, 2007, 7:25 am

its a very long read so sry if dis was already discussed.......

any of you guys ever used iridium plugs in ur 1.8 vrg's?
did u get any positive results?
is it even advisable to switch from the standard plugs?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » February 24th, 2007, 11:35 pm

^^I've never tried iridiums.......mainly because I don't know the comparable model to the stock ones........

and have you changed your fuel filter? I have never cleaned injectors in the 150,000+km that I've had mine and it still runs well.....usually throw in some redline at every fill though.......

Return to “MITSUBISHI”