Noisy hydraulic tappets & Mitsu related *hiccups*

Mitsu Lancer, Evo, GSR, MIVEC, 4G**, GDI, Galant, Outlander, L200 Sportero/Triton etc.

Postby wagon r » March 14th, 2007, 6:15 am

....interesting.....will be monitorin the progress along with you vega.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 14th, 2007, 8:25 am

wagonr is yuh former wagon dat pioneer the revolution..........Peace n quiet for all.................. :mrgreen:

Postby wagon r » March 14th, 2007, 9:08 am

.....i know. it was my wagon that was the test bed for the oil as well.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 14th, 2007, 12:29 pm

hmmm.............my my well now it works dat oil n filter thing never worked. I tried it all.

phyx

Postby phyx » March 14th, 2007, 4:50 pm

Same lifter noise :-(

RoadWarrior

Postby RoadWarrior » March 15th, 2007, 9:25 pm

Just wondering, has any one tried "Engine Restore" on a turbocharged vehicle ? Just looking for feedback.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 16th, 2007, 9:23 am

There are many so called "miracle" oil additives on the market that claim to do everything from clean your motor to increase performance, decrease emissions and increase gas mileage. I am here to tell you most of them are just Snake Oil. However we have been hearing glowing reports from people who have tried Engine Restorer by Restore Automotive Products. The claims were quite astounding; increased compression, reduced oil consumption, increased power and better fuel mileage.

EXPLAINING AWAY THE CLAIMS These same claims have been made before by other products. However it was easy to explain away how the products did it. Some oil additives reduce oil consumption because they thicken the oil. And thick oil is less likely to slip past the piston rings if the seal with the cylinder wall is less than perfect. Other oil additives claim to increase performance by increasing compression by removing any varnish buildup in the the piston's ring lands, the grooves the rings ride in on the piston. This would allow a stuck ring to move freely again and seal harder against the cylinder wall. However if there are scores or scratches in the cylinder wall, the rings will still leak compression.

"ENGINE RESTORER" CLAIMS
During normal engine operation, the piston rings slowly wear into the surface of the cylinder wall, creating tiny imperfections. These gouges or scratches then create a channel for pressurized combustion gasses to slip past the rings down into the crankcase. This does three things, first the available compression is lessened as the gasses pass downward into the crankcase. Two, this "blowby" contaminates the engine's lubricating oil with combustion gases containing acidic compounds. And three, crankcase lubricating oil is drawn upward through the same scratch channels into the combustion chamber to be burnt. This is where your oil goes in most cases if an engine is burning it (the exception would be a worn valve guide and seal).
Restore Engine Restorer claims to fill these scratches and improves the seal between the piston rings and the cylinder walls. This means higher compression and a more balanced compression across all cylinders. Since power output and engine efficiently are tied to engine compression, an increase here would naturally raise power output and increase engine efficiency thus raising fuel mileage while lowering oil consumption. The company claims that independent road tests prove "Engine Restorer" brings back power to near original levels.

“ENGINE RESTORERâ€

Rah

Postby Rah » March 16th, 2007, 11:15 am

Well fellers i have been running it a week and the noise has come back...............i feel like crying. For those four days it was so quiet, so strange....lol. Then i heard a lil rumble, a lil noise.......then the pan side came in full effect.......that was yesterday and now today it is quiet again..........I really doh know. Some other ppl who have tried have been good so far, i wondering if to try a 2nd one. But i think i will wait to see how things play out with Vega and others from here. Im hoping yall have better luck. The few days of quiet was..........lovely.

xtech

Postby xtech » March 16th, 2007, 11:52 am

oh rah dat means something else wrong in yuh car.........to much air leaking into yuh lifters. Must be bad seals..:cry:... engine restorer will try its best to keep it out. but u got to get that looked at if it making noise still.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 18th, 2007, 2:09 pm

stiil waiting to change oil.......fleckin parts place stickin badly with my oil filter.........however, I still running quiet as of today....7days now!

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » March 19th, 2007, 6:23 am

my lifters are very quiet although i never tried the restorer
i will still give it a try nex oil change

Rah

Postby Rah » March 19th, 2007, 8:37 am

Vega what filter do you use ?

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 20th, 2007, 2:20 pm

^^^usually a sakura

Rah

Postby Rah » March 21st, 2007, 7:29 pm

Thanks vega, i have been using the puralator a while now, will check around for the sakura. Normally up this side ( west) i see the fram and puralator alot. I already know to stay away from the fram. As for engine restore i still recommend ppl give it a try. It seems to help most ppl with moderate lifter noise. I think i have to try something else.

4G63Turbo

Postby 4G63Turbo » March 26th, 2007, 1:37 pm

ok so I just saw this on Buschur,
might help to know other ppl used the restore and are happy.

http://buschurforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=18838

altec

Postby altec » March 27th, 2007, 11:15 pm

I still here, but the galant gone, driving ck2 only. The thing is lifters starting to play pan too.

Postby ~Vēġó~ » March 30th, 2007, 12:10 pm

880km after oil change and restorer and still running quietly..........4G63Turbo, good linkin there, much thanks

altec

Postby altec » April 1st, 2007, 10:59 pm

where selling engine restore?

Halfbreed07

Postby Halfbreed07 » April 11th, 2007, 2:47 pm

~˜VëgŲ˜~, can u remember the part nos. of the replacement belts/chains, fan belt etc, that wud usually have to be changed after 100k
have u ever changed the filter in ur transmision? if so wey u get it to buy and how much of a pain is it to change?

Rudman
Location: Finding out all the good tyres in life begins with "R".

Postby Rudman » April 11th, 2007, 3:44 pm

Let me tell you all, at first, I'm a bit sceptical about oil treatments and the likes. I decided to give the Engine Restore a try when my oil change was due last week after reading about tuner's experiences with it.

Its been one week and I can't remember what my tappets sound like!!... :D This shiet works!!.... :D I highly recommend it!

I got the 4 cylinder size at Marabella Auto supplies for $65.

shawn.R

Postby shawn.R » April 11th, 2007, 4:11 pm

hi
i own ck2 with 4g15
noticed that tappets made noise at a new oil change and when it needs to be changed
i started using royal purple which greately reduced (not stopped) that noise

shawn.R

Postby shawn.R » April 11th, 2007, 4:13 pm

hey what can be done except turbo to the 4g15 to get some more power out of it

shawn.R

Postby shawn.R » April 11th, 2007, 4:14 pm

anyone have the specs on 4g15

blazing

Postby blazing » April 11th, 2007, 10:30 pm

blazing

Postby blazing » April 11th, 2007, 10:31 pm

mods should put that in mitsu section...

venum

Postby venum » April 12th, 2007, 11:38 pm

guys

I recently put in an ASCO filter on my 4G18

it is under test right now

anyone else has experience with these?

I didn't want to use a FRAM and couldn't find a SAKURA

the box stated taht it could be used on 4G1X, 4G3X, 4G5X and 4G6X engines

this isn't strange since my mech also told me that the same oil filter that is used on the evo 4G63 can be used on the 4G15

and te 4G15 and 4G18 aren't all that different

so far, during high speed diving and low end acceleration I find that the car kinda restricted

had a FRAM before

this engine doesn't have a pan side - Thank GOD

Rudman

Postby Rudman » April 13th, 2007, 7:58 am

this engine doesn't have a pan side - Thank GOD

:D :D :D

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » April 13th, 2007, 12:22 pm

ey tuners i try this engine restorer thing when i did my last oil change and i got absolutely no results. and my lifters noisy like hell...what all yuh think :lol:

Rudman

Postby Rudman » April 13th, 2007, 12:51 pm

^^U ent see venum give the answer! Time for a new engine....4G18... :D

Or U could pay ah man $2000 to service them lifters... :|

DriFT_KiNG

Postby DriFT_KiNG » April 13th, 2007, 1:26 pm

^^U ent see venum give the answer! Time for a new engine....4G18...

^^so u saying that once u getting that kind of noise u better off changing yuh engine

Return to “MITSUBISHI”